DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 13-16, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0394825) in view of Schaefer (U.S. PATENT NO. 9226098) and further in view of Li (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2014/0361735).
-Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a wireless power receiving appliance configured to wirelessly receive power from a wireless power transmitter, the wireless power receiving appliance (FIG. 3) comprising: a near field communications (NFC) device configured to be electromagnetically coupled to another NFC device of the wireless power transmitter (wireless power transfer (WPT) cooktop device 200 may transmit wireless power to the small electric appliance 100, [0052]).
Park is silent to teaching that a field strength indicator configured to: receive, from a plurality of NFC antennas of the NFC device, representative signals signal of a strength of the NFC field between the NFC device and said another NFC device. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Schaefer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches a field strength indicator configured to: receive, from a plurality of NFC antennas of the NFC device, representative signals signal of a strength of the NFC field between the NFC device and said another NFC device (communicating apparatus 110 comprises: a plurality of coils 10, a multiplexer 20, a processor 40 and at least one adaptation network 30, [col. 4, lines 37-44]; determining the configuration of coils having the best coupling effect is to evaluate a radio frequency field strength induced by the coupling of each of the coils 10 and the antenna 51, [col. 5 lines 49-67]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Park with the teaching of Schaefer in order to ensuring that the communication is stable regardless of the location of the antenna of a portable device.
The combination is silent to teaching that compare values of the representative signals with at least one reference value; and emit a user signal depending on the comparison between the values of the representative signals and the at least one reference value; wherein said user signal displays an indication of a change in positioning of the wireless power receiving appliance to wirelessly receive power from the wireless power transmitter. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Li.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches compare values of the representative signals with at least one reference value (indicator may be used to determine whether the device 105 is at an optimal device position by comparing the indicator with a predefined signal strength, [0061]); and emit a user signal depending on the comparison between the values of the representative signals and the at least one reference value (LED (Light Emitting Diode) on the device 105 may be used to indicate the position status, [0066]); wherein said user signal displays an indication of a change in positioning of the wireless power receiving appliance to wirelessly receive power from the wireless power transmitter (arrow indicating the direction to move the device 105 relative to the charger 110, [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Li in order to determine whether the device position is at an optimal position, and provide feedback indicative of the device position.
-Regarding claim 6, the combination further discloses the field strength indicator comprises: at least a comparator configured to compare the value of the representative signal with the at least one reference value (Li, comparing the indicator with a predefined signal strength, [0061]); and a signal emitter unit coupled to the at least one comparator and configured to emit the user signal when the value of the representative signal is greater than, or equal to, the at least one reference value (Li, if the field strength indicator meets or exceeds a predefined strength, the device may be determined to be in an optimal position at least because it has detected a strong signal strength, [0064]).
-Regarding claim 13, the combination further discloses the signal emitter unit comprises one signal emitter coupled to the at least one comparator (comparing the indicator with a predefined signal strength, [0061]).
-Regarding claim 14, the combination further discloses the one signal emitter comprises a light source, and the user signal is a light signal having a signal characteristic which depends on the comparison between the value of the representative signal and the at least one reference value (Li, [0066]).
-Regarding claim 15, the combination further discloses the at least one NFC antenna of the NFC device is configured to be electromagnetically coupled to another NFC antenna of said another NFC device (Li, [0020]).
-Regarding claim 16, the combination further discloses a power receiver circuit configured to receive power from a power transmitter circuit of the wireless power transmitter (Li, [0028]).
-Regarding claim 20, Park discloses a method for wirelessly power transmission between a wireless power transmitter and a wireless power receiving appliance (FIG. 3), said wireless power receiving appliance comprising an NFC device configured to be electromagnetically coupled to another NFC device of the wireless power transmitter (wireless power transfer (WPT) cooktop device 200 may transmit wireless power to the small electric appliance 100, [0052]).
Park is silent to teaching that receiving, from a plurality of NFC antennas of the NFC device, representative signals of the strength of the NFC field between the NFC device and said another NFC device. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Schaefer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches receiving, from a plurality of NFC antennas of the NFC device, representative signals of the strength of the NFC field between the NFC device and said another NFC device (communicating apparatus 110 comprises: a plurality of coils 10, a multiplexer 20, a processor 40 and at least one adaptation network 30, [col. 4, lines 37-44]; determining the configuration of coils having the best coupling effect is to evaluate a radio frequency field strength induced by the coupling of each of the coils 10 and the antenna 51, [col. 5 lines 49-67]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Park with the teaching of Schaefer in order to ensuring that the communication is stable regardless of the location of the antenna of a portable device.
The combination is silent to teaching that comparing values of the representative signals with at least one reference value; and emitting a user signal depending on the comparison between the values of the representative signals and the at least one reference value; wherein the user signal displays an indication of a change in positioning the wireless power receiving appliance with respect to the wireless power transmitter to wirelessly receive power. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Li.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches comparing values of the representative signals with at least one reference value (indicator may be used to determine whether the device 105 is at an optimal device position by comparing the indicator with a predefined signal strength, [0061]); and emitting a user signal depending on the comparison between the values of the representative signals and the at least one reference value (LED (Light Emitting Diode) on the device 105 may be used to indicate the position status, [0066]); wherein the user signal displays an indication of a change in positioning the wireless power receiving appliance with respect to the wireless power transmitter to wirelessly receive power (arrow indicating the direction to move the device 105 relative to the charger 110, [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Li in order to determine whether the device position is at an optimal position, and provide feedback indicative of the device position.
-Regarding claim 21, the combination further discloses moving the wireless power receiving appliance in a first direction; determining if the value of the representative signal increases or decreases during, or after, the moving; and: when the value increases, then continuing moving said wireless power receiving appliance in the first direction until the representative signal stops increasing or reaches a threshold value; or when the value decreases, then moving said wireless power receiving appliance in a second direction different than, for example opposite or perpendicular to, the first direction; and repeating the determining step until the representative signal stops increasing or is above a threshold value (Li, Upon detecting a field strength and subsequently the position of the device relative to the charging system 110, the system may provide feedback to the user of the device 105 via a feedback mechanism on either one or both of the device 105 and charging system 110. This feedback may aid the user in finding the optimal device position. It may also inform the user once the optimal position has been achieved, as well as when authentication has been achieved. In one example, the feedback mechanism may be the device interface. Such feedback may include a graphical and/or pictorial indication of the intensity or strength of the field, such as a growing circle, a power bar, signal level digits (e.g., 0-100%), arrow indicating the direction to move the device 105 relative to the charger 110, etc. For cases where the device 105 is in standby mode or is off (e.g., the battery is depleted), an LED (Light Emitting Diode) on the device 105 may be used to indicate the position status. For example, a power LED indicator or another "NFC" LED indicator may be used. As the user moves the handset through the electromagnetic field, the LED may change intensity, colors, and/or blink rate to indicate the "hot" or "cold" spot of the field. Similarly, the device 105 may emit sound whose volume and/or frequency reflects such alignment. Additionally or alternatively, the charging system 110 may also include an indicator mechanism such as a display or LED to communicate the device position to the user. By communicating the status of the position of the device 105, a user may easily achieve an optimal position and thus benefit from NFC and wireless charging technologies, [0066]).
Claim(s) 2-4, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0394825) in view of Schaefer (U.S. PATENT NO. 9226098), Li (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2014/0361735) and further in view of Kim (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0140661).
-Regarding claim 2, the combination is silent to teaching that the representative signal received by the field strength indicator is a DC signal, the NFC device comprising a converter circuit coupled to the at least one NFC antenna and to the field strength indicator, the converter circuit being configured to convert an AC signal received from the at least one NFC antenna into the DC signal. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Kim.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches the representative signal received by the field strength indicator is a DC signal, the NFC device comprising a converter circuit coupled to the at least one NFC antenna and to the field strength indicator, the converter circuit being configured to convert an AC signal received from the at least one NFC antenna into the DC signal (power converter 240, FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Kim in order to improve the efficiency of wireless power transmission.
-Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses the NFC device comprises an NFC harvester including the converter circuit, and a matching network coupled to the at least one NFC antenna and to the NFC harvester, the AC signal being transmitted by the matching network to the converter circuit, the NFC harvester and the matching network being included in a matching network and harvester unit (Kim, electric devices 201 and 202 may further include an impedance matching circuit to improve the efficiency of power transmission between the receiving coil 220 and the power converter 240, [0095]).
-Regarding claim 4, the combination further discloses each NFC antenna is coupled to the converter circuit through a multiplexer (Schaefer, multiplexer 20 to enable the coils 4 and 6 and disenable coils 1, 2, 3, 5 and 7, [col. 6 lines 12-28]).
-Regarding claim 17, the combination further discloses the wireless power receiving appliance is a kitchen appliance (Kim, [0055]).
-Regarding claim 18, although the combination does not disclose the kitchen appliance is configured to receive power from the wireless power transmitter according to the Ki Cordless Kitchen standard, Ki Cordless Kitchen standard is well known standard in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the Ki Cordless Kitchen standard in order to provide efficient power transfer.
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0394825) in view of Schaefer (U.S. PATENT NO. 9226098), Li (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2014/0361735) and further in view of Yan (U.S. PATENT NO. 11182770).
-Regarding claim 7, Li is silent to teaching that the at least one comparator comprises a plurality of comparators, and the at least one reference value comprises different reference values, each comparator being configured to compare the value of the representative signal with one reference value of the different reference values; wherein the user signal emitted by the signal emitter unit depends on the comparison between the value of the representative signal and the reference value of each comparator. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Yan.
In the same field of endeavor, Yan teaches the at least one comparator comprises a plurality of comparators, and the at least one reference value comprises different reference values, each comparator being configured to compare the value of the representative signal with one reference value of the different reference values; wherein the user signal emitted by the signal emitter unit depends on the comparison between the value of the representative signal and the reference value of each comparator (look up table, col. 11 line 57-col. 12 line 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Yan in order to enhance the efficiency.
-Regarding claims 8 and 9, although the combination does not disclose the different reference values are ordered in increasing or decreasing values between a low reference value and a high reference value, the order of values is merely design preference and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
-Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses the signal emitter unit comprises a plurality of signal emitters, each comparator being coupled to a dedicated signal emitter (Li, [0082]).
-Regarding claim 11, the combination further discloses some of the signal emitters are configured to indicate a direction of moving of the wireless power receiving appliance in order to improve the position of the wireless power receiving appliance with respect to the wireless power transmitter (Li, directional indicator, [0067]).
-Regarding claim 12, the combination further discloses the NFC antennas are each coupled to a dedicated signal emitter among the signal emitters configured to indicate the direction, the dedicated signal emitters being configured to indicate a direction of moving of the wireless power receiving appliance towards one of the NFC antennas or between two adjacent NFC antennas (Li, directional indicator, [0067]; Yan, [col. 7 line 45-col. 8 line 4]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-18, 20 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664