DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-19 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hales (20030201041) in view Hattori (4410378).
Regarding claims 11, 12, 15-19, 21-31, Hales discloses that the emulsion explosive can be mixed with the fuel phase and oxidizer phase and then have the emulsifier (homogenizing agent) added as a third component (0016 and 0017). Paragraph 0017 recites “It is advantageous to predissolve the emulsifier in the liquid organic fuel prior to adding the organic fuel to the aqueous solution. This method allows the emulsion to form quickly and with minimum agitation. However, the emulsifier may be added separately as a third component if desired.”
Hattori discloses an apparatus used for the delivery of emulsion explosives that includes supplying an emulsion (meets emulsion matrix), mixing a homogenizing agent from a second tank with a static mixer that holds the emulsifier (sorbitan fatty acid ester) (meets homogenizing agent) (see fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 55-60). The figure shows the mixing of a sensitizer, i.e. hollow microspheres. The composition is used in a blasthole (meets convey step). The resulting composition has .1 to 5% of homogenizer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the mixing method discloses by Hales with the method of Hattori since both relate to emulsion explosives and Hale suggests that it is known to mix the components in that order. It is also obvious to use the method of Hattori in a blasthole since Hattori discloses emulsion compositions for blasting. It is also obvious to vary the viscosity since Hattori discloses that the time in the machine can be used to adjust the emulsion explosive to any desired state (col. 4).
Regarding claim 13, it is obvious to use the proper emulsion matrix to match the hardness of the rock to be blasted since that is the use of the emulsion explosive.
Regarding claim 14, the emulsion is in a tank prior to the addition of the homogenizing agent and thus is devoid of homogenizing agent (fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Hale does not disclose the addition of the homogenizer (emulsifier) separately after the fuel and oxidizer have been mixed. This is incorrect. Paragraph 0017 recites “It is advantageous to predissolve the emulsifier in the liquid organic fuel prior to adding the organic fuel to the aqueous solution. This method allows the emulsion to form quickly and with minimum agitation. However, the emulsifier may be added separately as a third component if desired.”
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734