Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amended claims filed 2/25/26 are acknowledged; claims 1 and 3-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miller (US 6048376).
CLAIM 1: Miller discloses an oil separator device. The device comprises a body (30) including a first end (Fig. 2), a second end (Fig. 2), a first chamber (44), and a second chamber (46) in fluid communication with the first chamber (see Fig. 2). An inlet (52) for receiving an air-oil mixture, the inlet in fluid communication with the first chamber (see Fig. 2). An air outlet (74) in fluid communication with the second chamber (Fig. 2). An inlet baffle (56) oriented in a lateral plane and extending across at least a portion of the body (see Fig. 2). The first inlet baffle including a solid center portion and at least one peripheral opening (58) disposed about the solid center portion (see Figs. 4A, B). The at least one peripheral opening facilitating communication between the first chamber and an oil reservoir (42) (see Fig. 2). A perforated tube (48) providing fluid communication between the first chamber and the second chamber. The perforated tube including an intake end positioned in the first chamber, a discharge end in fluid communication with the second chamber, and at least one intermediate opening (72) positioned on an outer surface of the perforated tube between the intake end and the discharge end (Fig. 2). The air-oil mixture entering the first chamber via the inlet impinges upon the outer surface of the perforated tube, thereby separating oil from the air-oil mixture as the air-oil mixture travels from the first chamber toward the second chamber via the perforated tube, and oil separated from the air-oil mixture passes through the at least one peripheral opening and is collected in the oil reservoir (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 3: The first chamber is positioned between the second chamber and the oil reservoir (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 4: The oil separator device is configured to receive the air-oil mixture from a compressor (“compressed air”).
CLAIM 5: The compressor is an oil flooded rotary screw air compressor including one or more rotors driven by a primary mover (see col. 1, lines 10-19 discussing compressor systems with rotors).
CLAIM 6: The oil separator device is configured to return oil separated from the air-oil mixture to the compressor via an oil outlet (see col. 5, lines 32-63 discussing “reused in the system”).
CLAIM 7: The inlet includes an air inlet tube extending at least partially across an inner diameter of the first chamber such that the air-oil mixture enters an upper region of the first chamber and is directed toward an interior surface of the body (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 8: A separator element positioned in the second chamber and configured to remove oil from air that enters the second chamber (diffusing tubes 64).
CLAIM 10: Miller discloses an oil separator device. The device comprises a body (30) including a first end (Fig. 2), a second end (Fig. 2), a first chamber (44), a second chamber (46) in fluid communication with the first chamber, and an oil reservoir (42). An inlet (52) for receiving an air-oil mixture, the inlet in fluid communication with the first chamber (see Fig. 2). An air outlet (74) in fluid communication with the second chamber (Fig. 2). A tube (64) providing fluid communication between the first chamber and the second chamber, the tube including a first opening at an intake end positioned in the first chamber, a second opening at a discharge end in fluid communication with the second chamber, and at least one intermediate opening (72) positioned on an outer surface of the tube between the intake end and the discharge end (see Fig. 2). An inlet baffle (56) positioned between the first chamber and the oil reservoir. The inlet baffle including at least one opening (58) that facilitates communication between the first chamber and the oil reservoir. The inlet baffle positioned proximate the intake end of the tube (Fig. 2). An outer a separator baffle extending around a perimeter of the tube and spaced apart from the outer surface of the tube (see embodiment of Fig. 11 showing baffles located near tube). The air-oil mixture entering the first chamber via the inlet impinges upon the outer surface of the tube, thereby separating oil from the air-oil mixture as the air-oil mixture travels from the first chamber toward the second chamber via the tube (see Fig. 2, 11).
CLAIM 11: A body axis extends between the first end and the second end of the body (Fig. 2), inlet baffle oriented in a plane that is substantially perpendicular to the body axis (Fig. 2).
CLAIM 12: The inlet baffle includes a solid center portion and the at least one opening includes at least one peripheral opening disposed about the solid center portion and offset from the first opening of the tube (see Figs. 4A/B).
CLAIM 13: A discharge baffle oriented substantially parallel with respect to the inlet baffle and positioned between the first chamber and the second chamber, the discharge baffle including an opening configured to facilitate communication between the first chamber and the second chamber (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 14: The second opening of the tube is configured to align with the opening of the discharge baffle (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 15: The inlet includes an inlet tube extending at least partially across an internal diameter of the first chamber such that the air-oil mixture is directed toward an interior surface of the body upon entering the oil separator device via the inlet (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 16: The first chamber is positioned between the second chamber and the oil reservoir (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 17: The oil reservoir includes a drain (60) configured to allow oil separated from the air-oil mixture to exit the oil separator device.
CLAIM 19: An oil outlet (60) configured to permit oil separated from the air-oil mixture to exit the oil separator device.
CLAIM 21: A discharge baffle oriented substantially parallel with respect to the inlet baffle and positioned between the first chamber and second chamber, the discharge baffle including a discharge opening configured to facilitate communication between the first and second chamber (see Miller, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller.
CLAIMS 9 and 18: Miller discloses the elements of claims 1 and 17 as discussed above.
Read fails to disclose the oil separator device further comprising at least one baffle positioned within the oil reservoir and oriented in a plane that is substantially parallel to the body axis.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oil separator of Miller with a baffle as the rearrangement of parts in which the baffle would function the same as the pre-existing baffles to aid in the separation of the oil and air (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
CLAIM 20: Miller discloses the oil separator as claimed (see claim 10 above).
Miller fails to disclose a mining drill, comprising: a base; a mast coupled to the base and extending upwardly therefrom; a drill pipe supported by the mast and configured to extend through a ground surface and into a borehole; an air compressor supported by the base and operable to generate compressed air that may be used during operation of the drill; a lubrication system in communication with the air compressor and configured to provide oil to the air compressor; and an oil separator in fluid communication with the air compressor and configured to separate oil from the air supplied by the air compressor.
Examiner takes official notice that the other details of the mining drill are well known in the art as basic components of a mining drill.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the oil separator of Miller with the well known mining drill components with a reasonable expectation of success as Miller teaches the use of the separator with compressors such as the standard compressors used with mining drills.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 2/25/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The newly cited art is determined to be the best art in view of Applicant’s Remarks about the baffles.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676