DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on March 6, 2024 and September 12, 2024 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98 and therefore have been considered by the examiner and placed in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because lines in Figs. 3-9F are not sufficiently dense, dark and thick to give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics, as required by 37 CFR 1.84(l). Additionally, the pictures shown in Figs. 3, 5A-6C and 8-9F appear to be photographs or computer renderings that are not of sufficient quality to allow all details to be reproduced in a printed patent.
Claim Interpretation
In the following, some of the terms in the claims have been given BRIs in light of the specification. These BRIs are used for purposes of searching for prior art and examining the claims, but cannot be incorporated into the claims. Should Applicant believe that different interpretations are appropriate, Applicant should point to the portions of the specification that clearly support a different interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 12,511,630 B2 by Marinkovich et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Marinkovich”).
Regarding claim 1, Marinkovich discloses a computer implemented method of Video Anomaly Detection, VAD (para. [0490]: “[i]n some embodiments, the machine learning model 3000 may be defined via anomaly detection, i.e., by identifying rare and/or outlier instances of one or more items, events and/or observations.”), the method comprising:
detecting and tracking at least one object of interest across consecutive frames of video surveillance data (para. [0367]: “[f]or example, the artificial intelligence system 1160 may process image frames of the video feed to find markings (such as produce labels, SKUs, images, logos, or the like), shapes (such as packages of a particular size or shape), activities (such as loading or unloading activities) or the like that may indicate that a product has moved through the loading dock.”; see also para. [0297] discussing motion tracking of objects and people);
performing VAD using a Probabilistic Graphical Model, PGM, based on the said at least one object that has been detected and tracked (para. [0483]: “[i]n some embodiments, the machine learning model 3000 may be and/or include a Bayesian network. The Bayesian network may be a probabilistic graphical model configured to represent a set of random variables and conditional independence of the set of random variables. The Bayesian network may be configured to represent the random variables and conditional independence via a directed acyclic graph. The Bayesian network may include one or both of a dynamic Bayesian network and an influence diagram.”).
Regarding claim 2, Marinkovich discloses that the probabilistic graphical model (PGM) comprises a Discrete Bayesian Network, DBN (para. [0483]; para. [11522] discusses that the Bayesian model can be a hidden Markov model, which is a discrete Bayesian model in that the hidden states are discrete).
Regarding claim 3, Marinkovich discloses that the PGM comprises a computer-readable Directed Acyclic Graph, DAG (para. [0483]: “[t]he Bayesian network may be a probabilistic graphical model configured to represent a set of random variables and conditional independence of the set of random variables. The Bayesian network may be configured to represent the random variables and conditional independence via a directed acyclic graph.”).
Regarding claim 4, the BRI for modeling the spatial dimension, based on para. [0070] of the present disclosure, is that it means modeling the position of an object being tracked across consecutive frames. The BRI for modeling the temporal dimension, based on para. [0021] of the present disclosure, is that it means modeling movement of the object over time as the object is tracked across consecutive frames. Para. [2062] of Marinkovich discusses the dynamic vision system 11300 temporally combining the outputs of sensors using conditional probabilities to create a combined view of the object being tracked across frames in terms of time, position, orientation and motion. This spatial and temporal dimension information is modeled in the PGM of Marinkovich (para. [2045] discusses modeling of the spatial and temporal dimension information with reference to Fig. 124).
Regarding claim 5, Marinkovich discloses generating bounding boxes representing at least areas in the frames where the said at least one object has been detected (para. [1566]: “[i]n embodiments, an object detection model extends the functionality of CNN based image classification neural network models by not only classifying objects but also determining their locations in an image in terms of bounding boxes.”).
Regarding claim 6, Marinkovich discloses that the PGM models at least a spatial dimension for performing VAD within each of the said consecutive frames (para. [1566], the bounding boxes used in each frame for object segmentation/classification indicate that the PGM models the spatial dimension for each of the consecutive frames) and a temporal dimension for performing VAD across the said consecutive frames (Para. [2062] of Marinkovich discusses the dynamic vision system 11300 temporally combining the outputs of sensors using conditional probabilities as objects are being tracked across consecutive frames to create a combined view of the object being tracked across frames in terms of time, position, orientation and motion across consecutive frames),
the method further comprising:
generating bounding boxes representing at least areas in the frames where the said at least one object has been detected (para. [1566]: “[i]n embodiments, an object detection model extends the functionality of CNN based image classification neural network models by not only classifying objects but also determining their locations in an image in terms of bounding boxes.”),
wherein each of the spatial and temporal dimensions is defined by a plurality
of variables related to characteristics of the bounding boxes, characteristics of the respective frames in which these boxes are and/or characteristics of the object that has been detected and tracked (para. [0483], the spatial and temporal dimensions are defined in the PGM by a plurality of random variables having conditional independence modeled by the directed acyclic graph of the PGM; these variables are related to at least characteristics of the bounding boxes used to detect and track the object within a frame and across consecutive frames; para. [2062] discusses the relationship between the conditional probabilities of the PGM and the spatial and temporal dimensions of the objects being tracked using bounding boxes).
Regarding claim 15, Marinkovich discloses that the at least some values of the said variables are determined and discretized in order to perform VAD using the PGM (see the rejection of claims 1-3, the PGM can be implemented as a hidden Markov model for which values of the random variables of the DAG of the PGM are determined and discretized in order enable the PGM to performed VAD).
Regarding claim 17, Marinkovich discloses using parallel processing to perform VAD (para. [1267] discloses using a plurality of neural networks in parallel in the cloud to provide “massively parallel computational capability”).
Regarding claim 18, to the extent that claim 18 recites the same limitations that are recited in claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 18. Claim 18 recites a computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform the operations recited in claims 1 and 18. Marinkovich discloses a computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform the operations recited in claims 1 and 18 (para. [2784]).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, this claim combines the limitations of claims 2 and 4. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 2 and 4 apply mutatis mutandis to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinkovich in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,483,839 B1 to Kwon et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 7, as indicated above in the rejection of claim 5, Marinkovich discloses using bounding boxes to perform object tracking, but does not explicitly disclose dividing the consecutive frames into uniform grid structures of adjacent grid cells and determining, for each bounding box, which cells intersect with at least a part of that box, for performing VAD.
Kwon, in the same field of endeavor of detecting and tracking objects in video frames, discloses dividing the consecutive frames into uniform grid structures of adjacent grid cells (Col. 8, lines 30-56, Fig. 2, block 206, Figs. 3A and 3B, the frames 120 are divided into uniform grid structures of cells 304), and determining for each bounding box, which cells intersect with at least a part of that box (Col. 9, lines 17-62, Figs. 4A and 4B, the bounding box is shifted across the uniform grid structure and a determination is made of which cells 304 intersect the bounding box, i.e., which cells are overlapping cells 306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the tracking algorithm performed by the Marinkovich to divide the image frames into a uniform grid structure of cells and to shift the bounding box across each frame to determine which cells intersect with the bounding box as taught by Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to improve the robustness of the tracking algorithm by successfully tracking objects across frames even when the objects are partially occluded as taught by Kwon. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the tracking software executed by the system of Marinkovich to divide image frames into a grid structure of cells, shift the bounding box across the divided grid structure and determine which cells intersect the bounding box).
Regarding claim 8, although Marinkovich discloses using bounding boxes to perform object tracking, Marinkovich does not explicitly disclose dividing the frames into uniform grid structures of cells and considering whether the whole bounding box is partially or fully intersected by the cells. Kwon discloses that for each bounding box, the whole bounding box is considered for determining which cells partially or fully intersect with that box (Col. 9, lines 17-62, Figs. 4A and 4B, once the bounding box size is chosen, the bounding box is shifted from the left top corner of the image frame across the entire image frame to the bottom right corner of the image frame by shifting the box “over and down one cell at a time” and determining the intersections between the cells and the box).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the tracking algorithm performed by the Marinkovich to divide the image frames into a uniform grid structure of cells and to shift the bounding box across the entirety of the grid structure of each frame to determine which cells intersect with the bounding box as taught by Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to improve the robustness of the tracking algorithm by successfully tracking objects across frames even when the objects are partially occluded as taught by Kwon. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the tracking software executed by the system of Marinkovich to divide image frames into a grid structure of cells, shift the bounding box across the divided grid structure and determine which cells intersect the bounding box).
Regarding claim 9, although Marinkovich discloses using bounding boxes to perform object classification and tracking, Marinkovich does not explicitly disclose dividing the frames into uniform grid structures of cells and determining intersections between only a bottom part of the bounding box and the cells.
As indicated above, Kwon discloses dividing consecutive image frames into uniform grid structures of cells, choosing a suitable bounding box size and shifting the bounding box across the entirety of the grid structure while determining which cells intersect with the bounding box. Kwon does not explicitly disclose considering only the bottom part of the bounding box when determining which cells intersect the bounding box. However, Kwon discusses using multiple sizes of bounding boxes and considerations that are taken into account when choosing the bounding box size (Col. 9, lines 1-16: “depending on various conditions such as a location (center, left, or right) and size of the object/target within the image frame, viewpoints (view angles) toward the target, or existence of occlusions and clutters, it may not be guaranteed to have cell-to-cell matching correspondence among different image frames of the same target. To make target signature matching robust, multiple sub-regions are assigned in overlapped and multiple-sized ways. An example purpose of overlapping is to include the same features in many sub-regions, and an example purpose of multiple-sizes is to consider that an effective number of cells in a sub-region varies due to background inclusion or partial occlusion in the image frame.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the present disclosure to try only considering the bottom part of the bounding box for determining which cells intersect the bounding box in Kwon since Kwon discusses various conditions that are taken into account when selecting configurations of the bounding boxes, since there are a finite number of bounding box configurations that can be used and since various configurations of bounding boxes can be used with a reasonable expectation of success. (See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) discussing “obvious to try” being a valid rationale for an obviousness finding; See also MPEM 2144.05)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to consider intersections of cells with only the bottom part of the bottom part of the box in order to reduce the number of tracking computations that have to be made and to avoid noise associated with occlusions in cases where all except the bottom part of the target image is occluded. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the tracking software executed by the system of Marinkovich to divide image frames into a grid structure of cells, shift the bounding box across the divided grid structure and determine which cells intersect only the portion of the bounding box).
Regarding claim 10, Marinkovich does not explicitly disclose that the spatial dimension is defined by a plurality of variables chosen amongst the group comprising a frame identifier, a scene identifier, a grid cell identifier, an intersection area representing an area of overlap between a bounding box and at least one grid cell, an object class representing a category of the object that has been detected and tracked, a bounding box size, and a bounding aspect ratio corresponding to a bounding box width-to-heigh ratio.
Kwon discloses that the spatial dimension, the BRI for which is provided above, is defined by at least a grid cell identifier, an intersection area representing an area of overlap between a bounding box and at least one grid cell, and a bounding box size (Figs. 4A and 4B, Col. 9, lines 17-62 discuss the bounding box sizes and the intersection areas representing areas of overlap between the bounding box and the grid cells; since the intersections of the cells are being determined, the cells necessarily have cell identifiers associated with them in order to allow the system to determine where the intersections occurred; therefore, the spatial dimension is defined in terms of at least the bounding box sizes, the intersection areas representing areas of overlap between the bounding box and the grid cell identifiers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the tracking algorithm performed by the Marinkovich to divide the image frames into a uniform grid structure of cells and to shift the bounding box across the entirety of the grid structure of each frame to determine which cells intersect with the bounding box as taught by Kwon. In such a modified system, the spatial dimension would necessarily be defined at least in terms of a grid cell identifier, an intersection area representing an area of overlap between a bounding box and at least one grid cell, and a bounding box size. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to improve the robustness of the tracking algorithm by successfully tracking objects across frames even when the objects are partially occluded as taught by Kwon. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the tracking software executed by the system of Marinkovich to divide image frames into a grid structure of cells, shift the bounding box across the divided grid structure and determine which cells intersect the bounding box).
Regarding claim 16, to the extent that claim 16 recites the same limitations that are recited 7, the rejection of claim 7 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 16. The only limitation that is recited in claim 16 that is not also recited in claim 7 is the limitation of, for at least one cell which intersects with a bounding box, displaying values of the variables in the said plurality of variables for that cell, where the variables are related to characteristics of the bounding boxes, characteristics of the respective frames in which these boxes are and/or characteristics of the object that has been detected and tracked.
Marinkovich does not explicitly disclose displaying the values of these variables. Kwon discloses that the system includes a display (Col. 4, lines 31-39, Fig. 1, system 100 includes display 125 that displays the reference image frame 120 and the candidate image frames 122) and discloses displaying values of variables related to characteristics of the sizes of the bounding boxes (top row of Fig. 4A shows a display of characteristics of the frame 120, of the 3x3 cell size of the bounding box and of the intersections between the cells and the 3x3 bounding box; bottom row of Fig. 4A shows a display of characteristics of the frame 120, of the 4x4 cell size of the bounding box and of the intersections between the cells and the 4x4 bounding box).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the tracking algorithm performed by the Marinkovich to divide the image frames into a uniform grid structure of cells, to shift the bounding box across the entirety of the grid structure of each frame to determine which cells intersect with the bounding box, and to display the corresponding characteristics as taught by Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to improve the robustness of the tracking algorithm by successfully tracking objects across frames even when the objects are partially occluded as taught by Kwon and displaying the bounding box, cell and intersection characteristics as taught by Kwon. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the tracking software executed by the system of Marinkovich to divide image frames into a grid structure of cells, shift the bounding box across the divided grid structure, determine which cells intersect the bounding box and display the corresponding steps and results).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinkovich in view of U.S. Pat. No. 12,494,065 B2 to Fox (hereinafter referred to as “Fox”).
Regarding claim 11, as indicated above in the rejection of claim 4, Marinkovich discloses that the PGM models and tracks the spatial and temporal dimensions, and that the temporal dimension is defined by the movement direction of the object being tracked (Para. [2062] of Marinkovich discusses the dynamic vision system 11300 temporally combining the outputs of sensors using conditional probabilities to create a combined view of the object being tracked across frames in terms of time, position, orientation and motion; motion of the tracked object combined with position of the tracked object provides movement direction). However, Marinkovich does not explicitly disclose that the temporal dimension is also defined by a velocity of the object that has been detected and tracked.
Fox, in the same field of endeavor of detecting and tracking objects in video frames, discloses modeling a temporal dimension that is defined in part by the velocity of the object being detected and tracked across video frames (Col. 2, line 61-Col. 3, line 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the object detection and tracking algorithm performed by the Marinkovich to include velocity of the object being detected and tracked as part of the temporal dimension being modeled by the PGM of Marinkovich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to improve the robustness of the tracking algorithm by also taking into account the velocity of the object being detected and tracked across consecutive video frames. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the tracking software executed by the system of Marinkovich to calculate velocity of the object based on the objects sequential positions and the time intervals between changes of position as taught by Fox).
Regarding claim 12, as indicated above, Marinkovich discloses using bounding boxes to track objects across consecutive frames. However, Marinkovich does not explicitly disclose that the velocity is determined based on the velocity of a bounding box across consecutive images. Fox discloses that the velocity is determined based on velocity and movement of a bounding box containing the object being detected and tracked across consecutive frames (Col. 3, lines 11-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present disclosure, to modify the object detection and tracking algorithm performed by the Marinkovich system to include the velocity of the object being detected and tracked as part of the temporal dimension being modeled by the PGM of Marinkovich and to determine the velocity based on the velocity of the bounding box across consecutive frames. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to improve the robustness of the tracking algorithm by also taking into account the velocity of the object being tracked in bounding boxes across consecutive video frames. The modification could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure with a reasonable expectation of success because making the modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (modifying the tracking software executed by the system of Marinkovich to calculate velocity of the object based on the velocity of bounding boxes in sequential positions and the corresponding time intervals between changes of position as taught by Fox).
Regarding claim 13, this claim combines the limitations of claims 7, 11 and 12. Accordingly, the rejections of claims 7, 11 and 12 apply mutatis mutandis to claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, to the extent that claim 14 recites the same limitations that are recited in claim 2, the rejection of claim 2 applies mutatis mutandis to claim 14. Regarding the limitation “wherein the DBN analyzes dependencies between the said variables by means of conditional probability distributions”, that is the function performed by DBNs. Therefore, since, as indicated above in the rejection of claim 2, Marinkovich discloses that the PGM comprises a DBN, Marinkovich discloses this limitation.
Conclusion
/DANIEL JOSEPH SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667