DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 35, 40-42, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (WO 2021202093 A1, “Zhu”) in view of Chen (WO 2009158146 A2, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses an apparatus for use in imaging a target, comprising: a housing; and a distal portion coupled to the housing(Fig. 7 illustrates the probe which shows a housing having a distal end), comprising: an acoustic subarray configured to transmit acoustic signals toward the target (Fig. 7 (803) illustrates a piezoelectric crystal array); an optical subarray configured to detect the acoustic signals from the target(Fig. 7 (801) illustrates an optical microresonator array); and an input/output (I/O) region comprising one or more optical I/O channels configured to bend optical signals between the optical subarray and the one or more optical I/O channels, the one or more optical I/O channels comprising an optical fiber array in an axial direction (Fig. 7 (805) illustrates multiple optical fibers which are a plurality of channels connecting the optical fibers to the optical microresonator array (801) and are disposed in an axial direction).
Zhu may not explicitly teach an acoustic subarray on a first substrate; and an optical subarray on a second substrate.
Chen teaches an acoustic subarray on a first substrate; and an optical subarray on a second substrate ([0047]-[0048] photoacoustic imaging probe may include a first and second substrate. Ultrasonic transducers may be integrated into the second substrate. First substrate may include optical fiber arrays. The two substrates may be bonded together via wafer-to-wafer bonding).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, to include the multiple substrates of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing an arrangement in which light may pass through the ultrasonic array substrate and penetrate target tissue without significant loss [0047].
Regarding claim 2, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu further teaches the acoustic subarray comprises acoustic energy generating (AEG) trans wherein the AEG transducers comprise one or more of a piezoelectric transducer, a lead zirconate titanate (PZT) transducer, a polymer thick film (PTF) transducer, a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) transducer, a capacitive micromachined ultrasound transducer (CMUT), a piezoelectric micromachined ultrasound transducer (PMUT), a photoacoustic transducer, and a single-crystal transducer ([0086] ultrasound probe includes a piezoelectric crystal array).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu further teaches the optical subarray comprises one or more photonic integrated circuit (PIC) modules comprising interference-based optical sensors, optical resonators, or interferometers ([0074], set of optical waveguides may include a set of integrated photonic waveguides which are fabricated on top of the substrate and may be coupled to other sets of integrated photonic components such as interferometers).
Regarding claim 35, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu further teaches the one or more optical I/O channels are realized in a fiber array unit (FAU) platform, a PIC platform, or a planar lightwave circuit (PLC) platform([0074], set of optical waveguides may include a set of integrated photonic waveguides which are fabricated on top of the substrate and may be coupled to other sets of integrated photonic components such as interferometers).
Regarding claim 40, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Chen further teaches wherein the acoustic subarray and the optical subarray are juxtaposed in an elevational direction in the distal portion(Fig. 1B, [0046], photoacoustic imaging array includes first substrate and second substrate that are stacked on top of one another. Ultrasonic transducers may be integrated on the second substrate)([0048], first substrate may include an array of laser or light emitting diodes and optical fibers).
Regarding claim 41, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu teaches the acoustic subarray is placed on a flat top surface on a non-sensing area of the optical subarray in the axial direction (Fig. 7, [0086], ultrasound probe may include an optical microresonator array and a piezoelectric crystal array)(Fig. 7 illustrates the optical microresonator array (801) and piezoelectric crystal array (803) being disposed in a flat arrangement axially to one another with the piezoelectric array being positioned in a non-sensing area of the optical microresonator array).
Regarding claim 42, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Chen further teaches the optical subarray comprises a plurality of modularized optical subarrays arranged in a stair pattern in an elevational direction or in a polvonal pattern in an elevational direction(Fig. 1B, [0046], photoacoustic imaging array includes first substrate and second substrate that are stacked on top of one another. Ultrasonic transducers may be integrated on the second substrate)([0048], first substrate may include an array of laser or light emitting diodes and optical fibers)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the disposition of the array of light emitting diodes and optical fibers on the square shaped first substrate indicates that the optical subarray is positioned in an elevation direction with respect to the acoustic subarray, and it’s integration into the square substrate is a polygonal pattern).
Regarding claim 48, the claim is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Hughes et al. (US 20200406299 A1, “Hughes”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the first substrate comprises aluminum, wherein the acoustic subarray is attached to the first substrate via thermally conductive epoxy.
Hughes teaches the first substrate comprises aluminum, wherein the acoustic subarray is attached to the first substrate via thermally conductive epoxy ([0015] resist material such as an epoxy material may be applied over the piezoelectric layer)([0024], substrate may be electrically conductive and include a layer or film such as aluminum).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the aluminum substrate of Hughes with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing an a substrate in which the radiation of ultrasonic waves during use [0025].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Ergun et al. (US 20220072338 A1, “Ergun”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the first substrate comprises one or more integrated thermoelectric coolers or one or more thermistors or thermocouples.
Ergun teaches the first substrate comprises one or more integrated thermoelectric coolers or one or more thermistors or thermocouples ([0292], thermoelectric cooler is produced from a substrate using micromachining processes. Additionally step may include fabricating a CMUT array using a micromachining process).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the thermoelectric cooler of Ergun with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of cooling non-target tissue heated by the ultrasound [abstract].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Lee et al. ("Reduced graphene oxide coated thin aluminum film as an optoacoustic transmitter for high pressure and high frequency ultrasound generation." Applied Physics Letters 101.24 (2012)., “Lee”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the second substrate comprises aluminum or a backing block for the optical subarray.
Lee teaches the second substrate comprises aluminum or a backing block for the optical subarray (Fig. 1, [pg. 1] aluminum thin film is deposited and coated onto the glass substrate).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the aluminum substrate of Lee with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of optimizing the thermoelastic response of the transmitter [pg. 4].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Wentz (WO 2019191735 A1, “Wentz”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the housing further comprises a tuning circuit electrically connected to the acoustic subarray, wherein the tuning circuit is configured to condition acoustic signals transmitted from the acoustic subarray.
Wentz teaches the housing further comprises a tuning circuit electrically connected to the acoustic subarray, wherein the tuning circuit is configured to condition acoustic signals transmitted from the acoustic subarray ([0061], additional systems may include a system for adaptively tuning acoustic sources and detectors to compensate for variations in tissue parameters, detection resolution, and sensitivity requirements).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the tuning circuit of Wentz with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of adaptively compensating for variations in tissue parameters, detection resolution, and sensitivity requirements [0061].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Liang et al. (CN 110859601 A, “Liang”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the optical fiber array comprises an angled surface with a mirror coating for bending optical signals to and from the optical subarray, wherein the angled surface is about 45 degrees in reference to an elevational-lateral plane of the optical subarrav, or the angled surface further comprises a reflective focusing right-angle optical fixture.
Liang teaches the optical fiber array comprises an angled surface with a mirror coating for bending optical signals to and from the optical subarray, wherein the angled surface is about 45 degrees in reference to an elevational-lateral plane of the optical subarrav, or the angled surface further comprises a reflective focusing right-angle optical fixture ([attached machine translation, pg. 4] optical fiber can be adjusted in the axial direction and uses a reflecting unit to focus light emitted by the probe. Preferably the reflecting unit is a coated mirror and has a reflection angle of 45 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the reflecting unit of Liang with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of reflecting the laser focusing of excitation light provided by the probe [attached machine translation, pg. 4].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Tsujita (WO 2013018313 A1, “Tsujita”) and Krishna et al. ("Polymer waveguide photonic interconnect for multichip communications-based heterogeneous integration." Journal of Nanophotonics 16.3 (2022): 036002-036002., “Krishna”).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the one or more optical I/O channels further comprise a refractive focusing right-angle optical fixture with a lens plate, wherein the lens plate is bonded with the optical fiber array and/or an interposer chip via a flat surface or the one or more optical I/O channels further comprises a polymer waveguide bonding the optical fiber array with the optical subarray via one or more edge couplers on the optical subarray.
Tsujita teaches the one or more optical I/O channels further comprise a refractive focusing right-angle optical fixture with a lens plate ([attached machine translation, pg. 4] refractive index of resin lens and lens light guide plate refracts incident light so that the emission angle of emitted light approaches a right angle.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the right angle optical fixture with lens plate of Tsujita with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of redirecting the emission angle of emitted light [attached machine translation, pg. 4].
Zhu, as modified in view of Chen and Tsujita may not explicitly teach the lens plate is bonded with the optical fiber array and/or an interposer chip via a flat surface or the one or more optical I/O channels further comprises a polymer waveguide bonding the optical fiber array with the optical subarray via one or more edge couplers on the optical subarray.
Krishna teaches the lens plate is bonded with the optical fiber array and/or an interposer chip via a flat surface or the one or more optical I/O channels further comprises a polymer waveguide bonding the optical fiber array with the optical subarray via one or more edge couplers on the optical subarray (light is coupled to the chips through opical waveguides with additional waveguides being fabricated on the interposer to couple the light from the fiber to the package through edge coupling)([pg. 4], polymer waveguides are fabricated on glass interposer for interconnecting different chips).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen and Tsujita to include the optical fiber and polymer waveguide edge coupling of Krishna with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of preventing damage to the interposer [pg. 4].
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Desmet et al. ("Laser written glass interposer for fiber coupling to silicon photonic integrated circuits." IEEE Photonics Journal 13.1 (2020): 1-12., “Desmet”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the optical fiber array is coupled to an interposer chip connecting with the optical subarray in an elevational direction via one or more surface couplers.
Desmet teaches the optical fiber array is coupled to an interposer chip connecting with the optical subarray in an elevational direction via one or more surface couplers (Fig. 1, [pg. 3] optical fibers are connected to a photonic chip through a fused silica glass interposer through surface coupling)(Fig. 1 illustrates the interposer being situated in an elevational direction with respect to the photonic chip).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the interposer chip connection of Desmet with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a quasi-planar fiber-to-chip package [abstract].
Regarding claim 16, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the optical fiber array is mated with an interposer chip in the axial direction comprising a mirror structure with about 45 degrees in reference to an elevational-lateral plane of the optical subarray.
Desmet teaches the optical fiber array is mated with an interposer chip in the axial direction comprising a mirror structure with about 45 degrees in reference to an elevational-lateral plane of the optical subarray ([pg. 6], the out of plane coupling mirror is angled at 41.5 degrees with respect to the optical fibers. Mirror is created by placing the fused silica substrate into a holder with a predetermined angle of 41.5 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the interposer chip connection of Desmet with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a quasi-planar fiber-to-chip package [abstract].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen, Ling et al. (CN 106175691 A, “Ling”), and Desmet.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu further teaches the I/O region further comprises one or more electrical I/O channels(Fig. 7 (805) illustrates multiple optical fibers which are a plurality of channels connecting the optical fibers to the optical microresonator array (801) and are disposed in an axial direction).
Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the one or more electrical I/O channels comprises a flexible printed circuit, wherein the distal portion further comprises an interposer board electrically connected to the optical subarray via the one or more electrical I/O channels.
Ling teaches the one or more electrical I/O channels comprises a flexible printed circuit ([attached machine translation, pg. 4], mems micromirror array and fiber channel array are connected to the flexible printed circuit board lower layer by adhesive bonding).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the flexible printed circuit board of Ling with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of obtaining complete full area imaging by using three dimensional imaging via the laser corresponding to the two-dimensional scan [abstract].
Zhu, as modified in view Chen and Ling may not explicitly teach the distal portion further comprises an interposer board electrically connected to the optical subarray via the one or more electrical I/O channels.
Desmet teaches the distal portion further comprises an interposer board electrically connected to the optical subarray via the one or more electrical I/O channels(Fig. 1, [pg. 3] optical fibers are connected to a photonic chip through a fused silica glass interposer through surface coupling)(Fig. 1 illustrates the interposer being situated in an elevational direction with respect to the photonic chip) ([pg. 6], the out of plane coupling mirror is angled at 41.5 degrees with respect to the optical fibers. Mirror is created by placing the fused silica substrate into a holder with a predetermined angle of 41.5 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen and Ling to include the interposer chip connection of Desmet with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing a quasi-planar fiber-to-chip package [abstract].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen, Ling, Desmet, and Carroll et al. ("Photonic packaging: transforming silicon photonic integrated circuits into photonic devices." Applied Sciences 6.12 (2016): 426., “Carroll”).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen, Ling, and Desmet teaches the apparatus of claim 17. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen, Ling and Desmet may not explicitly teach the flexible printed circuit is connected to the optical subarray via one-dimensional pad array wire- bonding or a two-dimensional pad array flip-chip bonding.
Carroll teaches the flexible printed circuit is connected to the optical subarray via one-dimensional pad array wire- bonding or a two-dimensional pad array flip-chip bonding ([pg. 16], in addition to Fiber-to-PIC coupling, grating couplers can be used for optical proximity coupling or interlayer coupling which allows for efficient vertical chip-to-chip connections and even board-to-chip connections. These optical proximity couplers allow for flip-chip alignment of different photonic systems for advanced hybrid photonic devices).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen, Ling, and Desmet, to include the flip-chip bonding of Carroll with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of allowing alignment of different photonic systems for advanced hybrid photonic devices [pg. 16].
Claim(s) 24, 26, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Ogawa (EP 1154269 A2, “Ogawa”).
Regarding claim 24, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach an acoustic front stack with a curved acoustic front facet, wherein the acoustic front stack comprises an interface layer configured to contact a surface of the target for imaging and transmit acoustic signals between the apparatus and the target.
Ogawa teaches an acoustic front stack with a curved acoustic front facet, wherein the acoustic front stack comprises an interface layer configured to contact a surface of the target for imaging and transmit acoustic signals between the apparatus and the target (Fig. 16, [0066], acoustic matching layer (22) is provided between the ultrasonic detecting elements and the housing in order to match the acoustic impedance)(Fig. 16 illustrates housing (16) having a curved front facet).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the matching layer of Ogawa with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of acoustic impedance matching of the probe [0066].
Regarding claim 26, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen and Ogawa teaches the apparatus of claim 24. Ogawa further teaches the interface layer comprises a biocompatible material with minimal acoustic impedance, wherein the interface laver comprises at least one of an acoustic matching laver with an acoustic impedance matching with the target for imaging, one or more acoustic lenses configured to focus and steer the acoustic signals to the target, an acoustic window comprising materials with reduced acoustic attenuation and matching acoustic impedance, or an elastomer couplant with low attenuation and impedance(Fig. 16, [0066], acoustic matching layer is provided to match acoustic impedance. acoustic matching layer may be pyrex glass, metal-powder-impregnated epoxy resin, etc. which are apt to carry the ultrasonic waves. Further it is desirable to provide an acoustic lens member on the surface of housing).
Regarding claim 31, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen and Ogawa teaches the apparatus of claim 24. Ogawa further teaches comprising a first matching layer connecting the interface layer with the acoustic subarray(Fig. 16, [0066], acoustic matching layer (22) is provided between the ultrasonic detecting elements and the housing in order to match the acoustic impedance)
Zhu further teaches a second matching layer connecting the interface layer with the optical subarray ([0048] optical waveguide array may be covered in an encapsulation layer (such as a matching polymer).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Pinch et al. (US 20210137502 A1, “Pinch”).
Regarding claim 33, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach comprising a heat sink located in the housing, wherein the heat sink comprises a layer of thermal compound interfacing with the housing.
Pinch teaches a heat sink located in the housing, wherein the heat sink comprises a layer of thermal compound interfacing with the housing([0023] portable ultrasound device includes a heat sink positioned near a perimeter of the housing that are connected via pipes to the interior of the housing and are thermally coupled to the housing)(Fig. 3 (320) illustrates the heat sink being located within the interior perimeter of base portion (300)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the heat sink of Pinch with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of passively dissipating heat from the housing [0023].
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chen and Carroll.
Regarding claim 38, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the optical subarray is a flip chip, wherein the optical fiber array is attached to the optical subarray via one or more surface couplers.
Carroll teaches the optical subarray is a flip chip, wherein the optical fiber array is attached to the optical subarray via one or more surface couplers([pg. 16], in addition to Fiber-to-PIC coupling, grating couplers can be used for optical proximity coupling or interlayer coupling which allows for efficient vertical chip-to-chip connections and even board-to-chip connections. These optical proximity couplers allow for flip-chip alignment of different photonic systems for advanced hybrid photonic devices).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of mixed array imaging, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Zhu, as modified in view of Chen to include the flip-chip bonding of Carrol with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of allowing alignment of different photonic systems for advanced hybrid photonic devices [pg. 16].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32 and 47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 32, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach the housing comprises a type III anodized aluminum housing with a combination of organic contours, dimples, textures, and over-molded silicone regions.
Ogawa (EP 1154269 A2, “Ogawa” ) teaches the housing comprises a type III anodized aluminum housing with a combination of organic contours, dimples, textures, and over-molded silicone regions (Fig. 16, [0066], housing includes a silicon rubber acoustic lens on its surface)(Fig. 16 illustrates housing (21) including a contoured shape, with the acoustic lens (23) introducing textural variation)(Ogawa, nor any other identified prior art teaches the required aspect of the claim limitation regarding the housing being composed of Type III anodized aluminum. No identified prior art teaches the aspect of the claim limitation in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Regarding claim 47, Zhu, as modified in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhu, as modified in view of Chen may not explicitly teach a coupling gap between a core of the optical fiber array and a waveguide mode of an interposer in an elevational direction is less than 10 pm.
Ensenaliev et al. (US 20160007895 A1, “Ensenaliev”) teaches a coupling gap between a core of the optical fiber array and a waveguide mode of an interposer in an elevational direction is less than 10 microns ([0090], optical fibers can be bundled together or may be separated from each other. Optical waveguide comprises a single optical fiber having a 10 to 1500 micron core and an outer diameter of 12 to 2000 microns. Ensenaliev, nor any other identified prior art teaches the required aspects of the claim limitations such as the coupling gap of the optical fiber array and waveguide mode of an interposer in an elevation direction being less than 10 microns. No other identified prior art teaches the aspects of these claim limitations in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Zhao et al. (WO 2021237125 A1, “Zhao”) which discloses mixed ultrasound transducer arrays
Yang et al. (WO 2021055823 A2, “Yang”) which discloses mixed optical and ultrasound transducer arrays
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645