DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/29/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 15, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, of U.S. Patent No. 10,031,647 in view of Yamada et al. (US 2011/0074545).
Instant Application 18/597472
US Patent No. 10,031,647
1. A method for providing remote media control, the method comprising: providing for display, on a display of a first controller device, media content, wherein the media content is one or more of video content, or audio content; determining available media player devices; displaying, on the display of a first controller device, a user interface that includes one or more graphical user interface elements that provide information associated with the available media player devices and an identification of media content that is currently being displayed by the available media player devices, wherein the user interface is a common user interface that is independent of a platform-specific application and operates on different operating systems and platforms executed by different types of computing devices; receiving, via the user interface, a selection of a media player device to process at least a portion of the media content; sending one or more command messages to the media player device that cause the media player device to perform one or more operations to process the at least a portion of the media content, wherein the one or more operations include playing the at least the portion of the media content; and receiving a state notification from the media player device, wherein the state notification is sent by the media player device to at least the first controller device and the state notification indicates changing a state of the media content.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining meta-information about the media player device, wherein the meta-information identifies one or more of controls or operations supported by the media player device; and rendering one or more of the controls or the operations within the user interface based, at least in part, on the meta-information.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein displaying the user interface further comprises displaying a type of content that is being rendered by at least one of the available media player devices.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more user interface elements are associated with one or more available media operations supported by the media player device, wherein the one or more available media operations include one or more of a load operation, a play operation, a pause operation, a stop operation, and a fast-forward operation.
1. A method for providing remote media control comprising: receiving, at a media player from a first media controller device, instructions to process content at the media player; receiving first command messages for the media player from the first media controller device, the first command messages being input from the first media controller device using a user interface of the first media controller device; sending, to a second media controller device from the media player, a set of available media operations for processing the content; receiving second command messages, at the media player from the second media controller device, the second command messages generated using a user interface of the second media controller device, the second command messages being based on the set of available media operations; in response to receiving the second command messages, changing a media player status of the media player; in response to changing the media player status, sending state notifications that include time-sensitive information from the media player to the first media controller device and to the second media controller device, the state notifications triggering a synchronization of a state of the media player with the first media controller device and the second media controller device, and the media player being configured to simultaneously receive command messages from the first media controller device and the second media controller device; and receiving additional command messages from at least one of the first media controller device and the second media controller device in response to the state notifications.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the user interface of the first media controller device and the user interface of the of the second media controller device allow for a selection of the media player from a plurality of media players.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: sending, to at least one of the first media controller device and the second media controller device from the media player, content meta-data that defines how to represent the content.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the first command messages and the second command messages are based on a set of operations supported by a particular type of the media player.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the state notifications include a volume status and a play status of the content.
Claim 1
Claim 1 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant
application except “determining available media player devices and an identification of media content that is currently being displayed by the available media player devices, wherein the user interface is a common user interface that is independent of a platform-specific application and operates on different operating systems and platforms executed by different types of computing devices” However, Stober teaches determining available media player devices and an identification of media content that is currently being displayed by the available media player devices, wherein the user interface is a common user interface that is independent of a platform-specific application and operates on different operating systems and platforms executed by different types of computing devices ([0024]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to better focus on the available media player, within the method of claim 1 of the reference patent, to enable a user selection of different media players and operate a television set or other display remotely from a personal computing device.
Claim 8 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2011/0074545) in view of Strober (US 2012/0272148).
Claim 1. Yamada discloses a method for providing remote media control, the method comprising:
Providing for display, on a display of a first controller device (remote operation device including a display panel for displaying a predetermined operation screen) (abstract);
determining available media player devices ([0052]);
displaying, on the display of a first controller device, a user interface that includes one or more graphical user interface elements that provide information associated with the available media player devices ([0052], fig. 5);
receiving, via the user interface, a selection of a media player device to process the at least a portion of the media content ([0053], [0058]);
sending one or more command messages to the media player device that cause the media player device to perform one or more operations to process the at least a portion of the media content, wherein the one or more operations include playing the at least the portion of the media content ([0059]-[0060]); and
receiving a state notification from a media player device, wherein the state notification is sent by the media player device to at least the first controller device and the state notification indicates changing a state of the media content ([0010]-[0013]).
Yamada does not explicitly disclose on a display of a first controller device, media content, wherein the media content is one or more of video content, or audio content and an identification of media content that is currently being displayed by the available media player devices, wherein the user interface is a common user interface that is independent of a platform-specific application and operates on different operating systems and platforms executed by different types of computing devices.
However, Strober discloses on a display of a first controller device, media content, wherein the media content is one or more of video content, or audio content and an identification of media content that is currently being displayed by the available media player devices, wherein the user interface is a common user interface that is independent of a platform-specific application and operates on different operating systems and platforms executed by different types of computing devices ([0024]-[0026]).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature in Yamada. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enable a user selection of different media players and operate a television set or other display remotely from a personal computing device.
Claim 2. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, Yamada further discloses wherein the user interface comprises a graphical user interface element that when selected allows input of another media player device in addition to the available media player devices ([0078], fig. 5).
Claim 3. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, Yamada further discloses wherein determining the available media player devices comprises determining one or more types of media content individual ones of the available media player devices are capable of rendering (fig. 5).
Claim 4. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, Yamada further discloses wherein displaying the user interface further comprises displaying a type of content that is being rendered by at least one of the available media player devices ([0085]-[0087]).
Claim 5. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, Yamada further discloses wherein sending the one or more command messages to the media player device includes one or more commands to perform at least one of changing a type of content being rendered by the media player device or changing current media content being rendered by the media player device to the media content ([0089]-[0090]).
Claim 7. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, Yamada further discloses comprising: determining meta-information about the media player device, wherein the meta-information identifies one or more of controls or operations supported by the media player device; and rendering one or more of the controls or the operations within the user interface based, at least in part, on the meta-information ([0065]-[0067]).
Claim 8. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, Yamada further discloses wherein the one or more user interface elements are associated with one or more available media operations supported by the media player device, wherein the one or more available media operations include one or more of a load operation, a play operation, a pause operation, a stop operation, and a fast-forward operation (In the content reproducing operation screen P3, a replay icon I3a, and a stop icon I3b or the like are shown as an icons I used for the content reproduction operation.) ([0071], fig. 8).
Claim 9. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, Yamada further discloses wherein the one or more user interface elements indicate one or more of a title of the media content, a length of the media content, or a source of the media content (fig. 5).
Claims 10-13, 15-18 and 20 represent the system and medium of claims 1-5 and 7-9, and are rejected along the same rationale.
6. Claims 6, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2011/0074545) in view of Strober (US 2012/0272148) and further in view of Marino, Jr. et al. (US 2014/0037107).
Claim 6. Yamada and Strober disclose the method of claim 1, but fail to explicitly discloses wherein a state of the media player device is synchronized with the first controller device and one or more second controller devices.
However, Marino, Jr. discloses wherein a state of the media player device is synchronized with the first controller device and one or more second controller devices ([0036]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature in Yamada. One would have been motivated to do so in order to facilitate user operation of the system.
Claims 14 and 19 represent the system and medium of claim 6, and are rejected along the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in light of new ground of rejection(s).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
/PHENUEL S SALOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2146