Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 11/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first valve, second valve, the controller, the fourth channel, and the fifth channel must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2, line2 and 3; claim 9, lines 2; claim 9, lines 9 and 10; claim 16, line 1 are objected to because of the following informalities: “fluid” should be - -the fluid- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, lines 2-3; claim 10, line 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: “determine flow rates of fluid” should be - -determine the first and second flow rate of the fluid- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bolus et al (US 20050001072)
Annotated Figure 6 of Bolus
Regarding claim 1, Bolus discloses a showerhead (Paragraph 0001) comprising:
a plurality of nozzle systems (Each instance of Figure 6 in Figure 5), each nozzle system including at least a first channel and a second channel (The two instances of Figure 6; 48. Paragraph 0071), wherein the first and second channels are angled such that fluid exiting the first channel impinges on fluid exiting the second channel to form a fluid output (Functional Language, the fluid exiting the first channel impinges on the fluid exiting the second channel which forms a fluid output. See Figure 2);
a first fluid path (The fluid path from a source to Annotated Figure 6; labeled first fluid input to the first channel) connecting the first channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a first fluid input (Annotated Figure 6; labeled first fluid input); and
a second fluid path (The fluid path from a source to Annotated Figure 6; labeled second fluid input to the first channel) connecting the second channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a second fluid input (Annotated Figure 6; labeled second fluid input).
Regarding claim 5, Bolus discloses the invention as claimed.
Bolus further discloses wherein at least one of the first channel and the second channel is active (Functional Language, The first and second channel are active).
Regarding claim 8, Bolus discloses the invention as claimed.
Bolus further discloses wherein each of the plurality of nozzle systems comprises a nozzle mouth (The mouth having Figure 5; 44), and wherein the fluid passing through each of the first channel and the second channel mix after exiting the nozzle mouth (Functional Language, the fluids mix after exiting the nozzle mouth, see Figure 6).
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leber et al (US 20070246577).
Regarding claim 1, Leber discloses a showerhead (Figure 6; 400) comprising:
a plurality of nozzle systems (Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), each nozzle system including at least a first channel (A first instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o) and a second channel (A second instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), wherein the first and second channels are angled such that fluid (The fluid through the first channel) exiting the first channel impinges on fluid (The fluid through the second channel) exiting the second channel to form a fluid output (Figure 6; 420);
a first fluid path (The path from Figure 4A; 210a and 220a as applied to the first channel of Figure 6, Paragraph 0034 states features of different embodiments can be combined, so that each channel is fed through a fluid input through an arm) connecting the first channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a first fluid input (The channel through an arm like Figure 4A; 210a as applied to the first channel of Figure 6, Paragraph 0034); and
a second fluid path (The path from Figure 4A; 210a and 220a as applied to the second channel of Figure 6Paragraph 0034 states features of different embodiments can be combined, so that each channel is fed through a fluid input through an arm) connecting the second channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a second fluid input (The channel through an arm like Figure 4A; 210a as applied to the second channel of Figure 6, Paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 4, Leber discloses the invention as claimed.
Leber further discloses wherein each of the plurality of nozzle systems further comprise a third channel (A third instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), a fourth channel (A fourth instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), and a fifth channel (A fifth instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, 12, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolus in view of Langlais et al (US 20020174971).
Regarding claim 2, Bolus discloses the invention as claimed.
Bolus does not disclose a first valve controlling a first flow rate of the fluid flowing through the first fluid path; and
a second valve controlling a second flow rate of the fluid flowing through the second fluid path.
However, Langlais teaches a first valve (Figure 1; 81) controlling a first flow rate of fluid (Paragraph 0050, 0053) flowing through a first fluid path (The path from Figure 1; 85 to 60); and
a second valve (Figure 1; 82) controlling a second flow rate of fluid (Paragraph 0050, 0053) flowing through a second fluid path (The path from Figure 1; 85 to 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus to include a first valve controlling a first flow rate of the fluid flowing through the first fluid path; and a second valve controlling a second flow rate of the fluid flowing through the second fluid path as taught by and suggested by Langlais in order to control fluid through the first and second fluid path (Paragraph 0053, The modification adds a first valve, second valve and controller).
Regarding claim 3, Bolus in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed.
Bolus does not disclose at least one controller controlling the first and second valves to determine the first and second flow rates of the fluid from each of the first and second channels, wherein the first flow rate and second flow rate control a direction of a resulting stream of fluid.
However, Langlais teaches at least one controller (Figure 1; 92) controlling the first and second valves (Paragraph 0050, 0053) to determine flow rates of fluid from each of the first and second channels, wherein the first flow rate and second flow rate control a direction of a resulting stream of fluid (Functional Language, the first and second flow rate control the direction of a resulting stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus to include at least one controller controlling the first and second valves to determine the first and second flow rates of the fluid from each of the first and second channels, wherein the first flow rate and second flow rate control a direction of a resulting stream of fluid as taught by and suggested by Langlais in order to control fluid through the first and second fluid path (Paragraph 0053, This is the same modification as claim 2).
Regarding claim 9, Bolus discloses a showerhead (Paragraph 0001) comprising:
a plurality of nozzle systems (Each instance of Figure 6 in Figure 5), each nozzle system including at least a first channel and a second channel (The two instances of Figure 6; 48. Paragraph 0071), wherein the first and second channels are angled such that fluid exiting the first channel impinges on fluid exiting the second channel to form a fluid output (Functional Language, the fluid exiting the first channel impinges on the fluid exiting the second channel which forms a fluid output. See Figure 2);
a first fluid path (The fluid path from a source to Annotated Figure 6; labeled first fluid input to the first channel) connecting the first channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a first fluid input (Annotated Figure 6; labeled first fluid input); and
a second fluid path (The fluid path from a source to Annotated Figure 6; labeled second fluid input to the first channel) connecting the second channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a second fluid input (Annotated Figure 6; labeled second fluid input).
Bolus does not disclose a first valve controlling a first flow rate of the fluid flowing through the first fluid path; and
a second valve controlling a second flow rate of the fluid flowing through the second fluid path.
However, Langlais teaches a first valve (Figure 1; 81) controlling a first flow rate of fluid (Paragraph 0050, 0053) flowing through a first fluid path (The path from Figure 1; 85 to 60); and
a second valve (Figure 1; 82) controlling a second flow rate of fluid (Paragraph 0050, 0053) flowing through a second fluid path (The path from Figure 1; 85 to 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus to include a first valve controlling a first flow rate of the fluid flowing through the first fluid path; and a second valve controlling a second flow rate of the fluid flowing through the second fluid path as taught by and suggested by Langlais in order to control fluid through the first and second fluid path (Paragraph 0053, The modification adds a first valve, second valve and controller).
Regarding claim 10, Bolus in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed.
Bolus does not disclose at least one controller controlling the first and second valves to determine the first and second flow rates of the fluid from each of the first and second channels, wherein the first flow rate and second flow rate control a direction of a resulting stream of fluid.
However, Langlais teaches at least one controller (Figure 1; 92) controlling the first and second valves (Paragraph 0050, 0053) to determine flow rates of fluid from each of the first and second channels, wherein the first flow rate and second flow rate control a direction of a resulting stream of fluid (Functional Language, the first and second flow rate control the direction of a resulting stream).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus to include at least one controller controlling the first and second valves to determine the first and second flow rates of the fluid from each of the first and second channels, wherein the first flow rate and second flow rate control a direction of a resulting stream of fluid as taught by and suggested by Langlais in order to control fluid through the first and second fluid path (Paragraph 0053, This is the same modification as claim 9).
Regarding claim 12, Bolus in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed.
Bolus further discloses wherein at least one of the first channel and the second channel is active (Functional Language, The first and second channel are active).
Regarding claim 15, Bolus in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed.
Bolus further discloses wherein each of the plurality of nozzle systems comprises a nozzle mouth (The mouth having Figure 5; 44).
Regarding claim 16, Bolus in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed.
Bolus further discloses wherein the fluid passing through each of the first channel and the second channel mix after exiting the nozzle mouth (Functional Language, the fluids mix after exiting the nozzle mouth, see Figure 6).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolus in view of Kwon et al (Fall 2020 Injector Design Guide)
Regarding claim 6, Bolus discloses the invention as claimed
Bolus does not disclose wherein an angle of the fluid output is determined based on an average of an angle of the first channel and an angle of the second channel.
However, Kwon teaches an angle (Figure 4; β) of a fluid output (The fluid having Figure 4; β) is determined based on an average (Functional Language, The equation of the Resultant Angle (beta) is
tan
(
β
)
=
q
1
v
1
sin
(
α
1
)
-
q
2
v
2
sin
(
α
2
)
q
1
v
1
cos
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
cos
(
α
2
)
Where
α
2
=
-
α
3
because
α
1
and
β
are measured in the counterclockwise direction, but
α
2
is measured in the clockwise direction in Figure 4, so that
tan
(
β
)
=
q
1
v
1
sin
(
α
1
)
-
q
2
v
2
sin
(
-
α
3
)
q
1
v
1
cos
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
cos
(
-
α
3
)
Using
sin
(
-
θ
)
=
-
s
i
n
(
θ
)
and
cos
(
-
θ
)
=
c
o
s
(
θ
)
tan
(
β
)
=
q
1
v
1
sin
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
sin
(
α
3
)
q
1
v
1
cos
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
cos
(
α
3
)
When
q
1
v
1
=
q
2
v
2
=
q
v
tan
(
β
)
=
sin
(
α
1
)
+
sin
(
α
3
)
cos
(
α
1
)
+
cos
(
α
3
)
Using
sin
x
+
sin
y
=
2
sin
x
+
y
2
c
o
s
(
x
-
y
2
)
and
cos
x
+
cos
y
=
2
cos
x
+
y
2
c
o
s
(
x
-
y
2
)
tan
(
β
)
=
2
sin
α
1
+
α
3
2
c
o
s
(
α
1
-
α
3
2
)
2
cos
α
1
+
α
3
2
c
o
s
(
α
1
-
α
3
2
)
Simplifying leads to
tan
(
β
)
=
sin
α
1
+
α
3
2
cos
α
1
+
α
3
2
=
t
a
n
α
1
+
α
3
2
Such that
β
=
α
1
+
α
3
2
,
thus the angle of the fluid output is the average of the angles of the first and second channel) of an angle of a first channel (Figure 4;
θ
f
u
e
l
of the channel having
L
f
u
e
l
)
and an angle of a second channel (Figure 4;
θ
o
x
of the channel having
L
o
x
)
.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus wherein an angle of the fluid output is determined based on an average of an angle of the first channel and an angle of the second channel.as taught by and suggested by Kwon in order to determine the resultant angle of two impinging streams (Resultant Angle, the modification has the angle of the fluid output determined by the average of the angles of the first and second channels)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolus in view of Martinex et al (US 3592042)
Regarding claim 7, Bolus discloses the invention as claimed.
Bolus does not disclose wherein an angle of the fluid output is adjusted based on a first fluid pressure associated with the first channel and a second fluid pressure associated with the second channel.
However, Martinex teaches wherein an angle (Figure 1; α) of a fluid output (Figure 1; 18) is adjusted based on a first fluid pressure (The pressure of Figure 1; 2) associated with a first channel (Figure 1; 6) and a second fluid pressure (The pressure of Figure 1; 4) associated with the second channel (Figure 1; 12. Functional Language, Column 2, lines 22-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus wherein an angle of the fluid output is adjusted based on a first fluid pressure associated with the first channel and a second fluid pressure associated with the second channel as taught by and suggested by Martinex in order to determine the direction of the fluid output (Column 2, lines 22-35, The modification has the angle of the fluid output based on the first and second pressure of the first and second channel, respectively).
Claim(s) 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leber in view of Langlais et al (US 3592042).
Regarding claim 9, Leber discloses a showerhead (Figure 6; 400) comprising:
a plurality of nozzle systems (Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), each nozzle system including at least a first channel (A first instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o) and a second channel (A second instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), wherein the first and second channels are angled such that fluid (The fluid through the first channel) exiting the first channel impinges on fluid (The fluid through the second channel) exiting the second channel to form a fluid output (Figure 6; 420);
a first fluid path (The path from Figure 4A; 210a and 220a as applied to the first channel of Figure 6, Paragraph 0034 states features of different embodiments can be combined, so that each channel is fed through a fluid input through an arm) connecting the first channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a first fluid input (The channel through an arm like Figure 4A; 210a as applied to the first channel of Figure 6, Paragraph 0034); and
a second fluid path (The path from Figure 4A; 210a and 220a as applied to the second channel of Figure 6Paragraph 0034 states features of different embodiments can be combined, so that each channel is fed through a fluid input through an arm) connecting the second channel of each of the plurality of nozzle systems with a second fluid input (The channel through an arm like Figure 4A; 210a as applied to the second channel of Figure 6, Paragraph 0034).
Leber does not disclose a first valve controlling a first flow rate of the fluid flowing through the first fluid path; and
a second valve controlling a second flow rate of the fluid flowing through the second fluid path.
However, Langlais teaches a first valve (Figure 1; 81) controlling a first flow rate of fluid (Paragraph 0050, 0053) flowing through a first fluid path (The path from Figure 1; 85 to 60); and
a second valve (Figure 1; 82) controlling a second flow rate of fluid (Paragraph 0050, 0053) flowing through a second fluid path (The path from Figure 1; 85 to 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Leber to include a first valve controlling a first flow rate of the fluid flowing through the first fluid path; and a second valve controlling a second flow rate of the fluid flowing through the second fluid path as taught by and suggested by Langlais in order to control fluid through the first and second fluid path (Paragraph 0053, The modification adds a first valve, second valve and controller).
Regarding claim 11, Leber in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed.
Leber further discloses wherein each of the plurality of nozzle systems further comprise a third channel (A third instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), a fourth channel (A fourth instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o), and a fifth channel (A fifth instance of a channel through each group of Figure 6; 405 a-e, 405f-j, 405k-o).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolus in view of Langlais as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kwon
Regarding claim 13, Bolus in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed
Bolus in view of Langlais does not teach wherein an angle of the fluid output is determined based on an average of an angle of the first channel and an angle of the second channel.
However, Kwon teaches an angle (Figure 4; β) of a fluid output (The fluid having Figure 4; β) is determined based on an average (Functional Language, The equation of the Resultant Angle (beta) is
tan
(
β
)
=
q
1
v
1
sin
(
α
1
)
-
q
2
v
2
sin
(
α
2
)
q
1
v
1
cos
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
cos
(
α
2
)
Where
α
2
=
-
α
3
because
α
1
and
β
are measured in the counterclockwise direction, but
α
2
is measured in the clockwise direction in Figure 4, so that
tan
(
β
)
=
q
1
v
1
sin
(
α
1
)
-
q
2
v
2
sin
(
-
α
3
)
q
1
v
1
cos
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
cos
(
-
α
3
)
Using
sin
(
-
θ
)
=
-
s
i
n
(
θ
)
and
cos
(
-
θ
)
=
c
o
s
(
θ
)
tan
(
β
)
=
q
1
v
1
sin
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
sin
(
α
3
)
q
1
v
1
cos
(
α
1
)
+
q
2
v
2
cos
(
α
3
)
When
q
1
v
1
=
q
2
v
2
=
q
v
tan
(
β
)
=
sin
(
α
1
)
+
sin
(
α
3
)
cos
(
α
1
)
+
cos
(
α
3
)
Using
sin
x
+
sin
y
=
2
sin
x
+
y
2
c
o
s
(
x
-
y
2
)
and
cos
x
+
cos
y
=
2
cos
x
+
y
2
c
o
s
(
x
-
y
2
)
tan
(
β
)
=
2
sin
α
1
+
α
3
2
c
o
s
(
α
1
-
α
3
2
)
2
cos
α
1
+
α
3
2
c
o
s
(
α
1
-
α
3
2
)
Simplifying leads to
tan
(
β
)
=
sin
α
1
+
α
3
2
cos
α
1
+
α
3
2
=
t
a
n
α
1
+
α
3
2
Such that
β
=
α
1
+
α
3
2
,
thus the angle of the fluid output is the average of the angles of the first and second channel) of an angle of a first channel (Figure 4;
θ
f
u
e
l
of the channel having
L
f
u
e
l
)
and an angle of a second channel (Figure 4;
θ
o
x
of the channel having
L
o
x
)
.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus in view of Langlais wherein an angle of the fluid output is determined based on an average of an angle of the first channel and an angle of the second channel.as taught by and suggested by Kwon in order to determine the resultant angle of two impinging streams (Resultant Angle, the modification has the angle of the fluid output determined by the average of the angles of the first and second channels)
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolus in view of Langlais as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Martinex
Regarding claim 14, Bolus in view of Langlais teaches the invention as claimed.
Bolus in view of Langlais does not teach wherein an angle of the fluid output is adjusted based on a first fluid pressure associated with the first channel and a second fluid pressure associated with the second channel.
However, Martinex teaches wherein an angle (Figure 1; α) of a fluid output (Figure 1; 18) is adjusted based on a first fluid pressure (The pressure of Figure 1; 2) associated with a first channel (Figure 1; 6) and a second fluid pressure (The pressure of Figure 1; 4) associated with the second channel (Figure 1; 12. Functional Language, Column 2, lines 22-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bolus in view of Langlais wherein an angle of the fluid output is adjusted based on a first fluid pressure associated with the first channel and a second fluid pressure associated with the second channel as taught by and suggested by Martinex in order to determine the direction of the fluid output (Column 2, lines 22-35, The modification has the angle of the fluid output based on the first and second pressure of the first and second channel, respectively).
Conclusion
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741