DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears that “an eigenfrequency of the wind turbine rotor blade” refers back to “an eigenfrequency of the wind turbine rotor blade” in claim 1, line 7. It should be amended to --the eigenfrequency of the wind turbine rotor blade--.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 8, it appears that “the measured eigenfrequency” is meant to be “the determined eigenfrequency”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Govers Dr-ing Yves (EP 3296715 B1) (see translation).
Regarding claim 1: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses a method of controlling a quality of a wind turbine rotor blade, the method comprising: manufacturing a wind turbine rotor blade (2) at a manufacturing site; placing the wind turbine rotor blade on a support (1, test bench) at the manufacturing site; applying a dynamic load [0003] to the wind turbine rotor blade while the wind turbine rotor blade is placed on the support to excite a vibration of the wind turbine rotor blade; detecting the vibration of the wind turbine rotor blade; determining an eigenfrequency of the wind turbine rotor blade based on the detected vibration; comparing the determined eigenfrequency with an expected eigenfrequency of the wind turbine rotor blade; and, evaluating the quality of the wind turbine rotor blade based on the results of said comparing the determined eigenfrequency with the expected eigenfrequency ([010-0013, 0020, 0026-0031], claim 1).
Regarding claim 2: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses wherein the support is portable [0026, 0032] (the test bench or rig (1) is inherently portable).
Regarding claim 3: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses wherein the support includes a first support supporting a root section (3) of the wind turbine rotor blade and a second support supporting a midsection of the wind turbine rotor blade [0026] (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses wherein said detecting the vibration of the wind turbine rotor blade is performed via at least one sensor (5) integrated into (Fig. 1) [0026].
Regarding claim 5: Govers Dr-ing Yves wherein said detecting the vibration includes at least one of detecting a vibration in a flapwise direction and detecting a vibration in an edgewise direction of the wind turbine rotor blade [0026].
Regarding claim 6: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses wherein the step of determining an eigenfrequency of the wind turbine rotor blade includes determining at least one of: a first eigenfrequency in a flapwise direction; a second eigenfrequency in the flapwise direction; a first eigenfrequency in an edgewise direction; a second eigenfrequency in the edgewise direction; a first torsional eigenfrequency; and, a second torsional eigenfrequency ([0026-0031], claims 1, 3, 6).
Regarding claim 7: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses wherein the method is carried out fully automatically [0006].
Regarding claim 14: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses wherein the first support includes at least one beam structure fastened to a root of the wind turbine rotor blade and resting on a ground [0011].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govers Dr-ing Yves (EP 3296715 B1) (see translation).
Regarding claims 8-12: Govers Dr-ing Yves discloses the dynamic load test to the rotor blades [0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to apply and/or position the load at different part of the rotor blade or the support.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Udengaard et al. (US 11,409,249) discloses a method for simulating transverse motions response of a flexible rotor based on a parameter dependent eigenmodes.
-Pedersen (US 11,136,962) discloses a method of operating a wind turbine for reducing edgewise vibration.
-Christiansen (US 12,130,211) discloses an exciter device and method for fatigue testing of a blade of a wind turbine.
/TOAN N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 2/10/26