DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claim 17 have overcome each and every 112(b) rejections previously set forth. The 112(b) rejections of the claim 17 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 112(b) rejections of claim 1 have been considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of the claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 101 rejections of the independent claims 1, 19 and 20 (Amendment, Pages 11-13):
Applicant remarks that the “claim recites a specific ordered combination in which one or more processors control building-installed RFID sensors to emit electromagnetic interrogation pulses, receive a data tag including an identification number from an RFID tag attached to a firearm, determine based at least in part on that identification number to perform a responsive action on the building, and then control reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building,” (see Amendment, Page 12, lines 2-6) and argues that the “alleged abstract idea is integrated into a practical application” in that the “claimed determination is not recited in isolation; it is part of a physical building-safety control process that uses RFID interrogation of a firearm tag and then changes operation of building equipment.” (see Amendment, Page 12 lines 8-10) (Examiner submits that the limitation “in response to determining to perform responsive action on the building, controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building” is the associated limitation recited in the claim)
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that “controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building” is not sufficient to demonstrate integration of a judicial exception into a practical application. The practical application requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. When so evaluated, the limitation of “in response to determining to perform responsive action on the building, controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building,” as recited in the claim, is merely adding the word controlling with the judicial exception that attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem (of determining that the responsive action need to be performed) with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”, and does not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, and therefore is not indicative of integration into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more, see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Applicant further argues that the “specification confirms this practical application. Paragraph [0005] explains that the system "alters characteristics of the building nearby the firearm" and that, "by controlling responsive actions for a building in and of itself, lockdown procedures and the contacting of emergency services can see a drastic increase in efficiency." Paragraph [0019] further explains that the reactive devices are installed in, on, or around the building and may include lock systems, lights, speakers, communication devices for contacting emergency services, and other devices capable of executing a responsive action when controlled by the computing device. Paragraph [0049] likewise describes controlling reactive devices to perform building responses such as initiating an active shooter lockdown, locking or unlocking building doors, notifying administrators or security guards, activating sirens or lights, activating security cameras, and contacting police or emergency operators.” (see Amendment, Page 12, first full paragraph)
Examiner respectfully submits that the claim does not recite features used in Applicant’s argument. Examiner recommends incorporating such features into claim 1 to overcome the 101 rejection of claim 1. Examiner has not rejected claims 3, 4, 6 and 11 that are directed to such features used in Applicant’s argument. By properly incorporating any one of the claims 3, 4, 6 and 11 into independent claim 1, Applicant may overcome the 101 rejections.
In addition, Applicant argues (see Amendment, Pages 13-14) that the “amended claims 16-18 do not merely add more detail to an abstract idea. Rather, they recite a concrete building-control implementation in which RFID sensors installed in different zones of a building are used to localize a firearm based on receiving the data tag via a first RFID sensor and failing to receive the data tag from a second RFID sensor, thereby indicating that the firearm is only located close to the first zone and out of range of the second zone. The claims then use that zone-specific RFID result to control building-installed reactive devices in one zone while refraining from controlling reactive devices in another zone. This ordered combination is a practical application of the alleged determination, not a mental process performed on generic computer components. As amended, claim 16 ties the receive/fail-to-receive pattern to a physical location inference and a selective physical response in the building. Claim 17 further recites differentiated first and second responsive actions across the building zones. Claim 18 further specifies that the first responsive action includes outputting an alarm notification and that the second responsive action includes activating a lock system, consistent with the specification's disclosed safety rationale of warning the building while leaving exits unlocked in a second zone far from the firearm location. These limitations impose meaningful limits on the alleged abstract idea because they require RFID-zone-based sensing and selective actuation of building reactive devices, rather than merely collecting information or making a judgment about an identification number.” (see Amendent, Page 13, second full paragraph)
Regarding claims 16-17, the “receiving” and “failing … to receive” limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities under MPEP 2106.05(g), without imposing meaningful limits. The limitation amounts to necessary data gathering. (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output). The “controlling” and “refraining … from controlling” limitations do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more for similar reasons as discussed above regarding the independent claims.
For the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive, and 101 rejections of claims 1-2, 5, 7-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are maintained.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant’s argument (see Amendment, Page 14 line 2-8) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the 101 rejection of claim 18 is withdrawn.
Regarding 103 rejections of independent claims 1, 19 and 20 (Amendment, Pages 11-14):
Applicant argues that “claimed determination is therefore tied to the content of the received data tag-namely, the identification number-not merely to the fact that an RFID tag associated with a firearm has been detected,” and that “Esposito does not expressly teach receiving a data tag including an identification number from an RFID tag attached to a firearm, and does not expressly teach determining, based at least in part on the identification number, to perform a responsive action on the building.” (see Amendment, Page 15, second and third paragraphs)
Examiner respectfully submits that Esposito teaches detecting a data tag signal tied to a content, such as information that a firearm-related RFID tag has been detected, as described in at least paragraph [0028] (“An exemplary method according to the invention is shown in FIG. 6. When an RFID reader device 10 detects the presence of a RFID tag 20, it is configured to transmit to a central processer 110, a signal 120 containing information that the firearm-related RFID tag 20 has been detected.”). Further Esposito teaches that the RFID tag provides information for identifying a firearm belonging to a law enforcement officer so that an alarm is not activated, as described in at least paragraph [0032] (“According to a further alternative embodiment of the present invention, the RFID tags 20 are further programmed to signal to the RFID reader device 10 if the accompanying firearm 30 belongs to a law enforcement officer. The RFID reader device 10 can be configured to not activate the alarm 40 or automatic door locking system 50 upon detecting the firearm 30 of a law enforcement officer.”). Accordingly, Examiner submits that the read RFID tag is tied to a content.
While, Examiner submits that reading an RFID tag implicitly teaches that some sort of an identification number is read, Esposito does not expressly teach that the data read from the RFID tag is a number. Cruz, in the same application area of detecting a firearm at a location and activating an alarm accordingly, teaches extracting registration number of a firearm by reading a readable tag on the firearm, as described in at least in paragraph [0016] (“Referring to FIGS. 1 through 4, embodiments of the present invention may include a recognition sensor 14 inside of a firearm 10. The recognition sensor 14 may be a micro transmitter or a readable tag disposed inside the firearm 10. The recognition sensor 14 may be disposed within the firearm 10 so that it cannot be removed therefrom. For example, the recognition sensor 14 may be formed inside the firearm 10 during its manufacture. In some embodiments, the recognition sensor 14 may be formed in a handle 12 of the firearm 10.”), and paragraph [0017] (“Sensors 40, 44, 46, 50 may be disposed at various locations to detect the recognition sensor 14 of the firearm 10. In some embodiments, the sensors may not only detect the recognition sensor 14, but may also gain information about the firearm 10, such as a registration number. … For example, in an airport, the sensors may be designed to detect the recognition sensor of firearms and certain registration numbers (such as those from authorized TSA agents, US Marshalls, or the like) may be permitted and may not sound an alarm when the firearm is detected.”) The registration number reads on “an identification number”. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not deemed persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the “rejection appears to reason that, because Cruz discloses a firearm registration number, it would have been obvious to modify Esposito's RFID tag detection to incorporate receiving the registration number. But adding receipt of a registration number is not the same as modifying Esposito so that the decision to activate the building's reactive devices is made based at least in part on that number. Esposito already performs its intended function by activating the alarm and automatic door locking system when a firearm-related RFID tag is detected. The rejection does not adequately explain why a person of ordinary skill would have altered that presence-based trigger so that Esposito's building response instead depends on an identification- number-based determination, as claim 1 requires,” (see Amendment, Page 16, second full paragraph) and that “Cruz describes firearm-registration-number tracking and permitted-firearm screening in Cruz's own facility-access context. Cruz does not supply the missing teaching in Esposito that the determination to perform the claimed responsive action on the building is based at least in part on an identification number received from the RFID tag.” (see Amendment, Page 16, first full paragraph)
Examiner submits that both Esposito and Cruz teach reading a readable tag of an object to determine that the object is a firearm, and that the firearm belong to a law enforcement officer, in order to determine if an alarm should be activated or not. Since Esposito does not expressly teach that the reading from the readable tag is an identification number, Examiner uses Cruz to teach merely that what is read from the readable tag is a registration number, as described in at least paragraph [0016] (“Referring to FIGS. 1 through 4, embodiments of the present invention may include a recognition sensor 14 inside of a firearm 10. The recognition sensor 14 may be a micro transmitter or a readable tag disposed inside the firearm 10. The recognition sensor 14 may be disposed within the firearm 10 so that it cannot be removed therefrom. For example, the recognition sensor 14 may be formed inside the firearm 10 during its manufacture. In some embodiments, the recognition sensor 14 may be formed in a handle 12 of the firearm 10.”) The registration number reads on “an identification number”. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not deemed persuasive.
For the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive, and therefore the 103 rejections of the independent claims 1, 19 and 20 are maintained. Claims 2-15 depend on claim 1. Accordingly, the 103 rejections of claims 2-15 are maintained at least for the reason of their dependencies to claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, (see Amendment, Pages 17-19) with regards to the 103 rejections of claims 16-17, have been considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the 103 rejections of claims 16-17 are withdrawn. Claim 18 depends on claim 17. Accordingly, the 103 rejections of claim 18 is withdrawn at least for the reason of its dependency to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
(Step 2A, Prong One)
Independent claim 1 recites, “determining, by the one or more processors and based at least in part on the identification number, to perform a responsive action on the building.”
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, if a claim limitation covers performance that can be executed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic electronic devices or generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Under their broadest reasonable interpretation and based on the description provided in the Specification, such as paragraphs [0006] and [0022], for instance, the identifying function is a mental process that can be performed through observation, evaluation and judgement based on a received identification number. That is, other than reciting a “one or more processors” (a generic electronic device or generic computer component), a person may perform, through observation, evaluation and judgement, the features enunciated above.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
(Step 2A, Prong Two)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional limitations of, “controlling, by one or more processors, one or more radio-frequency identification (RFID) sensors to emit one or more electromagnetic interrogation pulses, the one or more RFID sensors being installed on or around a building; receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a data tag including an identification number from an RFID tag attached to a firearm; in response to determining to perform responsive action on the building, controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building.”
The additional limitation “controlling, by one or more processors, one or more radio-frequency identification (RFID) sensors to emit one or more electromagnetic interrogation pulses, the one or more RFID sensors being installed on or around a building”, “ as recited in the claim that are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitations may be tools that are used for receiving and determining as recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using generic electronic or computer components. Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea is not indicative of integration into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.05(f)
The additional limitation of “receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a data tag including an identification number from an RFID tag attached to a firearm” is an insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g), without imposing meaningful limits. The limitation amounts to necessary data gathering. (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output).
The claim recites the additional limitation of “in response to determining to perform responsive action on the building, controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building” The practical application requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. When so evaluated, the additional limitation of “in response to determining to perform responsive action on the building, controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building” is merely adding the word controlling with the judicial exception that attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it", and does not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, and therefore is not indicative of integration into a practical application, see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite an improvement in a technology as set forth in MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(a). Accordingly, the additional limitations recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
In view of the foregoing, the additional limitations are not sufficient to demonstrate integration of a judicial exception into a practical application.
(Step 2B)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The additional features including “controlling, by one or more processors, one or more radio-frequency identification (RFID) sensors to emit one or more electromagnetic interrogation pulses, the one or more RFID sensors being installed on or around a building”, as recited in the claim that are configured to carry out the additional and abstract idea limitation may be tools that are used for the functions recited in the claim, but recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions “to apply” the judicial exceptions on or using a generic electronic or computer component. Implementing an abstract idea on generic electronic or computer components as tools to perform an abstract idea does not amount to significantly more. See Elec. Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“Nothing in the claims, understood in light of the specification, requires anything other than off-the-shelf, conventional computer, network, and display technology for gathering, sending, and presenting the desired information.”)
The receiving function represents a function that is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional. For instance, as demonstrated in Esposito et al. (US 2015/0194033 A1) paragraph [0010] (“The system according to the present may further comprise a device comprising a memory that stores a software application, wherein the device is in communication with the radio frequency identification reader and the software application is configured to execute an action when the radio frequency identification reader detects a firearm. The system according to the present invention may further comprise a transceiver configured to receive a signal from the radio frequency identification reader that the firearm has been detected and to transmit a signal to each of the alarm and the automatic door locking system instructing the alarm and the automatic door locking system to activate.”), Cruz (US 2012/0242816 A1) paragraph [0018] (“The sensors may be housed in a housing 46. The housing may have a display screen 30, may be an exit sign as shown in FIG. 3, or may be some other structure in the area where sensing is desired. The housing may have a wireless module 34 with an antenna 42 for sending a signal to a receiving station 48, which may include a database for storing data. A power cord 38 may provide power to the device and/or solar panels 32 may provide solar power to the device, where appropriate.”), and Bingham et al. (US 2023/0070772 A1) paragraph [0126] (“In more detail, the process 300 includes determining, using sensor data generated by one or more sensors located at one or more properties, that an active threat is in progress at the one or more properties (302). For example, the threat assessment engine 122 may receive sensor data 115 and determine that an active shooter is in progress. The sensor data can include, for example, video camera data, audio data, motion sensor data, and temperature data.”).
The additional limitation of “in response to determining to perform responsive action on the building, controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building” is merely adding the word controlling (or “to apply”) with the judicial exception, and does not impose a meaningful limit on practicing the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, when taken alone, the individual additional limitations do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
Therefore, the additional claimed features do not amount to significantly more and the claim is not patent eligible.
Independent claims 19 and 20 are not patent eligible for similar reasons, as explained above, for independent claim 1.
The recitations of dependent claims 2, 5, 7-10 and 12-17 simply add more detail to or are cumulative to the abstract idea of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esposito et al. (US 2015/0194033 A1) (“Esposito”), in view of Cruz (US 2012/0242816 A1) (“Cruz”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Esposito teaches:
A method comprising: (Esposito: Abstract “A gun detection system and method to prevent school and business shootings is provided that is capable of detecting a firearm a significant distance away from the point of entry and triggering response of an alarm and an automatic door locking system.”) (Esposito: [0010] “The system according to the present may further comprise a device comprising a memory that stores a software application, wherein the device is in communication with the radio frequency identification reader and the software application is configured to execute an action when the radio frequency identification reader detects a firearm. The system according to the present invention may further comprise a transceiver configured to receive a signal from the radio frequency identification reader that the firearm has been detected and to transmit a signal to each of the alarm and the automatic door locking system instructing the alarm and the automatic door locking system to activate.”)
controlling, by one or more processors, one or more radio-frequency identification (RFID) sensors to emit one or more electromagnetic interrogation pulses, the one or more RFID sensors being installed on or around a building; (Esposito: [0022] “The RFID reader device 10 comprises an ultrahigh frequency ("UHF") antenna 15 that is configured to detect the presence of an RFID tag 20 affixed to a firearm 30 or ammunition clip 60. The antenna 15 is capable of detecting the presence of such an RFID tag 20 that is within a distance D of 100 feet of the antenna 15 in any direction. In alternative embodiments of the present invention, the antenna 15 is capable of detecting an RFID tag 20 from greater distances D than 100 feet.”) (Esposito: [0025] “In a second embodiment, shown in FIG. 2, a plurality of RFID reader devices 10 are used and are secured to a wall 70 of the building near the entrance. Because each RFID reader device 10 is configured to detect a RFID tag 20 that is within a certain range, the use of multiple RFID reader devices 10 increases the range in which an RFID tag 20 can be detected. Additionally, in the event that an RFID reader device 10 is non-functional or does not have sufficient power, the use of more than one RFID reader device 10 allows the system to still function by using the other RFID reader devices 10. An RFID reader device 10 is not limited to being secured to any particular, existing structure, but rather, the RFID reader device 10 can be secured to or concealed on any available, existing object or structure on or near a building, including for example support columns, trees, signs, light posts or flag poles.”) [Powering the RFID reader device 10 that uses antenna 15 to detect the RFID tag 20 reads on “controlling … one or more radio-frequency identification (RFID) sensors to emit …”. The RFID reader device 10 being secured to the wall 70, as illustrated in FIG. 2, reads on “… being installed on or around a building”.]
receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a data tag … from an RFID tag attached to a firearm; (Esposito: [0021] “The RFID tags 20 are known in the art and are small, inexpensive and abundant. The RFID tags 20 can be concealed in a firearm 30 and/or an ammunition clip 60 during manufacture or by the retailer, as shown in FIG. 5. The RFID tag 20 is programmed to signal to a RFID reader device 10 that the RFID tag 20 is affixed to a firearm 30 or a part of a firearm 30. For purposes of explanation, any reference to a firearm 30 detected by the RFID reader device 10 contained herein refers to the detection of any part of the firearm 30 having an affixed RFID tag 20, including an ammunition clip 60 which may or may not be physically attached to the firearm.”) [The RFID tag 20 affixed to the firearm 30 reads on “an RFID tag attached to a firearm”. The RFID reader device 10 detecting the RFID tag 20 reads on “receiving … a data tag … from an RFID tag …”.]
determining, by the one or more processors … to perform a responsive action on the building; and in response to determining to perform responsive action on the building, controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building. (Esposito: [0020] “According to the present invention, a radio frequency identification ("RFID") reader device 10 is provided in connection with a building, to detect the presence of an RFID tag or tags 20 that are affixed to a firearm 30. When an RFID tag 20 is detected by the RFID reader device 10, the RFID reader device 10 causes an alarm 40 and an automatic door locking system 50 to be activated for the building.”) [Detecting the presence of the RFID tag reads on “determining … to perform a responsive action …”. Causing the alarm 40 and activating the automatic door locking system 50 read on “to perform responsive action … controlling … one or more reactive devices …”.]
Esposito does not expressly teach: receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a data tag including an identification number from an RFID tag attached to a firearm; determining, by the one or more processors and based at least in part on the identification number, to perform a responsive action on the building.
Cruz teaches:
receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a data tag including an identification number from an RFID tag attached to a firearm; determining, by the one or more processors and based at least in part on the identification number, to perform a responsive action on the building. (Cruz: [0017] “Sensors 40, 44, 46, 50 may be disposed at various locations to detect the recognition sensor 14 of the firearm 10. In some embodiments, the sensors may not only detect the recognition sensor 14, but may also gain information about the firearm 10, such as a registration number. The sensors may transmit this information into a database 48 for tracking the movements of the firearm 10. In some embodiments, for example, at an entrance to a facility where firearms are not permitted (such as that shown in FIG. 1, for example), the sensor may detect the firearm 10 and, for example, may sound an alarm, prevent access, or notify the authorities. In some embodiments, the sensors may be programmed to distinguish between permitted firearms and unauthorized firearms. For example, in an airport, the sensors may be designed to detect the recognition sensor of firearms and certain registration numbers (such as those from authorized TSA agents, US Marshalls, or the like) may be permitted and may not sound an alarm when the firearm is detected.”) [The registration number reads on “an identification number”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Esposito and Cruz before them, to modify the detecting the RFID tag of the firearm by the RFID reader device, to incorporate receiving the registration number of the firearm.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for distinguishing authorized and unauthorized firearm based on looking up the registration number in the database of authorized and unauthorized registration numbers. (Cruz: [0017])
Regarding claim 2, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the one or more RFID sensors comprise one or more active RFID readers. (Esposito: FIG. 2) [See the multiple RFID reader devices 10, as illustrated in FIG. 2.]
Regarding claim 3, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein one or more of the one or more reactive devices comprise one or more alarm devices, and wherein the responsive action comprises controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of the one or more alarm devices to output an alarm notification, wherein the alarm notification is one or more of an audible alarm or a visual alarm, and wherein the one or more alarm devices comprise one or more of: a mobile device; a computing device of an emergency service; a speaker system installed throughout the building and/or on an exterior of the building; a lighting system installed throughout the building and/or on the exterior of the building; and a computer system present inside of the building. (Esposito: [0020] as discussed in claim 1) (Esposito: [0023] “In a preferred embodiment of the invention, the system operates as follows. If an armed individual approaches a building utilizing the system of the present invention, when the individual enters within 100 feet of the RFID reader device, the concealed RFID tag 20 installed in the firearm 30 is detected. In response to detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader device 10 activates the automatic door locking system 50 for the building. The automatic door locking system 50, when activated, automatically locks the doors to the building to prevent anyone from entering the building from outside, including the armed individual. Upon detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader 10 also activates a warning alarm 40. The warning alarm 40 may include sonic and/or visual alarms, and may also be a system comprising multiple individual alarms that can be installed inside and outside of the building. The warning alarm 40 alerts the armed individual outside of the building that they have been detected, increasing the likelihood that the individual flees the vicinity of the building without ever entering the building. The warning alarm 40 also alerts those inside of the building that an armed individual is approaching, thereby providing them with additional time to take preparatory protective steps, such as locking down individual rooms in the building.”)
Regarding claim 4, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the responsive action comprises one or more of: initiating an active shooter lockdown; locking one or more doors of the building that are in range of the RFID sensor and unlocking one or more other doors of the building that are not in the range of the RFID sensor; locking all doors of the building; notifying an administrator of the building; notifying one or more security guards in the building; sending message in a building-wide mobile device application; communicating with one or more speakers installed in or on the building; playing a siren over the one or more speakers; flashing one or more lights installed in or on the building; flashing one or more lights incorporated into one or more smoke detectors installed in or on the building; controlling a color of the one or more lights installed in or on the building; shine a spotlight on a range covered by the RFID sensor; activating one or more security cameras towards the range covered by the RFID sensor; sending a communication to all mobile telephones in an area of the building; sending a notification to a source outside of the building; sending an automated call to an emergency operator; sending a notification to a police officer; sending a message through an immediate police response system; connecting one or more phone lines from the building to the police officer; and connecting one or more radios at the building to the police officer. (Esposito: [0020] as discussed in claim 1) (Esposito: [0023] “In a preferred embodiment of the invention, the system operates as follows. If an armed individual approaches a building utilizing the system of the present invention, when the individual enters within 100 feet of the RFID reader device, the concealed RFID tag 20 installed in the firearm 30 is detected. In response to detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader device 10 activates the automatic door locking system 50 for the building. The automatic door locking system 50, when activated, automatically locks the doors to the building to prevent anyone from entering the building from outside, including the armed individual. Upon detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader 10 also activates a warning alarm 40. The warning alarm 40 may include sonic and/or visual alarms, and may also be a system comprising multiple individual alarms that can be installed inside and outside of the building. The warning alarm 40 alerts the armed individual outside of the building that they have been detected, increasing the likelihood that the individual flees the vicinity of the building without ever entering the building. The warning alarm 40 also alerts those inside of the building that an armed individual is approaching, thereby providing them with additional time to take preparatory protective steps, such as locking down individual rooms in the building.”)
Regarding claim 5, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the building comprises one or more of: a public facility; a school building; a college building; a university building; a government building; a bank building; a mall building; a stadium; a gas station; an office building; a restaurant building; an arena; a theater; a home; a vehicle; and a commercial park. (Esposito: [0002] “The present invention relates to a security system for preventing the use or entry of firearms in schools and other buildings.”)
Regarding claim 6, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein one or more of the one or more reactive devices comprise one or more lock systems, and wherein the responsive action comprises controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of the one or more lock systems to activate the lock system into a locked state, wherein each of the one or more lock systems are installed on one or more of: an entrance into the building; an exterior window of the building; an interior door of the building; and an interior window of the building. (Esposito: [0020] as discussed in claim 1) (Esposito: [0023] “In a preferred embodiment of the invention, the system operates as follows. If an armed individual approaches a building utilizing the system of the present invention, when the individual enters within 100 feet of the RFID reader device, the concealed RFID tag 20 installed in the firearm 30 is detected. In response to detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader device 10 activates the automatic door locking system 50 for the building. The automatic door locking system 50, when activated, automatically locks the doors to the building to prevent anyone from entering the building from outside, including the armed individual. Upon detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader 10 also activates a warning alarm 40. The warning alarm 40 may include sonic and/or visual alarms, and may also be a system comprising multiple individual alarms that can be installed inside and outside of the building. The warning alarm 40 alerts the armed individual outside of the building that they have been detected, increasing the likelihood that the individual flees the vicinity of the building without ever entering the building. The warning alarm 40 also alerts those inside of the building that an armed individual is approaching, thereby providing them with additional time to take preparatory protective steps, such as locking down individual rooms in the building.”)
Regarding claim 8, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the responsive action comprises controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of the one or more reactive devices to seal one or more entrances into the building. (Esposito: [0020] as discussed in claim 1) (Esposito: [0023] “In a preferred embodiment of the invention, the system operates as follows. If an armed individual approaches a building utilizing the system of the present invention, when the individual enters within 100 feet of the RFID reader device, the concealed RFID tag 20 installed in the firearm 30 is detected. In response to detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader device 10 activates the automatic door locking system 50 for the building. The automatic door locking system 50, when activated, automatically locks the doors to the building to prevent anyone from entering the building from outside, including the armed individual. Upon detecting the RFID tag 20, the RFID reader 10 also activates a warning alarm 40. The warning alarm 40 may include sonic and/or visual alarms, and may also be a system comprising multiple individual alarms that can be installed inside and outside of the building. The warning alarm 40 alerts the armed individual outside of the building that they have been detected, increasing the likelihood that the individual flees the vicinity of the building without ever entering the building. The warning alarm 40 also alerts those inside of the building that an armed individual is approaching, thereby providing them with additional time to take preparatory protective steps, such as locking down individual rooms in the building.”)
Regarding claim 9, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the data tag comprises a first data tag, wherein the RFID tag comprises a first RFID tag, wherein the firearm comprises a first firearm, wherein the identification number comprises a first identification number, and (Esposito: [0020]-[0022] as discussed in claim 1)
wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a second data tag … a second RFID tag attached to a second firearm; determining, by the one or more processors … , to not perform the responsive action on the building; and refraining, by the one or more processors, from controlling the one or more reactive devices to perform the responsive action on the building. (Esposito: [0032] “According to a further alternative embodiment of the present invention, the RFID tags 20 are further programmed to signal to the RFID reader device 10 if the accompanying firearm 30 belongs to a law enforcement officer. The RFID reader device 10 can be configured to not activate the alarm 40 or automatic door locking system 50 upon detecting the firearm 30 of a law enforcement officer.”) [The RFID tags 20 signalling to the RFID reader device 10 if the accompanying firearm 30 belongs to a law enforcement officer reads on “receiving … a second data tag … from a second RFID tag attached to a second firearm”. To not activate the alarm 40 or the automatic door locking system 50 reads on “determining … to not perform the responsive action” and “refraining … from controlling …”.]
Esposito does not expressly teach: registering, by the one or more processors, a second identification number in a whitelist database; receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a second data tag including the second identification number from a second RFID tag attached to a second firearm; checking, by the one or more processors, the whitelist database for an inclusion of the second identification number; determining, by the one or more processors and based at least in part on the presence of the second identification number in the whitelist database, to not perform the responsive action on the building.
Cruz teaches:
registering, by the one or more processors, a second identification number in a whitelist database; receiving, by the one or more processors via the one or more RFID sensors, a second data tag including the second identification number from a second RFID tag attached to a second firearm; checking, by the one or more processors, the whitelist database for an inclusion of the second identification number; determining, by the one or more processors and based at least in part on the presence of the second identification number in the whitelist database, to not perform the responsive action on the building. (Cruz: [0017] as discussed in claim 1) (Cruz: [0019] “The device may include a memory module 36. The memory module 36 may store information that may be useful to have on hand in the device. For example, the memory module 36 may contain information on permitted firearm registration numbers so that the device can immediately sense a permitted firearm and not sound an alert.”) (Cruz: [0023] “The database used to record firearm movement may be programmed to watch for certain firearms, such as those that are reported lost or stolen, or those used to commit a crime. The database may be able to correlate a firearm being carried with its registered owner's eligibility to carry the firearm. The database may also record and keep track of the history of ownership of the firearm. Should the firearm be used, for example, in the commission of a felony, a single database may be used to track any detected movement of the firearm as well as its registered ownership.”) [The database of the permitted firearm registration numbers of the authorized TSA agents, US Marshalls, or the like reads on “a whitelist database”. Recording the registration numbers of the reads on “registering … a second identification number”.]
The motivation to combine Esposito and Cruz as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 10, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claims 1 and 9. Cruz further teaches:
checking, by the one or more processors, the whitelist database for an inclusion of the first identification number; and determining, by the one or more processors, to perform the responsive action on the building in response to determining that the first identification number is not present in the whitelist database. (Cruz: [0017] as discussed in claim 1) [Recognizing certain registration numbers reads on “checking … the whitelist database for an inclusion …”. Sounding an alarm when the registration numbers that are not permitted firearm registration numbers of the authorized TSA agents, US Marshalls, or the like reads on “determining … to perform the responsive action on the building in response to determining …”.]
The motivation to combine Esposito and Cruz as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 11, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cruz further teaches:
wherein one or more of the one or more reactive devices comprise one or more cameras, and wherein the responsive action comprises controlling, by the one or more processors, one or more of the one or more cameras to activate. (Cruz: [0020] “In some embodiments, when the sensor detects a prohibited item, such as a firearm, one of the sensors may be replaced with a camera such as sensor 50 may be a camera 50. The camera 50 may take a picture of the person that caused an alert, send the picture to the receiving station 48, where facial recognition software may be used to help determine a threat. In some embodiments, when the sensor detects a prohibited item, a signal may be used to activate a GPS feature in an electronic device that may be carried by the person carrying the prohibited item. This GPS signal may be sent to the proper authorities to track the movement of the person carrying the prohibited item. Sensors posted at multiple locations may help track the movements of the person.”)
The motivation to combine Esposito and Cruz as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 12, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cruz further teaches:
checking, by the one or more processors, a restricted database for an inclusion of the first identification number; and determining, by the one or more processors, to perform the responsive action on the building in response to determining that the first identification number is present in the restricted database. (Cruz: [0023] “The database used to record firearm movement may be programmed to watch for certain firearms, such as those that are reported lost or stolen, or those used to commit a crime. The database may be able to correlate a firearm being carried with its registered owner's eligibility to carry the firearm. The database may also record and keep track of the history of ownership of the firearm. Should the firearm be used, for example, in the commission of a felony, a single database may be used to track any detected movement of the firearm as well as its registered ownership.”) [The database of the firearms reported lost or stole, or used to commit a crime, reads on “a restricted database for an inclusion …”.]
The motivation to combine Esposito and Cruz as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the identification number does not include any personally identifiable information. (Esposito: Abstract and [0020]-[0022] as discussed in claim 1) [The detection granularity of the firearm by the RFID tag 20 of a person and also of a law enforcement officer reads on “… does not include any personally identifiable information”.]
Regarding claim 14, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the responsive action does not alter any functionality of the firearm. (Esposito: FIG. 2, Abstract and [0020]-[0022] as discussed in claim 1) [Activating the alarm system 40 and the automatic door locking system 50 read on “… does not alter any functionality of the firearm”.]
Regarding independent claim 19:
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding independent claim 20:
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esposito, in view of Cruz, further in view of Kang et al. (US 2021/0096003 A1) (“Kang”).
Regarding claim 7, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito and Cruz do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 7.
Kang teaches:
wherein the RFID tag comprises an RFID transponder encased in a polymer resin with an adhesive backing to attach to the firearm. (Kang: [0110] “… The disclosed solution is a polymer-based system that couples the RFID an outer surface of a tool via an adhesive and/or coating that acts to retain the tag. The RFID tag is coated with a thin protective coating or casing material that may be disposed about a circumference. Moreover, after the RFID tag is attached to the surface by using a primer/adhesive material such as Lord Chemlok 2l3®, a protective casing material, such as urethane or two part liquid form polymers consisting of BASF ElastoCast™ 55090R Resin and BASF ElastoCast™ S55090T Isocyanate applied through a mixing machine such as the Gusmer H-2035 has been used. The protective casing can be brushed, rolled or sprayed.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Esposito, Cruz and Kang before them, to modify the concealing the RFID tag onto the firearm by the manufacturer or by the retailer, to incorporate using an adhesive material and urethane material to coat the surface.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for better protecting the RFID and applying it about a curved surface. (Kang: [0110])
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esposito, in view of Cruz, further in view of Bingham et al. (US 2023/0070772 A1) (“Bingham”).
Regarding claim 15, Esposito and Cruz teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Esposito further teaches:
wherein the one or more RFID sensors comprise a plurality of RFID sensors, wherein a first RFID sensor of the plurality of RFID sensors is installed within a first zone of the building, wherein a second RFID sensor of the plurality of RFID sensors is installed within a second zone of the building, the second zone of the building being different than the first zone of the building, wherein the one or more reactive devices include a first set of reactive devices located in the first zone … (Esposito: FIG. 2, Abstract and [0020]-[0022] as discussed in claim 1) (Esposito: [0025] “In a second embodiment, shown in FIG. 2, a plurality of RFID reader devices 10 are used and are secured to a wall 70 of the building near the entrance. Because each RFID reader device 10 is configured to detect a RFID tag 20 that is within a certain range, the use of multiple RFID reader devices 10 increases the range in which an RFID tag 20 can be detected. Additionally, in the event that an RFID reader device 10 is non-functional or does not have sufficient power, the use of more than one RFID reader device 10 allows the system to still function by using the other RFID reader devices 10. An RFID reader device 10 is not limited to being secured to any particular, existing structure, but rather, the RFID reader device 10 can be secured to or concealed on any available, existing object or structure on or near a building, including for example support columns, trees, signs, light posts or flag poles.”) [Any one of the RFID reader device 10, as illustrated in FIG. 2, reads on “a first RFID sensor …”, and the front entrance wall area reads on “a first zone of the building”. The RFID reader device 10 at any other location near the building reads on “a second RFID sensor … within a second zone …”. The alarm system 40 and the automatic door locking system 50, as illustrated in FIG. 2, read on “a first set of reactive devices …”.]
Esposito and Cruz do not expressly teach: wherein the one or more reactive devices include a first set of reactive devices located in the first zone and a second set of reactive devices located in the second zone of the building.
Bingham teaches:
wherein the one or more reactive devices include a first set of reactive devices located in the first zone and a second set of reactive devices located in the second zone of the building. (Bingham: [0103] “The monitoring server 130 can transmit commands to adjust access control devices, e.g., by sending a command to activate lighting components and/or audio components of access control devices to warn of dangerous conditions. For example, a gunshot detection system may detect gunshots in a particular room of the building 102. Based on the detected gunshots in the particular room, the monitoring server 130 can transmit a command to an access control device installed on a door to the particular room. For example, the command can instruct the access control device to flash LED lights in a pattern, e.g., by alternating between red and orange LED colors to indicate dangerous conditions in the particular room. In some examples, the command can instruct the access control device to broadcast audible beeping or buzzing sounds to indicate dangerous conditions in the particular room.”) (Bingham: [0104] “In some examples, the monitoring server 130 can transmit commands to activate lighting components and/or audio components of access control devices to indicate safe areas and escape paths. For example, a gunshot detection system may detect gunshots in a particular room of the building 102. The monitoring server 130 can identify safe areas and escape paths that are clear of the particular room, and can transmit commands to access control devices in the safe areas and along the escape paths. For example, the command can instruct the access control devices to flash a green color to indicate safety.”) [The lighting components in the safe rooms or areas of the building read on “a second set of reactive devices located”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Esposito, Cruz and Bingham before them, to modify the locations of the RFID reader devices, the alarms and the doorlocks, to incorporate placing them in multiple locations within the building.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the detecting and responding to the presence of the firearm in a specific location, and responding at other nearby locations in appropriate ways. (Bingham: [0103])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116