DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18, 20 are currently pending. Claims 1-17 are allowed. Claims 18, 20 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 9-10 of the response, filed April 23, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Grieb (US 4,874,287 A).
Regarding Claim 18, Applicant explains how the edges of Hall et al. (US 2023/0066627 A1) do not expressly meet the amended limitations. Applicant notes the trailing edges (255, 240) are aligned. The Office agrees. Therefore the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, the claim is still believed to be unpatentable in view of Grieb as detailed below.
No further arguments have been provided regarding the remaining claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 10-12 of the response, filed with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of Claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been withdrawn.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant explains how the shafts of Hall fail to teach the second shaft rotatable coupled to the inner radial surface of the outer casing independently from the variable inlet guide vane as amended. The Office agrees. Therefore the previous rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding Claim 12, Applicant explains how the shafts of Hall fail to teach the shafts extending from the outer radial edges as amended. The Office agrees. Therefore the previous rejection has been withdrawn.
No further arguments have been provided regarding the remaining claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 20, Line 3 recites “the radial direction that defines the height of the flow path”. It is unclear how to interpret the height limitation. Claim 18 establishes antecedent basis of a “radial direction”, but does not relate it to the height of the flow path. Claim 18 also states “a first distance from the first inner radial edge to the first outer radial edge defines a height of a flow path”. In other words, the first distance defines the height. Thus, it is unclear what structure is intended for Claim 20, which states the radial direction defines the height of the flow path, since the scope of the claim appears to define the height differently before this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grieb (US 4,874,287 A), hereinafter Grieb.
Regarding Claim 18, Figures 1-2A of Grieb teach an apparatus comprising: a first variable inlet guide vane (31), the first variable inlet guide vane (31) comprising a first shaft (left shaft in annotated figure below) extending along a first direction, the first variable inlet guide vane (31) being rotatable about the first shaft, the first variable inlet guide vane (31) including a first inner radial edge and a first outer radial edge, wherein a first distance from the first inner radial edge to the first outer radial edge defines a height of a flow path (path where vanes 31, 32 reside); and a second variable inlet guide vane (32) downstream of the first variable inlet guide vane (31) in the flow path, the second variable inlet guide vane (32) comprising a second shaft (right shaft in annotated figure below) extending along a second direction, the second variable inlet guide vane (32) being rotatable about the second shaft, the second direction being parallel to the first direction (see extension of shafts), wherein the second variable inlet guide vane (32) includes a second inner radial edge and a second radial outer edge, and wherein a second distance from the second inner radial edge to the second outer radial edge is less than the first distance (note 32 being shorter than 31 in the radial direction, i.e. vertical, in Figures 1-1A), wherein each of the first shaft and the second shaft extends along a radial direction (vertical in Figures 1-1A), wherein the first variable inlet guide vane (31) includes a first leading edge and a first trailing edge and the second variable inlet guide vane (32) includes a second leading edge and a second trailing edge, and wherein the second leading edge is positioned downstream of the first leading edge and upstream of the first trailing edge and the second trailing edge is positioned downstream of the first trailing edge in the flow path (Col. 3, Lines 11-38 and Col. 4, Lines 1-28). See also annotated Figures 1A’ and 1A’’ below. Note also the positioning of the arms (33) associated with first vane (31) and arms (34) associated with second vanes (32) in Figures 2-2A to see how the vanes (31, 32) are oriented with respect to each other circumferentially.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20, as far as it is definite and understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieb in view of Hosaka et al. (US 11,236,630 B2), hereinafter Hosaka.
Regarding Claim 20, Grieb teaches the apparatus as set forth in Claim 18.
Grieb does not expressly teach wherein the first variable inlet guide vane includes a third outer radial edge positioned between the first inner radial edge and the second outer radial edge in the radial direction that defines the height of the flow path as claimed. However, a third outer radial edge would have been obvious in view of Hosaka.
Figure 2 of Hosaka teaches an apparatus wherein a guide vane (12) includes a clearance (32), forming an outer radial edge of the guide vane (12). Note that this is inwards from the outer radial edge (16a) forming the height of the flow path, thus in an area positioned between the first inner radial edge and the second outer radial edge in the radial direction that defines the height of the flow path when in view of Grieb. The clearance (32) is what allows the variable guide vane to swing in motion (Col. 1, Lines 54-56). Particularly, this ensures that no interference with the casing (7) occurs (Col. 5, Lines 6-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by Grieb with a clearance, resulting wherein the first variable inlet guide vane includes a third outer radial edge positioned between the first inner radial edge and the second outer radial edge in the radial direction that defines the height of the flow path as suggested by Hosaka, to provide the benefit of allowing the variable vane to move during operation without interfering with the adjacent wall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 are allowed.
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, the art of record Hall et al. (US 2023/0066627 A1) and Ress, Jr. et al. (US 2012/0163960 A1) do not expressly teach the first and second shafts as claimed. Particularly, Claim 1 now requires the shafts be rotatably coupled to the inner radial inner surface of the outer casing independently. Claim 12 requires the shafts extending from an outer radial edge of their respective variable inlet guide vanes. These limitations further narrow the overall structure of the vanes such that the shafts (235, 248) of Figure 8 of Hall no longer meet the broadest reasonable interpretation. See the shafts (248) connecting the vane (252) to the larger vane (232) along the leading edge portion of vane (252). As such, the claimed structure is no longer met by the art of record. See also Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 12 addressed above.
Claims 2-11, 13-17 subsequently depend upon Claims 1 and 12, respectively.
Conclusion
/ELTON K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745