DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2024 and 06/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (US 2012/0021283 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2019/0363358 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chan discloses an electrode comprising silicon clathrate active material particles ([0006] silicon clathrate electrode particles).
Chan discloses wherein the silicon clathrate can be used in the electrode, however, is silent with respect to wherein the electrode can comprise aluminum fluoride particles having an average particle size of 3.0 μm or less.
Choi discloses an electrode for a lithium battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Choi wherein an electrode, such as the positive electrode and can also be the negative electrode, can include 1-10 wt% of AlF3 having an average particle diameter of 0.1-3 μm ([0027,0029,0075,0091,0098]) and discloses wherein the incorporation of a metal fluoride such as AlF3, can be used to improve the capacity and cycle life improvement effect of the battery ([0026-0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify the electrode of Chan to incorporate the metal fluoride such as AlF3 within the electrode in order to improve the capacity and cycle life improvement effect of the battery as taught by Choi. The resulting modification would render obvious the electrode mixture of claim 1 wherein the electrode mixture includes aluminum fluoride particles having an average particle size of 3.0 μm or less. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein an average particle size of the aluminum fluoride particles is 0.1-2.5 μm ([0026-0029] metal fluoride may have an average particle diameter of 0.1-3 μm). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 2. Choi further discloses wherein an average particle size of the aluminum fluoride particles is 0.8-1.8 μm ([0026-0029] metal fluoride may have an average particle diameter of 0.1-3 μm). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein an average particle size of the aluminum fluoride particles is 0.1-3 μm ([0026-0029] metal fluoride may have an average particle diameter of 0.1-3 μm). Chan further discloses wherein the average particle size of the silicon clathrate can be 0.1-100 μm (abstract) such as 5-10 μm ([0023]). Examiner notes that the ratio can then be between 0.001 and 30 and thus can be less than 2.5. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chan discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein the metal fluoride can be provided at a weight of 1-10 wt% based on the total weight of the electrode layer for capacity, cycle life improvement while minimizing or reducing reduction of initial capacity and efficiency ([0026-0029]). While modified Chan is silent with respect to a ratio of a content of the aluminum fluoride particles relative to a content of the silicon clathrate active material particles is less than 2.0% by area when a cross sectional observation by SEM-EDX measurement is carried out on the electrode mixture, this is deemed to be based on the content of aluminum fluoride particles present in the mixture. Thus the teaching of Choi of the metal fluoride particles being provided between 1-10 wt% with respect to the total weight of the electrode layer would appear to render obvious that when a sample is chosen from the electrode that the amount of aluminum fluoride particles in the selected sample would be in a ratio of 1-10 % and thus would render obvious the content ratio as claimed. Examiner notes that the method of performing the measurement is not given patentable weight as a product claim does not depend upon the method of measuring. Thus all the claim limitations of claim 5 are rendered obvious as Choi discloses wherein the amount of aluminum fluoride in the mixture can be between 1-10 % and thus would overlap with the claimed invention of claim 5. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chan discloses a lithium ion battery, comprising an electrode active material of claim 1 (Chan abstract; electrode material for lithium ion battery).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Otaki et al. (US 2021/0305556 A1)-discloses an active material for a battery comprising a silicon clathrate.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728