DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a CON of 17/073,827 10/19/2020 ABN
17/073,827 is a CON of 16/658,542 10/21/2019 ABN
16/658,542 is a CON of 15/902,643 02/22/2018 ABN
15/902,643 is a CON of 14/949,986 11/24/2015 ABN
14/949,986 is a CON of 13/484,506 05/31/2012 ABN
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
EP 11168641.6 06/03/2011
EP 12153052.1 01/30/2012
Claims 1-37 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “greater than 100 mg/dL,” and the claim also recites “in particular greater than 125 mg/dL,” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “equal to or greater than 6.5%,” and the claim also recites “in particular equal to or greater than 8.0%,” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-9, 18, 21-22, 24-26, 28-29, 31-32, and 35-36 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keil (US2009/0325942 A1).
Keil teaches compounds of formula I (claim 1) which are neuroleptic agents because they are phenothiazines and may be used to treat schizophrenia (claim 17). The compound of formula (I) is administered in combination with SGLT2 inhibitors such as KGA-2727, T-1095, SGL-0010, AVE 2268 and SAR 7226 [0201].
The compounds of formula I are phenothiazine derivatives [0002], which are typical antipsychotics. See first paragraph of Ramachandraiah (Indian J Psychiatry 2009;51:324-6).
Administering Keil’s neuroleptic agent with an SGLT2 inhibitor would have inherently prevented a metabolic disorder, or prevented an increase in body weight, or prevented an increase of hyperglycemia to at least some extent because that is the function of SGLT2 inhibitors, and because Keil’s formula I is used for treating diabetes, metabolic syndrome, or lowering blood glucose level (claim 17).
Administration of the combination of drugs would necessarily have been combination or sequential because there is no other way to administer two drugs (either at the same time or not at the same time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lieberman (Prim Care Companion J Clin Psychiatry 2004;6 (suppl 2), pp. 8-13) and Wu et al. (JAMA, January 9/16 2008 – Vol 299, No. 2, pp. 185-193) in view of Himmelsbach et al. (CA 2557801, October 2005).
Lieberman teaches that the use of antipsychotics is associated with weight gain, impaired glucose metabolism, exacerbation of existing type I and type 2 diabetes, new onset of type 2 diabetes, and diabetic ketoacidosis, and increases the probability of metabolic syndrome. See paragraph bridging pages 8-9. Features of Metabolic Syndrome include impaired glucose metabolism or diabetes, obesity, raised blood pressure, raised plasma triglyceride and LDL levels, and low HDL cholesterol levels. See Table 1. Hyperglycemia and impaired glucose levels are often seen in patients suffering from diabetes or metabolic
syndrome. Atypical antipsychotics can increase the risk of hyperglycemia and impaired glucose levels and subsequently increase the risk of metabolic syndrome. Page 9, Hyperglycemia and Glucose Levels. Antipsychotics include conventional antipsychotics, clozapine, risperidone (a benzisoxazole), quetiapine, or olanzapine. See page 11, top of second column. The induction of obesity by antipsychotic agents has been documented for many years. See introduction.
Wu also teaches that weight gain is a common adverse effect of antipsychotic medications and is associated with medical comorbidities, such as weight gain, hyperlipidemia, and glucose intolerance. See page 185, context. Wu teaches that metformin was effective for treating antipsychotic-induced weight gain. See page 185, Conclusions. Antipsychotics include clozapine, olanzapine, quetiapine, risperidone, ziprasidone, and apriprazole. See paragraph bridging pages 185-186.
Lieberman and Wu do not teach administration of an SGLT2 inhibitor with the neuroleptic agent.
Himmelsbach teaches the use of the following SGLT2 inhibitors for treating metabolic disorders. See abstract.
A preferred compound is the following, recited on page 29 and illustrated on page 74. This preferred compound is empagliflozin.
The metabolic disorders to be treated include diabetes, metabolic syndrome, insulin resistance, and obesity. See page 46. Additional therapeutic agents such as metformin may be included. See page 47.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer an SGLT2 inhibitor to treat a metabolic disorder in a patient being treated with a neuroleptic agent, such as a patient being treated for a psychotic disorder. Metabolic disorders which are common in patients who are taking antipsychotics include weight gain, type 2 diabetes, hyperglycemia, and metabolic syndrome. SGLT2 inhibitors are known for treating metabolic disorders such as diabetes, metabolic syndrome, and obesity. The skilled artisan would have administered SGLT2 inhibitors to patients taking neuroleptics because SGLT2 inhibitors treat the metabolic disorders that neuroleptics cause. Metformin has been used to treat weight gain in patients taking antipsychotics and metformin is also used in combination with SGLT2 inhibitors. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in replacing metformin with an SGLT2 inhibitor or combining the metformin with an SGLT2 inhibitor because they are used for the same purpose and are known to be used in combination. The administration would have been in combination, or alternation, or sequential because there is no other way to administer two different drugs.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 10610489 in view of Himmelsbach, Lieberman, and Wu.
The’489 patent claims a composition comprising an SGLT-2 inhibitor and metformin. See claim 1.
The ‘489 patent does not claim a composition comprising a neuroleptic agent, or methods of treatment.
Himmelsbach teaches as set forth above, that SGLT-2 inhibitors are used for treating diabetes, metabolic syndrome, insulin resistance, and obesity. See page 46. Additional therapeutic agents such as metformin may be included. See page 47.
Lieberman and Wu teach as set forth above, that antipsychotic medications cause weight gain and metabolic syndrome.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use the’489 composition for treating or preventing metabolic syndrome because the’489 composition contains an SGLT-2 inhibitor and SGLT-2 inhibitors are used for treating metabolic syndrome. It would have been obvious to administer the composition to a subject taking a neuroleptic agent because neuroleptic agents cause metabolic syndrome. The skilled artisan would have combined the neuroleptic agent and the SGLT-2 inhibitor (in the presence or absence of metformin as well) in order to treat the psychotic disorder while preventing metabolic syndrome that can be caused by the neuroleptic agent.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693