DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 14, 18, 19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 requires “the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door.” However, claim 1 already sets forth “the actuation linkage including a structure link and a door link; the structure link including a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm, the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm pivotally coupled to the fixed structure, and the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm laterally converging towards one another as the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm extend longitudinally towards the structure link mount; the door link is between and pivotally coupled to the structure link mount and the blocker door.” Applicant does not make clear any relationship between the Y-shaped link of claim 13 with the already set forth structure including the first and second structural link arm and the door link, especially as it appears the same elements are claimed again in claim 13. Claim 14 is similarly deficient.
Claim 18 is indefinite as “the actuation linkage comprising a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door” is unclear as to whether the Y-shaped link corresponds to the disclosed structure link or the disclosed door link. Based on the wording it would appear to be the door link; however, claim 21 makes it clear it is intended to the structure link. If claim 21 is to be believed, there is nothing in claim 18 to actual pivotally connect the Y-shaped link and the blocker door. In other words, the structure links are not directly pivotally attached to the door and intended claim scope is indeterminate. Claim 21 is unclear because it appears to contradict claim 18, when construing a direct pivotally attach(ment) of the door to the Y-shaped link.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gormley (2017/0198659) in view of Song (2021/0108594) and WO 2023247893. Gormley teaches (18) An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: a fixed structure; a translating structure 232 configured to translate between a stowed position and a deployed position; and a thrust reverser including a blocker door 236, an actuation linkage 256 and a biasing device 270 [¶ 0020]; the blocker door 236 pivotally coupled to the translating structure 232; the actuation linkage 256 operatively coupling the blocker door 236 to the fixed structure; and the biasing device 270 [¶ 0020] coupled to the blocker door 236 and the translating structure 232, and the biasing device configured to bias the actuation linkage 256 against the translating structure 232 during a first portion of translation [e.g. Fig. 2A to 2B can be regarded as the first portion of translation] of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position [Fig. 2D]. [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed / against the translating structure]. (19) wherein the biasing device comprises a spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020]. The prior art already teach the spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed / bias the actuation linkage against the translating structure [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed]. Alternately, Song teaches the spring cartridge 73 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed [Spring force FS in Fig. 6]. To the extent not already taught by Gormley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the spring the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed / bias the actuation linkage against the translating structure, as taught by Song, as typical spring bias utilized to keep the blocker door in the closed position when not in use.
Gormley does not teach wherein the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door. WO ’893 [Figs. 2, 3] teaches wherein the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link 14, 142 pivotally attached to the blocker door 9 through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints 145 between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door 9. WO ‘893 teaches
“ Furthermore, the blocking flap 9 has an optimized mass/mechanical strength ratio. The mechanical strength of the shutter being ensured by the structural frame 14 alone, the cellular core 17 can have a reduced mass, with thinner partitions, which also makes it possible to increase the rate of open surface of the resistive skin 16 and improve the sound absorption performance of the shutter. [on or near page 11 of the machine translation]”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the actuation linkage comprise a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door, as taught by WO ‘893, in order to reduce mass and add structural strength to the door. Gormley does not teach the Y-shaped link comprises a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm. WO ‘893 teaches the Y-shaped link comprises a first structure link 14 arm, a second structure link arm 142, and a structure link mount [pivot joint of 145 or may be 13] connected to the first structure link arm 14 and the second structure link arm 142. Note that “structure link” has not been given significant patentable weight as applicant’s claims are indefinite and there is nothing to indicate what that involves other than being connected to the first and second link arms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the Y-shaped link comprises a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm, as taught by WO ‘893, in order to in order to reduce mass and add structural strength to the door
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gormley (2017/0198659) in view of Song (2021/0108594) and WO 2023247893, as applied above, and further in view of Sedziol et al (5102050). For an alternate treatment of claim 21, Gormley does not teach wherein the Y-shaped link comprises a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm. Sedziol et al teach wherein the Y-shaped link 48 [see annotations, Interp. 1 or 2] comprises a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected [at least indirectly] to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm. Sedziol et al teach the Y-shaped link is part of an actuation frame 48 that provides structural support to the door of the nozzle and is analogous to the thrust reverser blocker door. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the Y-shaped link comprise a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm, in the manner taught by Sedziol et al, to structural support to the thrust reverser blocker door.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7, 9-10, 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12467419 in view of Gormley (2017/0198659) and Song (2021/0108594). U.S. Patent No. 12467419 claims the analogous invention but does not use the term “actuation linkage” for the sum of all the linkages listed; however, this is a minor change in scope and well within the ordinary skill in the art as all the listed linkages are part of an actuation linkage and couple the fixed structure with the door. The Patent does not teach the spring cartridge, where the spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed. The Gormley and Song references, as previously applied in the prior office action, teach all the claimed features of the spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed]. (2) wherein the spring cartridge 270 is configured to substantially delay opening of the blocker door 236 [door is opened from Figs. 2C to 2D and thus delayed in Figs. 2A-2C] during a first portion of translation of the translating structure 232 from the stowed position towards the deployed position [270 is in the collapsed position from Figs. 2A-2C and extended in Fig. 2D, movement between e.g. Fig. 2A to 2B can be regarded as the first portion of translation]. (3) wherein the spring cartridge 270 is configured to bias the actuation linkage 256 against the translating structure 232 during a first portion of translation of the translating structure 232 from the stowed position towards the deployed position [Fig. 2D]. (7) wherein the translating structure 232 includes an inner panel, an outer panel and a support structure [to the right of 270] between the inner panel and the outer panel; and the blocker door 236 and the spring cartridge 270 are each pivotally attached to the support structure [to the right of 270]. (9) wherein the thrust reverser is configured as a draglink-less thrust reverser [¶ 0036]. (19) wherein the biasing device comprises a spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020]. The prior art already teach the spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed]. Alternately, Song teaches the spring cartridge 73 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed [Spring force FS in Fig. 6]. To the extent not already taught by Gormley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the spring the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed / bias the actuation linkage against the translating structure, as taught by Song, as typical spring bias utilized to keep the blocker door in the closed position when not in use. Gormley and Song et al teaches the spring cartridge / biasing device, whose detailed teachings are previously set forth and incorporated by reference. Gormley teaches that the spring cartridge 270 coupled to the blocker door 236 and the translating structure 232, and the spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed] – this provides a biasing force that may bias the door closed and reduces vibrations. Song teaches the spring cartridge / biasing device biases the door to the closed position and also provides damping to the door. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a spring cartridge / biasing device coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed, as taught by Gormley and/or Song et al, in order to bias the door closed and/or reduce vibrations and/or provide damping for the door. As for the detailed structure of the spring cartridge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (4) wherein the spring cartridge includes a housing including an annular endwall and an internal cavity extending longitudinally within the housing to the annular endwall; a strut including a slider and a rod connected to the slider, the slider arranged slidable within the internal cavity, the rod projecting longitudinally out from the housing; and a spring element longitudinally between the annular endwall and the slider; (5) the strut is pivotally coupled to the blocker door (6) wherein the spring element is longitudinally compressed between the annular endwall and the slider during translation of the translating structure to the deployed position, as taught by Song and/or Gormley, as a typical spring cartridge structure utilized in the art to provide biasing force for the blocker door and which is compatible with Stuart’s door. As for (7) the spring cartridge each pivotally attached to the support structure, this is already taught by Gormley and/or Song and would have been obvious to employ to provide a structural anchor for the spring cartridge. As for the draglink-less thrust reverser, there is no drag-link claimed in the patent nor in Gormley and it would have been obvious not to use one, as it would create drag. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the thrust reverser, draglink-less, i.e. without a draglink, as it is neither claimed and also is it would create drag.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12467419 in view of Gormley (2017/0198659) and Song (2021/0108594) and further in view of Gonidec (6,151,884). The prior art teaches the actuation linkage [48 of Stuart; 256 of Gormley] is disposed laterally between lateral sides of the door. The prior art does not teach (8) wherein the spring cartridge is a first spring cartridge, and the thrust reverser further includes a second spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure 46 [may be treated as a duplication of parts]; and the actuation linkage 48 is disposed laterally between the first spring cartridge and the second spring cartridge. Gonidec teaches wherein the spring cartridge is a first spring 22, and the thrust reverser further includes a second spring 22 coupled to the blocker door 7 or 20; where each of the springs 22 is coupled to the sides of the door [Fig. 3]. Alternately, Gonidec teaches the wherein a first extendible member 28 [analogous to the first spring member], and the thrust reverser further includes a second extendible member 28 [analogous to the second spring cartridge] coupled to the blocker door 7 or 20; and the actuation linkage is disposed laterally between the first extendible member 28 and the second first extendible member 28 [Fig. 8]. Note that Gonidec teaches applying the first and second springs 22 and the first and second extendible members 28, which are analogous the first and second spring cartridges, on the lateral sides of the door as typical locations utilized in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include a second spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, as an obvious matter of duplication of the number of parts and/or utilizing the workable ranges in the art, as taught by Gonidec et al. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the first and second spring cartridges at the lateral sides of the door, as taught by Gonidec et al, as typical locations utilized in the art for locating the springs / extendible members, and which facilitate a more balanced force on the door than using a single spring / extendible member. In combination, as the actuation linkage of the prior art [Stuart, Gormley] are more central to the door, then utilizing the spring cartridges at the lateral sides of the doors, will have the actuation linkage disposed laterally between the first spring cartridge and the second spring cartridge.
Claim(s) 13, 14, 18, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12467419 in view of Gormley (2017/0198659) and Song (2021/0108594) and further in view of WO 2023247893 and Sedziol et al (5102050). The treatment of claim 1 is incorporated for claim 18 due to analogous limitations. The prior art do not teach wherein the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door. WO ’893 [Figs. 2, 3] teaches wherein the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link 14, 142 pivotally attached to the blocker door 9 through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints 145 between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door 9. WO ‘893 teaches
“ Furthermore, the blocking flap 9 has an optimized mass/mechanical strength ratio. The mechanical strength of the shutter being ensured by the structural frame 14 alone, the cellular core 17 can have a reduced mass, with thinner partitions, which also makes it possible to increase the rate of open surface of the resistive skin 16 and improve the sound absorption performance of the shutter. [on or near page 11 of the machine translation]”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the actuation linkage comprise a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door, as taught by WO ‘893, in order to reduce mass and add structural strength to the door. The prior art also do not teach wherein the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the fixed structure through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the fixed structure. Sedziol et al teach wherein the Y-shaped link 48 [see annotations, Interp. 1 or 2] comprises a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected [at least indirectly] to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm. Sedziol et al teach the Y-shaped link is part of an actuation frame 48 that provides structural support to the door of the nozzle and is analogous to the thrust reverser blocker door. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the Y-shaped link comprise a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm, in the manner taught by Sedziol et al, to structural support to the thrust reverser blocker door. Claim 9 of the patent aligns with claim 10 of the application. Claims 9-11 of the patent align with claim 12 of the application but for the structure link and the door link are outside of the flowpath when the translating structure is in the stowed position. However, this is the typical arrangement in the art as it reduces drag in the stowed position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the structure link and the door link are outside of the flowpath when the translating structure is in the stowed position, to reduce drag. As for the spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and biasing device configured to bias the actuation linkage against the translating structure during a first portion of translation of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position or to bias the door closed, Gormley and Song et al teaches the spring cartridge / biasing device, whose detailed teachings are previously set forth and incorporated by reference. Gormley teaches that the spring cartridge 270 coupled to the blocker door 236 and the translating structure 232, and the spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed] – this provides a biasing force that may bias the door closed and reduces vibrations and the biasing device configured to bias the actuation linkage 256 against the translating structure 232 during a first portion of translation [e.g. Fig. 2A to 2B can be regarded as the first portion of translation] of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position [Fig. 2D] [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed / against the translating structure]. Song teaches the spring cartridge / biasing device biases the door to the closed position and also provides damping to the door. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a spring cartridge / biasing device coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed, as taught by Gormley and/or Song et al, in order to bias the door closed and/or reduce vibrations and/or provide damping for the door.
Claim(s) 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12467419 in view of Gormley (2017/0198659) and Song (2021/0108594) and further in view of WO 2023247893 and Sedziol et al (5102050), and further in view of Johnson (5683034). The treatment of claims 1, 18 are incorporated for claim 22 due to analogous limitations. In claim 22, “Y-shaped structure link” or Y-shaped link of claim 21 is not particularly taught by U.S. Patent No. 12467419. However, this is alluded to by the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm laterally converging towards one another as the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm extend longitudinally towards the structure link mount; and the door link extending longitudinally between of the Patent, as the converging structure links are typically part of a Y-shaped link. Johnson teaches a Y-shaped structure link [left side of 24 or right side of 24, i.e. on either side of the hinge are typically used in the art for nozzle structure, including movable flaps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a Y-shaped structural link or Y-shaped link, for the converging first and second structure link arms, as taught by Johnson, as a typical link shaped used for converging structural link arms, to form a joint. As for the spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and biasing device configured to bias the actuation linkage against the translating structure during a first portion of translation of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position or to bias the door closed, Gormley and Song et al teaches the spring cartridge / biasing device, whose detailed teachings are previously set forth and incorporated by reference. Gormley teaches that the spring cartridge 270 coupled to the blocker door 236 and the translating structure 232, and the spring cartridge 270 [¶ 0020] configured to bias the blocker door closed [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed] – this provides a biasing force that may bias the door closed and reduces vibrations and the biasing device configured to bias the actuation linkage 256 against the translating structure 232 during a first portion of translation [e.g. Fig. 2A to 2B can be regarded as the first portion of translation] of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position [Fig. 2D] - [only two options are taught biasing with compression or tension and this includes biasing closed / against the translating structure]. Song teaches the spring cartridge / biasing device biases the door to the closed position and also provides damping to the door. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a spring cartridge / biasing device coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed, as taught by Gormley and/or Song et al, in order to bias the door closed and/or reduce vibrations and/or provide damping for the door.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12467419 in view of Gormley (2017/0198659) and Song (2021/0108594) and further in view of Stuart (10,006,405). The prior art do not teach a cascade or a variable length strut. Stuart teaches (15) a fixed cascade structure 44 projecting into an internal cavity of the translating structure 46 when the translating structure 46 is in the stowed position, the cascades facilitate reverse flow of the fan flow [¶ 0031]; (16) wherein the actuation linkage 48 comprises a door link pivotally coupled to the blocker door; and the thrust reverser further includes a variable length strut pivotally coupled to the door link and the blocker door, and the variable length strut configured to limit movement of the door link relative to the blocker door. (17) wherein the actuation linkage 48 comprises a door link pivotally coupled to the blocker door 42; and the thrust reverser further includes a variable length strut pivotally coupled to the door link and the blocker door 42, and the variable length strut is configured to damp movement of the door link relative to the blocker door 42. Stuart teaches the variable length strut serves to dampen the door and avoid aero-elastic instability [¶ 0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ cascades and the variable length strut, as taught by Stuart, as the variable length strut serves to dampen the door and avoid aero-elastic instability and the cascades facilitate reverse flow of the fan flow.
12467419
Instant application
1. An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: a fixed structure; a translating structure configured to translate between a stowed position and a deployed position; and a thrust reverser including a blocker door, a structure link and a door link; the blocker door pivotally coupled to the translating structure;
the structure link including a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm, the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm each pivotally coupled to the fixed structure, and the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm laterally converging towards one another as the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm extend longitudinally towards the structure link mount; and the door link extending longitudinally between and pivotally coupled to the structure link mount and the blocker door.
2. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first structure link arm is pivotally coupled to the fixed structure through a first pivot joint; the second structure link arm is pivotally coupled to the fixed structure through a second pivot joint; and the structure link mount is laterally centered between the first pivot joint and the second pivot joint.
3. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm laterally converge to the structure link mount.
4. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the structure link mount is laterally centered between opposing lateral sides of the blocker door.
5. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first structure link arm is angularly offset from the second structure link arm by an included angle between twenty degrees and sixty degrees.
6. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first structure link arm is laterally spaced from a first lateral side of the blocker door towards the second structure link arm; and the second structure link arm is laterally spaced from a second lateral side of the blocker door towards the first structure link arm.
7. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first structure link arm is located at a first lateral side of the blocker door; and the second structure link arm is located at a second lateral side of the blocker door.
8. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first structure link arm is nested in a first channel in the blocker door and the second structure link arm is nested in a second channel in the blocker door when the translating structure is in the stowed position.
10. The assembly of claim 9, wherein the structure link is exposed to the flowpath when the translating structure is in the stowed position.
11. The assembly of claim 9, wherein the structure link and the door link are disposed in the flowpath when the translating structure is in the deployed position.
12. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the door link projects through the blocker door.
9. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the translating structure forms a first peripheral boundary of a flowpath and the blocker door forms a second peripheral boundary of the flowpath when the translating structure is in the stowed position; and the blocker door projects into the flowpath when the translating structure is in the deployed position.
13. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the door link includes a first door link mount pivotally coupled to the structure link mount through a first pivot joint; and a second door link mount pivotally coupled to the blocker door through a second pivot joint that is laterally aligned with the first pivot joint.
14. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the door link is configured as a strut.
15. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the door link includes a first door link arm, a second door link arm and a door link mount connected to the first door link arm and the second door link arm; the first door link arm and the second door link arm are each pivotally coupled to the blocker door; and the first door link arm and the second door link arm laterally converge towards one another as the first door link arm and the second door link arm extend longitudinally towards the door link mount.
16. The assembly of claim 15, wherein the first door link arm and the second door link arm laterally converge to the door link mount.
17. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the door link is nested with the structure link when the translating structure is in the stowed position.
18. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the door link comprises a crank arm.
1. An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: a fixed structure; a translating structure configured to translate between a stowed position and a deployed position; and a thrust reverser including a blocker door, an actuation linkage and a spring cartridge; the blocker door pivotally coupled to the translating structure; the actuation linkage operatively coupling the blocker door to the fixed structure, the actuation linkage including a structure link and a door link; the structure link including a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm, the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm pivotally coupled to the fixed structure, and the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm laterally converging towards one another as the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm extend longitudinally towards the structure link mount; the door link is between and pivotally coupled to the structure link mount and the blocker door; and the spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed.
2. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the spring cartridge is configured to substantially delay opening of the blocker door during a first portion of translation of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position.
3. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the spring cartridge is configured to bias the actuation linkage against the translating structure during a first portion of translation of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position.
4. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the spring cartridge includes a housing including an annular endwall and an internal cavity extending longitudinally within the housing to the annular endwall; a strut including a slider and a rod connected to the slider, the slider arranged slidable within the internal cavity, the rod projecting longitudinally out from the housing; and a spring element longitudinally between the annular endwall and the slider.
5. The assembly of claim 4, wherein the housing is pivotally coupled to the translating structure; and the strut is pivotally coupled to the blocker door.
6. The assembly of claim 4, wherein the spring element is longitudinally compressed between the annular endwall and the slider during translation of the translating structure to the deployed position.
7. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the translating structure includes an inner panel, an outer panel and a support structure between the inner panel and the outer panel; and the blocker door and the spring cartridge are each pivotally attached to the support structure.
8. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the spring cartridge is a first spring cartridge, and the thrust reverser further includes a second spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure; and the actuation linkage is disposed laterally between the first spring cartridge and the second spring cartridge.
9. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the thrust reverser is configured as a draglink- less thrust reverser.
10. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the translating structure forms a first peripheral boundary of a flowpath and the blocker door forms a second peripheral boundary of the flowpath when the translating structure is in the stowed position; and the blocker door projects into the flowpath when the translating structure is in the deployed position.
12. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the translating structure forms a peripheral boundary of a flowpath; the structure link and the door link are outside of the flowpath when the translating structure is in the stowed position; and the structure link and the door link are disposed in of the flowpath when the translating structure is in the deployed position.
13. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door.
14. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuation linkage comprises a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the fixed structure through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the fixed structure.
15. The assembly of claim 1, further comprising a fixed cascade structure projecting into an internal cavity of the translating structure when the translating structure is in the stowed position.
16. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the thrust reverser further includes a variable length strut pivotally coupled to the door link and the blocker door, and the variable length strut configured to limit movement of the door link relative to the blocker door.
17. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the thrust reverser further includes a variable length strut pivotally coupled to the door link and the blocker door, and the variable length strut is configured to damp movement of the door link relative to the blocker door.
18. An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: a fixed structure; a translating structure configured to translate between a stowed position and a deployed position; and a thrust reverser including a blocker door, an actuation linkage and a biasing device; the blocker door pivotally coupled to the translating structure; the actuation linkage operatively coupling the blocker door to the fixed structure the actuation linkage comprising a Y-shaped link pivotally attached to the blocker door through a pair of laterally spaced pivot joints between the Y-shaped link and the blocker door; and the biasing device coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and the biasing device configured to bias the actuation linkage against the translating structure during a first portion of translation of the translating structure from the stowed position towards the deployed position.
19. The assembly of claim 18, wherein the biasing device comprises a spring cartridge.
21. The assembly of claim 18, wherein the Y-shaped link comprises a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm.
22. An assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: a fixed structure; a translating structure configured to translate between a stowed position and a deployed position; and a thrust reverser including a blocker door, an actuation linkage and a spring cartridge; the blocker door pivotally coupled to the translating structure; the actuation linkage operatively coupling the blocker door to the fixed structure, the actuation linkage including a Y-shaped structure link and a door link; the Y-shaped structure link including a first structure link arm, a second structure link arm, and a structure link mount connected to the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm, the first structure link arm and the second structure link arm pivotally coupled to the fixed structure; the door link is between and pivotally coupled to the structure link mount and the blocker door; and the spring cartridge coupled to the blocker door and the translating structure, and the spring cartridge configured to bias the blocker door closed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for claim 18 and its dependents due to the issues under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph. Second, applicant’s independent claims have been amended similarly to US patent 12467419, raising the double patenting issues set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
January 29, 2026