DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong (US 20230422329).
As to claim 1 and 6 Dong discloses a radio frame sending method, and an apparatus (Dong Fig,6, ¶0054), comprising: a memory configured to store instructions (Dong ¶0058- last sentence); and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (Dong 610 of fig.7, ¶0056) to cause the apparatus for: generating a first radio frame, comprising a multi- link element (Dong Fig.2 ¶0033-1st and 2nd sentences- FIG. 2, at step 210, a first message frame is determined. According to the embodiments, the first message frame may include a first ML element for indicating ML configuration information of the AP.), wherein the multi-link element comprises a first field (Dong ¶0041- 1st sentence- In Table 1, the MLD MAC address ID (“MLD MAC Address” in Table 1) and the MAC address ID of each link (“MAC 1 to MAC n” in Table 2) can be included in different sub-fields of the first ML element); and wherein the first field indicates whether the multi-link element comprises medium access control (MAC) address information of a first station (STA) Dong ¶0038- 2nd sentence- For address interaction on multiple links in the interaction between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, the per-STA profile x sub-field in FIG. 3 may include a MAC address ID corresponding to each link on the multiple links (e.g., AP1 to AP3 illustrated in FIG. 1) supported by the AP MLD….¶0038 4th sentence- when the example of ML Element illustrated in FIG. 3 is applicable to the first message frame of the AP MLD, STA in “per-STA profile” may correspond to the AP MLD; and sending the first radio frame (Dong ¶0034- first message frame is sent).
As to claims 3 and 8 the combined teachings of Dong and Patil disclose the method and apparatus of claims 1 and 6 respectively, wherein the first field includes a value that indicates that the multi-link element comprises the MAC address information of the first STA (Dong ¶0038- 2nd sentence- For address interaction on multiple links in the interaction between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, the per-STA profile x sub-field in FIG. 3 may include a MAC address ID corresponding to each link on the multiple links (e.g., AP1 to AP3 illustrated in FIG. 1) supported by the AP MLD.
As to claim 11 Dong discloses An apparatus, comprising: a memory configured to store instructions(Dong ¶0058- last sentence); and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions(Dong 610 of fig.7, ¶0056) to cause the apparatus to: send a first radio frame, comprising a first multi-link element corresponding to a first multi-link device (MLD) in which a first station (STA) is located (DongFig.1, ¶0029- ¶0031),wherein the first multi-link element comprises first medium access control (MAC) address information of the first STA (Fig.2 and 4, ¶0034-At step 220, the first message frame is sent.¶0035- the format of the first ML element can be as illustrated in Table 1 below.¶0037- In Table 1, the first ML element may include an MLD MAC address ID for indicating a MAC address of the AP (i.e., MLD MAC Address in Table 1). According to the embodiments, one MLD (e.g., AP MLD) may have a unique MLD MAC address ID for identifying the MLD (e.g., AP MLD); and receive, by the first STA, a second radio frame, wherein the second radio frame is a response frame of the first radio frame (Fig.4 and Fig.5, ¶¶0051- At step 420, the second message frame is sent ¶0052- 3rd sentence- FIG. 5 - The first message frame may be a beacon frame, an association response frame or an ML establishment request response frame, etc., and the second message frame may be a probe request frame, an association request frame, a re-association request frame or an ML establishment request message frame, etc.).
As to claim 13 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first multi-link element comprises a first field that indicates whether the first multi-link element comprises the first MAC address information (Dong ¶0038- 2nd sentence- For address interaction on multiple links in the interaction between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, the per-STA profile x sub-field in FIG. 3 may include a MAC address ID corresponding to each link on the multiple links (e.g., AP1 to AP3 illustrated in FIG. 1) supported by the AP MLD….¶0038 4th sentence- when the example of ML Element illustrated in FIG. 3 is applicable to the first message frame of the AP MLD, STA in “per-STA profile” may correspond to the AP MLD)
As to claim 17 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second radio frame comprises a second multi-link element corresponding to a[[the]] second MLD in which a second STA is located, and wherein the second multi-link element comprises [[the]] second MAC address information of the second STA (Dong ¶0057.- The communication module 620 may be configured to receive a second message frame from the STA. According to the embodiments, the second message frame may include a second ML element for indicating ML configuration information of the STA, in which the second ML element may include an MLD MAC address ID for indicating a MAC address of the STA).
As to claim 19 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the second multi-link element comprises a first field, that indicates whether the second multi-link element comprises the second MAC address information (Dong ¶0061- 2nd sentence- the second message frame may include a second ML element for indicating ML configuration information of the STA. The second ML element may include an MLD MAC address ID for indicating a MAC address of the STA and/or a MAC address ID corresponding to each link of multiple links of the STA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Patil et al (US 20230054755).
As to claims 2 and 7 Dong disclose the method and apparatus of claims 1 and 6 respectively, however silent wherein the first field is located in a presence bitmap field in the multi-link element. However, in an analogous art Patil remedies this deficiency: (Patil ¶0175- 3rd sentence- the Multi-Link Control field 1210 includes a Type field 1211, a reserved field 1212, and a Presence Bitmap field 1213. .¶0175-6th sentence-the Presence Bitmap field 1213 may indicate the presence of an MLD MAC address field, a Link ID Info field, a BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field 1223, a Medium Synchronization Delay Information field, an enhanced Multi-Link (EML) Capabilities field, and an MLD Capabilities field in the Common Info field 1205 of the ML Element 1200.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Dong with that of Patil for the purpose of indicating the presence of various subfields in the common info field (Patil ¶0175- 5th sentence).
As to claims 4 and 9 the combined teachings of Dong and Patil disclose the method and apparatus of claims 3 and 8 respectively, however silent wherein the multi-link element comprises a common information field, and wherein the MAC address information of the first STA is located in the common information field. However in an analogous art Patil remedies this deficiency: (Patil, Fig.12C, ¶0038; 0176- 2nd sentence- the Common Info field 1220 includes an MLD MAC Address field 1221, a Link ID Info field 1222, a BPCC field 1223, a Medium Synchronization Delay Information field 1224). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dong and Patil for the purpose of indicating the presence of various fields and subfields (Patil ¶0175- last sentence).
As to claim 12 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 11, however silent wherein the first multi-link element comprises a common information field, and wherein the first MAC address information is located in the common information field. However in an analogous art Patil remedies this deficiency: (Patil, Fig.12C, ¶0038; 0176- 2nd sentence- the Common Info field 1220 includes an MLD MAC Address field 1221, a Link ID Info field 1222, a BPCC field 1223, a Medium Synchronization Delay Information field 1224). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Dong with that of Patil for the purpose of indicating the presence of various fields and subfields (Patil ¶0175- last sentence).
As to claim 14 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 13, however silent wherein the first field is located in a presence bitmap field in the first multi-link element. However, in an analogous art Patil remedies this deficiency: (Patil ¶0175- 3rd sentence- the Multi-Link Control field 1210 includes a Type field 1211, a reserved field 1212, and a Presence Bitmap field 1213. .¶0175-6th sentence-the Presence Bitmap field 1213 may indicate the presence of an MLD MAC address field, a Link ID Info field, a BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field 1223, a Medium Synchronization Delay Information field, an enhanced Multi-Link (EML) Capabilities field, and an MLD Capabilities field in the Common Info field 1205 of the ML Element 1200.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Dong with that of Patil for the purpose of indicating the presence of various subfields in the common info field (Patil ¶0175- 5th sentence)
As to claim 18 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 17, however silent wherein the second multi-link element comprises a common information field, and wherein the second MAC address information is located in the common information field(Patil, Fig.12C, ¶0038; 0176- 2nd sentence- the Common Info field 1220 includes an MLD MAC Address field 1221, a Link ID Info field 1222, a BPCC field 1223, a Medium Synchronization Delay Information field 1224). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Dong with that of Patil for the purpose of indicating the presence of various fields and subfields (Patil ¶0175- last sentence).
.
As to claim 20 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 19, however silent wherein the first field is located in a presence bitmap field in the second multi-link element. However, in an analogous art Patil remedies this deficiency: However, in an analogous art Patil remedies this deficiency: (Patil ¶0175- 3rd sentence- the Multi-Link Control field 1210 includes a Type field 1211, a reserved field 1212, and a Presence Bitmap field 1213. .¶0175-6th sentence-the Presence Bitmap field 1213 may indicate the presence of an MLD MAC address field, a Link ID Info field, a BSS Parameters Change Count (BPCC) field 1223, a Medium Synchronization Delay Information field, an enhanced Multi-Link (EML) Capabilities field, and an MLD Capabilities field in the Common Info field 1205 of the ML Element 1200.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Dong with that of Patil for the purpose of indicating the presence of various subfields in the common info field (Patil ¶0175- 5th sentence)
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Patil et al (US 20220124857) hereinafter ‘Cherian’.
As to claim 15 Dong discloses the apparatus of claim 11, however silent wherein the first radio frame further comprises a first information element, comprising initiator address information and responder address information, and wherein the initiator address information is a second MAC address of the first MLD in which the first STA is located. However, in an analogous art Cherian remedies this deficiency: ¶0082-1st sentence- the initiator address of the link identifier IE may be set to the MLD MAC address in TDLS request frames (such as a TDLS Discovery Request frame and/or a TDLS Setup Request frame from a TDLS initiator station). ¶0082-4th sentence the first MLD may transmit the request to the AP, which relays the request to the first wireless station. The request may include a link identifier element having a direct link initiator address (e.g., a TDLS initiator STA address) set as the address of the first MLD (e.g., the MLD MAC address).¶0083- penultimate sentence- the first MLD may transmit, to the first wireless station via an access point (at 402), a response responsive to a request to setup the direct link, and the response may include a link identifier element having a direct link responder address set as the address of the first MLD (e.g., the MLD MAC address). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Dong with that of Cherian for the purpose of a request frame, or initiator frame associated with TDLS Discovery Request and/or Setup (Cherian ¶0082- 2nd sentence).
As to claim 16 the combined teachings of Dong and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus of according to claim 15, wherein in the first radio frame, the responder address information is third MAC address information of a[[the]] second STA or fourth MAC address information of a second MLD in which the second STA is located (Cherian ¶0080- penultimate sentence- The plurality of addresses associated with the first MLD may include the multi-link logical MAC address and MAC addresses associated with (each of) the second wireless stations (e.g., the STA entities 310, 312), where the second wireless stations are affiliated with the first MLD for multi-link operations.. Cherian-¶0081- 1st sentence- the first MLD may set the initiator or responder address in a link identifier element of specific TDLS frames (e.g., TDLS discovery or setup frames) to the MLD MAC address). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dong and Cherian for the purpose of TDLS Discovery Request and/or Setup (Cherian ¶0082- 2nd sentence).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DERRICK V ROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462