This office action is in response to remarks filed on 03/09/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 2 and 20 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/09/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Claims 2 and 20 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (WO2023163997A1) (hereinafter "Wu '997") in view of Lei et al (US20250133561A1) (hereinafter "Lei '561").
Regarding claim 1, Wu '997 discloses a device for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one processor; and ([0057] The UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 150 that can include one or more general -purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors)
a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to ([0057] The UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 150 that can include one or more general -purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors):
receive small data transmission (SDT) configuration information ([0237] In some implementations, the UE at block 1806 receives at least one RRC release message including the second plurality of configuration parameters from the RAN. In some implementations, each of the at least one RRC release message includes (a portion of) the second plurality of configuration parameters. For example, the at least one RRC release message includes SDT configuration(s) (e.g., SDT-Config IE(s)) including the second plurality of configuration parameters.);
obtain data for transmission via SDT and SDT parameter information associated with the data for transmission via SDT ([0237] In some implementations, the UE at block 1806 receives at least one RRC release message including the second plurality of configuration parameters from the RAN. In some implementations, each of the at least one RRC release message includes (a portion of) the second plurality of configuration parameters. For example, the at least one RRC release message includes SDT configuration(s) (e.g., SDT-Config IE(s)) including the second plurality of configuration parameters.);
Wu '997 fails to disclose a device for wireless communication, configured to: determine a SDT transmission delay based on the SDT parameter information for the data and based on the SDT configuration information; and transmit a SDT based on one or more SDT transmission conditions and including the data, the SDT transmitted at or within the SDT transmission delay.
However, Lei '561 discloses a device for wireless communication, configured to:
determine a SDT transmission delay based on the SDT parameter information for the data and based on the SDT configuration information; and ([0005] In particular, aspects of the present disclosure support various SDT configurations defining different sets of rules or conditions which UEs may use to determine whether they are able to transmit UCI messages along with SDTs while in an inactive or idle state. In some cases, a UE may receive control signaling which indicates sets of resources for communicating SDTs and UCI messages while the UE is in an inactive or idle state. In some cases, the control signaling may configure the UE with separate sets of resources for communicating SDTs and UCI messages, where in other cases the UE may be configured to multiplex UCI messages along with SDTs using the same set of resources. In the context of random access SDT (RA-SDT) configurations, the control signaling may include a message of a random access procedure which configures the UE with a set of resources for random access messages which may be used to transmit SDT and/or UCI messages. Comparatively, in the context of configured grant SDT (CG-SDT) configurations, a UE may receive a message (e.g., an radio resource control (RRC) release message) which releases the UE from an active state to an inactive or idle state, where the message configures the UE with sets of resources (e.g., physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources) for SDT and UCI messages.)
transmit a SDT based on one or more SDT transmission conditions and including the data, the SDT transmitted at or within the SDT transmission delay ([0193] In particular, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message at 630 on at least a portion of the second set of resources for UCI transmission which were allocated via the control signaling at 605. For example, the UE 115-d may transmit the SDT within a PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., CG-SDT transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In some cases, the UE 115-d may be configured to multiplex the SDT at 625 and the UCI message at 630 within the same transmission occasion (e.g., PUSCH transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In other cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message and the SDT via separate transmission occasions. For instance, in some cases, the UE 115-d may refrain from transmitting the SDT on a first transmission occasion (e.g., suspend SDT) in order to transmit the UCI message on the first transmission occasion. In such cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the suspended SDT in a different (e.g., subsequent) transmission occasion.).
Wu '997 and Lei '561 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for uplink control information transmission with small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997 with Lei '561 to create a device for wireless communication, configured to: determine a SDT transmission delay based on the SDT parameter information for the data and based on the SDT configuration information; and transmit a SDT based on one or more SDT transmission conditions and including the data, the SDT transmitted at or within the SDT transmission delay.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Wu '997 fails to disclose the device, where the SDT is transmitted in a first SDT transmission opportunity (TXOP), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: refrain, prior to transmitting the SDT in the first SDT TXOP, from transmitting the SDT in a second SDT TXOP which occurs before the first SDT TXOP and is a next TXOP after the data is obtained for transmission via SDT based on the determined SDT transmission delay.
However, Lei '561 discloses the device, where the SDT is transmitted in a first SDT transmission opportunity (TXOP), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: refrain, prior to transmitting the SDT in the first SDT TXOP, from transmitting the SDT in a second SDT TXOP which occurs before the first SDT TXOP and is a next TXOP after the data is obtained for transmission via SDT based on the determined SDT transmission delay ([0193] In particular, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message at 630 on at least a portion of the second set of resources for UCI transmission which were allocated via the control signaling at 605. For example, the UE 115-d may transmit the SDT within a PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., CG-SDT transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In some cases, the UE 115-d may be configured to multiplex the SDT at 625 and the UCI message at 630 within the same transmission occasion (e.g., PUSCH transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In other cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message and the SDT via separate transmission occasions. For instance, in some cases, the UE 115-d may refrain from transmitting the SDT on a first transmission occasion (e.g., suspend SDT) in order to transmit the UCI message on the first transmission occasion. In such cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the suspended SDT in a different (e.g., subsequent) transmission occasion.).
Wu '997 and Lei '561 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for uplink control information transmission with small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997 with Lei '561 to create the device, where the SDT is transmitted in a first SDT transmission opportunity (TXOP), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: refrain, prior to transmitting the SDT in the first SDT TXOP, from transmitting the SDT in a second SDT TXOP which occurs before the first SDT TXOP and is a next TXOP after the data is obtained for transmission via SDT based on the determined SDT transmission delay.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Wu '997 discloses the device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
obtain second data for transmission via SDT and second SDT parameter information associated with the second data for transmission via SDT, the second data corresponding to second small data different than first small data of the data; and ([0023] Fig. 9 illustrates an example method implemented at a base station for transmitting a first and second delay configuration to a UE to delay an SDT and non-SDT resource request, respectively)
determine a second SDT transmission delay based on the second SDT parameter information for the second data and based on the SDT configuration information, wherein the SDT transmitted at or within the second SDT transmission delay ([0163] If the UE has no UL resources for transmitting the data or the buffer status report and is configured with the delay configuration, the UE delays an SDT resource request for requesting UL resources for a predetermined time period. In some implementations, the RAN node can configure the predetermined time period. For example, the RAN node sends a delay timer value specifying the predetermined time period to the UE in the first message. … When the UE detects data (associated with or for the second SDT RB) available for transmission, the UE can trigger transmission of a buffer status report to report a data volume of the data. If the UE has no UL resources for transmitting the buffer status report or the data, the UE transmits an SDT resource request to the RAN node to request that the RAN node provides UL resources. In some implementations, the UE can receive, from the RAN node, delay configuration(s) for other logical channel(s) associating with one or more of the other SDT RB(s).).
Regarding claim 13, Wu '997 fails to discloses the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the SDT configuration information is received from a first subscription, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
receive second SDT configuration information for a second subscription; obtain second data for transmission via SDT and second SDT parameter information associated with the second data for transmission via SDT; determine a second SDT transmission delay based on the second SDT parameter
information for the data and based on the second SDT configuration information; and transmit a second SDT based on one or more second SDT transmission conditions and including the second data, the second SDT transmitted at or within a second SDT transmission delay.
However, in claim 1, Wu '997 discloses the device, wherein the SDT configuration information is received from a first subscription, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
receive small data transmission (SDT) configuration information ([0237] In some implementations, the UE at block 1806 receives at least one RRC release message including the second plurality of configuration parameters from the RAN. In some implementations, each of the at least one RRC release message includes (a portion of) the second plurality of configuration parameters. For example, the at least one RRC release message includes SDT configuration(s) (e.g., SDT-Config IE(s)) including the second plurality of configuration parameters.);
obtain data for transmission via SDT and SDT parameter information associated with the data for transmission via SDT ([0237] In some implementations, the UE at block 1806 receives at least one RRC release message including the second plurality of configuration parameters from the RAN. In some implementations, each of the at least one RRC release message includes (a portion of) the second plurality of configuration parameters. For example, the at least one RRC release message includes SDT configuration(s) (e.g., SDT-Config IE(s)) including the second plurality of configuration parameters.);
Lei '561 discloses a device for wireless communication, configured to:
determine a SDT transmission delay based on the SDT parameter information for the data and based on the SDT configuration information; and ([0005] In particular, aspects of the present disclosure support various SDT configurations defining different sets of rules or conditions which UEs may use to determine whether they are able to transmit UCI messages along with SDTs while in an inactive or idle state. In some cases, a UE may receive control signaling which indicates sets of resources for communicating SDTs and UCI messages while the UE is in an inactive or idle state. In some cases, the control signaling may configure the UE with separate sets of resources for communicating SDTs and UCI messages, where in other cases the UE may be configured to multiplex UCI messages along with SDTs using the same set of resources. In the context of random access SDT (RA-SDT) configurations, the control signaling may include a message of a random access procedure which configures the UE with a set of resources for random access messages which may be used to transmit SDT and/or UCI messages. Comparatively, in the context of configured grant SDT (CG-SDT) configurations, a UE may receive a message (e.g., an radio resource control (RRC) release message) which releases the UE from an active state to an inactive or idle state, where the message configures the UE with sets of resources (e.g., physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources) for SDT and UCI messages.)
transmit a SDT based on one or more SDT transmission conditions and including the data, the SDT transmitted at or within the SDT transmission delay ([0193] In particular, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message at 630 on at least a portion of the second set of resources for UCI transmission which were allocated via the control signaling at 605. For example, the UE 115-d may transmit the SDT within a PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., CG-SDT transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In some cases, the UE 115-d may be configured to multiplex the SDT at 625 and the UCI message at 630 within the same transmission occasion (e.g., PUSCH transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In other cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message and the SDT via separate transmission occasions. For instance, in some cases, the UE 115-d may refrain from transmitting the SDT on a first transmission occasion (e.g., suspend SDT) in order to transmit the UCI message on the first transmission occasion. In such cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the suspended SDT in a different (e.g., subsequent) transmission occasion.).
It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill of one in the art to duplicate parts or methods. Thus, at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the SDT configuration information is received from a first subscription, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: receive second SDT configuration information for a second subscription; obtain second data for transmission via SDT and second SDT parameter information associated with the second data for transmission via SDT; determine a second SDT transmission delay based on the second SDT parameter information for the data and based on the second SDT configuration information; and transmit a second SDT based on one or more second SDT transmission conditions and including the second data, the second SDT transmitted at or within a second SDT transmission delay. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 19, Wu '997 discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: receiving small data transmission (SDT) configuration information ([0237] In some implementations, the UE at block 1806 receives at least one RRC release message including the second plurality of configuration parameters from the RAN. In some implementations, each of the at least one RRC release message includes (a portion of) the second plurality of configuration parameters. For example, the at least one RRC release message includes SDT configuration(s) (e.g., SDT-Config IE(s)) including the second plurality of configuration parameters.);
obtaining data for transmission via SDT and SDT parameter information associated with the data for transmission via SDT ([0237] In some implementations, the UE at block 1806 receives at least one RRC release message including the second plurality of configuration parameters from the RAN. In some implementations, each of the at least one RRC release message includes (a portion of) the second plurality of configuration parameters. For example, the at least one RRC release message includes SDT configuration(s) (e.g., SDT-Config IE(s)) including the second plurality of configuration parameters.);
Wu '997 fails to disclose a method, comprising: determining a SDT transmission delay based on the SDT parameter information for the data and based on the SDT configuration information; and transmitting a SDT based on one or more SDT transmission conditions and including the data, the SDT transmitted at or within the SDT transmission delay.
However, Lei '561 discloses a method, comprising:
determining a SDT transmission delay based on the SDT parameter information for the data and based on the SDT configuration information; and ([0005] In particular, aspects of the present disclosure support various SDT configurations defining different sets of rules or conditions which UEs may use to determine whether they are able to transmit UCI messages along with SDTs while in an inactive or idle state. In some cases, a UE may receive control signaling which indicates sets of resources for communicating SDTs and UCI messages while the UE is in an inactive or idle state. In some cases, the control signaling may configure the UE with separate sets of resources for communicating SDTs and UCI messages, where in other cases the UE may be configured to multiplex UCI messages along with SDTs using the same set of resources. In the context of random access SDT (RA-SDT) configurations, the control signaling may include a message of a random access procedure which configures the UE with a set of resources for random access messages which may be used to transmit SDT and/or UCI messages. Comparatively, in the context of configured grant SDT (CG-SDT) configurations, a UE may receive a message (e.g., an radio resource control (RRC) release message) which releases the UE from an active state to an inactive or idle state, where the message configures the UE with sets of resources (e.g., physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources) for SDT and UCI messages.)
transmitting a SDT based on one or more SDT transmission conditions and including the data, the SDT transmitted at or within the SDT transmission delay ([0193] In particular, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message at 630 on at least a portion of the second set of resources for UCI transmission which were allocated via the control signaling at 605. For example, the UE 115-d may transmit the SDT within a PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., CG-SDT transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In some cases, the UE 115-d may be configured to multiplex the SDT at 625 and the UCI message at 630 within the same transmission occasion (e.g., PUSCH transmission occasion) which was configured via the control signaling at 605. In other cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the UCI message and the SDT via separate transmission occasions. For instance, in some cases, the UE 115-d may refrain from transmitting the SDT on a first transmission occasion (e.g., suspend SDT) in order to transmit the UCI message on the first transmission occasion. In such cases, the UE 115-d may transmit the suspended SDT in a different (e.g., subsequent) transmission occasion.).
Wu '997 and Lei '561 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for uplink control information transmission with small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997 with Lei '561 to create a method, comprising: determining a SDT transmission delay based on the SDT parameter information for the data and based on the SDT configuration information; and transmitting a SDT based on one or more SDT transmission conditions and including the data, the SDT transmitted at or within the SDT transmission delay.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US20240064852A1) (hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 3, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT parameter information includes a size of the data, a type of the data, a service associated with the data, or a combination thereof.
However, Wang discloses the device, wherein the SDT parameter information includes a size of the data, a type of the data, a service associated with the data, or a combination thereof ([0637] Indication information of feature of the data transmission, which indicates feature of the small data transmission, the information may include at least one of the followings: [0642] Size of the data (message size), indicating the size of the transmitted small data).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Wang to create the device, wherein the SDT parameter information includes a size of the data, a type of the data, a service associated with the data, or a combination thereof.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the transmission features of the user data for scheduling purposes.
Claims 5, 8, 11, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Lyu et al (US20230397045A1) (hereinafter "Lyu").
Regarding claim 5, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a maximum data condition and a latency condition.
However, Lyu discloses the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a maximum data condition and a latency condition ([0005] sending, at a terminal device and by using SDT resources, a first data packet among data packets to be transmitted to a network device, where the first data packet is determined based on first information; the first information includes one or more of the following information: sizes of the data packets to be transmitted, allowable transmission latencies of the data packets to be transmitted, waiting time of the data packets to be transmitted. [0127] In some embodiments, data packets may be divided based on their sizes. For example, a size of a data packet may be divided into three levels using a first preset threshold and a third preset threshold. The first preset threshold is less than the third preset threshold. The third preset threshold is used to limit the maximum data packet that can be transmitted on the SDT resources.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Lyu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource scheduling for small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Lyu to create the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a maximum data condition and a latency condition.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a maximum data condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether an amount of small data in a small data buffer corresponding to the data and optionally second data is greater than or equal to the maximum data condition; and determine to transmit the small data in the small data buffer in a next SDT TXOP based on a determination that the amount of small data in the small data buffer is greater than or equal to the maximum data condition, wherein the SDT is transmitted prior to the SDT transmission delay.
However, Lyu discloses the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a maximum data condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
determine whether an amount of small data in a small data buffer corresponding to the data and optionally second data is greater than or equal to the maximum data condition; and ([0152] the terminal device 700 further includes: a buffering unit 720, configured to buffer a second data packet among the data packets to be transmitted in response to a transmission latency allowed by the second data packet being greater than a second preset threshold, a size of the second data packet is greater than the first preset threshold. [0129] If a size of a data packet is greater than the first preset threshold and less than or equal to the third preset threshold, the transmission mode of the data packet may be determined according to the latency sensitivity of the data packet. If the data packet is not sensitive to latency, and if the allowed transmission latency of the data packet is greater than a second preset threshold, the terminal device may cache the data packet.)
determine to transmit the small data in the small data buffer in a next SDT TXOP based on a determination that the amount of small data in the small data buffer is greater than or equal to the maximum data condition, wherein the SDT is transmitted prior to the SDT transmission delay ([0129] If a size of a data packet is greater than the first preset threshold and less than or equal to the third preset threshold, the transmission mode of the data packet may be determined according to the latency sensitivity of the data packet. If the data packet is not sensitive to latency, and if the allowed transmission latency of the data packet is greater than a second preset threshold, the terminal device may cache the data packet. Or the terminal device may be retained in the RRC_INACTIVE state, wait for subsequent transmission opportunities to arrive before transmitting the data packet. … If the data packet is sensitive to latency and the allowed transmission latency of the data packet is less than or equal to the second preset threshold, the terminal device may enter the RRC_CONNECTED state and transmit the data packet according to the normal flow. [0107] Taking the first information including the following contents as an example, namely the size of the data packet to be transmitted, the allowable transmission latency of the data packet to be transmitted, and the waiting time of the data packet to be transmitted, the method of determining the first data packet is illustrated.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Lyu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource scheduling for small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Lyu to create the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a maximum data condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether an amount of small data in a small data buffer corresponding to the data and optionally second data is greater than or equal to the maximum data condition; and determine to transmit the small data in the small data buffer in a next SDT TXOP based on a determination that the amount of small data in the small data buffer is greater than or equal to the maximum data condition, wherein the SDT is transmitted prior to the SDT transmission delay.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a reference signal receive power (RSRP) condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether a RSRP associated with the device satisfies the RSRP condition; and determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that the RSRP satisfies the RSRP condition.
However, Lyu discloses the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a reference signal receive power (RSRP) condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
determine whether a RSRP associated with the device satisfies the RSRP condition; and ([0069] The conditions for triggering SDT may include one or more of the following: the data to be transmitted coming from a radio bearer that can trigger SDT, a data volume of the data to be transmitted being less than a pre-configured data volume threshold (hereinafter also referred to as a third preset threshold), a measurement result of downlink reference signal receiving power (RSRP) being greater than a pre-configured RSRP threshold, a valid SDT resource existing.)
determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that the RSRP satisfies
the RSRP condition ([0072] In some embodiments, the condition for triggering SDT is related to the measurement result of downlink RSRP. If the measurement result of downlink RSRP is greater than an RSRP threshold, it indicates that the signal quality is good, and the terminal device meets the conditions for triggering SDT. If the measurement result of downlink RSRP is less than or equal to the RSRP threshold, it indicates that the signal quality is poor, and the terminal device does not meet the conditions for triggering SDT.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Lyu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource scheduling for small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Lyu to create the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a reference signal receive power (RSRP) condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether a RSRP associated with the device satisfies the RSRP condition; and determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that the RSRP satisfies the RSRP condition.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT is transmitted in a random access channel (RACH) request in an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: initiate RACH operations with a base station after determining to transmit the SDT, wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to transmit the SDT includes to: transmit the SDT in a message (MSG) MSG A or in a MSG 1; complete RACH operations; and transmit one or more second SDTs based on the one or more SDT transmission conditions.
However, Lyu discloses the device, wherein the SDT is transmitted in a random access channel (RACH) request in an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to ([0137] In some embodiments, the terminal device is configured to perform small data transmission in random access procedure and in an RRC recovery process, so as to make the terminal device transmit more small data in the RRC_INACTIVE state, thus avoiding the terminal device from frequently entering the RRC_CONNECTED state and reducing signaling overhead.):
initiate RACH operations with a base station after determining to transmit the SDT, wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to transmit the SDT includes to:
transmit the SDT in a message (MSG) MSG A or in a MSG 1; complete RACH operations; and ([0138] In S610, a terminal device sends a MSGA to a network device. The MSGA may carry an RRC resume request and a small data packet. In other words, the terminal device may combine the RRC resume signaling and the small data packet, and send them to the network device at the same time.)
transmit one or more second SDTs based on the one or more SDT transmission conditions ([0140] In S630, after completing the random access, the terminal device initiates the RRC resume process. The terminal device may send the small data packet and the RRC resume signaling to the network device.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Lyu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource scheduling for small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Lyu to create the device, wherein the SDT is transmitted in a random access channel (RACH) request in an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: initiate RACH operations with a base station after determining to transmit the SDT, wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the device to transmit the SDT includes to: transmit the SDT in a message (MSG) MSG A or in a MSG 1; complete RACH operations; and transmit one or more second SDTs based on the one or more SDT transmission conditions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT is transmitted in first CG resources with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request in an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: resume link and switch to RRC connected responsive to the transmission of the SDT; receive direct grant responsive to the transmission of the SDT; and transmit second SDT based on the direct grant and on the one or more SDT transmission conditions.
However, Lyu discloses the device, wherein the SDT is transmitted in first CG resources with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request in an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to ([0158] In some embodiments, the SDT resources include one or more of the following resources: physical random access channel (PRACH) resources, configured grant (CG) resources, upstream pre-configured resources (PUR).):
resume link and switch to RRC connected responsive to the transmission of the SDT ([0140] In S630, after completing the random access, the terminal device initiates the RRC resume process. The terminal device may send the small data packet and the RRC resume signaling to the network device.);
receive direct grant responsive to the transmission of the SDT; and ([0141] In S640, after receiving the RRC resume signaling, the network device may dynamically schedule grant parameters to the terminal device based on the identity (ID) information of the terminal device.)
transmit second SDT based on the direct grant and on the one or more SDT transmission conditions ([0142] In S650, the terminal device may transmit small data packets on the uplink grant.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Lyu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource scheduling for small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Lyu to create the device, wherein the SDT is transmitted in first CG resources with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request in an RRC inactive mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: resume link and switch to RRC connected responsive to the transmission of the SDT; receive direct grant responsive to the transmission of the SDT; and transmit second SDT based on the direct grant and on the one or more SDT transmission conditions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the method, wherein the one or more SDT transmission conditions include a reference signal receive power (RSRP) change condition.
However, Lyu discloses the method, wherein the one or more SDT transmission conditions include a reference signal receive power (RSRP) change condition ([0072] In some embodiments, the condition for triggering SDT is related to the measurement result of downlink RSRP. If the measurement result of downlink RSRP is greater than an RSRP threshold, it indicates that the signal quality is good, and the terminal device meets the conditions for triggering SDT. If the measurement result of downlink RSRP is less than or equal to the RSRP threshold, it indicates that the signal quality is poor, and the terminal device does not meet the conditions for triggering SDT.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Lyu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of resource scheduling for small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Lyu to create the method, wherein the one or more SDT transmission conditions include a reference signal receive power (RSRP) change condition.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for UE to coordinate SDT transmissions with the base station in order to improve efficiency.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Wu et al (WO2023154397A1) (hereinafter "Wu '397").
Regarding claim 6, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include one or more of a maximum data condition, a latency condition, a time alignment timer (TAT) expiration condition, or a quality condition.
However, Wu '397 discloses the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include one or more of a maximum data condition, a latency condition, a time alignment timer (TAT) expiration condition, or a quality condition ([0144] transmitting, to the UE, a configured grant small data transmission (CG-SDT) configuration for use by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state; after transmitting the CG-SDT configuration to the UE, starting or restarting a time alignment timer that indicates validity of the CG-SDT configuration; and while the time alignment timer is running, receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration. [0145] detecting expiration of the time alignment timer; and in response to the detecting, stopping the receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Wu '397 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of managing small data transmission synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Wu '397 to create the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include one or more of a maximum data condition, a latency condition, a time alignment timer (TAT) expiration condition, or a quality condition.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to manage grant configuration and timing to reduce communication latency and/or other network inefficiencies.
Regarding claim 10, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a time alignment timer (TAT) condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: configure a TAT based on TAT configuration information received from a network; determine whether the TAT satisfies the TAT condition; and determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that the TAT satisfies the TAT condition.
However, Wu '397 discloses the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a time alignment timer (TAT) condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
configure a TAT based on TAT configuration information received from a network ([0144] transmitting, to the UE, a configured grant small data transmission (CG-SDT) configuration for use by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state; after transmitting the CG-SDT configuration to the UE, starting or restarting a time alignment timer that indicates validity of the CG-SDT configuration; and while the time alignment timer is running, receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration. [0145] detecting expiration of the time alignment timer; and in response to the detecting, stopping the receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration.);
determine whether the TAT satisfies the TAT condition; and ([0144] transmitting, to the UE, a configured grant small data transmission (CG-SDT) configuration for use by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state; after transmitting the CG-SDT configuration to the UE, starting or restarting a time alignment timer that indicates validity of the CG-SDT configuration; and while the time alignment timer is running, receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration. [0145] detecting expiration of the time alignment timer; and in response to the detecting, stopping the receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration.)
determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that the TAT satisfies the TAT condition ([0144] transmitting, to the UE, a configured grant small data transmission (CG-SDT) configuration for use by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state; after transmitting the CG-SDT configuration to the UE, starting or restarting a time alignment timer that indicates validity of the CG-SDT configuration; and while the time alignment timer is running, receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration. [0145] detecting expiration of the time alignment timer; and in response to the detecting, stopping the receiving or attempting to receive transmissions from the UE in accordance with the CG-SDT configuration.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Wu '397 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of managing small data transmission synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Wu '397 to create the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a time alignment timer (TAT) condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: configure a TAT based on TAT configuration information received from a network; determine whether the TAT satisfies the TAT condition; and determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that the TAT satisfies the TAT condition.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to manage grant configuration and timing to reduce communication latency and/or other network inefficiencies.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Thomas et al (WO2023002314A1) (hereinafter "Thomas").
Regarding claim 7, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the latency condition includes a plurality of latency conditions or thresholds, including a mail latency condition, a message latency condition, a location latency condition, or a combination thereof.
However, Thomas discloses the device, wherein the latency condition includes a plurality of latency conditions or thresholds, including a mail latency condition, a message latency condition, a location latency condition, or a combination thereof ([0073] In various embodiments, small data transmissions are used to transmit UL positioning messages, which may include the measurement/location estimate report, provide assistance data signalling, or provide capabilities signalling. [0078] In various embodiments, the LML server 406 and the gNB 404 can align on configuring the target UE 402 using signalling over the NRPPa interface with a short PUSCH duration in order to transmit the latency critical positioning report/location estimate. In one embodiment, the positioning measurement report/location estimate is configured by the gNB/LML to transmit the report on PUSCH with a higher priority index (e.g. priority index 1 for low latency reporting). [0048] Some techniques for performing low latency UE position estimating and reporting include downlink time difference of arrival (DL-TDOA), multi-cell round-trip time (RTT), and angle-based methods (DL-angle of departure (AoD) and uplink-angle of arrival (UL-AoA)). [0086] The system 500 uses NR-U criteria to enable the gNB 404 to configure RACH and CG transmissions in an available COT for the transmission of a positioning report and/or location estimate. This is also applicable to small data transmissions (SDT).).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Thomas are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor utilizing latency as a threshold or metric.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Thomas to create the device, wherein the latency condition includes a plurality of latency conditions or thresholds, including a mail latency condition, a message latency condition, a location latency condition, or a combination thereof.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to monitor latency conditions in order to ensure timeliness of location estimate reports.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Lei et al (TW202333527A) (hereinafter "Lei '527").
Regarding claim 9, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a latency condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether a latency timer associated with the data satisfies the latency condition; and determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that latency timer associated with the data satisfies the latency condition.
However, Lei '527 discloses the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a latency condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
determine whether a latency timer associated with the data satisfies the latency condition; and (Pg. 17: UE 115-a and/or base station 105-a may determine whether the TA for UE 115-a is valid or invalid. The TA associated with UE 115-b may include a timing offset used by UE 115-a to communicate messages (or message types) with base station 105-a (or other device), and may be associated with UE 115-a and Propagation delays between base stations 105-a are associated. … Furthermore, the TA for UE 115-a may only be valid for a defined period of time, where the validity of the TA is controlled by a TA timer. In some aspects, control signaling 210 may include a TA command, an indication of a TA timer, or both.)
determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that latency timer associated with the data satisfies the latency condition (Pg. 17: UE 115-a may send a data message (eg, SDT 215) to base station 105-a. UE 115-a may send SDT215 in an inactive or idle state. UE 115-a may send SDT 215 based on receiving control signaling 210, performing TA verification, generating UCI message 220, or any combination thereof. Specifically, UE115-a may send SDT 215 on at least a portion of a first set of resources allocated via control signaling210 for data transmission.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Lei '527 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for the transmission of uplink control information along with small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Lei '527 to create the device, wherein the SDT transmission conditions include a latency condition, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine whether a latency timer associated with the data satisfies the latency condition; and determine to transmit the data responsive to a determination that latency timer associated with the data satisfies the latency condition.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to facilitate more efficient use of resources by enabling UE to send UCI messages along with SDT inactive.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Park et al (US20220286355A1) (hereinafter "Park").
Regarding claim 12, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: combine first small data corresponding to the data and second small data at a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer to generate a combined small data PDCP packet based on a determination that at least one of the one or more SDT transmission conditions have been satisfied, wherein the SDT transmitted includes the combined small data PDCP packet.
However, Park discloses the device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
combine first small data corresponding to the data and second small data at a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer to generate a combined small data PDCP packet based on a determination that at least one of the one or more SDT transmission conditions have been satisfied, wherein the SDT transmitted includes the combined small data PDCP packet ([0283] The processing/decoding the uplink and/or the subsequent uplink/downlink data may comprise decoding/transitioning at least one RLC PDU (e.g., MAC SDU) of the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink/downlink data to at least one RLC SDU (e.g., PDCP PDU) of the uplink data. The processing/decoding the uplink and/or the subsequent uplink/downlink data may comprise performing combining (e.g., de-segmenting and/or reversing packet segmentations) packets of the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink/downlink data to make/generate at least one PDCP PDU, using the RLC layer configuration parameters.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of configuring parameters for small data transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Park to create the device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: combine first small data corresponding to the data and second small data at a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer to generate a combined small data PDCP packet based on a determination that at least one of the one or more SDT transmission conditions have been satisfied, wherein the SDT transmitted includes the combined small data PDCP packet.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to bundle multiple packets at the PDCP layer reduce overhead and increase efficiency.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Kim et al (WO2022155272A1) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 14, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) release message including suspend configuration information, the suspend configuration information indicating the SDT configuration information; or receive a RRC release message including configured grant (CG) resource configuration information and suspend configuration information, the suspend configuration information indicating the SDT configuration information.
However, Kim discloses the device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) release message including suspend configuration information, the suspend configuration information indicating the SDT configuration information; or ([0355] In an example, the at least one response message may be an RRC message; medium access control (MAC) message (e.g., MAC CE); or physical layer message (e.g., DCI). For example, the at least one response message may comprise an RRC reconfiguration message; and an RRC release message. For example, the base station may transmit the indication via the RRC release message. [0356] In an example, based on the at least one response message, the wireless device may store/suspend/deactivate (to configure) the SDT information/configuration. … Based on the SDT information/configuration, the wireless device in an RRC inactive state may determine whether to initiate the small data transmission. Based on determining to initiate the small data transmission, the wireless device may configure the information/configuration.)
receive a RRC release message including configured grant (CG) resource configuration information and suspend configuration information, the suspend configuration information indicating the SDT configuration information (The Examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of small data transmission performed while the wireless device is not in a connected state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Kim to create the device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) release message including suspend configuration information, the suspend configuration information indicating the SDT configuration information; or receive a RRC release message including configured grant (CG) resource configuration information and suspend configuration information, the suspend configuration information indicating the SDT configuration information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce overhead signaling and power consumption.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Yang et al (US 20150282010 A1) (hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding claim 17, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine a first reference signal receive power (RSRP) threshold associated with a first data subscription and a second RSRP threshold associated with a second data subscription; determine a first RSRP value associated with the first data subscription and a second RSRP value associated with the second data subscription; determine a first RSRP difference based on a difference of the first RSRP value and the first RSRP threshold; determine a second RSRP difference based on a difference of the second RSRP value and the second RSRP threshold; compare the first RSRP difference and the second RSRP difference; and select the first data subscription and the first RSRP difference based on the comparison, wherein the first RSRP difference is greater than the second RSRP difference.
However, Yang discloses the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to ([0041] According to an example, method 400 (FIG. 4) includes, at Block 402, receiving an indication to perform a call origination procedure related to a first subscription with a first serving cell. [0042] Method 400 thus includes, at Block 408, switching to the second subscription to communicate with the serving cell after receiving the indication to perform the call origination procedure at 402.):
determine a first reference signal receive power (RSRP) threshold associated with a first data subscription and a second RSRP threshold associated with a second data subscription ([0043] In one example, method 400 optionally includes, at Block 404, comparing a parameter of the first serving cell to a first threshold and/or a parameter of a second serving cell on a second subscription to a second threshold. … The thresholds can be predetermined and/or configured in UE 302 as described previously, for example.);
determine a first RSRP value associated with the first data subscription and a second RSRP value associated with the second data subscription ([0043] For example, parameter comparing component 312 can compare a signal strength or quality parameter of serving cell 1 304 (e.g., a SNR) to a first threshold and/or a similar signal strength or quality parameter of serving cell 2 306 to a second threshold. In another example, parameter comparing component 312 can compare a difference between the parameters to a threshold.);
determine a first RSRP difference based on a difference of the first RSRP value and the first RSRP threshold ([0043] For example, parameter comparing component 312 can compare a signal strength or quality parameter of serving cell 1 304 (e.g., a SNR) to a first threshold and/or a similar signal strength or quality parameter of serving cell 2 306 to a second threshold. In another example, parameter comparing component 312 can compare a difference between the parameters to a threshold.);
determine a second RSRP difference based on a difference of the second RSRP value and the second RSRP threshold ([0043] For example, parameter comparing component 312 can compare a signal strength or quality parameter of serving cell 1 304 (e.g., a SNR) to a first threshold and/or a similar signal strength or quality parameter of serving cell 2 306 to a second threshold. In another example, parameter comparing component 312 can compare a difference between the parameters to a threshold.);
compare the first RSRP difference and the second RSRP difference; and ([0043] If one or more of the parameters (or a difference of parameters) achieve the threshold, as described previously, call originating component 310 can determine use multiple subscription managing component 308 to switch to the second subscription to perform the call origination procedure with serving cell 2 306 instead of serving cell 1 304)
select the first data subscription and the first RSRP difference based on the comparison, wherein the first RSRP difference is greater than the second RSRP difference ([0043] If one or more of the parameters (or a difference of parameters) achieve the threshold, as described previously, call originating component 310 can determine use multiple subscription managing component 308 to switch to the second subscription to perform the call origination procedure with serving cell 2 306 instead of serving cell 1 304).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of switching subscriptions in a multiple subscription UE based on the strength or quality of a signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Yang to create the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine a first reference signal receive power (RSRP) threshold associated with a first data subscription and a second RSRP threshold associated with a second data subscription; determine a first RSRP value associated with the first data subscription and a second RSRP value associated with the second data subscription; determine a first RSRP difference based on a difference of the first RSRP value and the first RSRP threshold; determine a second RSRP difference based on a difference of the second RSRP value and the second RSRP threshold; compare the first RSRP difference and the second RSRP difference; and select the first data subscription and the first RSRP difference based on the comparison, wherein the first RSRP difference is greater than the second RSRP difference.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to direct data traffic through a more stable link or subscription.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu '997 in view of Lei '561, as applied to claims 1 or 19 above, and further in view of Yu et al (US20200044956A1) (hereinafter "Yu").
Regarding claim 18, Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, fails to disclose the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine a first data volume threshold associated with a first data subscription; determine a second data volume threshold associated with a second data subscription; compare the first data volume threshold and the second data volume threshold; and select the first data subscription and the first data volume threshold for use as a data volume threshold of the SDT transmission conditions based on the comparison.
However, Yu discloses the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to:
determine a first data volume threshold associated with a first data subscription ([0008] When the sent data amount is not less than the preset traffic threshold, the transmission path with the maximum available bandwidth is selected from the plurality of available transmission paths, and the selected transmission path is determined as the transmission path of the first data packet.);
determine a second data volume threshold associated with a second data subscription ([0008] When the sent data amount is not less than the preset traffic threshold, the transmission path with the maximum available bandwidth is selected from the plurality of available transmission paths, and the selected transmission path is determined as the transmission path of the first data packet.);
compare the first data volume threshold and the second data volume threshold; and ([0008] It should be noted that, when the time interval between the first data packet and the second data packet is less than the preset time threshold, whether the sent data amount is less than the preset traffic threshold may be further determined.)
select the first data subscription and the first data volume threshold for use as a data volume threshold of the SDT transmission conditions based on the comparison ([0007] Therefore, when the time interval is less than the preset time threshold and the sent data amount is not less than the preset traffic threshold, the transmission path with the maximum available bandwidth is selected to transmit the first data packet such that a data transmission rate can further be increased, and a transmission completion time of the data stream is shortened.).
Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, and Yu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of selecting a path or link based on the amount of data to be transmitted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu '997, as modified by Lei '561, with Yu to create the device, wherein the device is operating in a dual data subscription mode, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: determine a first data volume threshold associated with a first data subscription; determine a second data volume threshold associated with a second data subscription; compare the first data volume threshold and the second data volume threshold; and select the first data subscription and the first data volume threshold for use as a data volume threshold of the SDT transmission conditions based on the comparison.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase transmission path utilization by prioritizing paths or links based on their capabilities and the amount of transmission data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koskinen et al (US20240276258A1) discloses methods for failure reporting in small data transmission.
Tao et al (US20230080733A1) discloses a method including a UE transmitting, to a BS, a RRC resume request message when initiating a SDT procedure; starting a timer upon transmitting the RRC resume request message; and transmitting, to the BS, UE assistance information to provide a non-SDT data indication when the timer is running.
Gopal et al (US20230117026A1) discloses subscriber identification module prioritization techniques based on service priority and quality of service parameters.
Ekbatani et al (US20240196190A1) discloses techniques to configure low noise amplifier for dual-subscriber dual-active user equipment.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419