The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buschmann et al. US 2012/0263530. Buschmann et al. disclose a method for dynamically controlling a paving speed, tamper speed and other operating parameters of a paving machine (7) during a paving process, the method comprising:
Receiving and Storing in a memory (18) all relevant parameters of a paving process for
a specified portion of a roadway (2). [0041].
Transmitting request commands from a control (17) of the paving machine (7) to a
central server (9) requesting a supply of HMA from the mix plant (3) or a supply
truck (6). [0042-43, 0053].]
Receive said supply of HMA and begin the paving process.
Create an HMA demand forecast based on progress of the paving process. [0014-20].
Receive from said mix plant (3) or said supply truck (6) a change in the expected
delivery time or temperature of the HMA based on the previously created
demand forecast.
Adjust the paving speed of the paving machine based on said received changes to the
demand forecast. [0023-25].
Adjust the tamper speed based on the adjusted paving speed. [0019].
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Buschmann et al. ‘530.
Buschmann et al. discloses the additional method steps of:
Receiving by said control (17) of the paving machine (7) HMA data from the
mix plant or a supply truck such as temperature, amount and time of arrival
at said paving machine.
Receiving on a display device (21) from the control device (17) processed HMA data.
Automatically by control device (17) or manually by an operator, adjust the paving
speed of the paving machine (7). [0053].
Although Buschmann et al. do not explicitly recite entering a maximum paving speed, it would be obvious if not inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made, “adjust the operating parameters of the road finishing machine (7), in particular its laying speed, automatically, or the operator cand do this manually”,
includes setting a maximum paving speed in order to prevent running the hopper empty waiting for the supply truck (6) to arrive. [0053].
With respect to claims 3-9 Buschmann et al. discloses including the HMA thickness and width being produced by the paving machine (7) when determining operating parameters such as paving and tamper speed. [0014-25, 53]. As well as storing paving parameters in said memory and accessing said memory with said control (17) when determining the paving/tamper speed as well as other operating parameters of the paving machine and managing the supply chain (5) including multiple mix plants (3) in order to prevent a “failure of trucks (6) along the supply chain (5), or a failure or production choke points in mixing plants (3) to avoid interruptions of the laying process, which would deteriorate quality”. [0041-43, 53-54].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 10-12, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buschmann et al. US 2012/0263530 in view of EP 2325392 (Buschmann et al.) Buschmann et al. disclose a method for dynamically controlling operating parameters of a paving machine (7) during a paving process, the method comprising:
Receiving and Storing in a memory (18) all relevant parameters of a paving process for
a specified portion of a roadway (2). [0041].
Controlling a tamper speed based on the stored data.
But do not disclose controlling the tamper stroke. However, Buschmann et al. teach a method of paving HMA comprising the steps of:
Receiving real time pre-compaction data from the tampers (14).
Receiving real time HMA thickness data.
Comparing the real time data to a stored data.
Creating a correction factor and correcting the tamper stroke/frequency, machine speed
and screed angle of attack in order to maximize quality and strength of the HMA.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Buschmann et al. with the tamper control method taught by Buschmann et al. in order to control the compaction force applied by the tampers.
Claim(s) 13, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buschmann et al. US 2012/0263530 in view of Chambers et al. US 2020/0292348. Buschmann et al. disclose a method for dynamically controlling a paving speed, tamper speed and other operating parameters of a paving machine (7) during a paving process, the method comprising:
Receiving and Storing in a memory (18) all relevant parameters of a paving process for
a specified portion of a roadway (2). [0041].
Transmitting request commands from a control (17) of the paving machine (7) to a
central server (9) requesting a supply of HMA from the mix plant (3) or a supply
truck (6). [0042-43, 0053].
Receive said supply of HMA and begin the paving process.
Create an HMA demand forecast based on progress of the paving process. [0014-20].
Receive from said mix plant (3) or said supply truck (6) a change in the expected
delivery time or temperature of the HMA based on the previously created
demand forecast.
Adjust the paving speed of the paving machine based on said received changes to the
demand forecast. [0023-25].
Adjust the tamper speed based on the adjusted paving speed. [0019].
What Buschmann et al. do not disclose is the use of a cloud based application.
However, Chambers et al. teach a pavement data tracking a mapping system
comprising a computer based mapping system configured to generate a digital map of a paved road area and a digital reconstruction of said paved road area that is overlaid on to the map. The system including a servers, processors, programmable controllers, networked controllers, data base servers, the internet and “the cloud”. [0009, 0051].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the road paving method of Buschmann et al. with the pavement data tracking and mapping system taught by Chambers et al. in order to provide a way of storing and making readily available, pre and post paving data to the operator in concise terms. [0047-0048].
Conclusion
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 6/23/2026