DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1 – 20 are all within at least one of the four categories of invention, and have been analyzed to determine whether they are directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of claims 1 – 20 recites at least one step or instruction for detecting money laundering, which is grouped as a mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity under the 2019 PEG. The claimed limitations involve concepts performed in the human mind, namely observation, evaluation and judgement, which are mental processes and managing personal behavior and following rules or instructions, which are methods of organizing human activity under the 2019 PEG. Accordingly, each of Claims 1 – 20 recites an abstract idea.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
responsive to an occurrence of a cashout event associated with a first gaming establishment device, determine a funding source of an amount of funds of a credit balance of that first gaming establishment device, and
responsive to the determined funding source of the amount of funds of the credit
balance being a financial institution account maintained by a financial institution and
responsive to a determination that the cashout event is associated with a potential money
laundering activity, prevent a subsequent transfer of any amount of funds from the financial institution account to a second gaming establishment device.
Accordingly, as indicated in bold above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea. Further, dependent Claims 2 – 9, 11 and 13 – 20 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claims 1, 10 and 12 (and their respective dependent Claims 2 – 9, 11 and 13 – 20) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claims 1, 10 and 12), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: a processor, a memory, gaming establishment device as recited in independent Claims 1, 10 and 12 and its dependent claims are generically recited computer elements which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Furthermore, processor and the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer/computing device. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1, 10 and 12 (and their respective dependent Claims 2 – 9, 11 and 13 – 20) are not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application
under 2019 PEG because the claimed system merely implements the above-identified abstract
idea (e.g., mental process) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g.
a processor, a memory, gaming establishment device as recited in independent claims 1, 10 and 12). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer/computing device.
Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1, 10 and 12 (and their respective dependent Claims 2 – 9, 11 and 13 – 20) are not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
None of the Claims 1 – 20 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons. These claims require the additional elements of: a processor, a memory, gaming establishment device as recited in the independent claims.
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components
which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic
functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as
well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner
(e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev.
Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Like SAP America vs InvestPic, LLC (Fed. Cir. 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1 – 20 amounts to
mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or
other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or
transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the
fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does
not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing
technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837
F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft
Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a
technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification
for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or
upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide
sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention
as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of
how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the
prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution
that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d
1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide
sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any
technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, claims 1 – 20 are directed to applying an abstract idea (e.g., mental process or certain method of organizing human activity) on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself (as in McRO, Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR). In other words, none of Claims 1 – 20 provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements
do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified
additional elements in independent Claims 1, 10 and 12 (and their dependent claims) do not add
significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular
technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other
additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional
elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these
above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed
functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of
generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept
sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the
above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful
limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea
such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 1 – 20 merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a
technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the claims 1 – 20 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea
itself.
Accordingly, claims 1 – 20 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as
being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme
Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and 2019 PEG.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chun et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0279155 A1).
As per claim 1, Chun et al. discloses a system comprising: a processor (see [0014]); and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (See Fig. 4): responsive to an occurrence of a cashout event associated with a first gaming establishment device, determine a funding source of an amount of funds of a credit balance of that first gaming establishment device (see [0065], [0067], and [0070]); and responsive to the determined funding source of the amount of funds of the credit
balance being a financial institution account maintained by a financial institution and
responsive to a determination that the cashout event is associated with a potential money
laundering activity (see [0076], [0080], [0083], and [0086]); prevent a subsequent transfer of any amount of funds from the financial institution account to a second gaming establishment device (see [0088] – [0092]).
As per claim 2, Chun et al. discloses the determination that the cashout event is associated with the potential money laundering activity is based on at least a threshold amount of the funds of the credit balance not being associated with any wagering activity (threshold-based analysis of financial transaction events, including triggering deeper analysis when a total amount cashed out exceeds a specified threshold, see [0076] and [0078]).
As per claim 3, Chun et al. discloses the determination that the cashout event is associated with the potential money laundering activity is based on a previous transfer of funds from the financial institution account to a credit balance of a third gaming establishment device and a previous transfer of at least part of such funds from the credit balance of the third gaming establishment device without at least the threshold amount of such funds being associated with any wagering activity (analyzing historical transactions activity associated with a patron or account, including aggregating multiple prior transaction events and evaluating patterns across time, see [0022], [0071], [0074] and [0081]).
As per claim 4, Chun et al. discloses responsive to the determined funding source of the amount of funds of the credit balance being the financial institution account and the determination that the cashout event is associated with the potential money laundering activity, cause the processor to modify the prevention of the subsequent transfer based on an action undertaken by a user (automated responses to suspicious activity are configurable and may involve user interaction or conditional processing based on received inputs, see [0089] and [0091]).
As per claim 5, Chun et al. discloses the action comprises the user engaging with gaming establishment personnel (notifying casino personnel and compliance authorities upon detecting suspicious activity and providing interfaces for follow-up actions (See [0019]).
As per claim 6, Chun et al. discloses responsive to the determined funding source of the amount of funds of the credit balance being the financial institution account and responsive to a determination that the cashout event is not associated with any potential money laundering activity, cause the processor to enable a subsequent transfer of a second amount of funds from the financial institution account to the second gaming establishment device, the subsequent transfer occurring independent of any wagering account transfers (See Fig. 10 and 11).
As per claim 7, Chun et al. discloses the subsequent transfer occurs based on transfer context data identifying the second gaming establishment device (see [0041] – [0054]).
As per claim 8, Chun et al. discloses the first gaming establishment device and the second gaming establishment device are different gaming establishment devices (casinos and other gaming establishments, [0040]).
As per claim 9, Chun et al. discloses at least one of the first gaming establishment device and the second gaming establishment device comprises an electronic gaming machine (EGM or EGD, see Fig. 5 and [0288]).
As per claims 10 – 11, the instant claims are a system in which corresponds to the system of claims 1 – 9. Therefore, it is rejected for the reasons set forth above.
As per claims 12 – 20, the instant claims are a method in which corresponds to the system of claims 1 – 9. Therefore, it is rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/ANKIT B DOSHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3715