DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed on 07/29/2026, have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments against the rejections in view of the prior art of record have been fully considered, but are not persuasive as they do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s amendments and clarifications.
Claim Interpretation
• “the base closure comprising a means for removably engaging the peripheral wall with the inner surface of the inner wall of the compact base when inserting the cosmetic pan”, in claim 1 and “means for manipulating the removable engagement of the base closure with the compact base between an engaged position and a disengaged position”, in claim 4 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Based on a review of the specifications, it appears that “means for removably engaging the peripheral wall with the inner surface of the inner wall of the compact base” and “means for manipulating the removable engagement of the base closure with the compact base” refers to an elongated slot formed through the floor of the base closure, for insertion therein and rotation thereof with a straight-edged article or tool between the disengaged position and the engaged position, or a pair of depressions formed into the outside surface of the floor of the base closure, each depression spaced substantially opposite the center of the base closure and toward the peripheral wall, for accommodating the fingertips of a user for exerting a torque force sufficient to rotate the base closure between the disengaged position and the engaged position ([0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 200165353 Y1), see the translation attached and the PTO 892 form.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a compact case (Figure 1 and Abstract) comprising: (i) a compact base (10) having a peripheral body having an inner ledge (12) forming a shaped opening, and a lower wall comprising a lower rim and an inner wall, wherein the inner ledge (12) and the inner wall form a lower pocket (pocket where the base closure 20 and pan 50 are contained), and the lower rim forms a lower opening of the lower pocket (Annotated Figure 2), (ii) a compact cover (40) attachable to the compact base (page 2, paragraph 7), (iii) a replaceable cosmetic pan (50) comprising a peripheral wall and a floor configured to contain a cosmetic material (51; see Figure 1), the peripheral wall having an upper peripheral rim that forms a pan opening (Annotated Figure 2), the cosmetic pan (50) configured to fit into the lower pocket of the compact base with the upper peripheral rim of the cosmetic pan contacting an under side of the inner ledge (12) of the compact base (Figure 2), and (iv) a base closure (20) comprising a peripheral wall and a floor to form a pan pocket (pocket where the pan 50 is contained) for placement therein of the cosmetic pan (50), the base closure comprising a means (threads 21) for removably engaging the peripheral wall of the base closure with the inner surface of the inner wall of the compact base when inserting the cosmetic pan into the lower pocket of the compact base (page 2, paragraph 7) with the upper peripheral rim of the cosmetic pan (50) engaged with the under side of the inner ledge (12) of the compact base (10) (see Figure 2).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1. Annotated Figure 2.)]
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses further including a seal lid (30) attached with a hinge (70) to an upper peripheral portion of the compact base (10, see Figure 2 and page 2, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses further including a seal lid (30) having a hinge (70) formed along an upper peripheral portion of the compact base (10), and pivotable about the hinge (70) from an open position to a closed position in confronting engagement with an upper portion of the inner ledge (12) of the compact base (10) (Figures 2-3 and page 2, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the replaceable cosmetic pan (50) consists of the peripheral cylindrical wall and the floor (see cylindrical pan in Figure 1)
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein further including an elongated slot (22) formed through the floor of the base closure (22) (See Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Nathan (US 1631136 A).
Regarding claim 3, Kim fails to disclose “wherein the means for removably engaging comprises two or more retaining inner slots formed into the inner surface of the inner lower wall of the compact base, and two or more pins extending from the outer surface of the peripheral wall of the base closure, the two or more pins engaging the two or more retaining inner slots when the base closure is engaged with the cosmetic base”; since it discloses a threading engaging mechanism instead.
Nathan a compact case (Figure 1 and col 1) comprising: (i) a compact base (16) and a base closure (13); wherein means for removably engaging comprises two or more retaining inner slots (19) formed into the inner surface of the inner lower wall of the compact base (16), and two or more pins (18) extending from the outer surface of the peripheral wall of the base closure (13), the two or more pins engaging the two or more retaining inner slots when the base closure is engaged with the cosmetic base (Col 2, lines 85-110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Kim’s threading means for removably engaging, to make it a slots – pin mechanism, as taught by Nathan, since such modification would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Nathan, as combined above, discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Kim discloses further including a means for manipulating the removable engagement of the base closure (20) with the compact base between an engaged position and a disengaged position (see coin groove 22 in Figure 2 and page 3, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Nathan, as combined above, discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Kim discloses wherein the means for manipulating the base closure (20) with the compact base (10) includes an elongated slot (22) formed through the floor of the base closure (20), for insertion therein and rotation thereof with a straight-edged article or tool between the disengaged position and the engaged position (page 3, paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Nathan, further in view of Zhan (US 20190021468 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Nathan fail to disclose “wherein the means for manipulating the base closure with the compact base includes a pair of depressions formed into an outside surface of the floor of the base closure, each depression spaced substantially opposite a center of the floor of the base closure and toward the peripheral wall, for accommodating the fingertips of a user for exerting a torque force sufficient to rotate the base closure between the disengaged position and the engaged position”.
Zhan discloses a compact case (Figure 1) comprising: compact base (100) with a base closure (210), wherein the means for manipulating the base closure (210) with the compact base includes a depression (211) formed into the outside surface of the floor of the base closure (210), the depression for accommodating the fingertip of a user for exerting a torque force sufficient to rotate the base closure (210) between the disengaged position and the engaged position (Figure 3, [0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Kim/Nathan’s means for manipulating the base closure, to make it including a depression formed into the outside surface of the floor of the base closure for accommodating the fingertip of a user for exerting a torque force sufficient to rotate the base closure, as taught by Zhan, since such modification would be a case of simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e. changing con slot for a depression for accommodating a fingertip) to obtain predictable results (i.e. engaging the base closure to rotate it).
Kim, Nathan and Zhan, as combined above, fail to discloses “a pair of depressions, each depression spaced substantially opposite the center of the base closure and toward the peripheral wall, for accommodating the fingertips of a user for exerting a torque force”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to further modify Kim/Nathan/Zhan’s means for manipulating the base closure to make it comprising a pair of depressions, each depression for accommodating the fingertips at the desired location, since such modification would merely require a duplication of known parts, which has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS RUIZ whose telephone number is (571)270-0839. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 Am - 5 PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eric Rosen can be reached on (571) 270-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Luis Ruiz Martin/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772