DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that FMCW waveform is not OFDM compatible waveform in Jiang. However, examiner disagrees. Jiang teaches that the technology discussed in the reference is compatible with OFDMA systems as described in paragraph 92. Further, Jiang teaches at paragraphs 209 and 210 using subcarrier spacing and transmitting signals in OFDM systems. Hence, the FMCW waveform is compatible with OFDM as stated in the claim.
Examiner withdraws objections to claims 12 and 26 in view of the amendment made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12, 14, 19-21, 26, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US-PGPUB 2024/0098534).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories [Fig. 7, 709]; one or more transceivers [Fig. 7, 701]; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, wherein a waveform of the one or more SRS resources is an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) compatible frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform [Para 198-207, SRS resource is transmitted using OFDM FMCW waveform].
Regarding claim 2, Jiang teaches a configuration of the one or more SRS resources is based on one or more capabilities of the UE [Para 198-207, SRS resource configuration is determined based on other signal and UE parameters].
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Jiang teaches one or more capabilities of the UE indicate: whether the UE supports OFDM compatible FMCW waveforms, whether the UE supports multiplexing between FMCW transmissions and OFDM transmissions, whether the UE supports OFDM compatible FMCW transmission with different comb offsets in different symbols, whether the UE supports gap symbols between SRS symbols, or any combination thereof [Para 198-213, capability is determined based on type of supported waveform, subcarrier spacing etc.]
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Jiang teaches the one or more capabilities indicate that the UE supports OFDM compatible FMCW waveforms, and the one or more capabilities further indicate one or more types of OFDM compatible FMCW waveforms the UE supports [Para 198-207, type of OFDM FMCW waveform supported is determined].
Regarding claims 12 and 26, Jiang teaches the one or more SRS resources are transmitted: over a larger BWP than a baseband BWP of the UE, or during one or more measurement gaps for SRS transmission [Para 198-207, SRS transmission is done during measurement gaps].
Regarding claim 14, Jiang teaches the one or more SRS resources comprise at least two SRS resources, the at least two SRS resources occupy the same OFDM resources, and the at least two SRS resources are Doppler-division multiplexed on the same OFDM resources [Para 208-213].
Regarding claim 19, Jiang teaches a network entity, comprising: one or more memories [Fig. 8, 805]; one or more transceivers [Fig. 8, 801]; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a user equipment (UE), a request for capabilities of the UE related to transmission of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources by the UE [Para 197-207, sends configuration information for UE’s capability information]; and receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the UE, one or more capabilities of the UE in response to the request, wherein the one or more capabilities of the UE indicate whether the UE supports an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) compatible frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform for the transmission of SRS resources [Para 198-207, SRS resource is transmitted using OFDM FMCW waveform].
Regarding claim 29, Jiang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources, wherein a waveform of the one or more SRS resources is an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) compatible frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform [Para 198-207, SRS resource is transmitted using OFDM FMCW waveform].
Regarding claim 30, Jiang teaches a method of communication performed by a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a request for capabilities of the UE related to transmission of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources by the UE [Para 197-207, sends configuration information for UE’s capability information]; and receiving from the UE, one or more capabilities of the UE in response to the request, wherein the one or more capabilities of the UE indicate whether the UE supports an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) compatible frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform for the transmission of SRS resources [Para 198-207, SRS resource is transmitted using OFDM FMCW waveform].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US-PGPUB 2024/0098534) in view of Li et al. (US-PGPUB 2024/0310508).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang teaches a UE as discussed in rejection of claim 2.
However, Jiang does not teach receiving, via the one or more transceivers, from a network entity, a request for the one or more capabilities; and transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to the network entity, the one or more capabilities of the UE in response to the request.
Li teaches receiving, via the one or more transceivers, from a network entity, a request for the one or more capabilities; and transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to the network entity, the one or more capabilities of the UE in response to the request [Para 367-380].
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention communicate capability information so that appropriate functionality can be provided based on capability information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10, 13, 15-18, 22-25, 27 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464