Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed March 6th, 2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the reference Marathe, “Subject Granular Differential Privacy in Federated Learning” is misidentified with a typographical error as “Sbject Granular Differential Privacy in Federated Learning.” It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Each of Claims 3, 10, and 17 fail to further narrow the claim upon which it depends because by the definition of hyperparameter, any clipping threshold used in training a machine learning model is inherently a hyperparameter for the training of the machine learning model – a hyperparameter is merely a parameter or value which effects how the training occurs.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Marathe et al., “Subject Granular Differential Privacy in Federated Learning.”
Regarding Claim 1, Maranthe teaches a method, comprising: training, using a federation server and a plurality of clients, a machine learning model (Maranthe, pg. 3, 2nd column, 5th paragraph, “LocalSubDP … enforces subject level privacy locally at each user … The federation server samples a random set of users for each training round and sends them a request to perform local training … the server redistributes the updated model and triggers another training round if needed”) on a dataset comprising a plurality of subjects individually comprising one or more data items (Maranthe, Abstract, “data subject level privacy, where a subject is an individual whose private information is embodied by several data items either confined within a single federation user or distributed across multiple federation users”) wherein the training comprises: sampling, at individual ones of the plurality of clients, respective private data sets of the data set to generate respective private mini-batches (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, Step 3, “random sample of B data items from
D
i
” & Abstract, “a subject is an individual whose private information is embodied by several data items either confined within a single federation user or distributed across multiple federation users”); aggregating respective counts of the plurality of subjects in respective private minibatches to generate aggregate counts for the respective subjects (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, “Parameters: … largest group size in a minibatch Z” denotes that each subject’s data in the minibatch has been counted/aggregated – see pg. 2, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, “a group of data items belonging to the same subject”, and the counts have been aggregated to determine the largest group size Z); computing respective noise values for the respective private mini-batches according to the respective counts and the generated aggregate counts (Maranthe, Algorithm 2, “Parameters: … noise scale
σ
Z
for group size Z” see also pg. 3, 2nd column, last paragraph, “We use Z, and other parameters … to compute the appropriate value of
σ
Z
”); training respective machine learning models by individual ones of the plurality of clients according to the respective private mini-batches to generate respective noisy gradients for individual ones of the plurality of clients, the noisy gradients comprising the respective noise values for the respective private mini-batches (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, Steps 4-11 demonstrates noisy gradients comprising the respective noise values); and accumulating the respective noise gradients to determine respective average gradients providing differential privacy for the respective subjects (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, Steps 11-12).
Regarding Claim 2, Maranthe teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Maranthe further teaches determining respective gradients for individual ones of a plurality of parameters of the respective machine learning models by the individual ones of the plurality of clients (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, Step 6); applying a clipping threshold to the determined respective gradients (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, Step 8); adding the respective noise values for the respective private mini-batches to the determined respective gradients (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, Step 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Maranthe teaches the method of Claim 2 (and thus the rejection of Claim 2 is incorporated). As noted in the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection, a clipping threshold is inherently a hyperparameter for the training of the machine learning model.
Regarding Claim 4, Maranthe teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Maranthe further teaches wherein individual ones of the private data sets of the data set comprise at least a portion of the plurality of subjects individually comprising the one or more data items (Maranthe, pg. 3, 2nd column, last paragraph, “We compute each mini-batch’s group size Z as the largest number of items of any subject appearing in the mini-batch”).
Regarding Claim 7, Maranthe teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Maranthe further teaches wherein the sampling, aggregating, computing, training of the respective machine learning model by a plurality of clients and accumulating are performed for a mini-batch of the plurality of mini-batches of training of the machine learning model (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, lines 3-4 denotes for a mini-batch & lines 5-12 for all of the actions that are performed on the minibatch of line 3).
Claims 8-11 and 14 recite one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media, storing instructions that when executed on or across a plurality of computing devices, cause the plurality of computing devices to perform precisely the method of Claims 1-4 and 7, respectively. As Maranthe teaches a federation server and users with computer devices to perform their method (Maranthe, pg. 4, 1st column, last paragraph, “federation server”& pg. 1, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, “cross-device federated learning”) in which such a storage medium is inherent, Claims 8-11 and 14 are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1-4 and 7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maranthe in view of Akdeniz, US PG Pub 2023/0068386.
Regarding Claim 5, Maranthe teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Maranthe does not teach, but Akdeniz, in the analogous art of federated learning, teaches, wherein the noise values are computed at a noise shuffler different from the federation server and the plurality of clients (Akdeniz, Fig. 23, displays a second server specifically to generate noise). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a trusted server, such as that of Akdeniz, to generate the noise. The motivation to do so is to ensure privacy of the generated noise.
Regarding Claim 6, the Maranthe/Akdeniz combination of Claim 5 teaches the method of Claim 1 (by inheritance, and thus the rejection of Claim 5 is incorporated). The combination, as described in the rejection of Claim 5, further teaches wherein one of the plurality of clients is an aggregating user (take the combination of Claim 5, and relabel “Central Server” as an aggregated user and is one of the plurality of clients of the “Trusted Server”/relabeled as federation server) wherein the accumulating is performed by the aggregating user and wherein the method further comprises: applying the respective average gradients to a machine learning mode of the aggregating user to generate an updated machine learning model (Maranthe, pg. 4, Algorithm 2, line 22); and distributed the updated machine learning model by the aggregating user to individual ones of the plurality of clients other than the aggregating user (Maranthe, pg. 3, 2nd column, 5th paragraph, “the server redistributes the updated model and triggers another training round if needed”).
Claims 12 and 14 recite one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media, storing instructions that when executed on or across a plurality of computing devices, cause the plurality of computing devices to perform precisely the method of Claims 5 and 6, respectively. As Maranthe teaches a federation server and users with computer devices to perform their method (Maranthe, pg. 4, 1st column, last paragraph, “federation server”& pg. 1, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, “cross-device federated learning”) in which such a storage medium is inherent, Claims 12 and 13 are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 5 and 6, respectively.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 7 and 14, respectively, of copending Application No. 17/663,009 in view of Shi et al., “Make Landscape Flatter in Differentially Private Federated Learning.” The reference claims teach all of the limitations of the corresponding instant claims except for a) the reference application recites generic parameter updates instead of the instant claims’ gradients and b) the reference application recites aggregating respective counts of the plurality of subjects in respective private mini-batches to generate aggregate counts for the respective subjects while the reference application recites determining a count of the largest number of items in the portion of the dataset associated with any single group of the plurality of groups of the portion of the dataset. Regarding a) Shi teaches adding noise and accumulating and sending to the server gradients rather than generic parameter updates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to compute gradients as the respective parameter updates, because that is the standard method of learning, e.g. backpropagation. Regarding b) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a count of the largest number of items associated with any single group in a set by determining counts of items associated with each of the groups in the set, and then identifying the largest count (i.e. the method recited in the claims), because to determine the largest of a set of counts, we would want to determine each element of the set of counts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 15, 16, and 18-20 are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maranthe et al., “Subject Level Differential Privacy with Hierarchical Gradient Averaging” was published within the one-year grace period of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1), however names an additional author, and as such by MPEP 2153.01(a) should be treated by the examiner as valid prior art. This prior art also appears to anticipate independent Claims 1 and 8.
Shi et al., “Make Landscape Flatter in Differentially Private Federated Learning” teaches federated learning with a plurality of clients and aggregating counts of items in mini-batches, but does not teach noise values as functions of those counts.
Fu et al., “Adapt DP-FL: Differentially Private Federated Learning with Adaptive Noise” teaches the noise values for federated learning as functions of “aggregation weights” which may be related to different counts of items at the different clients.
Wang et al., “Protect Privacy from Gradient Leaking Attack in Federated Learning” explicitly links aggregation weights to counts of items at the different clients.
/BRIAN M SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122