Response to filed Amendments
Applicant’s Amendments/Remarks filed on 07/22/2026 have been received and made of record.
New claims 16-20 have been added.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15 have been amended
Claims 1-20 remained pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicants’ arguments of 07/22/2026, corresponding to pages 7-11 and the newly cited claims amendments citing “This document describes "distributed processing of content according to security levels. Based on the security level of variable attribute information and the encrypted information, a print controller capable of RIP processing is selected." However, Matsuo does not disclose "restrictions imposed by the originating print server on another print server”, pertaining to the 35 U.S.C 102 as allegedly being anticipated by Matsuo et al., and the 35 USC § 103 rejection of Matsuo in view of Yasuhiro et al, or that of Matsuo in view of Yasuhiro et al and Tomohiro, have been considered, but they are moot in light of the new ground of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over Komazawa et al. (US 2023/0062008, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Komazawa teaches an industrial printing system for performing production printing having a plurality of print servers for distributed processing of a job (Komazawa teaches at least in para. 0023-0025 a commercial printing system further indicative of the said industrial printing system for performing production printing having a plurality of print servers 50/20/30 for distributed processing of a job),
each of the plurality of print servers (each of the central servers 20/30/50/51/52 as depicted further in Figs. 1-5 and para. 0057-0059, and 0066 further comprises said each of the plurality of central print servers configured to distribute distributed processing of a job to one or more print servers 20/30 based on at least one of a predetermined security condition) comprising:
a prohibition management unit configured to generate a prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each job setting (a controller 40 of at least the Figs. 3-5 and para. 0094-0095 further comprising as further illustrated at least in para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 of a print rasterization prohibition processing setting to manage print distribution prohibition setting and generate a prohibition setting that restrict print rasterization processing on highly confidential data to certain server and rasterization processing on less confidential data are performed in different environments and processing on other print server 20/30 as a distributed destination for each job setting based on at least a job detected security attribute data);
a processing management unit configured to send the job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit to the other print server and requests processing (sending according to the distribution setting of further para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 the distributed job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit accordingly to the other print server and requests processing); wherein the processing management unit is further configured to send the prohibition setting to the other print server (confidentiality prohibition setting further illustrated in at least para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 as implied is distributed according to certain setting to the other print server accordingly).
Regarding claim 6, Komazawa teaches a print server that performs distributed processing of a job in an industrial printing system that performs production printing (Komazawa teaches at least in para. 0023-0025 and Figs. 1-7 a commercial printing system comprising a plurality of central print servers 50/20/30 configured each means to distribute distributed processing to at least corresponding print servers 20/30 of para. 0057-0059, and 0066 performing further distributed processing of a job in an implied industrial printing system that performs production printing),
comprising: a prohibition management unit configured to generate a prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each job setting (a controller 40 of at least the Figs. 3-5 and para. 0094-0095 further comprising as further illustrated at least in para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 of a print rasterization prohibition processing setting to manage print distribution prohibition setting and generate a prohibition setting that restrict print rasterization processing on highly confidential data to certain server and rasterization processing on less confidential data are performed in different environments and processing on other print server 20/30 as a distributed destination for each job setting based on at least a job detected security attribute data);
and a processing management unit configured to send the job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit to the other print server and requests processing (sending according to the distribution setting of further para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 the distributed job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit accordingly to the other print server and requests processing); wherein the processing management unit is further configured to send the prohibition setting to the other print server (confidentiality prohibition setting further illustrated in at least para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 as implied is distributed or sent according to certain setting to the other print server accordingly).
Regarding claim 11, Komazawa teaches a processing management method executed by an industrial printing system having a plurality of print servers that perform distributed processing of a job and performs production printing (Komazawa teaches at least in para. 0023-0025 and Figs. 1-7 a commercial printing system comprising a print processing management method and the plurality of central print servers 50/51/52 configured each means to distribute distributed processing to corresponding print servers 20/30 performing further distributed processing of a job in an implied industrial printing system that performs production printing),
comprising the steps of: generating a prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each job setting (a controller 40 of at least the Figs. 3-5 and para. 0094-0095 further comprising as further illustrated at least in para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 of a print rasterization prohibition processing setting to manage print distribution prohibition setting and generate a prohibition setting that restrict print rasterization processing on highly confidential data to certain server and rasterization processing on less confidential data are performed in different environments and processing on other print server 20/30 as a distributed destination for each job setting based on at least a job detected security attribute data);
sending the job associated with the prohibition setting that is generated to the other print server to request processing (sending according to the distribution setting of further para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 the distributed job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit accordingly to the other print server and requests processing); and sending the prohibition setting to the other print server (confidentiality prohibition setting further illustrated in at least para. 0105, 0108 and 0121-0125 as implied is distributed according to certain setting to the other print server accordingly).
Regarding claim 19 (according to claim 1), Komazawa further teaches wherein the processing management unit is configured to refrain from selecting, as the other print server, a print server that does not: support the prohibition setting, restrict print attributes, or support printing condition or termination condition (the server distributing processing of further 0057-0059, and 0066 such as further illustrated in para. 0105 and 0108 further comprises selecting destination criteria including at least the refraining from selecting, as the other print server, a print server that does not: support the confidentiality prohibition setting, or support printing condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 11 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Matsuo et al. (US 11853628, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuo teaches an industrial printing system for performing production printing having a plurality of print servers for distributed processing of a job (Matsuo teaches at least in the Abstract an industrial printing system for performing production printing having further in Figs. 1, 5, and 7 a plurality of print servers 1 for distributed processing of a job),
each of the plurality of print servers 1 comprising:
a prohibition management unit configured to generate a prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each job setting (a control unit 10 of at least Fig. 2 and the specification as cited “(106) Here, the control unit 10 of the print server 1 is caused to function as the variable attribute generation unit 100, the security determination unit 110, and the process management unit 120 by executing the control program stored in the storage unit 19” further supportedly adapted at least in Figs. 4-7 to serve as a confidential print security prohibition management means configured to set and generate a variable print security prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each detected job setting);
a processing management unit configured to send the job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit to the other print server and requests processing (control unit 10 of at least Fig. 2 and the specification further adapted for sending further in at least Figs. 5-7 the job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit to the other print server and requests processing);
wherein the processing management unit is further configured to send the prohibition setting to the other print server (at least the Abstract cites “The security determination unit selects other print server capable of processing the variable content based on the security level of the content information of the variable attribute information generated by the variable attribute generation unit. The processing management unit requests the other print server selected by the security determination unit to process the variable content according to the security level” further insinuating one of the server selects the capable other distributing servers and send job data including at least obviously said variable print security prohibition setting serving as the said prohibition setting to the other print server). Thereby, one skill in the art would appreciate that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Matsuo in such a way to include wherein said processing management unit further configured to send the prohibition setting to the other print server, where the printing of the user job is restricted based on the variable print security prohibition setting in each of the other server according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuo teaches a print server that performs distributed processing of a job in an industrial printing system that performs production printing (Matsuo teaches at least in the Abstract an industrial printing system for performing production printing having further in Figs. 1, 5, and 7 a plurality of print servers 1 that performs distributed processing of a job in the said industrial printing system),
comprising: a prohibition management unit configured to generate a prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each job setting (a control unit 10 of at least Fig. 2 and the specification as cited “(106) Here, the control unit 10 of the print server 1 is caused to function as the variable attribute generation unit 100, the security determination unit 110, and the process management unit 120 by executing the control program stored in the storage unit 19” further supportedly adapted at least in Figs. 4-7 to serve as a confidential print security prohibition management means configured to set and generate a variable print security prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each detected job setting);
and a processing management unit configured to send the job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit to the other print server and requests processing (control unit 10 of at least Fig. 2 and the specification further adapted for sending further in at least Figs. 5-7 the job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit to the other print server and requests processing); wherein the processing management unit is further configured to send the prohibition setting to the other print server (at least the Abstract cites “The security determination unit selects other print server capable of processing the variable content based on the security level of the content information of the variable attribute information generated by the variable attribute generation unit. The processing management unit requests the other print server selected by the security determination unit to process the variable content according to the security level” further insinuating one of the server selects the other distributing servers and send job data including at least obviously said variable print security prohibition setting serving as the said prohibition setting to the other print server). Thereby, one skill in the art would appreciate that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Matsuo in such a way to include wherein said processing management unit further configured to send the prohibition setting to the other print server, where the printing of the user job is restricted based on the variable print security prohibition setting in each of the other server according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuo teaches a processing management method executed by an industrial printing system having a plurality of print servers that perform distributed processing of a job and performs production printing (Matsuo teaches at least in the abstract an industrial printing system comprising said method for performing production printing executed further in figs. 1, 5, and 7 by a plurality of print servers 1 that performs distributed processing of a job in the said industrial printing system),
comprising the steps of: generating a prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on an other print server in distributed destination for each job setting (a control unit 10 of at least Fig. 2 and the specification as cited “(106) Here, the control unit 10 of the print server 1 is caused to function as the variable attribute generation unit 100, the security determination unit 110, and the process management unit 120 by executing the control program stored in the storage unit 19” further supportedly adapted at least in Figs. 4-7 to serve as a confidential print security prohibition management means configured to set and generate a variable print security prohibition setting that restrict printing and processing on other print server in distributed destination for each detected job setting);
sending the job associated with the prohibition setting that is generated to the other print server to request processing (control unit 10 of at least Fig. 2 and the specification further adapted for sending further in at least Figs. 5-7 the job associated with the prohibition setting generated by the prohibition management unit to the other print server and requests processing); and sending the prohibition setting to the other print server (at least the Abstract cites “The security determination unit selects other print server capable of processing the variable content based on the security level of the content information of the variable attribute information generated by the variable attribute generation unit. The processing management unit requests the other print server selected by the security determination unit to process the variable content according to the security level” further insinuating one of the server selects the other distributing servers and send job data including at least obviously said variable print security prohibition setting serving as the said prohibition setting to the other print server). Thereby, one skill in the art would appreciate that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teachings of Matsuo in such a way to include wherein said sending the prohibition setting to the other print server, where the printing of the user job is restricted based on the variable print security prohibition setting in each of the other server according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims Standings
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-18, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior arts do not appear to teach as amended: claim 2. (Currently amended) The industrial printing system according to The industrial printing system according to wherein the prohibition setting is set as a printing condition of the job, a start condition of the process, and a termination condition of the process, and the prohibition management unit sets the prohibition settings to prevent mixing with other job; wherein the start condition is a setting to start print processing after another job is deleted: and the termination condition is a setting for completing the print processing after the job has been removed.
3. (Currently amended) The industrial printing system according to The industrial printing system according to wherein the printing condition includes a setting that estricts a print attribute at the other print server from selection by a user.
4. (Original) The industrial printing system according to claim 2, wherein the start condition and the termination condition include a condition for removal of printed matter from the discharge destination.
5. (Currently amended) The industrial printing system according to The industrial printing system according to wherein the processing management unit of the other print server stores the job requested for processing in an isolated print processing; wherein the isolated print processing area stores and isolates temporary data of the job.
7. (Currently amended) The print server according to claim 6, wherein the prohibition setting is set as a printing condition of the job, a start condition of the process, and a termination condition of the process, and the prohibition management unit sets the prohibition settings to prevent mixing with other job; wherein the start condition is a setting to start print processing after another job is deleted; and the termination condition is a setting for completing the print processing after the job has been removed.
8. (Currently amended) The print server according to claim 7, wherein the printing condition includes a setting that limits the print attribute that allows to be specified by a user and is a setting that restricts the print attribute at the other print server.
9. (Original) The print server according to claim 7, wherein the start condition and the termination condition include a condition for removal of printed matter from the discharge destination.
10. (Currently amended) The print server according to claim 6, wherein the processing management unit of the other print server stores the job requested for processing in an isolated print processing area; wherein the isolated print processing area stores and isolates temporary data of the job.
12. (Currently amended) The processing management method according to claim 11, wherein the prohibition setting is set as printing condition of the job, a start condition of the process, and a termination condition of the process, and the method further comprises a step of: setting the prohibition settings to prevent mixing with other jobs; wherein the start condition is a setting to start print processing after another job is deleted; and the termination condition is a setting for completing the print processing after the job has been removed.
13. (Currently amended) The processing management method according to
claim 12, wherein the printing condition includes a setting that limits the print attribute that allows to be specified by a user and is a setting that restricts the print attribute at the other print server.
14. (Original) The processing management method according to claim 12, wherein the start condition and the termination condition include a condition for removal of printed matter from the discharge destination.
15. (Currently amended) The processing management method according to
claim 11, further comprising a step of: onwherein the isolated print processing area stores and isolates temporary data of the job.
16. (New) The industrial printing system according to claim 2, wherein the start condition is a condition for verifying whether a file or data of another job does not exist in a print processing area or in another area of a storage unit; and the termination condition is a condition for verifying whether the job has been deleted from the storage unit.
17. (New) The industrial printing system according to claim 3, wherein the restriction on the print attributes allows the user to operate only in accordance with restrictions of a user interface on the other print server; or the restriction on the print attributes causes a user interface of the other print server to permit selection of only print attributes allowed by the prohibition setting.
18. (New) The industrial printing system according to claim 3, wherein the restriction on the print attributes limits selectable discharge destination to a stacker cart or number of copies permitted to be specified.
20. (New) The industrial printing system according to claim 1, wherein the prohibition management unit is configured to generate the prohibition setting according to the type of the job and print line belonging to the other print server to be requested.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 09/01/2026