DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the closed bottom and the mating tongue grooves must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 recite “optionally” which is not clear if this limitation is part of the invention.
Claims 5, 10 and 18 recite “preferably” which is not clear if these limitations are part of the invention.
Claims 6, 7, 9, 16, 18 and 20 recite “CLT” which is not clear or specific enough regarding the materials used.
Claim 1 recites “and groove formation”, line 5, lacking antecedent basis. Also, “the second side surface”, “the bottom” lack antecedent basis.
Claims 2-14 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim 15 recites “a groove and tongue” twice which appears to not be the same component, lacking antecedent basis. Also, “both long side surfaces of the second panels” lack antecedent basis”, as does “the channels on same level”
Claim 20 recites “the connection” lacking antecedent basis.
The claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2023/00061113 to Keller et al.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Keller discloses a building (fig. 1) having panels, and method of connecting, the panels having two long sides (fig.4: see long vertical sides of each panel), each side having a plurality of tongues (generally where 38 points) and grooves (generally where 24 points) with a mating section, middle, an attachment screw (see screws, fig. 5) is inserted through a predrilled channel (holes that screws are in) such that the tip of the screw penetrates a middle section (fig. 9: see screws into middle section 22). The steps of connecting the panels repeat for a building construction.
Regarding claim 2, there are multiple grooves and tongues along long sides of the panels.
Regarding claim 4, a short positioning channel (upper outer screw hole shown on outer layer,10, fig. 4, which aligns lower inner screw hole when the panels abut) is included.
Regarding claims 11,13, a house is disclosed
Regarding claim 12, the panel is a surface panel, inherently.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 8, 10, 14, 15, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2023/00061113 to Keller et al.
Regarding claim 3, the use of an adhesive is disclosed [0057] but not specifically for the tongue and groove connections. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller by adding adhesive to the tongue and groove connections since adhesive is already used and would create a stronger connection.
Regarding claim 5, Keller discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as an obvious design choice where larger or smaller panels are required for a particular function.
Regarding claim 8, Keller discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific angular dimensions. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as an obvious design choice to screw at an angle in order to obtain a tight fit and pull panels toward each other.
Regarding claim 10, Keller discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific angular dimensions. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as a mere design choice based upon the length of the screw.
Regarding claim 14, a house with roof, floor and wall panels is disclosed (fig. 1) but not specifically all the panels are the same. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller by using similar panels as this would reduce costs and speed construction.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, claim 15 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, the channels are on different levels (see fig. 4, channels (holes) are located at different positions on each tongue and on each groove.
Regarding claim 17, windows and doors are disclosed (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Keller discloses a standard house (fig. 1) but not specifically the rooms as disclosed by the application. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller by adding various types of structures within the house, such as a loft, as a mere design choice.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2023/00061113 to Keller et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application No. US 2022/0136234 to Schneider et al.
Regarding claims 6, 16, 18, CLT panels are not disclosed for the house (fig. 1). Schneider discloses such panels (abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller by using such materials to construct a house as this is widely available and provides good insulation and strength.
Regarding claim 7, 9, the channels are in a perpendicular direction to the long sides (the long sides are vertical and the channels are horizontal) and the channels are in the middle layers, completely (fig. 9: see channel housing screw in middle layer 22, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 6. Additionally, increased flexural strength and shear force connections would have been obvious to one in the art at the time of filing in order to prevent the building from collapsing. The Examiner takes official notice that increasing these properties is well known in order to create a more long lasting structure.
Conclusion
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633