DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshmukh et al. (CN 115150736) in view of Lindskog et al. (US 2019/0306,825).
Regarding claim 1, Deshmukh teaches a method, comprising: identifying a mode for multi-link fine time measurement (FTM) from a first wireless station (STA) to a second STA, wherein the first STA comprises a multi-link device (MLD) with a plurality of wireless links to the second STA (i.e., the first network device 105 can perform multi-link operation (MLO). The first network device 105 can operate on one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4GHz, 5GHz and/or 6 GHz and each frequency band may include a plurality of channels 120-122. Accordingly, the second network device 110 (e.g., client device) can perform multi-link operation. using multi-link operation capability, the first network device 105 can cross multiple link/channel execution FTM transaction. The first network device 105 is capable of identifying a channel supported by the second network device 110 and linked to an available channel (see Specific implementation examples, fig. 6)); conducting FTM measurement using at least two of the plurality of wireless links (i.e., network devices can operate in more than one frequency (fig. 1). The departure time and arrival time/time stamp t1-1, t2-1, t3-1, t4-1 can be used for the obtain time (RTT). Similarly, the time stamps tl-2 to t4-2 correspond to another FTM exchange, i.e. 233. from the round trip time, obtain distance measuring related parameter such as distance. In addition, in order to accuracy, the first network device 205 and the second network device 210 negotiate more than one of the FTM exchange (see Specific implementation examples), comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and conducting FTM using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM capability (i.e., The second network device 110 includes an FTM capability and is capable of transmitting a ranging request to the first network device 105. The distance measurement request enables the determination of the distance of the second network device 110 relative to the first network device 105. Due to the FTM transactions from various associated and non-associated client devices, the first network device 105 and the second network device 110 may experience high traffic along the channel 120 in which it is communicated and fig. 3 (see Specific implementation examples)).
Deshmukh does not specifically teach conducting FTM polling and sounding using at least two of the plurality of wireless links, comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and conducting FTM sounding using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM polling and sounding.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Lindskog teaches the processor 220 may execute the frame exchange software module 232 to create and exchange ranging frames (such as polling frames and trigger frames), measurement frames (such as FTM frames, NDPAs, and NDPs), reporting frames (such as LMRs and feedback frames)… exchange ranging frames (such as FTM request frames, polling response frames, and acknowledgement (ACK) frames), measurement frames (such as FTM measurement frames) ([0048]-[0050], [0058]). A measurement software module 336 to determine one or more RTT values based on a number of timestamps, to determine the location of one or more other wireless devices, and to share location information of the STA 300 with other wireless devices, for example, as described with respect to FIGS. 5A-5B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, 8, 9A-9C, and 10 ([0063]-[0064], [0073]). ranging operation 500 may include three phases or parts: measurement polling, measurement sounding, and location measurement reporting. The measurement polling may be used to identify each of the initiator devices that will participate in the ranging operation. The measurement sounding may be used to exchange a number of sounding sequences between the responder device and the participating initiator devices ([0079]-[0086]). The responder device AP may estimate angle information based on the sounding on sequences contained in the first UL MU-NDPs ([0087]). The initiator devices STA_A and STA_B may estimate angle information based on the sounding sequences contained in the DL NDP. The measurement sounding may end upon reception of the DL NDP by the initiator devices STA_A and STA_B ([0110]-[0111], [0134]-[0136]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Lindskog within the Deshmukh in order to provide high-precision, meter-level indoor positioning and ranging without requiring specialized infrastructure, surpassing traditional RSSI methods. Benefits include enhanced security, reduced multi-path errors, and direct integration into existing Wi-Fi 6-compliant Aps.
Regarding claim 2, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. In combination with measurement polling and measurement sounding taught by Lindskog, Deshmukh teaches the at least two of the plurality of wireless links comprises a first link, and a second link different from the first link, wherein conducting the FTM polling comprises transmitting one or more FTM polling messages from the first STA to the second STA using the first link and not the second link, and wherein conducting the FTM sounding comprises transmitting one or more FTM sounding messages from the first STA to the second STA using the second link and not the first link (i.e., due to the adverse channel parameter for transmission or negotiation for FTM exchange, the subset transaction can be retransmitted on the second channel 617 subset Due to the advantageous channel parameters, the first network device 605 may select a different channel subset and perform a specific portion of the FTM transaction on the channel subset See detailed description).
Regarding claim 3, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Deshmukh further teaches receiving one or more FTM reporting messages using the first link and not the second link (see claims 13-14).
Regarding claim 4, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Deshmukh further teaches wherein the second link comprises a higher bandwidth link relative to the first link (i.e., the first channel from the 2.4GHz frequency band and the second channel 572 from the 5GHz frequency band (see description)).
Regarding claim 5, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Deshmukh further teaches the second link comprises a 6GHz link and the first link comprises at least one of a 5GHz link or a 2.4GHz link (i.e., the first channel from the 2.4GHz frequency band and the second channel 572 from the 5GHz frequency band (see description)).
Regarding claim 6, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Lindskog further teaches synchronizing transmission of one or more FTM sounding messages using both of the at least two of the plurality of wireless links ([0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Lindskog further teaches using a committed information rate (CIR) of a link with larger bandwidth, among the at least two of the plurality of wireless links, for synchronizing transmission ([0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Deshmukh further teaches determining the mode for multi-link FTM (i.e., the first network device checks the availability of a plurality of channels, the first network device is used for linking with the second network device through these channels. In one example, the first network device and the second network device are both a multi-link device (MLD) with MLO capability (see block 435)).
Regarding claim 10, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Deshmukh further teaches parsing a field in an FTM request frame (i.e., the FTM transaction corresponding to the first number of FTM requests may include two FTM bursts. The first FTM burst can be negotiated on the first channel and the negotiation of the second FTM burst on the second channel may be checked (see detailed description, block 455).
Regarding claim 11, Deshmukh teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing a program, which, when executed on any combination of the one or more processors (typical features of network devices), performs operations, the operations comprising: identifying a mode for multi-link fine time measurement (FTM) from a first wireless station (STA) to a second STA, wherein the first STA comprises a multi-link device (MLD) with a plurality of wireless links to the second STA (i.e., the first network device 105 can perform multi-link operation (MLO). The first network device 105 can operate on one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4GHz, 5GHz and/or 6 GHz and each frequency band may include a plurality of channels 120-122. Accordingly, the second network device 110 (e.g., client device) can perform multi-link operation. using multi-link operation capability, the first network device 105 can cross multiple link/channel execution FTM transaction. The first network device 105 is capable of identifying a channel supported by the second network device 110 and linked to an available channel (see Specific implementation examples, fig. 6)); conducting FTM measurement using at least two of the plurality of wireless links (i.e., network devices can operate in more than one frequency (fig. 1). The departure time and arrival time/time stamp t1-1, t2-1, t3-1, t4-1 can be used for the obtain time (RTT). Similarly, the time stamps tl-2 to t4-2 correspond to another FTM exchange, i.e. 233. from the round trip time, obtain distance measuring related parameter such as distance. In addition, in order to accuracy, the first network device 205 and the second network device 210 negotiate more than one of the FTM exchange (see Specific implementation examples), comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and conducting FTM using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM capability (i.e., The second network device 110 includes an FTM capability and is capable of transmitting a ranging request to the first network device 105. The distance measurement request enables the determination of the distance of the second network device 110 relative to the first network device 105. Due to the FTM transactions from various associated and non-associated client devices, the first network device 105 and the second network device 110 may experience high traffic along the channel 120 in which it is communicated and fig. 3 (see Specific implementation examples)).
Deshmukh does not specifically teach conducting FTM polling and sounding using at least two of the plurality of wireless links, comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and conducting FTM sounding using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM polling and sounding.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Lindskog teaches the processor 220 may execute the frame exchange software module 232 to create and exchange ranging frames (such as polling frames and trigger frames), measurement frames (such as FTM frames, NDPAs, and NDPs), reporting frames (such as LMRs and feedback frames)… exchange ranging frames (such as FTM request frames, polling response frames, and acknowledgement (ACK) frames), measurement frames (such as FTM measurement frames) ([0048]-[0050], [0058]). A measurement software module 336 to determine one or more RTT values based on a number of timestamps, to determine the location of one or more other wireless devices, and to share location information of the STA 300 with other wireless devices, for example, as described with respect to FIGS. 5A-5B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, 8, 9A-9C, and 10 ([0063]-[0064], [0073]). ranging operation 500 may include three phases or parts: measurement polling, measurement sounding, and location measurement reporting. The measurement polling may be used to identify each of the initiator devices that will participate in the ranging operation. The measurement sounding may be used to exchange a number of sounding sequences between the responder device and the participating initiator devices ([0079]-[0086]). The responder device AP may estimate angle information based on the sounding on sequences contained in the first UL MU-NDPs ([0087]). The initiator devices STA_A and STA_B may estimate angle information based on the sounding sequences contained in the DL NDP. The measurement sounding may end upon reception of the DL NDP by the initiator devices STA_A and STA_B ([0110]-[0111], [0134]-[0136]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Lindskog within the Deshmukh in order to provide high-precision, meter-level indoor positioning and ranging without requiring specialized infrastructure, surpassing traditional RSSI methods. Benefits include enhanced security, reduced multi-path errors, and direct integration into existing Wi-Fi 6-compliant Aps.
Regarding claim 12, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. In combination with measurement polling and measurement sounding taught by Lindskog, Deshmukh teaches the at least two of the plurality of wireless links comprises a first link, and a second link different from the first link, wherein conducting the FTM polling comprises transmitting one or more FTM polling messages from the first STA to the second STA using the first link and not the second link, and wherein conducting the FTM sounding comprises transmitting one or more FTM sounding messages from the first STA to the second STA using the second link and not the first link (i.e., due to the adverse channel parameter for transmission or negotiation for FTM exchange, the subset transaction can be retransmitted on the second channel 617 subset Due to the advantageous channel parameters, the first network device 605 may select a different channel subset and perform a specific portion of the FTM transaction on the channel subset See detailed description).
Regarding claim 13, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Deshmukh further teaches receiving one or more FTM reporting messages using the first link and not the second link (see claims 13-14); wherein the second link comprises a higher bandwidth link relative to the first link (i.e., the first channel from the 2.4GHz frequency band and the second channel 572 from the 5GHz frequency band (see description)).
Regarding claim 14, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Lindskog further teaches synchronizing transmission of one or more FTM sounding messages using both of the at least two of the plurality of wireless links ([0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Lindskog further teaches using a committed information rate (CIR) of a link with larger bandwidth, among the at least two of the plurality of wireless links, for synchronizing transmission ([0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Deshmukh teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing computer program code that, when executed by operation of one or more computer processors (typical features of network devices), performs operations comprising: identifying a mode for multi-link fine time measurement (FTM) from a first wireless station (STA) to a second STA, wherein the first STA comprises a multi-link device (MLD) with a plurality of wireless links to the second STA (i.e., the first network device 105 can perform multi-link operation (MLO). The first network device 105 can operate on one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4GHz, 5GHz and/or 6 GHz and each frequency band may include a plurality of channels 120-122. Accordingly, the second network device 110 (e.g., client device) can perform multi-link operation. using multi-link operation capability, the first network device 105 can cross multiple link/channel execution FTM transaction. The first network device 105 is capable of identifying a channel supported by the second network device 110 and linked to an available channel (see Specific implementation examples, fig. 6)); conducting FTM measurement using at least two of the plurality of wireless links (i.e., network devices can operate in more than one frequency (fig. 1). The departure time and arrival time/time stamp t1-1, t2-1, t3-1, t4-1 can be used for the obtain time (RTT). Similarly, the time stamps tl-2 to t4-2 correspond to another FTM exchange, i.e. 233. from the round trip time, obtain distance measuring related parameter such as distance. In addition, in order to accuracy, the first network device 205 and the second network device 210 negotiate more than one of the FTM exchange (see Specific implementation examples), comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and conducting FTM using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM capability (i.e., The second network device 110 includes an FTM capability and is capable of transmitting a ranging request to the first network device 105. The distance measurement request enables the determination of the distance of the second network device 110 relative to the first network device 105. Due to the FTM transactions from various associated and non-associated client devices, the first network device 105 and the second network device 110 may experience high traffic along the channel 120 in which it is communicated and fig. 3 (see Specific implementation examples)).
Deshmukh does not specifically teach conducting FTM polling and sounding using at least two of the plurality of wireless links, comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and conducting FTM sounding using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM polling and sounding.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Lindskog teaches the processor 220 may execute the frame exchange software module 232 to create and exchange ranging frames (such as polling frames and trigger frames), measurement frames (such as FTM frames, NDPAs, and NDPs), reporting frames (such as LMRs and feedback frames)… exchange ranging frames (such as FTM request frames, polling response frames, and acknowledgement (ACK) frames), measurement frames (such as FTM measurement frames) ([0048]-[0050], [0058]). A measurement software module 336 to determine one or more RTT values based on a number of timestamps, to determine the location of one or more other wireless devices, and to share location information of the STA 300 with other wireless devices, for example, as described with respect to FIGS. 5A-5B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, 8, 9A-9C, and 10 ([0063]-[0064], [0073]). ranging operation 500 may include three phases or parts: measurement polling, measurement sounding, and location measurement reporting. The measurement polling may be used to identify each of the initiator devices that will participate in the ranging operation. The measurement sounding may be used to exchange a number of sounding sequences between the responder device and the participating initiator devices ([0079]-[0086]). The responder device AP may estimate angle information based on the sounding on sequences contained in the first UL MU-NDPs ([0087]). The initiator devices STA_A and STA_B may estimate angle information based on the sounding sequences contained in the DL NDP. The measurement sounding may end upon reception of the DL NDP by the initiator devices STA_A and STA_B ([0110]-[0111], [0134]-[0136]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Lindskog within the Deshmukh in order to provide high-precision, meter-level indoor positioning and ranging without requiring specialized infrastructure, surpassing traditional RSSI methods. Benefits include enhanced security, reduced multi-path errors, and direct integration into existing Wi-Fi 6-compliant Aps.
Regarding claim 17, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. In combination with measurement polling and measurement sounding taught by Lindskog, Deshmukh teaches the at least two of the plurality of wireless links comprises a first link, and a second link different from the first link, wherein conducting the FTM polling comprises transmitting one or more FTM polling messages from the first STA to the second STA using the first link and not the second link, and wherein conducting the FTM sounding comprises transmitting one or more FTM sounding messages from the first STA to the second STA using the second link and not the first link (i.e., due to the adverse channel parameter for transmission or negotiation for FTM exchange, the subset transaction can be retransmitted on the second channel 617 subset Due to the advantageous channel parameters, the first network device 605 may select a different channel subset and perform a specific portion of the FTM transaction on the channel subset See detailed description).
Regarding claim 18, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Deshmukh further teaches receiving one or more FTM reporting messages using the first link and not the second link (see claims 13-14); wherein the second link comprises a higher bandwidth link relative to the first link (i.e., the first channel from the 2.4GHz frequency band and the second channel 572 from the 5GHz frequency band (see description)).
Regarding claim 19, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Lindskog further teaches synchronizing transmission of one or more FTM sounding messages using both of the at least two of the plurality of wireless links ([0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Deshmukh in view of Lindskog teaches all the limitations above. Lindskog further teaches using a committed information rate (CIR) of a link with larger bandwidth, among the at least two of the plurality of wireless links, for synchronizing transmission ([0039]).
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshmukh et al. (CN 115150736) in view of Jiang et al. (US 10, 365,362).
Regarding claim 1, Deshmukh teaches a method, comprising: identifying a mode for multi-link fine time measurement (FTM) from a first wireless station (STA) to a second STA, wherein the first STA comprises a multi-link device (MLD) with a plurality of wireless links to the second STA (i.e., the first network device 105 can perform multi-link operation (MLO). The first network device 105 can operate on one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4GHz, 5GHz and/or 6 GHz and each frequency band may include a plurality of channels 120-122. Accordingly, the second network device 110 (e.g., client device) can perform multi-link operation. using multi-link operation capability, the first network device 105 can cross multiple link/channel execution FTM transaction. The first network device 105 is capable of identifying a channel supported by the second network device 110 and linked to an available channel (see Specific implementation examples, fig. 6)); conducting FTM measurement using at least two of the plurality of wireless links (i.e., network devices can operate in more than one frequency (fig. 1). The departure time and arrival time/time stamp t1-1, t2-1, t3-1, t4-1 can be used for the obtain time (RTT). Similarly, the time stamps tl-2 to t4-2 correspond to another FTM exchange, i.e. 233. from the round trip time, obtain distance measuring related parameter such as distance. In addition, in order to accuracy, the first network device 205 and the second network device 210 negotiate more than one of the FTM exchange (see Specific implementation examples), comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and conducting FTM using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM capability (i.e., The second network device 110 includes an FTM capability and is capable of transmitting a ranging request to the first network device 105. The distance measurement request enables the determination of the distance of the second network device 110 relative to the first network device 105. Due to the FTM transactions from various associated and non-associated client devices, the first network device 105 and the second network device 110 may experience high traffic along the channel 120 in which it is communicated and fig. 3 (see Specific implementation examples)).
Deshmukh does not specifically teach conducting FTM polling and sounding using at least two of the plurality of wireless links, comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and conducting FTM sounding using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM polling and sounding.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Jiang teaches the dialog token field 1706 and the sounding dialog token field 1510 identify a FTM sequence number, round or sounding sequence. (para. 133). the ISTA-TO-RSTA LMR 1120 may include a dialog token field, e.g., 1706 that indicates the round or FTM sequence for the timing reports, e.g., field in 1700, 1800, 1900, or CSI report, e.g., 1902. The measurement round N (N+1) availability window 2216 may include polling 2210, sounding 2212, and/or LMR 2214 (para 182, 185-187). The method 4100 begins at operation 4102 with encoding a NDPA frame for transmission to a RSTA, the NDPA frame indicating a sounding sequence number. For example, ISTA 1102 may encode NDPA 1110. The NDPA 1110 may include sounding dialog token 1510, which may indicate a sounding sequence number ([0221]). The LMR 817 may be a LMR frame 1700, 1800, or 1900. The LMR 817 may include times T2 906 and T3 908. ISTA 802 will then have T1 904, T2 906, T3 908, and T4 910. ISTA 802 may then determine a Round Trip Time (RTT) in accordance with equation (1): RTT=[(T4-T1)-(T3-T2)]. The RTT may be used to determine a distance between RSTA 804 and ISTA 802 ([0121], 155-156, 181). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Jiang within the Deshmukh in order to provide high-precision, meter-level indoor positioning and ranging without requiring specialized infrastructure, surpassing traditional RSSI methods. Benefits include enhanced security, reduced multi-path errors, and direct integration into existing Wi-Fi 6-compliant Aps.
Regarding claim 11, Deshmukh teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories storing a program, which, when executed on any combination of the one or more processors (typical features of network devices), performs operations, the operations comprising: identifying a mode for multi-link fine time measurement (FTM) from a first wireless station (STA) to a second STA, wherein the first STA comprises a multi-link device (MLD) with a plurality of wireless links to the second STA (i.e., the first network device 105 can perform multi-link operation (MLO). The first network device 105 can operate on one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4GHz, 5GHz and/or 6 GHz and each frequency band may include a plurality of channels 120-122. Accordingly, the second network device 110 (e.g., client device) can perform multi-link operation. using multi-link operation capability, the first network device 105 can cross multiple link/channel execution FTM transaction. The first network device 105 is capable of identifying a channel supported by the second network device 110 and linked to an available channel (see Specific implementation examples, fig. 6)); conducting FTM measurement using at least two of the plurality of wireless links (i.e., network devices can operate in more than one frequency (fig. 1). The departure time and arrival time/time stamp t1-1, t2-1, t3-1, t4-1 can be used for the obtain time (RTT). Similarly, the time stamps tl-2 to t4-2 correspond to another FTM exchange, i.e. 233. from the round trip time, obtain distance measuring related parameter such as distance. In addition, in order to accuracy, the first network device 205 and the second network device 210 negotiate more than one of the FTM exchange (see Specific implementation examples), comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and conducting FTM using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM capability (i.e., The second network device 110 includes an FTM capability and is capable of transmitting a ranging request to the first network device 105. The distance measurement request enables the determination of the distance of the second network device 110 relative to the first network device 105. Due to the FTM transactions from various associated and non-associated client devices, the first network device 105 and the second network device 110 may experience high traffic along the channel 120 in which it is communicated and fig. 3 (see Specific implementation examples)).
Deshmukh does not specifically teach conducting FTM polling and sounding using at least two of the plurality of wireless links, comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and conducting FTM sounding using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM polling and sounding.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Jiang teaches the dialog token field 1706 and the sounding dialog token field 1510 identify a FTM sequence number, round or sounding sequence. (para. 133). the ISTA-TO-RSTA LMR 1120 may include a dialog token field, e.g., 1706 that indicates the round or FTM sequence for the timing reports, e.g., field in 1700, 1800, 1900, or CSI report, e.g., 1902. The measurement round N (N+1) availability window 2216 may include polling 2210, sounding 2212, and/or LMR 2214 (para 182, 185-187). The method 4100 begins at operation 4102 with encoding a NDPA frame for transmission to a RSTA, the NDPA frame indicating a sounding sequence number. For example, ISTA 1102 may encode NDPA 1110. The NDPA 1110 may include sounding dialog token 1510, which may indicate a sounding sequence number ([0221]). The LMR 817 may be a LMR frame 1700, 1800, or 1900. The LMR 817 may include times T2 906 and T3 908. ISTA 802 will then have T1 904, T2 906, T3 908, and T4 910. ISTA 802 may then determine a Round Trip Time (RTT) in accordance with equation (1): RTT=[(T4-T1)-(T3-T2)]. The RTT may be used to determine a distance between RSTA 804 and ISTA 802 ([0121], 155-156, 181). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Jiang within the Deshmukh in order to provide high-precision, meter-level indoor positioning and ranging without requiring specialized infrastructure, surpassing traditional RSSI methods. Benefits include enhanced security, reduced multi-path errors, and direct integration into existing Wi-Fi 6-compliant Aps.
Regarding claim 16, Deshmukh teaches a a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing computer program code that, when executed by operation of one or more computer processors (typical features of network devices), performs operations comprising: identifying a mode for multi-link fine time measurement (FTM) from a first wireless station (STA) to a second STA, wherein the first STA comprises a multi-link device (MLD) with a plurality of wireless links to the second STA (i.e., the first network device 105 can perform multi-link operation (MLO). The first network device 105 can operate on one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4GHz, 5GHz and/or 6 GHz and each frequency band may include a plurality of channels 120-122. Accordingly, the second network device 110 (e.g., client device) can perform multi-link operation. using multi-link operation capability, the first network device 105 can cross multiple link/channel execution FTM transaction. The first network device 105 is capable of identifying a channel supported by the second network device 110 and linked to an available channel (see Specific implementation examples, fig. 6)); conducting FTM measurement using at least two of the plurality of wireless links (i.e., network devices can operate in more than one frequency (fig. 1). The departure time and arrival time/time stamp t1-1, t2-1, t3-1, t4-1 can be used for the obtain time (RTT). Similarly, the time stamps tl-2 to t4-2 correspond to another FTM exchange, i.e. 233. from the round trip time, obtain distance measuring related parameter such as distance. In addition, in order to accuracy, the first network device 205 and the second network device 210 negotiate more than one of the FTM exchange (see Specific implementation examples), comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and conducting FTM using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode (i.e., The first network device 105 can be operated in one or more frequency bands including, but not limited to, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and/or 6 GHz, fig. 1); and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM capability (i.e., The second network device 110 includes an FTM capability and is capable of transmitting a ranging request to the first network device 105. The distance measurement request enables the determination of the distance of the second network device 110 relative to the first network device 105. Due to the FTM transactions from various associated and non-associated client devices, the first network device 105 and the second network device 110 may experience high traffic along the channel 120 in which it is communicated and fig. 3 (see Specific implementation examples)).
Deshmukh does not specifically teach conducting FTM polling and sounding using at least two of the plurality of wireless links, comprising: conducting FTM polling using a first one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and conducting FTM sounding using a second one or more of the plurality of wireless links, based on the identified mode; and determining a range between the first STA and the second STA based on the FTM polling and sounding.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Jiang teaches the dialog token field 1706 and the sounding dialog token field 1510 identify a FTM sequence number, round or sounding sequence. (para. 133). the ISTA-TO-RSTA LMR 1120 may include a dialog token field, e.g., 1706 that indicates the round or FTM sequence for the timing reports, e.g., field in 1700, 1800, 1900, or CSI report, e.g., 1902. The measurement round N (N+1) availability window 2216 may include polling 2210, sounding 2212, and/or LMR 2214 (para 182, 185-187). The method 4100 begins at operation 4102 with encoding a NDPA frame for transmission to a RSTA, the NDPA frame indicating a sounding sequence number. For example, ISTA 1102 may encode NDPA 1110. The NDPA 1110 may include sounding dialog token 1510, which may indicate a sounding sequence number ([0221]). The LMR 817 may be a LMR frame 1700, 1800, or 1900. The LMR 817 may include times T2 906 and T3 908. ISTA 802 will then have T1 904, T2 906, T3 908, and T4 910. ISTA 802 may then determine a Round Trip Time (RTT) in accordance with equation (1): RTT=[(T4-T1)-(T3-T2)]. The RTT may be used to determine a distance between RSTA 804 and ISTA 802 ([0121], 155-156, 181). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Jiang within the Deshmukh in order to provide high-precision, meter-level indoor positioning and ranging without requiring specialized infrastructure, surpassing traditional RSSI methods. Benefits include enhanced security, reduced multi-path errors, and direct integration into existing Wi-Fi 6-compliant Aps.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643