DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention group ll corresponding to claims 18-24, 29 and 30 in the reply filed on 04/07/26 is acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24, 30-32, 35, 37, 41, 44-45, 47 and 51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 23-24, 30-32, 35, 37, 41, 44-45, 47 and 51 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited in dependent claims 23-24, 30-32, 35, 37, 41, 44-45, 47 and 51 in combination with the all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims from which claims 23-24, 30-32, 35, 37, 41, 44-45, 47 and 51 are dependent upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19, 22, 29, 33 and 46-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0266960 herein after referenced as Lu) in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0095327 herein after referenced as Wang).
Regarding claim 18 and claim 29, Lu discloses:
A wireless station (STA), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the wireless STA to: and A method for wireless communication at a wireless station (STA), comprising: (Lu, [0044] discloses STA 110 may function as an AP or, alternatively, as a non-AP STA (i.e. reads on wireless STA). Similarly, STA 120 may function as an AP or, alternatively, as a non-AP STA; Lu, [0099] discloses In some implementations, apparatus 2710 may further include a memory 2714 coupled to processor 2712 and capable of being accessed by processor 2712 and storing data therein).
(Lu, [0045]-[0046] discloses In network environment 100, one of STA 110 and STA 120 functioning as an AP may obtain a partial bandwidth spectrum reuse transmission opportunity PBSR TXOP (i.e. reads on associated with a selection between a spatial reuse communication mode) on a partial bandwidth of an operating bandwidth when it detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or other system not shown with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level (i.e. reads on an indication of a threshold value). The PBSR TXOP may not include a primary channel or primary channel segment, and preamble puncturing may be applied in the PBSR TXOP on the channel(s) which is/are idle within the operating bandwidth and discloses With respect to a partial bandwidth transmission PBT procedure, when an AP device e.g., STA 110 or STA 120 detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or a transmission from other system with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level e.g., −82 dBm for preamble detection PD threshold, −72 dBm for spatial reuse PD threshold, −62 dBm for energy detection ED threshold, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP without including the primary channel and one or more non-primary channels where the OBSS frame transmission or channel busy status is detected … In case the AP detects an OBSS frame with a signal strength equal to or greater than the specific level, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP on one or more non-primary channels which are idle. A duration of a PBSR period may be set according to TXOP duration information or PPDU length information in the received OBSS frame; Lu, [0074] discloses Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, when a PBSR period on a non-primary channel expires or a device determines to early-terminate the PBSR period, the device may resume or invoke a backoff procedure on the primary channel and obtain a TXOP on the primary channel when the backoff counter reaches zero).
or a multi-primary channel communication mode; (Lu, [0135]-[0136] discloses Additionally, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 designating a first primary channel of the plurality of primary channels as a current primary channel for the operating bandwidth with remaining one or more of the plurality of primary channels being one or more auxiliary primary channels. Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 detecting that the current primary channel for the operating bandwidth is busy. In response, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 obtaining one other TXOP through a first auxiliary primary channel (i.e. reads on multi-primary channel communication mode) of the one or more auxiliary primary channels and discloses Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 performing a transmission on at least the first auxiliary primary channel).
and communicate using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with at least a first signal strength measurement at the wireless STA and with the threshold value (Lu, [0045]-[0046] discloses In network environment 100, one of STA 110 and STA 120 functioning as an AP may obtain a partial bandwidth spectrum reuse transmission opportunity PBSR TXOP on a partial bandwidth of an operating bandwidth when it detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or other system not shown with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level (i.e. reads on in accordance with at least a first signal strength measurement at the wireless STA and with the threshold value). The PBSR TXOP may not include a primary channel or primary channel segment, and preamble puncturing may be applied in the PBSR TXOP on the channel(s) which is/are idle within the operating bandwidth and discloses With respect to a partial bandwidth transmission PBT procedure, when an AP device e.g., STA 110 or STA 120 detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or a transmission from other system with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level e.g., −82 dBm for preamble detection PD threshold, −72 dBm for spatial reuse PD threshold, −62 dBm for energy detection ED threshold, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP without including the primary channel and one or more non-primary channels where the OBSS frame transmission or channel busy status is detected … In case the AP detects an OBSS frame with a signal strength equal to or greater than the specific level, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP (i.e. reads on and communicate using the spatial reuse communication mode) on one or more non-primary channels which are idle. A duration of a PBSR period may be set according to TXOP duration information or PPDU length information in the received OBSS frame; Lu, [0135]-[0136] discloses Additionally, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 designating a first primary channel of the plurality of primary channels as a current primary channel for the operating bandwidth with remaining one or more of the plurality of primary channels being one or more auxiliary primary channels. Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 detecting that the current primary channel for the operating bandwidth is busy. In response, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 obtaining one other TXOP through a first auxiliary primary channel (i.e. reads on multi-primary channel communication mode) of the one or more auxiliary primary channels and discloses Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 performing a transmission on at least the first auxiliary primary channel).
Lu discloses performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold but fails to explicitly recite that said threshold is received and therefore fails to disclose “receive an indication of a threshold value associated with a selection between a spatial reuse communication mode”.
In a related field of endeavor, Wang discloses:
receive an indication of a threshold value associated with a selection between a spatial reuse communication mode (Wang, [0103] discloses UE 115-b may measure an RSRP, a received signal strength indicator RSSI, or both, associated with a channel for reusing the resources. UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement is below a default threshold e.g., RSRPThres as shown in Table 1. If UE 115-a enables spatial reuse at UE 115-b, the channel sensing performed by UE 115-b may be adjusted. For example, UE 115-a may transmit an indication of a configured spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold (i.e. reads on receive an indication of a threshold value associated with a selection between a spatial reuse communication mode), as shown in Table 1 e.g., RSRPThresSRAllowed, RSRPThresSRAllowed2, or RSRPThresSRAllowed3 for the different spatial reuse configurations, and UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement at UE 115-b is less than the spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold; Wang, [0049] discloses The spatial reuse parameters may be transmitted via a first stage SCI, a second stage SCI, a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH e.g., the spatial reuse parameters may be broadcast to one or more receiving UEs, or some combination thereof. The receiving UEs may reuse the resources indicated as reserved by the transmitting UE based on the received spatial reuse parameters, which may give the transmitting UE more control of the reuse of the reserved resources, leading to improved resource utilization and throughput for wireless communications; Wang, [0068] discloses Each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lu to incorporate the teachings of Wang for the purpose of providing the system with a means to indicate the spatial reuse threshold in order to be utilized by the measuring device to determine spatial reuse is allowed (Wang, [0103]) in order to improve resource utilization and throughput for wireless communications (Wang, [0049]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Lu, [0138]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold as taught by Lu) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold, wherein the threshold is received from another device via a broadcast frame and wherein the condition for performing the spatial reuse includes when the signal is below a threshold as taught by Wang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold (i.e. as taught by both Lu & Wang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 19 and claim 47, Lu in view of Wang discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 18, wherein, to communicate using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode, the processing system is configured to cause the wireless STA to: (see claim 18) and The method of claim 29, wherein communicating using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode comprises: (see claim 29).
communicate using the spatial reuse communication mode in accordance with a satisfaction of the threshold value, the satisfaction of the threshold value associated with at least the first signal strength measurement; or communicate using the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with a failure to satisfy the threshold value, the failure to satisfy the threshold value associated with at least the first signal strength measurement (Lu, [0045]-[0046] discloses In network environment 100, one of STA 110 and STA 120 functioning as an AP may obtain a partial bandwidth spectrum reuse transmission opportunity PBSR TXOP on a partial bandwidth of an operating bandwidth when it detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or other system not shown with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level. The PBSR TXOP may not include a primary channel or primary channel segment, and preamble puncturing may be applied in the PBSR TXOP on the channel(s) which is/are idle within the operating bandwidth and discloses With respect to a partial bandwidth transmission PBT procedure, when an AP device e.g., STA 110 or STA 120 detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or a transmission from other system with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level e.g., −82 dBm for preamble detection PD threshold, −72 dBm for spatial reuse PD threshold, −62 dBm for energy detection ED threshold, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP without including the primary channel and one or more non-primary channels where the OBSS frame transmission or channel busy status is detected … In case the AP detects an OBSS frame with a signal strength equal to or greater than the specific level, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP on one or more non-primary channels which are idle. A duration of a PBSR period may be set according to TXOP duration information or PPDU length information in the received OBSS frame; Lu, [0135]-[0136] discloses Additionally, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 designating a first primary channel of the plurality of primary channels as a current primary channel for the operating bandwidth with remaining one or more of the plurality of primary channels being one or more auxiliary primary channels. Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 detecting that the current primary channel for the operating bandwidth is busy. In response, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 obtaining one other TXOP through a first auxiliary primary channel of the one or more auxiliary primary channels and discloses Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 performing a transmission on at least the first auxiliary primary channel; Wang, [0103] discloses UE 115-b may measure an RSRP, a received signal strength indicator RSSI, or both, associated with a channel for reusing the resources. UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement is below a default threshold e.g., RSRPThres as shown in Table 1. If UE 115-a enables spatial reuse at UE 115-b, the channel sensing performed by UE 115-b may be adjusted. For example, UE 115-a may transmit an indication of a configured spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold, as shown in Table 1 e.g., RSRPThresSRAllowed, RSRPThresSRAllowed2, or RSRPThresSRAllowed3 for the different spatial reuse configurations, and UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement at UE 115-b is less than the spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold).
Regarding claim 33, Lu in view of Wang discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 19, wherein: (see claim 19).
the satisfaction of the threshold value is in accordance with the first signal strength measurement being less than or equal to the threshold value; and the failure to satisfy the threshold value is in accordance with the first signal strength measurement being greater than the threshold value (Wang, [0103] discloses UE 115-b may measure an RSRP, a received signal strength indicator RSSI, or both, associated with a channel for reusing the resources. UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement is below a default threshold e.g., RSRPThres as shown in Table 1. If UE 115-a enables spatial reuse at UE 115-b, the channel sensing performed by UE 115-b may be adjusted. For example, UE 115-a may transmit an indication of a configured spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold, as shown in Table 1 e.g., RSRPThresSRAllowed, RSRPThresSRAllowed2, or RSRPThresSRAllowed3 for the different spatial reuse configurations, and UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement at UE 115-b is less than the spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold; Lu, [0045]-[0046] discloses In network environment 100, one of STA 110 and STA 120 functioning as an AP may obtain a partial bandwidth spectrum reuse transmission opportunity PBSR TXOP on a partial bandwidth of an operating bandwidth when it detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or other system not shown with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level. The PBSR TXOP may not include a primary channel or primary channel segment, and preamble puncturing may be applied in the PBSR TXOP on the channel(s) which is/are idle within the operating bandwidth and discloses With respect to a partial bandwidth transmission PBT procedure, when an AP device e.g., STA 110 or STA 120 detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or a transmission from other system with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level e.g., −82 dBm for preamble detection PD threshold, −72 dBm for spatial reuse PD threshold, −62 dBm for energy detection ED threshold, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP without including the primary channel and one or more non-primary channels where the OBSS frame transmission or channel busy status is detected … In case the AP detects an OBSS frame with a signal strength equal to or greater than the specific level, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP on one or more non-primary channels which are idle. A duration of a PBSR period may be set according to TXOP duration information or PPDU length information in the received OBSS frame; Lu, [0135]-[0136] discloses Additionally, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 designating a first primary channel of the plurality of primary channels as a current primary channel for the operating bandwidth with remaining one or more of the plurality of primary channels being one or more auxiliary primary channels. Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 detecting that the current primary channel for the operating bandwidth is busy. In response, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 obtaining one other TXOP through a first auxiliary primary channel of the one or more auxiliary primary channels and discloses Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 performing a transmission on at least the first auxiliary primary channel).
Regarding claim 22, Lu in view of Wang discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless STA to: (see claim 18).
receive the indication of the threshold value via a broadcast management frame (Wang, [0049] discloses The spatial reuse parameters may be transmitted via a first stage SCI, a second stage SCI, a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH e.g., the spatial reuse parameters may be broadcast to one or more receiving UEs, or some combination thereof. The receiving UEs may reuse the resources indicated as reserved by the transmitting UE based on the received spatial reuse parameters, which may give the transmitting UE more control of the reuse of the reserved resources, leading to improved resource utilization and throughput for wireless communications; Wang, [0103] discloses UE 115-b may measure an RSRP, a received signal strength indicator RSSI, or both, associated with a channel for reusing the resources. UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement is below a default threshold e.g., RSRPThres as shown in Table 1. If UE 115-a enables spatial reuse at UE 115-b, the channel sensing performed by UE 115-b may be adjusted. For example, UE 115-a may transmit an indication of a configured spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold, as shown in Table 1 e.g., RSRPThresSRAllowed, RSRPThresSRAllowed2, or RSRPThresSRAllowed3 for the different spatial reuse configurations, and UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if the RSRP measurement at UE 115-b is less than the spatial reuse allowed RSRP threshold; Wang, [0068] discloses Each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration).
Regarding claim 46, Lu in view of Wang discloses:
The method of claim 29, (see claim 29).
wherein the first signal strength measurement is an overlapping basic service set (BSS) (OBSS) received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (Lu, [0045] discloses In network environment 100, one of STA 110 and STA 120 functioning as an AP may obtain a partial bandwidth spectrum reuse transmission opportunity PBSR TXOP on a partial bandwidth of an operating bandwidth when it detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or other system not shown with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level. The PBSR TXOP may not include a primary channel or primary channel segment, and preamble puncturing may be applied in the PBSR TXOP on the channel(s) which is/are idle within the operating bandwidth).
Claim(s) 20-21, 34, 36, 38-39 and 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0266960 herein after referenced as Lu) in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0095327 herein after referenced as Wang) and further in view of PANDIAN et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0360694 herein after referenced as Pandian).
Regarding claim 20 and claim 48, Lu in view of Wang discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless STA to: (see claim 18) and The method of claim 29, further comprising: (see claim 29).
Lu in view of Wang discloses discloses utilizing a spatial reuse threshold but fails to explicitly recite an updated threshold value for spatial reuse communication mode and therefore fails to disclose “receive an indication of an updated threshold value associated with the selection between the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode; and communicate using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with the updated threshold value.”
In a related field of endeavor, Pandian discloses:
receive an indication of an updated threshold value associated with the selection between the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode; and communicate using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with the updated threshold value (Pandian, [0108] discloses In some implementations, the process 900 may be an example implementation of adjusting the PD threshold in block 708 of FIG. 7. At block 902, the first wireless communication device adjusts the PD threshold to increase a margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value concurrently with maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference. By increasing the margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value such as by adjusting the PD threshold to a level that is less than the determined RSSI value by at least a configured amount, the first wireless communication device may ensure that it can detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device. Also, by maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference on the wireless medium, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic and may also increase the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium; Pandian, [0112] discloses As described above, the OBSS PD threshold may govern the opportunities for spatial reuse SR transmissions, and the first wireless communication device may adjust the OBSS PD threshold based on whether a channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater or less than a configured value. As such, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access by increasing the OBSS PD threshold. Conversely, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is less than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may refrain from increasing the OBSS PD threshold for example, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold or may decrease the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium by decreasing the OBSS PD threshold; Pandian, [0127] discloses In some implementations, the first wireless communication device may, after determining that transmissions detected on the wireless medium are OBSS packets, determine RSSI values for the OBSS packets and compare the determined RSSI values with the adjusted OBSS PD threshold. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets, which may correspond to the level of OBSS interference, is less than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may transmit data on the wireless medium using spatial reuse SR packets, even though there is another valid transmission on the wireless medium. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets is greater than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may defer medium access; Pandian, [0116] discloses By increasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is greater than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of obtaining a SR opportunity to transmit data to one or more other devices, which may reduce one or more of the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss. Conversely, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may maintain the likelihood of obtaining the SR opportunity, and thereby also maintain its transmit power levels for SR transmissions. Further, when decreasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase its transmit power levels for SR transmissions and also decreasing the likelihood of obtaining SR opportunities. In some implementations, the OBSS PD threshold may be adjusted to increase a value of one or more of the performance metrics concurrently with increasing the number of SR transmission opportunities available to the first wireless communication device; Pandian, [0078] discloses For example, the MAC header 414 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address. The MAC header 414 may further include a frame control field containing control information. The frame control field may specify a frame type, for example, a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lu in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Pandian for the purpose of providing the system with a means to ensure the wireless device is able to detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device and increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic (Pandian, [0108]) and decrease the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium (Pandian, [0112]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Lu, [0138]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold as taught by Lu) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold, wherein the threshold is updated by increasing, decreasing or maintaining as taught by Pandian) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold (i.e. as taught by both Lu & Pandian) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 21 and claim 49, Lu in view of Wang discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless STA to: (see claim 18) and The method of claim 29, further comprising: (see claim 29).
transmit, using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with at least the first signal strength measurement and with the threshold value, a first frame (Lu, [0045]-[0046] discloses In network environment 100, one of STA 110 and STA 120 functioning as an AP may obtain a partial bandwidth spectrum reuse transmission opportunity PBSR TXOP on a partial bandwidth of an operating bandwidth when it detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or other system not shown with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level. The PBSR TXOP may not include a primary channel or primary channel segment, and preamble puncturing may be applied in the PBSR TXOP on the channel(s) which is/are idle within the operating bandwidth and discloses With respect to a partial bandwidth transmission PBT procedure, when an AP device e.g., STA 110 or STA 120 detects a frame transmission from an OBSS or a transmission from other system with signal strength equal to or greater than a specific level e.g., −82 dBm for preamble detection PD threshold, −72 dBm for spatial reuse PD threshold, −62 dBm for energy detection ED threshold, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP without including the primary channel and one or more non-primary channels where the OBSS frame transmission or channel busy status is detected … In case the AP detects an OBSS frame with a signal strength equal to or greater than the specific level, the AP may initiate a PBSR TXOP on one or more non-primary channels which are idle. A duration of a PBSR period may be set according to TXOP duration information or PPDU length information in the received OBSS frame; Lu, [0135]-[0136] discloses Additionally, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 designating a first primary channel of the plurality of primary channels as a current primary channel for the operating bandwidth with remaining one or more of the plurality of primary channels being one or more auxiliary primary channels. Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 detecting that the current primary channel for the operating bandwidth is busy. In response, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 obtaining one other TXOP through a first auxiliary primary channel of the one or more auxiliary primary channels and discloses Moreover, process 2800 may involve processor 2712 performing a transmission on at least the first auxiliary primary channel).
Lu in view of Wang discloses discloses utilizing a spatial reuse threshold but fails to explicitly recite an updated threshold value for spatial reuse communication mode and therefore fails to disclose “a first frame including a receiver address indicative of a wireless communication device; update the threshold value by a delta value to a second threshold value in accordance with a failure to satisfy a criteria associated with reception, from the wireless communication device, of a second frame associated with the first frame; and communicate with the wireless communication device using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with the second threshold value.”
In a related field of endeavor, Pandian discloses:
a first frame including a receiver address indicative of a wireless communication device; update the threshold value by a delta value to a second threshold value in accordance with a failure to satisfy a criteria associated with reception, from the wireless communication device, of a second frame associated with the first frame; and communicate with the wireless communication device using the spatial reuse communication mode or the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with the second threshold value (Pandian, [0108] discloses In some implementations, the process 900 may be an example implementation of adjusting the PD threshold in block 708 of FIG. 7. At block 902, the first wireless communication device adjusts the PD threshold to increase a margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value concurrently with maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference. By increasing the margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value such as by adjusting the PD threshold to a level that is less than the determined RSSI value by at least a configured amount, the first wireless communication device may ensure that it can detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device. Also, by maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference on the wireless medium, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic and may also increase the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium; Pandian, [0112] discloses As described above, the OBSS PD threshold may govern the opportunities for spatial reuse SR transmissions, and the first wireless communication device may adjust the OBSS PD threshold based on whether a channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater or less than a configured value. As such, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access by increasing the OBSS PD threshold. Conversely, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is less than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may refrain from increasing the OBSS PD threshold for example, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold or may decrease the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium by decreasing the OBSS PD threshold; Pandian, [0127] discloses In some implementations, the first wireless communication device may, after determining that transmissions detected on the wireless medium are OBSS packets, determine RSSI values for the OBSS packets and compare the determined RSSI values with the adjusted OBSS PD threshold. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets, which may correspond to the level of OBSS interference, is less than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may transmit data on the wireless medium using spatial reuse SR packets, even though there is another valid transmission on the wireless medium. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets is greater than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may defer medium access; Pandian, [0116] discloses By increasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is greater than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of obtaining a SR opportunity to transmit data to one or more other devices, which may reduce one or more of the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss. Conversely, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may maintain the likelihood of obtaining the SR opportunity, and thereby also maintain its transmit power levels for SR transmissions. Further, when decreasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase its transmit power levels for SR transmissions and also decreasing the likelihood of obtaining SR opportunities. In some implementations, the OBSS PD threshold may be adjusted to increase a value of one or more of the performance metrics concurrently with increasing the number of SR transmission opportunities available to the first wireless communication device; Pandian, [0078] discloses For example, the MAC header 414 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address. The MAC header 414 may further include a frame control field containing control information. The frame control field may specify a frame type, for example, a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame)
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lu in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Pandian for the purpose of providing the system with a means to ensure the wireless device is able to detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device and increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic (Pandian, [0108]) and decrease the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium (Pandian, [0112]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Lu, [0138]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold as taught by Lu) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold, wherein the threshold is updated by increasing, decreasing or maintaining as taught by Pandian) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold (i.e. as taught by both Lu & Pandian) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 34, Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Pandian discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 21, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless STA to: (see claim 21).
transmit the first frame using the spatial reuse communication mode in accordance with a satisfaction of the threshold value, the satisfaction of the threshold value associated with at least the first signal strength measurement; and update the threshold value by the delta value to obtain the second threshold value in association with transmitting the first frame using the spatial reuse communication mode and the failure to satisfy the criteria associated with the reception of the second frame (Pandian, [0108] discloses In some implementations, the process 900 may be an example implementation of adjusting the PD threshold in block 708 of FIG. 7. At block 902, the first wireless communication device adjusts the PD threshold to increase a margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value concurrently with maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference. By increasing the margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value such as by adjusting the PD threshold to a level that is less than the determined RSSI value by at least a configured amount, the first wireless communication device may ensure that it can detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device. Also, by maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference on the wireless medium, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic and may also increase the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium; Pandian, [0112] discloses As described above, the OBSS PD threshold may govern the opportunities for spatial reuse SR transmissions, and the first wireless communication device may adjust the OBSS PD threshold based on whether a channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater or less than a configured value. As such, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access by increasing the OBSS PD threshold. Conversely, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is less than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may refrain from increasing the OBSS PD threshold for example, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold or may decrease the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium by decreasing the OBSS PD threshold; Pandian, [0127] discloses In some implementations, the first wireless communication device may, after determining that transmissions detected on the wireless medium are OBSS packets, determine RSSI values for the OBSS packets and compare the determined RSSI values with the adjusted OBSS PD threshold. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets, which may correspond to the level of OBSS interference, is less than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may transmit data on the wireless medium using spatial reuse SR packets, even though there is another valid transmission on the wireless medium. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets is greater than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may defer medium access; Pandian, [0116] discloses By increasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is greater than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of obtaining a SR opportunity to transmit data to one or more other devices, which may reduce one or more of the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss. Conversely, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may maintain the likelihood of obtaining the SR opportunity, and thereby also maintain its transmit power levels for SR transmissions. Further, when decreasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase its transmit power levels for SR transmissions and also decreasing the likelihood of obtaining SR opportunities. In some implementations, the OBSS PD threshold may be adjusted to increase a value of one or more of the performance metrics concurrently with increasing the number of SR transmission opportunities available to the first wireless communication device).
Regarding claim 36, Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Pandian discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 21, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless STA to: (see claim 21).
transmit the first frame using the multi-primary channel communication mode in accordance with a failure to satisfy the threshold value, the failure to satisfy the threshold value associated with at least the first signal strength measurement; and update the threshold value by the delta value to obtain the second threshold value in association with transmitting the first frame using the multi-primary channel communication mode and the failure to satisfy the criteria associated with the reception of the second frame (Pandian, [0108] discloses In some implementations, the process 900 may be an example implementation of adjusting the PD threshold in block 708 of FIG. 7. At block 902, the first wireless communication device adjusts the PD threshold to increase a margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value concurrently with maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference. By increasing the margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value such as by adjusting the PD threshold to a level that is less than the determined RSSI value by at least a configured amount, the first wireless communication device may ensure that it can detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device. Also, by maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference on the wireless medium, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic and may also increase the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium; Pandian, [0112] discloses As described above, the OBSS PD threshold may govern the opportunities for spatial reuse SR transmissions, and the first wireless communication device may adjust the OBSS PD threshold based on whether a channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater or less than a configured value. As such, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access by increasing the OBSS PD threshold. Conversely, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is less than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may refrain from increasing the OBSS PD threshold for example, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold or may decrease the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium by decreasing the OBSS PD threshold; Pandian, [0127] discloses In some implementations, the first wireless communication device may, after determining that transmissions detected on the wireless medium are OBSS packets, determine RSSI values for the OBSS packets and compare the determined RSSI values with the adjusted OBSS PD threshold. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets, which may correspond to the level of OBSS interference, is less than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may transmit data on the wireless medium using spatial reuse SR packets, even though there is another valid transmission on the wireless medium. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets is greater than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may defer medium access; Pandian, [0116] discloses By increasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is greater than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of obtaining a SR opportunity to transmit data to one or more other devices, which may reduce one or more of the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss. Conversely, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may maintain the likelihood of obtaining the SR opportunity, and thereby also maintain its transmit power levels for SR transmissions. Further, when decreasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase its transmit power levels for SR transmissions and also decreasing the likelihood of obtaining SR opportunities. In some implementations, the OBSS PD threshold may be adjusted to increase a value of one or more of the performance metrics concurrently with increasing the number of SR transmission opportunities available to the first wireless communication device).
Regarding claim 38, Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Pandian discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 21, (see claim 21).
wherein the delta value is a static value (Pandian, [0108] discloses In some implementations, the process 900 may be an example implementation of adjusting the PD threshold in block 708 of FIG. 7. At block 902, the first wireless communication device adjusts the PD threshold to increase a margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value concurrently with maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference. By increasing the margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value such as by adjusting the PD threshold to a level that is less than the determined RSSI value by at least a configured amount, the first wireless communication device may ensure that it can detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device. Also, by maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference on the wireless medium, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic and may also increase the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium).
Regarding claim 39, Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Pandian discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 21, (see claim 21).
wherein the delta value increases in accordance with each failure to satisfy the criteria associated with the reception of the second frame (Pandian, [0108] discloses In some implementations, the process 900 may be an example implementation of adjusting the PD threshold in block 708 of FIG. 7. At block 902, the first wireless communication device adjusts the PD threshold to increase a margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value concurrently with maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference. By increasing the margin between the adjusted PD threshold and the determined RSSI value such as by adjusting the PD threshold to a level that is less than the determined RSSI value by at least a configured amount, the first wireless communication device may ensure that it can detect and receive WLAN packets addressed or intended or for the first wireless communication device. Also, by maintaining the adjusted PD threshold higher than the level of OBSS interference on the wireless medium, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access in the presence of OBSS traffic and may also increase the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium; Pandian, [0112] discloses As described above, the OBSS PD threshold may govern the opportunities for spatial reuse SR transmissions, and the first wireless communication device may adjust the OBSS PD threshold based on whether a channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater or less than a configured value. As such, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is greater than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of gaining medium access by increasing the OBSS PD threshold. Conversely, if the channel utilization of OBSS traffic is less than the configured value, the first wireless communication device may refrain from increasing the OBSS PD threshold for example, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold or may decrease the likelihood of collisions on the wireless medium by decreasing the OBSS PD threshold; Pandian, [0127] discloses In some implementations, the first wireless communication device may, after determining that transmissions detected on the wireless medium are OBSS packets, determine RSSI values for the OBSS packets and compare the determined RSSI values with the adjusted OBSS PD threshold. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets, which may correspond to the level of OBSS interference, is less than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may transmit data on the wireless medium using spatial reuse SR packets, even though there is another valid transmission on the wireless medium. When the RSSI values of the OBSS packets is greater than the adjusted OBSS PD threshold, the first wireless communication device may defer medium access; Pandian, [0116] discloses By increasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is greater than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase the likelihood of obtaining a SR opportunity to transmit data to one or more other devices, which may reduce one or more of the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss. Conversely, by maintaining the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may maintain the likelihood of obtaining the SR opportunity, and thereby also maintain its transmit power levels for SR transmissions. Further, when decreasing the OBSS PD threshold when the PER, the number of ACK timeouts, or the throughput loss is less than the respective configured value, the first wireless communication device may increase its transmit power levels for SR transmissions and also decreasing the likelihood of obtaining SR opportunities. In some implementations, the OBSS PD threshold may be adjusted to increase a value of one or more of the performance metrics concurrently with increasing the number of SR transmission opportunities available to the first wireless communication device).
Claim(s) 40, 42-43 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0266960 herein after referenced as Lu) in view of Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0095327 herein after referenced as Wang) and further in view of Haider et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0360691 herein after referenced as Haider).
Regarding claim 40 and claim 50, Lu in view of Wang discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the wireless STA to: (see claim 18) and The method of claim 29, further comprising: (see claim 29).
Lu in view of Wang fails to disclose “maintain a respective threshold value for each wireless communication device associated with the wireless STA on a per-overlapping basic service set (BSS) (OBSS) basis.”
In a related field of endeavor, Haider discloses:
maintain a respective threshold value for each wireless communication device associated with the wireless STA on a per-overlapping basic service set (BSS) (OBSS) basis (Haider, [0018] discloses In some embodiments, an apparatus, system, or process is expanded to provide a different CCA threshold for each of multiple overlapping BSSs as determined by, for example, the BSS color data or other data identifying the BSS referred to herein as a BSS identification ID in each broadcast packet in order to tune the network performance on the basis of the actual activity and signal strength of OBSS interference; Haider, [0029] discloses In some embodiments, a separate OBSS threshold CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS is determined and maintained for each OBSS. As illustrated in FIG. 2, a first CA threshold, indicated as CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS-1, is determined and maintained for BSS-1 and a second CA threshold, CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS-2, is determined and maintained for BSS-2).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lu in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Haider for the purpose of providing the system with a means to provide specific threshold for each OBSS in order to tune the network performance on the basis of the actual activity and signal strength of OBSS interference (Haider, [0018] & [0029]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios (Lu, [0138]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold as taught by Lu) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold, wherein the threshold is specific to each OBSS as taught by Haider) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing spatial reuse based on a comparison between a received signal strength and a threshold (i.e. as taught by both Lu & Haider) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 42, Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Haider discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 40, wherein: (see claim 40).
a first threshold value is maintained for communication with a first wireless communication device and interference from a first OBSS; and a second threshold value is maintained for communication with the first wireless communication device and interference from a second OBSS (Haider, [0018] discloses In some embodiments, an apparatus, system, or process is expanded to provide a different CCA threshold for each of multiple overlapping BSSs as determined by, for example, the BSS color data or other data identifying the BSS referred to herein as a BSS identification ID in each broadcast packet in order to tune the network performance on the basis of the actual activity and signal strength of OBSS interference; Haider, [0029] discloses In some embodiments, a separate OBSS threshold CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS is determined and maintained for each OBSS. As illustrated in FIG. 2, a first CA threshold, indicated as CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS-1, is determined and maintained for BSS-1 and a second CA threshold, CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS-2, is determined and maintained for BSS-2).
Regarding claim 43, Lu in view of Wang and further in view of Haider discloses:
The wireless STA of claim 40, wherein: (see claim 40).
a first threshold value is maintained for communication with a first wireless communication device and interference from a first OBSS; and a second threshold value is maintained for communication with a second wireless communication device and interference from the first OBSS (Haider, [0018] discloses In some embodiments, an apparatus, system, or process is expanded to provide a different CCA threshold for each of multiple overlapping BSSs as determined by, for example, the BSS color data or other data identifying the BSS referred to herein as a BSS identification ID in each broadcast packet in order to tune the network performance on the basis of the actual activity and signal strength of OBSS interference; Haider, [0029] discloses In some embodiments, a separate OBSS threshold CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS is determined and maintained for each OBSS. As illustrated in FIG. 2, a first CA threshold, indicated as CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS-1, is determined and maintained for BSS-1 and a second CA threshold, CCA-thresh.sup.OBSS-2, is determined and maintained for BSS-2).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645