DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument with respect to the DP rejection has been considered. The rejection is maintained as the claim amendment does not overcome the rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,596,617 B2 in view of Hillegas, JR. et al. (US Publication Number 2016/0269917 A1, hereinafter “Hillegas”).
Instant Application
1. A method for providing cell site audits comprising steps of: causing an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) to fly near cell site components, wherein flight of the UAV is constrained to a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site components such that the UAV is flown by a single operator without a pilot’s license; collecting data associated with the cell site components, the surrounding airspace, and environment using the UAV, wherein the data is not collected by a technician during a tower climb; and processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit, wherein the processing includes determining physical dimensions and locations of the cell site components.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising steps of: hovering the UAV at the cell site to provide real-time video to one or more of a mobile device and a display at another location. (claim 8 of ‘617)
Patent No. 9,596,617 B2
A method performed at a cell site with an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) communicatively coupled to a controller to perform a cell site audit, without requiring a tower climb at the cell site, the method comprising: causing the UAV to fly substantially vertically up to cell site components using the controller, wherein flight of the UAV is constrained in a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site, wherein the three-dimensional rectangle is defined about a cell tower, and wherein the UAV is flown by a single operator without a license based on the three-dimensional rectangle constrained flight; collecting data associated with the cell site components and the surrounding airspace and environment using the UAV; transmitting and/or storing the collected data; and processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit, wherein the processing comprises determining a down tilt angle of one or more antennas of the cell site components based on measuring three points comprising two defined by each antenna and one by an associated support bar using the UAV, plumb of the cell tower and/or the one or more antennas, azimuth of the one or more antennas using a location determining device of the UAV, dimensions of the cell site components, equipment type and serial number of the cell site components, connections between the cell site components, a status of a lighting rod and warning light on the cell tower, and Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) coordinates, for the cell site audit.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: hovering the UAV at the cell site to provide real-time video footage back to a mobile device or another location.
Patent No. 9,596,617 B2 disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit, wherein the processing includes determining physical dimensions and locations of the cell site components.
However, Hillegas disclosed processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit (para. [0094], note that the UAV1 will collect audit data going vertically and in incremental circles 12a and 12b, around the antenna 11), wherein the processing includes determining physical dimensions and locations of the cell site components (para. [0063], note that e report generation engine 3k generates reports that provide the environmental conditions of a particular location with the particular RF readings. The report generation engine 3k uses data provided by the RF monitor 3a (a sensor), the altimeter 3g, the RFID sensor 3h, the thermometer 3c, the humidity sensor 3c, and the compass 3i to generate reports that are transmitted to a central location using a transmission device. Also see para. [0100]).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit, wherein the processing includes determining physical dimensions and locations of the cell site components. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to monitor, survey and audit cell towers and antennas emitting radiation using UAV (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Patent No. 9,596,617 B2 with Hillegas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-13, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly (US Publication Number 2012/0262708 A1, IDS) in view of Hallermann (NPL, “Quality Assessment of Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) Based Visual Inspection of Structures”, 2014).
(1) regarding claim 1:
As shown in fig. 1, Connolly disclosed a method for providing cell site audits comprising steps of (para. [0006], note that there is provided an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising: inspection means capable of inspecting defects on objects i.e. towers): causing an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) to fly near cell site components (para. [0006], note that there is provided an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising: inspection means capable of inspecting defects on objects i.e. towers);
collecting data associated with the cell site components, the surrounding airspace, and environment using the UAV, wherein the data is not collected by a technician during a tower climb (para. [0016], note that the unmanned aerial vehicle may be remotely controlled by a user or autonomously flown from the ground. Also see para. [0017], note that the inspection means may use visible detection means to allow visual detection or alternatively may use non-visible wavelengths from infra-red to ultraviolet to detect the defects).
Connolly disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein flight of the UAV is constrained to a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site components such that the UAV is flown by a single operator without a pilot’s license; and processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit, wherein the processing includes determining physical dimensions and locations of the cell site components.
However, Hallermann disclosed wherein flight of the UAV is constrained to a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site components such that the UAV is flown by a single operator without a pilot’s license (fig. 7, page 7, 4.3, para. [0002], note that To analyses the effect of UAV motion on the photo taken by the camera, a coordinate system relating flight system and photo frame has been introduced, see Figure 7.Here, x, y and z describe the movement of the flight system in horizontal and vertical direction (right/ left, forward/ backward, up/ down respectively). Also see page 3, 3.3, para. [0004], note that the special construction of the flight system and the modified camera mount allow a horizontal angular freedom of 360° and a camera tilting of 90° up and down. This affords a unique field of view. That is only possible with the flight systems of Ascending Technologies. The camera can be controlled and triggered remotely with the mobile ground station by the pilot of the flight unit or independently with a joystick by a second operator in complex flight situations); and processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit (page 1, para. [0001], note that effective methods for inspection and monitoring of structures, to assess their structural state and thus trigger repair and rehabilitation efforts), wherein the processing includes determining physical dimensions and locations of the cell site components (figure 4, page 4, 3.4, para. [0001], note that a 300 year old natural stone masonry tower of a church i.e. structure, shown in Figure 4 (left) was investigated using a UAV by performing an extensive photo and video data acquisition. A detailed post flight analysis of the building’s surface and a damage detection antilocalization of defects like cracks or spellings on the masonry and the roof was performed).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein flight of the UAV is constrained to a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site components such that the UAV is flown by a single operator without a pilot’s license; and processing the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit, wherein the processing includes determining physical dimensions and locations of the cell site components. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to effectively inspect and monitor structures, in order to assess their structural state and thus trigger repair and rehabilitation efforts (page 1, para. [0001]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Connolly with Hallermann to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
(2) regarding claim 11:
As shown in fig. 1, Connolly disclosed an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) configured to perform cell site audits (para. [0006], note that there is provided an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising: inspection means capable of inspecting defects on objects i.e. towers), the UAV comprising:
wireless interfaces adapted to allow wireless control of the UAV (flg. 2. A wireless transmitter is disclosed. para. [0038], note that when measurements have been taken by the camera and distance measuring device 102 the information is then wireless downloaded to a base station 116);
a processor coupled to the wireless interfaces (see fig. 2, a wireless transmitter which is in connection with the camera and image processor, is disclosed); and that when executed, cause the processor to:
process commands to cause the UAV to fly near cell site components (para. [0011], note that an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of inspecting defects located in difficult to access positions such as on oil platforms & refineries (e.g. flare tips), wind turbine blades, power lines, cooling towers and chimney stacks etc. The unmanned aerial vehicle may be any vehicle capable of flying which may comprise a series of rotors, see para. [0016]);
collect data associated with the cell site components, the surrounding airspace, and environment using the UAV, wherein the data is not collected by a technician during a tower climb (para. [0016], note that the unmanned aerial vehicle may be remotely controlled by a user or autonomously flown from the ground. Also see para. [0017], note that the inspection means may use visible detection means to allow visual detection or alternatively may use non-visible wavelengths from infra-red to ultraviolet to detect the defects).
Connolly disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching memory storing instructions; and wherein flight of the UAV is constrained to a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site components such that the UAV is flown by a single operator without a pilot’s license; and process the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit.
However, Hallermann disclosed memory storing instructions (page 2, 3.3, para. [0002], note that All data is stored on a standard SD-card and can be analyzed after the flight); and wherein flight of the UAV is constrained to a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site components such that the UAV is flown by a single operator without a pilot’s license (fig. 7, page 7, 4.3, para. [0002], note that To analyses the effect of UAV motion on the photo taken by the camera, a coordinate system relating flight system and photo frame has been introduced, see Figure 7.Here, x, y and z describe the movement of the flight system in horizontal and vertical direction (right/ left, forward/ backward, up/ down respectively). Also see page 3, 3.3, para. [0004], note that the special construction of the flight system and the modified camera mount allow a horizontal angular freedom of 360° and a camera tilting of 90° up and down. This affords a unique field of view. That is only possible with the flight systems of Ascending Technologies. The camera can be controlled and triggered remotely with the mobile ground station by the pilot of the flight unit or independently with a joystick by a second operator in complex flight situations); and process the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit (figure 4, page 4, 3.4, para. [0001], note that a 300 year old natural stone masonry tower of a church i.e. structure, shown in Figure 4 (left) was investigated using a UAV by performing an extensive photo and video data acquisition. A detailed post flight analysis of the building’s surface and a damage detection antilocalization of defects like cracks or spellings on the masonry and the roof was performed).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach memory storing instructions; and wherein flight of the UAV is constrained to a three-dimensional rectangle at the cell site components such that the UAV is flown by a single operator without a pilot’s license; and process the collected data to obtain information for the cell site audit. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to effectively inspect and monitor structures, in order to assess their structural state and thus trigger repair and rehabilitation efforts (page 1, para. [0001]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Connolly with Hallermann to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
(3) regarding claim 12:
Connolly further disclosed the UAV of claim 11, wherein the collected data includes captured photo and video of the cell site and components of the cell site for processing (para. [0021], note that the unmanned aerial vehicle may use a combination of stills and/or video footage captured by camera equipment to evaluate and/or monitor defects).
(4) regarding claim 13:
Connolly further disclosed the UAV of claim 12, wherein the captured photo and video include a combination of photos and videos captured by the UAV and a mobile device (para. [0026], note that the base station may also comprise a display screen capable of displaying images being taken by the unmanned aerial vehicle. The images may be used to direct the location of the camera with all images being recorded for later analysis).
(5) regarding claim 16:
Connolly further disclosed the UAV of claim 11, wherein the collected data is used for any of verifying proper installation of cell site components, scheduling maintenance, and confirming operation of the cell site components (para. [0015], note that unmanned aerial vehicle allows inspection to be carried out when the flare is still live and online therefore allowing the plant operator to schedule what maintenance is required and any parts needed before a planned shutdown occurs. Also see para. [0018]).
(6) regarding claim 20:
Connolly further disclosed the UAV of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: cause the UAV to hover at the cell site to provide real-time video to one or more of a mobile device and a display at another location (para. [0024], note that the unmanned aerial vehicle comprises detection and/or comparison means capable of comparing the size and/or category of the defects in real time or post-processing with previous size and/or category measurements taken of the defects).
The proposed rejection of claims 12-13, 16 and 20 renders obvious the steps of the method of claims 2-3, 6 and 10 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed rejection as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claims 12-13, 16 and 20 are equally applicable to claims 2-3, 6 and 10.
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-9, 14-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly and Hallermann, and further in view of Hillegas et al. (US Publication Number 2016/0269917 A1, hereinafter “Hillegas”).
(1) regarding claim 14:
Connolly disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the UAV further comprises wireless antennas to provide wireless service, and the instructions further cause the processor to: provide temporary wireless service via the UAV at the cell site.
However, Hillegas disclosed wherein the UAV further comprises wireless antennas to provide wireless service, and the instructions further cause the processor to: provide temporary wireless service via the UAV at the cell site (para. [0063], note that the transmission device transmits reports using one or more wireless transmission protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, radio communication, and the like. An example of a protocol that can be used is XBee wireless communication protocol (IEEE 802.15.4) which uses low power radio frequency at 2.4 GH.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the UAV further comprises wireless antennas to provide wireless service, and the instructions further cause the processor to: provide temporary wireless service via the UAV at the cell site. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to monitor, survey and audit cell towers and antennas emitting radiation using UAV (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Connolly and Hallermann with Hillegas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
(2) regarding claim 15:
Connolly disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the UAV further comprises wireless antennas to provide wireless service, and the instructions further cause the processor to: provide permanent wireless service via the UAV at the cell site.
However, Hillegas disclosed wherein the UAV further comprises wireless antennas to provide wireless service, and the instructions further cause the processor to: provide permanent wireless service via the UAV at the cell site (para. [0092], note that a radio propagation model is a key algorithm used in wireless network design and optimization Propagation models can be applied for a wide variety of scenario, in-buildings or outdoors, from macro to pico cells, and from high to low frequencies and is aimed to providing the most comprehensive, reliable and efficient wireless coverage and capacity analysis within a given area).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the UAV further comprises wireless antennas to provide wireless service, and the instructions further cause the processor to: provide permanent wireless service via the UAV at the cell site. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to monitor, survey and audit cell towers and antennas emitting radiation using UAV (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Connolly and Hallermann with Hillegas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
(3) regarding claim 17:
Connolly disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: cause the UAV to perform one or more aspects of the cell site audit in coordination with one or more other aspects of the cell site audit being performed without the UAV.
However, Hillegas disclosed wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: cause the UAV to perform one or more aspects of the cell site audit in coordination with one or more other aspects of the cell site audit being performed without the UAV (para. [0058], note that the on board camera control software is responsible for processing video information and providing this processed video information as an input to the on board RE transceiver. The transmitted video information is received at the ground station where it serves as input to the ground video display software. The GCS video display software displays the video on the GCS graphical user interface (GUI) and archives the video in a database for future analysis.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: cause the UAV to perform one or more aspects of the cell site audit in coordination with one or more other aspects of the cell site audit being performed without the UAV. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to monitor, survey and audit cell towers and antennas emitting radiation using UAV (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Connolly and Hallermann with Hillegas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
(4) regarding claim 18:
Connolly disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the collecting data, and the processing comprises determining a down tilt angle of one or more antennas of the cell site components, plumb of the tower or the one or more antennas, azimuth of the one or more antennas, and Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) coordinates, for the cell site audit.
However, Hillegas disclosed wherein the collecting data, and the processing comprises determining a down tilt angle of one or more antennas of the cell site components, plumb of the tower or the one or more antennas, azimuth of the one or more antennas, and Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) coordinates, for the cell site audit (para. [0084], note that New Site Integration and Change Parameters of existing sites: integration of new sites and changing the parameters of existing sites, such as antenna azimuth, downtilt and tower levels for example [0085] Each time a new site is introduced into a wireless network various measurements will need to be performed to ensure the site is operating properly. Also see para. [0100], note that a phone mounted GPS is preferable. Second, the height of the antenna centerline (16 in FIG. 4) should be determined and recorded. Sensors mounted on the UAV 1 will be used to determine antenna height).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the collecting data, and the processing comprises determining a down tilt angle of one or more antennas of the cell site components, plumb of the tower or the one or more antennas, azimuth of the one or more antennas, and Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) coordinates, for the cell site audit. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to monitor, survey and audit cell towers and antennas emitting radiation using UAV (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Connolly and Hallermann with Hillegas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
(5) regarding claim 19:
Connolly disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: cause the UAV to manipulate one or more of the cell site components.
However, Hillegas disclosed wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: cause the UAV to manipulate one or more of the cell site components (para. [0056], note that the UAV 1 is shown having rotors 1a, 1b, 1c and 1d. The UAV carries an interchangeable payload package 3, which comprises various components. The package 3 may be any combination of an RF monitor 3a, typically a wide band receiver that scans the environment and records the frequencies present, an IR detector 3b, a temperature/humidity sensor 3c, a TEMS module 3d and an interference monitor 3e).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: cause the UAV to manipulate one or more of the cell site components. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to monitor, survey and audit cell towers and antennas emitting radiation using UAV (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Connolly and Hallermann with Hillegas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
The proposed rejection of claims 14-15, 17-19 renders obvious the steps of the method of claims 4-5, 7-9 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed rejection as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claims 14-15, 17-19 are equally applicable to claims 4-5, 7-9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Collins et al. (US Publication Number 2009/0265193 A1) disclosed methods and systems for automated property insurance inspection include a remote inspection device having video inspection equipment capable of providing video images of property for use by an insurance company.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILINA K DEMETER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617