DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “an island effect for each battery” in line 3, It is unclear what “an island effect” refer to. For examination propose it is considered battery parameters or status. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fry et al. (US 2015/0171632), hereinafter Fry.
As to claim 1, Fry discloses in figures 1-24B , the mobile electric power storage and generation comprising [see figure 1; element 10]:
a modular battery system [battery system (14)];
a frame [the housing has a frame];
and an enclosure [lid (62); see also¶0033-0034].
As to claim 2, Fry discloses in figure 13 , wherein the modular battery system comprises: a plurality of power units [battery packs (86) and (90); see ¶0035]; and a plurality of control units [see figure 13; also controller (234) and charging controller (244); see ¶0055].
As to claim 3, Fry discloses in figures 1 and 13, wherein the modular battery system is configured as a swappable battery as a service platform [see ¶0047; battery (14) is removable and swap].
As to claim 4, Fry discloses in figures 1 and 13, an alternating current input system [see figure 13, input (222)] ; a direct current input system [see figure 13, DC input (214); ¶0050]; an alternating current output system [see figure 13, element 202] ; and a direct current output system [see figure 13, element 194 [see ¶0050].
As to claim 5, Fry discloses in figures 1 and 13, a power electronic system [figure 13], wherein the power electronic system is configured for electrical power conversion and inversion [see figure 13, element 246]; and a direct current charging system [see figure 13, element 194]; a power distribution system [the electronics including the control circuit, the inverter circuit, the charging circuit can be considered as a power distribution system]; and an electrical control system [the electrical system distributes power; see figure 13.
As to claim 6, Fry discloses in figures 1 and 13, wherein the enclosure is supported by the frame [see figure 1].
As to claim 7, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the mobile electric power storage and generation system further comprises a plurality of battery bays [battery slots are disclosed].
As to claim 8, Fry discloses in figures 1 and 13, wherein the plurality of battery bays comprise a plurality of battery slots [see figure 13, plurality of battery packs disclosed].
As to claim 9, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the plurality of battery slots are configured as a power unit slot, wherein at least one of the power unit slot includes an electro mechanical connection to provide charge power to at least one power unit, and wherein at least one of the power unit slot is a secure storage slot [see ¶0047; electrical and mechanical connections are disclosed; removable storage bin is disclosed; see figures 3 and 5 and also ¶0034].
As to claim 10, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, battery slots [battery bin] are configured as a control unit slot, wherein at least one of the control unit slot includes an electro mechanical connection to provide an electrical connection to at least one control unit, and wherein at least one of the control unit slot is a secure storage slot [electrical connections are provided in the bin; see also ¶0047].
As to claim 11, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the mobile electric power storage and generation system further comprises a solar charging system [see ¶0035; solar cells or panels are disclosed].
As to claim 12, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the solar charging system is electrically connected to the electric power storage and generation system [the input AC is connected to the AC electrical power].
As to claim 14, Fry discloses in figure 1, wherein the mobile electric power storage and generation system is a towable vehicle [the portable power supply (10) is pullable/towable].
As to claim 16, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, a modular battery system comprising [see figures 1 and 13]; a DC charging system [DC output (194)]; a first battery unit [battery 14]; a first control unit [controller (234)]; and an output power system [AC ooutput (202)].
As to claim 17, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the modular battery system further comprises a DC to DC conversion stage contained within each individual power unit providing power units with individual intelligence systems enhancing control and safety [noted that conversation system is disclosed in ¶0073] .
As to claim 18, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the modular battery system further comprises a DC to DC conversion stage contained within individual power units providing an island effect for each battery regardless of state of health or state of charge to accept a 400V charging voltage at the bus bar providing a true hot swappable unit [charging conversation is made regardless of battery SOC].
As to claim 19, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the modular battery system is configured to operate at a high voltage increasing conversion capability, reducing conduction losses and improving efficiency [see ¶0073].
As to claim 20, Fry discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the modular battery system further comprising an electrical input system [see figure 13 an AC and DC input system].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry in view of Grayson (US 2023/0261545),
As to claim 13, Fry discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the solar charging system is retractable.
Grayson discloses in figure 2, wherein the solar charging system is retractable.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use retractable solar panel in Fry’s apparatus as taught by Grayson in order to easily transport the charger.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry in view of Windsor (US 8,013,567)
As to claim 15, Fry discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the mobile electric power storage and generation system is a vehicle that is configured as a drivable vehicle.
Windsor discloses in figures 1-3, wherein the mobile electric power storage and generation system is a vehicle that is configured as a drivable vehicle [noted that the power storage is part of the vehicle and drivable or towable].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to make the portable power supply of Fry towable or drivable on the vehicle as taught by Windsor in order to easily transport the power supply form place to place.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Butler et al. (9,397,513) discloses compact battery power supply.
Swan (US 2017/0104441) discloses portable power supply unit.
Nauertz (US 2019/0373999) discloses portable power distribution system
/SAMUEL BERHANU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859