Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 6/26/26, the Applicant amended Claim 1 and argued Claims previously rejected in the Office Action dated 3/31/26. Claims 1-8 are pending examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al., “Measuring inferred gaze direction to support analysis of people in a meeting” Expert Systems with Applications (hereinafter “Wright”), in view of Haro, United States Patent Publication 20230083909, in further view of Yang et al., United States Patent Publication 2022/0058407 (hereinafter “Yang”) and Mora et al., WO 2023275670.
Claim 1:
Wright discloses:
A method for estimating gaze directions of multiple persons in images, comprising:
obtaining a facial image, wherein the facial image comprises at least one face region (see page, section “Methodology”). Wright teaches estimating gaze directions of multiple people in an image;
constructing a model for multi-task, wherein the model comprises a plurality of multi-task processing structures capable of parallel calculations, the plurality of multi-task processing structures capable of parallel calculations output a gaze direction of each face region and face position information of each face region in the facial image through one-time calculation (see page 4, column 1 and 2). Wright teaches constructing a model. The uncertainty of the gaze direction (GD) for each participant is modelled by a Gaussian distribution, GD(μ,σ), constructed using estimates of the mean gaze direction and its standard deviation (σd) based on ground truth measurements;
training the deep network model end-to-end on a dataset to obtain a trained deep network model, wherein the trained deep network model is used to determine the gaze directions of multiple persons; and
inputting the facial image to the trained deep network model to obtain the gaze direction of at least one face region included in the facial image (see page 4 col. 1). Wright teaches inputting the facial image into the model to determine the gaze direction of multiple people in the image.
Wright fails to expressly disclose constructing a deep network learning model and training the model.
Haro discloses:
constructing a deep network model for multi-task learning, wherein the deep network model comprises a plurality of multi-task processing structures capable of parallel calculations, the plurality of multi-task processing structures capable of parallel calculations output a gaze direction of each face region and face position information of each face region in the facial image through one-time calculation (see paragraphs 0032], [0060], [0102]). Haro teaches constructing an always evolving learning model to take input, calculate calculations and determining the gaze of a user;
training the deep network model end-to-end on a dataset to obtain a trained deep network model, wherein the trained deep network model is used to determine the gaze directions of multiple persons (see paragraph [0032], [0071], [0078]). Haro teaches training the model with images to determine the gaze of a user.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclose by Wright to include constructing and training a learning model to determine the gaze of user for the purpose of efficiently creating models to accurately detecting the gaze, as taught by Haro.
Wright and Haro fails to expressly disclose performing image fusion.
Yang discloses:
wherein the training the deep network model end-to-end on the dataset comprises:
performing image fusion on a single-person image dataset with gaze direction labels and person image dataset without the gaze direction labels to construct the dataset of person images with the gaze direction labels (see paragraphs [0009] and [0078]). Yang teaches performing image fusion on image datasets using an algorithm based on facial features of unlabeled image and determining eye gaze.
wherein the image fusion comprises:
performing facial regularization and facial feature calculation for each of the faces (see paragraphs [0034]-[0036]). Yang teaches performing facial regularization of the faces by calculating facial features;
inputting an image dataset with gaze directions, and performing the facial feature calculation to cluster facial feature attributes (see paragraph [0038] and [0050]-[0051], [0054]). Yang reaches performing facial feature calculation to cluster attribute and features; and
performing face matching and retrieval on a result of the facial feature calculation of the image containing multiple faces with a result of clustering of facial feature attributes, to generate each of eye regions labeled by a gaze direction (see paragraph [0052]). Yang teaches performing face matching retrieving results to determine a gaze direction and label those images
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclose by Wright and Haro to include constructing and training a learning model to determine the gaze of user for the purpose of efficiently creating models to accurately estimate head pose and gaze estimation in computer vision technology, as taught by Yang.
Wright, Haro and Yang fail to expressly teaches training models by inputting multiple person images.
Mora discloses:
performing image fusion on a single-person image dataset with gaze direction labels and multi-person image dataset without the gaze direction labels to construct the dataset of multi-person images with the gaze direction labels (see paragraphs [0007] and [0072]). Yang teaches using training data that is labeled to train new data to be labeled inputting an image containing multiple faces (see paragraph [0007] and [0072]). Mora teaches inputting images containing multiple faces as training data.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclose by Wright, Haro and Yang to include using datasets for training models with multiple persons for the purpose of efficiently creating models to accurately estimate head pose and gaze estimation of multiple person and required calibration data, as taught by Mora.
Claim 2:
Wright discloses:
wherein the face region in the at least one face region comprises at least one of the following: facial size information, posture information, facial expression information, and gender information (see figure 1 and page 4 Section “Gaze Direction”). Wright teaches a posture information and the position of the head.
Claim 3:
Wright fails to expressly disclose encoders and decoders that complete tasks.
Haro discloses:
wherein the deep network model is a multi-task single-stage deep network model, the deep network model comprising one encoder and multiple decoders, wherein, decoders in the multiple decoders are decoders that simultaneously complete different types of tasks, the deep network model is used to determine at the same time the gaze directions of multiple face regions, and output the face position information and key point information of multiple face regions (see paragraphs [0041], [0045] and [0078]). Haro teaches the model has encoders and decoders completing different task to determine the position and gaze information.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclose by Wright to include using encoders and decoders to complete tasks for the eye gaze detection for the purpose of efficiently creating models to accurately detecting the gaze, as taught by Haro.
Claim 4:
Wright discloses:
wherein the method further comprises:
for the gaze direction of each face region in the gaze direction of the at least one face region, the following determination steps are performed: determine positions Ут,Уₛ of gaze projection points of the gaze direction Vg = (Θ,φ) of the face region on front, top and side projection planes, wherein, YF represents a position of a gaze projection point in a front direction, Ут represents a position of the gaze projection point in a top direction, Ys represents a position of the gaze projection point in a side direction, F represents the front direction, T represents the top direction, S represents the side direction, y₉ represents the gaze direction of the face region, Θ represents an angle of nutation in the gaze direction, and φ represents an angle of rotation in the gaze direction (see page 4 column 1 and Section “gaze direction”). Wright teaches determining positions of the gaze projections points of the face region using the gaze projection model. Wright uses equations to determine the positions and the directions of the gaze;
determine whether the positions Yf,Yt,Ys of the gaze projection points on the front, top and side projection planes are equal to three projections of three-dimensional gaze prediction values, wherein, the three projections of the three-dimensional gaze prediction values are obtained by the following formula:
Пᵣ(θ,Φ) = [sinΦ cosΘ, sinΘ], Пₜ(θ,Φ) = [cosΦ cosΘ, sinф cosΘ], Пₛ(θ,Φ) = [cosΦ cosΘ, sinΘ] wherein, П represents a projection function, F represents the front direction, Θ represents the angle of nutation in the gaze direction, Φ represents the angle of rotation in the gaze direction, Пₚ(Θ,Φ) represents projecting the gaze direction onto the front plane, sinΦ represents a sine value of Φ, cosΘ represents a cosine value of Θ, T represents the top direction, Пτ(θ,Φ) represents projecting the gaze direction onto the top plane, соsф represents a cosine value of Φ, S represents the side direction, Пₛ(θ,Φ) represents projecting the gaze direction onto the side plane, sinΘ represents a sine value of Θ (see pages 6-10). Wright teaches the positions and measurements of the head and face to estimate gaze direction.
Claim 5:
Wright fails to expressly disclose a loss function for the model.
Haro discloses:
wherein the deep network model comprises a self-supervised loss function, the self-supervised loss function is obtained by the following formula:
Lₛₑlƒ = X, wherein, Lₛₑlf represents the self-supervised loss function, τ represents the front or top or side direction, τ takes a value of {F,T,S}, F represents the front direction, T represents the top direction, S represents the side direction, Vτ represents the gaze direction in the front or top or side direction, П represents the projection function, yg represents the gaze direction of the face region, Пₜ(у₉) represents a projection function from three-dimension to two-dimension, I |₁ represents a L1 norm, e represents a natural constant, p represents a trainable parameter, eₜʳ represents a -p power of e, pτ represents a correction coefficient for τ projection (see paragraph [0060]). Haro teaches a loss function to use an energy function that is to be reduced (e.g., minimized), such that discrepancies between reality (e.g., a ground truth gaze/gaze direction of a user) and a modeled, predicted, or estimated gaze/gaze direction for the user are minimized. In some machine learning implementations, movement of a machine learning model towards inaccuracy is minimized by adjusting the parameters. One way to achieve this is to use the energy function as a loss function and to minimize the loss function directly. In some contexts described herein, such minimization of the loss function is an attempt to maintain a heuristic balance between the uniqueness of the eye characteristics of a user and a pre-existing machine learning mode.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclose by Wright to include using a loss function for the model for the purpose of efficiently creating models to accurately detecting the gaze, as taught by Haro.
Claim 6:
Wright discloses:
wherein the dataset is generated by a multi-person gaze direction image and generation framework that has replaced an eye region, by inputting two types of data, wherein, one type of data is single-person image data with a gaze direction label, and the other type of data is multi-person image data with multiple face regions, the generation framework is used to automatically cluster the single-person image data based on at least one of the gender information, race information, age information and head posture information, for easy retrieval, and the generation framework is also used to retrieve in the single-person image data, a single-person image data that is closest to the face region, for each face region in the multi-person image data, and replace the eye region, to generate a corresponding gaze direction (see page 3 col 2, page 4 col 2, page 9 col 1). Wright teaches the data set related to an individual person and to multiple people include posture position to generate the gaze direction.
Claim 7:
Wright fails to expressly disclose a total loss for the training process.
Haro discloses:
wherein an overall loss function during end-to-end training process is obtained by the following formula: wherein, L represents the overall loss function, α represents a first adjustable hyperparameter, Lƒₐcₑ represents a loss function related to the face position information and key point information, ß represents a second adjustable hyperparameter, L₉ₐ₂ₑ represents a loss function related to the gaze direction, wherein, Lgaze is obtained by the following formula, wherein, L₉ₐ₂ₑ represents the loss function related to the gaze direction, 1₁ represents a first hyperparameter used to balance different loss terms, Lₛₑlf represents the self-supervised loss function, A₂ represents a second hyperparameter used to balance different loss terms, Vg represents the gaze direction of the face region, y* represents a truth label, and 111 represents the L1 norm (see paragraph [0061]-[0066]). Haro teaches minimizing discrepancies during training by using a plurality of parameters and formulas to minimize the loss.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclose by Wright to include using a loss function for minimizing discrepancies during training for the purpose of efficiently creating models to accurately detecting the gaze, as taught by Haro.
Claim 8:
Wright fails to perform eye gaze direction in real time.
Haro discloses:
wherein in a deployment environment, the facial image is input in real-time to the trained deep network model, to obtain the gaze direction of at least one face region included in the facial image (see paragraph [0069] and [0070]). Haro teaches estimating in real time the eye gaze direction by an input image.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclose by Wright to include estimating eye gaze direction in real time for the purpose of efficiently creating models to accurately detecting the gaze in real time, as taught by Haro.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REM, filed 6/26/26, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-8 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Wright, Haro, Yang and Mora.
Applicant argues First, Haro's technical objective lies in real-time gaze redirection rendering for single-user video streams to optimize visual effects in virtual meetings. Haro only processes images containing a single user throughout its entire disclosure, solely addressing the problem of modifying human eye appearances in captured video frames. It never touches multi-person training datasets for deep gaze estimation networks, and Haro has no inherent technical need to generate annotated training data at all. A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) could not derive any teaching or suggestion of constructing labeled multi-person gaze datasets after reviewing Haro's full description.
The Examiner agrees.
The Examiner introduces Yang and Mora to teaches generating annotated training data of image of multiple persons. See the above rejection of the claims. Therefore, the combination of Wright, Haro, Yang and Mora discloses the limitations of the claims.
Applicant argues Haro does not disclose any implementation of fusing two distinct categories of images to form datasets for training. Haro merely collects single-person calibration frames to fit its internal 3D morphable eye model. It neither utilizes unlabeled multi-person scene images as input materials, nor describes any workflow to combine labeled single-person images with multi-person frames for the generation of training datasets.
The Examiner agrees.
The Examiner introduces Yang and Mora to the rejection to teach generating annotated training data of image of multiple persons. See the above rejection of the claims. Therefore, the combination of Wright, Haro, Yang and Mora discloses the limitations of the claims.
Applicant argues Haro fails to disclose the technical steps of facial regularization, facial feature computation, and attribute-based clustering for building retrievable feature set. Haro only constructs a 3D morphable eye geometry model for isolated individual frames, and merely fits eye shape, texture and pose parameters within that single captured image without cross-image feature matching or clustering operations.
The Examiner agrees.
The Examiner introduces Yang and Mora to the rejection to teach generating annotated training data of image of multiple persons, and perform facial regularization. See the above rejection of the claims. Therefore, the combination of Wright, Haro, Yang and Mora disclose the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIONNA M BURKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2178 9/14/26
/STEPHEN S HONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178