DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicants filing of IDS references on March 11, 2024. The
references have been considered at this time. A copy of the annotated IDS sheet is included in this
correspondence.
Double Patenting
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/581545 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are claiming the same invention.
Instant application: 18/597,429
Reference Application: 18/581545
A paddle racket with segmented cores, comprising a plate body, the plate body comprising: a core, the core defining at least two ball-striking response parts adjacent to each other, a segment gap being formed between any two of the at least two ball-striking response parts; a frame, the frame being disposed on a periphery of the core; and two surface layers, the two surface layers being spaced apart from each other and respectively assembled on the core and the frame, and the two surface layers corresponding to the at least two ball-striking response parts.
1. A pickleball paddle with a centralized core, comprising a plate body, the plate body comprising: a core, the plate body defining a first ball-striking response part and a second ball-striking response part adjacent to each other in corresponding to the core, the first ball-striking response part being located at a central part of the core, the first ball-striking response part and the second ball-striking response part respectively having a first response parameter and a second response parameter different from each other; a frame, the frame being disposed on a periphery of the core; and two surface layers, the two surface layers being spaced apart from each other and respectively assembled on the core and the frame, the two surface layers corresponding to the first ball-striking response part and the second ball-striking response part.
6. The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first ball-striking response part is further provided with a plurality of first components, the first components have the first response parameters, the first components are arranged with one another, the first components extend between corresponding frame edges of the frame, the first ball-striking response part further comprises at least two response blocks, a segment gap is further formed between any two of the at least two response blocks, the at least two response blocks are further provided with the first components, the segment gap is further provided with a filler, the filler has a coefficient of elasticity, and the filler is further a rubber band with the coefficient of elasticity.
The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least two ball-striking response parts are further provided with a plurality of components, the components have the first response parameters, the components are arranged with one another, the components extend between corresponding frame edges of the frame, and the two surface layers are assembled on the components of the core.
6. The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first ball-striking response part is further provided with a plurality of first components, the first components have the first response parameters, the first components are arranged with one another, the first components extend between corresponding frame edges of the frame, the first ball-striking response part further comprises at least two response blocks, a segment gap is further formed between any two of the at least two response blocks, the at least two response blocks are further provided with the first components, the segment gap is further provided with a filler, the filler has a coefficient of elasticity, and the filler is further a rubber band with the coefficient of elasticity.
1. A pickleball paddle with a centralized core, comprising a plate body, the plate body comprising: a core, the plate body defining a first ball-striking response part and a second ball-striking response part adjacent to each other in corresponding to the core, the first ball-striking response part being located at a central part of the core, the first ball-striking response part and the second ball-striking response part respectively having a first response parameter and a second response parameter different from each other; a frame, the frame being disposed on a periphery of the core; and two surface layers, the two surface layers being spaced apart from each other and respectively assembled on the core and the frame, the two surface layers corresponding to the first ball-striking response part and the second ball-striking response part.
The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 2, wherein the components are either arranged longitudinally with one another, or arranged transversely with one another, or arranged obliquely with one another, or arranged with one another in a combination of the above arrangements, a component gap is further provided between any two of the components, the components are made of either honeycomb structure or rib structure, the components are made of either carbon fiber material, hard plastic material or hard foam material.
7. The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first components are either arranged longitudinally with one another, or arranged transversely with one another, or arranged obliquely with one another, or arranged with one another in a combination of the above arrangements, the first components are made of either honeycomb structure or rib structure, the first components are made of either carbon fiber material, hard plastic material or hard foam material.
6. The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first ball-striking response part is further provided with a plurality of first components, the first components have the first response parameters, the first components are arranged with one another, the first components extend between corresponding frame edges of the frame, the first ball-striking response part further comprises at least two response blocks, a segment gap is further formed between any two of the at least two response blocks, the at least two response blocks are further provided with the first components, the segment gap is further provided with a filler, the filler has a coefficient of elasticity, and the filler is further a rubber band with the coefficient of elasticity.
The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 2, wherein the frame has a second response parameter, the components with the first response parameters and the frame with the second response parameter are made of different materials, the first response parameter and the second response parameter are stiffness.
The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first ball-striking response part with the first response parameter and the second ball-striking response part with the second response parameter are made of different materials, the first response parameter and the second response parameter are stiffness.
The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame is made of either polyethylene (PE) or ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) copolymer, and the two surface layers are made of either a carbon fiber or a glass fiber.
9. The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame is made of either polyethylene (PE) or ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) copolymer, and the two surface layers are made of either a carbon fiber or a glass fiber.
The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein further comprising a grip body, the grip body being formed by extending longitudinally or by connecting longitudinally from a bottom side of the frame of the plate body, the grip body being further assembled with a handle, and the handle being made of a synthetic rubber.
10. The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein further comprising a grip body, the grip body being formed by extending longitudinally or by connecting longitudinally from a bottom side of the frame of the plate body, the grip body being further assembled with a handle, and the handle being made of a synthetic rubber.
The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein forming directions of any two of the segment gaps are selected from either intersecting or non-intersecting or a combination thereof.
The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first ball-striking response part is further provided with a plurality of first components, the first components have the first response parameters, the first components are arranged with one another, the first components extend between corresponding frame edges of the frame, the first ball-striking response part further comprises at least two response blocks, a segment gap is further formed between any two of the at least two response blocks, the at least two response blocks are further provided with the first components, the segment gap is further provided with a filler, the filler has a coefficient of elasticity, and the filler is further a rubber band with the coefficient of elasticity.
The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein the segment gap is further provided with a filler, the filler has a coefficient of elasticity, and the filler is further a rubber band with the coefficient of elasticity.
6. The pickleball paddle with the centralized core as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first ball-striking response part is further provided with a plurality of first components, the first components have the first response parameters, the first components are arranged with one another, the first components extend between corresponding frame edges of the frame, the first ball-striking response part further comprises at least two response blocks, a segment gap is further formed between any two of the at least two response blocks, the at least two response blocks are further provided with the first components, the segment gap is further provided with a filler, the filler has a coefficient of elasticity, and the filler is further a rubber band with the coefficient of elasticity.
As shown in the mapping above, claim 1 of the reference application includes all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except a segment gap being formed between any two of the at least two ball-striking response parts. While this limitation isn’t disclosed in claim 1 of the reference application, it is recited in claim 6 of the reference application (lines 8-9).
Claim 6 of the reference application includes all the limitations of claim 2 of the instant application except the two surface layers are assembled on the components of the core. While this limitation isn’t disclosed in claim 2 of the reference application, it is recited in claim 1 of the reference application (lines 13-15).
Claim 7 of the reference application includes all the limitations of claim 3 of the instant application except a component gap is further provided between any two of the components. While this limitation isn’t disclosed in claim 7 of the reference application, it is recited in claim 6 of the reference (lines 8-11).
Claim 5 of the reference application recites the exact limitations of claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of the reference application recites the exact limitations of claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim 10 of the reference application recites the exact limitations of claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of the reference application includes almost all the limitations of claim 7 of the instant application, while also reciting further limitations. While claim 6 of the reference application doesn’t exactly disclose forming directions of any two of the segment gaps are selected from either intersecting or non-intersecting or a combination thereof, claim 7 of the reference application cites a segment gap. It is obvious to add another segment gap between the ball-striking response parts in order to achieve predictable results, as this is mere duplication of parts holding no patentable significance; see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. It is also obvious to arrange the forming directions from either intersecting or non-intersecting or a combination thereof for these segment gaps, as this rearrangement of parts doesn’t modify the operation of the device; see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Claim 6 of the reference application includes all the limitations of claim 8 of the instant application, while also reciting further limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thurman et al. U.S.
Publication 2021/0252356 A1 (hereafter Thurman).
Regarding claim 1, Thurman teaches A paddle racket with segmented cores (2220, Fig 25A), comprising a plate body (At least portions of the handle, the inner layer, the first outer faceplate and the second outer faceplate are integrally formed as a single unitary body, see abstract), the plate body comprising: a core (see at least Fig. 25A, 2072-1; core area of paddle), the core defining at least two ball-striking response parts adjacent to each other (44,46), a segment gap being formed between any two of the at least two ball-striking response parts (142); a frame, the frame being disposed on a periphery of the core; and two surface layers (see at least Fig. 25A, [0145] 2072-2 tubular body sublayer around the core 2072-1), the two surface layers being spaced apart from each other and respectively assembled on the core and the frame (see at least [0145, Fig. 25B, faceplates 44 and 46 assembled around the core 2072-1 and the tubular body (e.g. frame) 2072-2), and the two surface layers corresponding to the at least two ball-striking response parts (see at least [0143] sublayers 2072 may be formed from material having the same color or may be formed from the same material different material having different colors. The differing colors, when in combination with a translucent faceplate 44, 46 may further assist in the user identifying the boundaries of the different sublayers 2070-2 to assist in determining how to position a paddle when striking a pickleball such that the ball is struck with a desired result in a given game circumstance.).
Regarding claim 2, Thurman teaches The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least two ball-striking response parts are further provided with a plurality of components (see at least Fig.25A/B [0139] sublayers 2072-1,2072-2 with cells), the components have the first response parameters (The multi levels of cells provide paddle 20 with enhanced stiffness and coefficient of restitution performance at a lower weight [0081]), the components are arranged with one another ([0180] sublayers 3270-1 3270-2 may also have different geometries), the components extend between corresponding frame edges of the frame (Sublayers 2072 (which is the combination of 2072-1,207202 and its cells) extend side-by-side within a single plane between faceplates 44 and 46, see Fig. 25A), and the two surface layers are assembled on the components of the core (see at least [0145, Fig. 25B, faceplates 44 and 46 assembled around the core 2072-1).
Regarding claim 3, Thurman teaches The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 2, wherein the components are either arranged longitudinally with one another, or arranged transversely with one another, or arranged obliquely with one another, or arranged with one another in a combination of the above arrangements, a component gap is further provided between any two of the components (crossbeams 2374-1,2,3, see Fig. 26). the components are made of either honeycomb structure or rib structure, the components are made of either carbon fiber material, hard plastic material or hard foam material: see at least Figs. 25A, 26 [0141] sublayers 2072 are each formed from a same material having a same chemical composition, with different geometries. In the example illustrated, sublayers 2072 are each formed from a same material having honeycomb cells, wherein sublayers 2072 have differing densities of honeycomb cells. In other implementations, sublayers 2072 are formed from a same material having a single nonorthogonal lattice geometry/architecture, wherein sublayers 2072 have different densities of the lattice, different densities of cells. In other implementations, sublayers 2072 may be formed with different densities of cells, one or more orthogonal lattices, and/or out of different materials. and [0145] FIG. 24C sublayer 2172-2 is a tubular body formed of fiber composite material, similar to a composite tennis racquet frame. In one implementation, the sublayer 2172-2 is one elongate tube of fiber composite material that is molded into the shape of the perimeter of the head portion 2140 and [0083] the inner layer 42 can be formed of a urethane foam, polypropylene, Nomex® polycarbonamide material, ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA), aluminum, balsa, corrugated cardboard, a rubber, polyethylene, polyvinyl chloride, a polyethylene vinyl acetate, other polymeric foams, other lightweight elastic foams, other types of wood, other metallic alloys, and combinations thereof. In some implementations, the cells of inner layer 42 may be filled or injected with a different material. For example, in one implementation, the cells of inner layer 42 may be injected with a foam material. In some implementations, selected portions of inner layer 42 may have their cells filled or injected with material, such as a foamed material or other selected portions of inner layer 42 have empty or unfilled cells. In one implementation, first selected portions may have cells filled with a first material, such as a first foamed material, second selected portions may have cells filled with a second material such as a second different foamed material and third portions having empty void cells. In such implementations, the selective filling of cells at selected locations may provide different stiffness levels and coefficient of restitution and different portions of the face of the paddle 20 to optimize performance and feel.).
Regarding claim 4, Thurman teaches The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 2, wherein the frame has a second response parameter, the components with the first response parameters and the frame with the second response parameter are made of different materials, the first response parameter and the second response parameter are stiffness (see at least [0115] By selectively filling certain cells/cavities 1250 with different materials, different portions of inner layer 1242 may provide the paddle with different stiffnesses, coefficients of restitution, feel, weight distribution and performance parameters customized to a player's skill level or preferences. In addition, by selectively filling certain cells/cavities 1250 with different materials and by using a plate 44 and/or 46 having translucent properties in at least selected regions, ball striking cues, designs and logos may be provided).
Regarding claim 5, Thurman teaches The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame is made of either polyethylene (PE) or ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) copolymer, and the two surface layers are made of either a carbon fiber or a glass fiber (see at least [0082] ach of the different multilevel cellular layers may be formed from a material such as polypropylene, polyurethane, polyester, thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), polyamide, other rigid polymer or glass/carbon filled polymer composite.)..
Regarding claim 6, Thurman teaches The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein further comprising a grip body, the grip body being formed by extending longitudinally or by connecting longitudinally from a bottom side of the frame of the plate body, the grip body being further assembled with a handle, and the handle being made of a synthetic rubber (see at least Fig. 26 or 36A, handle 30 [0206] As should be appreciated, handle 4230 may have a separately attached outer grip in the form of an outer wrap or sleeve of a gripping material such as leather, synthetic leather, rubber, synthetic rubber, an elastomeric material or other material.).
Regarding claim 8, Thurman teaches The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein the segment gap is further provided with a filler, the filler has a coefficient of elasticity, and the filler is further a rubber band with the coefficient of elasticity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurman et al. U.S.
Publication 2021/0252356 A1 (hereafter Thurman).
Regarding claim 7, Thurman teaches The paddle racket with the segmented cores as claimed in claim 1, wherein forming directions of any two of the segment gaps (142) are selected from either intersecting or non-intersecting or a combination thereof. While Thurman doesn’t explicitly teach two segment gaps, it is obvious to add another segment gap between the ball-striking response parts in order to achieve predictable results, as this is mere duplication of parts holding no patentable significance; see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. Additionally, it is also obvious to arrange the forming directions from either intersecting or non-intersecting or a combination thereof for these segment gaps, as this rearrangement of parts doesn’t modify the operation of the device; see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Conclusion
/RIA SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/NICHOLAS J. WEISS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711