DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Application Publication JP 2004-112270 A (hereinafter “Igura”)
Regarding claim 1, Igura discloses a method of color matching, the method comprising:
- loading a color sample file of a color sample, wherein the color sample file includes color measurements for the color sample (primary color patch data storage unit 21 stores primary color patch data for causing a target output device to print a primary color patch (paragraph [0023]), the color patch data consisting of sample colors arranged in the primary color gradation patches 201-204 of the basic colors C, M, Y, and K, respectively (paragraph [0024]));
- generating a patch chart image by:
- processing the color measurements for the color sample to select target colors from the color sample (target printer prints primary color patches from primary color patch data stored in the primary color patch data storage unit (paragraph [0041]); tristimulus values of each sample color are measured and stored in primary color patch colorimetric result storage unit 22 (paragraph [0042]), after which a representative color is determined by representative color determining unit 12 for each of the basic colors based on the tristimulus values of each sample color (paragraph [0043])); and
- generating the patch chart image comprising color patch objects corresponding with the target colors (when the representative colors of the basic colors are determined, secondary-color-patch-data creating unit 13 creates secondary-color-patch-data for printing a secondary color patch, and stores the created secondary-color-patch-data in secondary-color-patch-data storage unit 23 (paragraph [0063]));
- printing the patch chart image at a target printer to output a patch chart that includes a plurality of color patches corresponding with the color patch objects (output unit 14 outputs the secondary color patch data onto recording media, thereby causing printer to print the secondary color patches (paragraph [0065]));
- scanning the patch chart to generate color measurements for the patch chart (measurement device 3 is used to measure tristimulus values of each sample color on the secondary color patch, and the measured tristimulus values are stored in secondary color patch colorimetry result storage unit 24 (paragraph [0066]));
- generating a color matching profile for the target printer based on the color measurements for the color sample and the color measurements for the patch chart (color conversion table representing a correspondence relationship between the tristimulus values of the sample colors on the secondary color patch stored in secondary color patch colorimetric result storage unit 24 and CMYK values of the sample colors on the secondary color patch stored in secondary color patch storage unit 23 is created and stored in the color conversion table storage unit 25 (paragraph [0067]), from which an ICC profile describing the characteristics is created by ICC profile creation unit 16 (paragraph [0068])); and
- registering the color matching profile at the target printer for color-matched printing at the target printer (ICC profile is stored in the ICC profile storage unit 26 (paragraph [0068])).
Regarding claim 2, Igura discloses wherein:
- the patch chart image comprises one color patch object per target color (sample colors C0 to C255, M0 to M255, Y0 to Y255, and K0 to K255 are arranged in the primary color gradation patches 201, 202, 203, and 204 of the basic colors C, M, Y, and K, respectively (paragraph [0024]); Fig. 2A shows one color patch for each color gradation; also, the primary patch is composed of the primary color gradation patch for each basic color (paragraph [0073])).
Regarding claim 4, Igura discloses wherein the processing the color measurements for the color sample comprises:
- selecting a subset of colors from the color sample as the target colors (sample color selected from each group of sample colors to be a representative color (paragraph [0015])).
Regarding claim 5, Igura discloses wherein the selecting comprises:
- grouping multiple colors of the color sample within a threshold color range as one of the target colors (for each basic color, sample colors on a primary color gradation patch of the basic color are grouped into groups of sample colors in which a difference in colorimetric results is within a threshold determined according to the colorimetric results, and a sample color to be a representative color is selected one by one from each group (paragraph [0015])).
Regarding claim 9, Igura discloses a color matching apparatus (color conversion table creating apparatus (page 4, lines 21-24)), comprising:
- at least one processor (computer 1 (page 4, lines 21-24)) and memory (storage device 2 (page 4, lines 21-24)), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the color matching apparatus at least to:
- receive a color sample file of a color sample, wherein the color sample file includes color measurements for the color sample (primary color patch data storage unit 21 stores primary color patch data for causing a target output device to print a primary color patch (paragraph [0023]), the color patch data consisting of sample colors arranged in the primary color gradation patches 201-204 of the basic colors C, M, Y, and K, respectively (paragraph [0024]));
- generating a patch chart image by:
- processing the color measurements for the color sample to select target colors from the color sample (target printer prints primary color patches from primary color patch data stored in the primary color patch data storage unit (paragraph [0041]); tristimulus values of each sample color are measured and stored in primary color patch colorimetric result storage unit 22 (paragraph [0042]), after which a representative color is determined by representative color determining unit 12 for each of the basic colors based on the tristimulus values of each sample color (paragraph [0043])); and
- generating the patch chart image comprising color patch objects corresponding with the target colors (when the representative colors of the basic colors are determined, secondary-color-patch-data creating unit 13 creates secondary-color-patch-data for printing a secondary color patch, and stores the created secondary-color-patch-data in secondary-color-patch-data storage unit 23 (paragraph [0063]));
- provide an instruction to print the patch chart image at a target printer to output a patch chart, wherein the patch chart includes a plurality of color patches corresponding with the color patch objects (output unit 14 outputs the secondary color patch data onto recording media, thereby causing printer to print the secondary color patches (paragraph [0065]));
- provide an instruction to scan the patch chart to generate color measurements for the patch chart (measurement device 3 is used to measure tristimulus values of each sample color on the secondary color patch (paragraph [0066]));
-receive the color measurements for the patch chart (the measured tristimulus values are stored in secondary color patch colorimetry result storage unit 24 (paragraph [0066]));
- generate a color matching profile for the target printer based on the color measurements for the color sample and the color measurements for the patch chart (color conversion table representing a correspondence relationship between the tristimulus values of the sample colors on the secondary color patch stored in secondary color patch colorimetric result storage unit 24 and CMYK values of the sample colors on the secondary color patch stored in secondary color patch storage unit 23 is created and stored in the color conversion table storage unit 25 (paragraph [0067]), from which an ICC profile describing the characteristics is created by ICC profile creation unit 16 (paragraph [0068])); and
- register the color matching profile at the target printer for color-matched printing at the target printer (ICC profile is stored in the ICC profile storage unit 26 (paragraph [0068])).
Regarding claim 10, Igura discloses wherein:
- the patch chart image comprises one color patch object per target color (sample colors C0 to C255, M0 to M255, Y0 to Y255, and K0 to K255 are arranged in the primary color gradation patches 201, 202, 203, and 204 of the basic colors C, M, Y, and K, respectively (paragraph [0024]); Fig. 2A shows one color patch for each color gradation; also, the primary patch is composed of the primary color gradation patch for each basic color (paragraph [0073])).
Regarding claim 11, Igura discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the color matching apparatus at least to:
- select a subset of colors from the color sample as the target colors (sample color selected from each group of sample colors to be a representative color (paragraph [0015])).
Regarding claim 12, Igura discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the color matching apparatus at least to:
- group multiple colors of the color sample within a threshold color range as one of the target colors (for each basic color, sample colors on a primary color gradation patch of the basic color are grouped into groups of sample colors in which a difference in colorimetric results is within a threshold determined according to the colorimetric results, and a sample color to be a representative color is selected one by one from each group (paragraph [0015])).
Regarding claim 16, Igura disclose a printing system (color conversion table creating apparatus (paragraph [0021])), comprising:
- the color matching apparatus of claim 9 (see above rejection of claim 9); and
- the target printer (target output device is a printer (paragraph [0023])).
Regarding claim 17, Igura disclose a printing system (color conversion table creating apparatus (paragraph [0021])), comprising:
- the color matching apparatus of claim 9 (see above rejection of claim 9); and
- a scanner configured to scan the patch chart (measuring device 3 is realized by a spectral reflectometer or the like, and measures the color on the primary color patch and the secondary color patch (paragraph [0031])).
Regarding claim 18, Igura discloses a method of color matching, the method comprising:
- receiving, at a color matching apparatus, a color sample file of a color sample, wherein the color sample file includes color measurements for the color sample (primary color patch data storage unit 21 stores primary color patch data for causing a target output device to print a primary color patch (paragraph [0023]), the color patch data consisting of sample colors arranged in the primary color gradation patches 201-204 of the basic colors C, M, Y, and K, respectively (paragraph [0024]));
- generating a patch chart image at the color matching apparatus by:
- processing the color measurements for the color sample to select target colors from the color sample (target printer prints primary color patches from primary color patch data stored in the primary color patch data storage unit (paragraph [0041]); tristimulus values of each sample color are measured and stored in primary color patch colorimetric result storage unit 22 (paragraph [0042]), after which a representative color is determined by representative color determining unit 12 for each of the basic colors based on the tristimulus values of each sample color (paragraph [0043])); and
- generating the patch chart image comprising color patch objects corresponding with the target colors (when the representative colors of the basic colors are determined, secondary-color-patch-data creating unit 13 creates secondary-color-patch-data for printing a secondary color patch, and stores the created secondary-color-patch-data in secondary-color-patch-data storage unit 23 (paragraph [0063]));
- providing, at the color matching apparatus, an instruction to print the patch chart image at a target printer to output a patch chart, wherein the patch chart includes a plurality of color patches corresponding with the color patch objects (output unit 14 outputs the secondary color patch data onto recording media, thereby causing printer to print the secondary color patches (paragraph [0065]));
- providing, at the color matching apparatus, an instruction to scan the patch chart to generate color measurements for the patch chart (measurement device 3 is used to measure tristimulus values of each sample color on the secondary color patch (paragraph [0066]));
- receiving, at the color matching apparatus, the color measurements for the patch chart (the measured tristimulus values are stored in secondary color patch colorimetry result storage unit 24 (paragraph [0066]));
- generating, at the color matching apparatus, a color matching profile for the target printer based on the color measurements for the color sample and the color measurements for the patch chart (color conversion table representing a correspondence relationship between the tristimulus values of the sample colors on the secondary color patch stored in secondary color patch colorimetric result storage unit 24 and CMYK values of the sample colors on the secondary color patch stored in secondary color patch storage unit 23 is created and stored in the color conversion table storage unit 25 (paragraph [0067]), from which an ICC profile describing the characteristics is created by ICC profile creation unit 16 (paragraph [0068])); and
- registering the color matching profile at the target printer for color-matched printing at the target printer (ICC profile is stored in the ICC profile storage unit 26 (paragraph [0068])).
Regarding claim 19, Igura discloses wherein:
- the patch chart image comprises one color patch object per target color (sample colors C0 to C255, M0 to M255, Y0 to Y255, and K0 to K255 are arranged in the primary color gradation patches 201, 202, 203, and 204 of the basic colors C, M, Y, and K, respectively (paragraph [0024]); Fig. 2A shows one color patch for each color gradation; also, the primary patch is composed of the primary color gradation patch for each basic color (paragraph [0073])).
Regarding claim 20, Igura discloses wherein the processing the color measurements for the color sample comprises:
- selecting a subset of colors from the color sample as the target colors (sample color selected from each group of sample colors to be a representative color (paragraph [0015])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Japanese Application Publication JP 2004-120483 A (hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 3 Igura does not expressly disclose “wherein the processing the color measurements for the color sample comprises: selecting each color from the color sample as the target colors.” Igura states that the number of representative colors may be designated by a user (paragraph [0069]), but Igura does not expressly state that all of the representative colors may be designated.
Takahashi discloses a device for preparing a profile preparation chart, wherein candidate colors of all color patches are obtained, and all or some of the candidate colors are selected to determine CMYK values that define the colors of the color patches, and the CMYK values are arranged in a predetermined manner to create a color chart (paragraph [0074]). From both Igura and Takahashi, it is clear that the number of candidate colors to be used as target colors may be optionally selected, and Takahashi expressly states that all of the candidate colors may be selected. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of Applicant’s invention, to have modified the teaching of Igura for selection of each candidate color as the target colors, as taught by Takahashi, so as to enable a user to reproduce the maximum number of possible colors from a printer.
8. Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura as applied to claims 5 and 12 above, and further in view of Japanese Application Publication JP 2007-281613 A (hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Igura does not expressly disclose “assigning a color match value to the one of the target colors by calculating an average of L*a*b* values over the multiple colors of the color sample.”
Yamamoto discloses a method wherein color values CI of color patches C1 to C14 are computed. The RGB value of each pixel is converted into an L*a*b* value using the source profile of scanner unit 15, and the average L*a*b* values of the pixels constituting the color patches C1 to C14 are calculated and set as color values CI of the color patches C1 to C14, respectively (paragraph [0022]). The CI values, along with graininess index GI and banding index BI are calculated in creating a quality report QR (paragraph [0033]), and a maintenance request MR may be created based on the quality report (paragraph [0034]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of Applicant’s invention, to have modified the teaching of Igura by providing for calculation of the CI, GI, and BI values for creating a quality report, so that it can be determined when maintenance of the printer is necessary (paragraphs [0003]-[0004]).
9. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura as applied to claims 4 and 11 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2024/0362821 A1 (hereinafter “Srivastav”).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Igura does not expressly disclose “wherein the selecting comprises: excluding, from the target colors, colors of the color sample that appear less than a threshold amount in the color sample.”
Srivastav discloses a system for generating image metadata using a compact color space. Analysis module 204 receives and processes assigned data 208 to generate a color histogram 502, which indicates numbers of pixel described by input data 114 that are assigned each of colors 156-170. In some examples, the analysis module excludes colors of the colors 156-170 assigned to less than a threshold number of the pixels from the color histogram (paragraph [0048]). Eliminating colors that appear in less than a low number of pixels in the input data simplifies the generation of a color profile by ignoring colors from the data that have little impact on the overall appearance of the sample. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill, at the time of Applicant’s invention, to have modified the teaching of Igura by excluding from target colors the colors of a color sample appearing less than a threshold number of times, as taught by Srivastav.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 8 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest Applicant’s method of claim 1, further comprising: assigning a color match value to one of the target colors having multiple appearances in the color sample by calculating an average of L*a*b* values over the multiple appearances.
Claim 15, directed to a color matching apparatus of claim 9, similarly recite the allowable subject matter of claim 8.
/THOMAS D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683