DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-4, 9, 13, 17 and 18 have been cancelled.
Claims 14-16 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12 are presented for examination on the merits.
The claimed method of suppressing HIV activity in semen has been amended to add the language “wherein the contacted semen has enhanced motility after being contacted with the hydroxyurea”.
However, this does not effectively limit the claimed method as this is simply a result of the positively recited steps (see Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F. 3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (a whereby “clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.”). Thus, the amended claims are no different than previously and remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lori (1999) in view of Quinn et al. (1985).
Lori et al. (1999) beneficially teach the anti-HIV properties of hydroxyurea and that the ability of hydroxyurea to decrease intracellular levels of deoxynucleotide triphosphate (dNTP) is the property of this drug that permits it to inhibit HIV replication. By adding hydroxyurea to activated T lymphocytes, it was possible to reduce the levels of dNTP in these cells and to inhibit HIV reverse transcription, in a process mimicking the natural block to viral replication in quiescent T lymphocytes. This experiment proved the hypothesis that HIV replication depends on adequate levels of dNTP and, at the same time, it suggested the potential for a new anti-HIV drug. In this sense, hydroxyurea belongs to a new class of anti- HIV compounds, because it inhibits the virus indirectly by interacting with a cellular protein. This protein, ribonucleotide reductase, represents the rate-limiting step for dNTP synthesis, and it contains a free radical that is irreversibly quenched by hydroxyurea.
Lori does not explicitly teach a buffer including human tubal fluid.
Quinn et al. beneficially disclose that approximation of the culture conditions as close as possible to those found in the natural environment of the gametes will most likely yield the best results. Indeed, significantly more mouse zygotes developed to blastocysts in culture in a medium formulated on the composition of human tubal fluid (HTF) than in modified Tyrode's medium (T6). In a randomized 2 x 2 factorial trial of human in vitro fertilization that compared the two media and culture under oil versus culture in loosely capped tubes, significantly more clinical pregnancies (30% of 60 transfers) were obtained with HTF medium than with T6 medium (11% of 53 transfers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant Application employ hydroxyurea in HIV-infected semen for its known antiviral properties against HIV as taught by Lori and to employ human tubal fluid in a buffer in preparing artificial insemination as taught by Quinn et al.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton."). In KSR, the Supreme Court indicated that the obviousness analysis should consider the “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Under KSR, information deemed within PHOSITA’s general knowledge is more powerful than that found buried in a prior art reference because we assume that PHOSITA would consider using their general knowledge in combination with the prior art — even absent any express motivation to do so. Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the obviousness inquiry turns not only on the prior art, but whether “the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious . . . to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.” 35 U.S.C. § 103. Regardless of the tribunal, the inquiry into whether any “differences” between the invention and the prior art would have rendered the invention obvious to a skilled artisan necessarily depends on such artisan’s knowledge.
The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining an appropriate effective amount of an active ingredient and/or employing one or more commonly-employed means of preparation, such a sperm washing in preparation for artificial insemination, etc.) is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Accordingly, the instant claims, in the range of amounts where no unexpected results are observed, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill having the above cited references before him/her.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,926,846. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each method contains the positively recited step of administering a composition comprising hydroxyurea in amounts from 10 to 25 μg/mL along with human tubal fluid medium to sperm (i.e., spermatozoa or semen).
In addition, please note that the instant claims encompass and/or are encompassed by the "846 claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments/arguments filed with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the cited references do not disclose or suggest the presently recited methods that require contacting semen with hydroxyurea in an amount of 10 pg/mL to 25 pg/mL (as recited in independent claim 1) or 0.1 pg/mL to 250 pg/mL (as recited in independent claim 8). Applicant asserts that Lori does not disclose or suggest contacting semen with hydroxyurea to suppress human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) activity. Lori does not provide any teaching or suggestion of contacting semen with hydroxyurea, let alone, contacting semen with the presently recited amounts of hydroxyurea and the Quinn reference does not remedy the above-described deficiencies of Lori.
This is unpersuasive, since anyone with ordinary skill in the art would take from Lori that hydroxyurea has anti-HIV activity and could be useful in treating semen for HIV. ). As stated previously, information deemed within PHOSITA’s general knowledge is more powerful than that found buried in a prior art reference because we assume that PHOSITA would consider using their general knowledge in combination with the prior art — even absent any express motivation to do so. Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the obviousness inquiry turns not only on the prior art, but whether “the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious . . . to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.” 35 U.S.C. § 103. Regardless of the tribunal, the inquiry into whether any “differences” between the invention and the prior art would have rendered the invention obvious to a skilled artisan necessarily depends on such artisan’s knowledge.
The cited references do not specifically teach using the hydroxyurea in the amounts claimed by applicant. The amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, optimization of general conditions is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient amount would have been obvious at the time of applicant's invention.
Furthermore, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. (See MPEP2144.05)
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s invention is predicated on an unexpected result, which typically involves synergism - an unpredictable phenomenon, highly dependent upon specific proportions and/or amounts of particular ingredients. With respect to such unexpected results, please note that in KSR, the Court also reaffirmed that evidence of unexpected results may overcome an examiner's prima facie case of obviousness. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416 ("The fact that the elements worked together in an unexpected and fruitful manner supported the conclusion that Adams' design was not obvious to those skilled in the art" - discussing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39). However, "any superior property must be unexpected to be considered as evidence of non-obviousness." Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Thus, "[m]ere improvement in properties does not always suffice to show unexpected results ....[W]hen an applicant demonstrates substantially improved results.., and states that the results were unexpected, this should suffice to establish unexpected results in the absence of evidence to the contrary." In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 751 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Moreover, in order to establish unexpected results for claimed invention, objective evidence of non-obviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. In re Greenfield, 571 F.2d 1185, 1189 (CCPA 1978). Please also note that "the discovery of an optimum value of a variable in a known process is usually obvious." Pfizer v. Apotex, 480 F.3d at 1368. The rationale for determining the optimal parameters for prior art result effective variables "flows from the 'normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known.'" Id. (quoting In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003)).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RUSSELL G FIEBIG/Examiner, Art Unit 1655