DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, Species I drawn to claims 1-20 in the reply filed on September 17, 2025, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that while it is true that those with very long hair have occasionally used a clothes iron to straighten their hair, the opposite, that a device for straightening hair can be used to iron clothing, is not necessarily so. This is not found persuasive because the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. For example, the product as claimed can be used to press clothes or neckties and nothing can prevent the hair straightening with heated surfaces from pressing clothes or neckties, see “Amanda’s Home Hacks Video” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RDCLr3XqTc&t=116s.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 21-30 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 17, 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/179,917. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the claims of the application 18/179,917 "anticipate" the claims of the instant application. Claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of Application No. 18/179,917. Accordingly, the instant application claims are not patentably distinct from the application 18/179,917 claims. Here, the more specific application 18/597,789 claims encompass the broader co-pending application claim. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 line 1 should read “A hair device, the device comprising:”. Correction is required to overcome this issue.
Claim 2 should read “wherein the device comprises a) [[a]] the first series of features on the convex styling surface of the first arm, the features positioned in [[a]] the direction transverse to the first longitudinal axis.”. Correction is required to overcome this issue.
Claim 12 should read “further comprising a first, a second, and a third programmable temperature, wherein the first temperature is [[the]] a highest temperature and the third temperature is [[the]] a lowest temperature.”. Correction is required to overcome this issue.
Claim 17 should read “wherein the device comprises b) [[a]] the first series of features on the concave styling surface of the second arm, the features positioned in [[a]] the direction transverse to the second longitudinal axis.”. Correction is required to overcome this issue.
Claim 19 should read “wherein the first series of features [[ has rounded edges.”. Correction is required to overcome this issue.
Claim 20 should read “wherein the first series of features does not span [[the]] a width of the concave styling surface.”. Correction is required to overcome this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Story (US 20130263881 A1, hereinafter “Story”).
Regarding claim 1. Story discloses a hair device (abstract and “Embodiment shown in Fig 1-4 and Fig 11-12, hereinafter “Embodiment A”, device 2) comprising: a first arm (Fig 1, arm 4) extending along a first longitudinal axis with a proximal end (Fig 1, end 8) and a distal end (Fig 1, end 14), the first arm further comprising a flat styling surface (Fig 4 and ¶0044, flat surface 26) opposite an outside surface on the distal end of the first arm (Fig 1); a second arm (Fig 1, arm 6) extending along a second longitudinal axis with a proximal end (Fig 1, end 10) and a distal end (Fig 1, end 16), the proximal end of the second arm pivotally coupled to the proximal end of the first arm (Fig 1, end 8 is pivotally connected to end 10 via connection 12) the second arm (6) further comprising a concave styling surface ( Fig 4, concave surface 28) opposite an outside surface on the distal end of the second arm (Fig 1 and ¶0044); and: a) a first series of features (features 30) on the flat styling surface of the first arm (Fig 1 and ¶0044), the features positioned in a direction transverse to the first longitudinal axis (Fig 1, Fig 3 and ¶0040).
Story is silent in “Embodiment A” to the first arm further comprising a convex styling surface.
Story further teaches in an alternative Embodiment shown in Fig 5 A, the first arm comprising a convex styling surface (Fig 5A and ¶0045 , convex surface 26) so that both surface 26 of heating member 54 and blades 30 have an arc or convex shape. The opposing concave and convex shaped surfaces and/or blades allow the device 2 to have a nesting configuration in the closed position (¶0045).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the styling surface of the first arm of “Embodiment A” of Story’s hair device to have a convex shape, as taught by the alternative Embodiment shown in Fig 5A of Story’s hair device. Such modification of the opposing concave and convex shaped surfaces and/or blades allow the device 2 to have a nesting configuration in the closed position.
Regarding claim 2. Story teaches the invention of claim 1. Story further teaches wherein the device comprises a) a first series of features (Fig 1, features 30) on the convex styling surface of the first arm (Fig 1 and ¶0040), the features positioned in a direction transverse to the first longitudinal axis (Fig 1 and ¶0040) .
Regarding claim 3. Story teaches the invention of claim 1. Story further teaches a second series of features (features 48) on the outside surface of the first arm (Fig 1), wherein the second series of features are larger compared to the first series of features (annotated Fig 1, second features 48 “A” is larger than first series of features 30 “B”).
Regarding claim 4. Story teaches the invention of claim 3. Story further teaches the first series of features and the second series of features are comprised of ridges (Fig 1 and ¶0039 and ¶0048), wherein a middle portion of each ridge is greater in height than a side portion of each ridge (¶0044 for middle portion of each ridge is greater in height than a side portion of each ridge of first series features 30). Story is silent to a middle portion of each ridge is greater in height than a side portion of each ridge of second series of features.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify middle portion of each ridge such that it’s greater in height than a side portion of each ridge of the second series of features of story’s hair device. Such modification would enhance volume of users’ hair, provide properly shaped curls forming defined arches to meet users’ needs and preferences.
In addition, the instant disclosure describes the selection of the middle portion of each ridge being greater in height than a side portion of each ridge as merely preferable [¶0075 and ¶0141] and does not describe it as contributing any unexpected result to the hair device. As such, the selection of the middle portion of each ridge being greater in height than a side portion of each ridge is deemed matters of design choice (lacking in any criticality), well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results.
Regarding claim 5. Story teaches the invention of claim 3. Story further teaches the first series of features and the second series of features have rounded tops (¶0047, for rounded first series of features 30; Fig 1 and Fig 12 show rounded second series of features 48 in rounded top shape around the perimeter of first arm 4).
Regarding claim 6. Story teaches the invention of claim 3. Story further teaches the second series of features (series of features 48) is positioned in the direction transverse to the first longitudinal axis or to the second longitudinal axis (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7. Story teaches the invention of claim 2. Story further teaches the first series of features (features 30) spans the entire length of the convex styling surface (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8. Story teaches the invention of claim 1, but silent to each feature of the first series of features is about 1 mm to about 5 mm in width, with about 1 mm to about 5 mm between each feature.
Story further teaches that the thickness/ width of each row of feature 30 is generally the same. However, in some embodiments, the thickness of each row of features can vary from each other (¶0043); and that the space between each row of features 30 can be of various lengths and distances (¶0043). Such width of the features and space between the features would allow a strand or strands of coarse hair to fall between the rows of blades (¶0043) and allow the hair of a user to be separated by the rows of blades for straightening by the device (¶0043).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to specify each feature of the first series of features to be about 1 mm to about 5 mm in width, and about 1 mm to about 5 mm between each feature of Story’s hair device. Such width of the features and space between the features would allow a strand or strands of coarse hair to fall between the rows of blades and allow the hair of a user to be separated by the rows of blades for straightening by the device.
Regarding claim 9. Story teaches the invention of claim 3, but silent to each feature of the second series of features on the outside surface of the first arm or the second arm is about 1.5 mm in width, with about 2 mm between each feature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify each feature of the second series of features on the outside surface of the first arm or the second arm to be about 1.5 mm in width, and about 2 mm between each feature of Story’s hair device. Such modification would facilitate or improve the passing of the hair through the device, assist in pressing or straightening the hair, and assist in curling the hair after it is passed through the heated blades (¶0043).
Regarding claim 10. Story teaches the invention of claim 1. Story further teaches the first arm (arm 4) and the second arm (arm 6) pivot between an open position and a closed position (¶0010), wherein the closed position aligns the convex styling surface of the first arm to contact the concave styling surface of the second arm (Fig 5A).
Regarding claim 11. Story teaches the invention of claim 1. Story further teaches at least one heating element (¶0037) configured to heat the convex styling surface and the concave styling surface to at least one programmed temperature (¶0037. The heating circuit and heating elements are capable to heat the convex styling surface and the concave styling surface to at least one programmed temperature).
Regarding claim 12. Story teaches the invention of claim 11. Story further teaches a first, a second, and a third programmable temperature (abstract), wherein the first temperature is the highest temperature and the third temperature is the lowest temperature (¶0013).
Regarding claim 13. Story teaches the invention of claim 11. Story further teaches a switch (¶0050, knob 22) configured to set the at least one heating element to the at least one programmed temperature (¶0050. The knob 22 is capable to set and select the at least one heating element to the at least one programmed temperature).
Regarding claim 15. Story teaches the invention of claim 1. Story further teaches the concave styling surface and the convex styling surface are ceramic, aluminum, steel (¶0039).
Regarding claim 16. Story teaches the invention of claim 3. Story further teaches the second series of features covers less length than the first series of features (annotated Fig 1, length L1 is less than length L2).
Regarding claim 17. Story teaches the invention of claim 1. Story further teaches the device comprises b) a first series of features on the concave styling surface of the second arm (¶0040), the features positioned in a direction transverse to the second longitudinal axis (¶0040).
Regarding claim 18. Story teaches the invention of claim 17. Story further teaches the first series of features are comprised of grooves (¶0039), but silent to a middle portion of each groove is lower in height than a side portion of each groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify middle portion of each groove such that it’s lower in height than a side portion of each groove of Story’s hair device. Such modification would enhance volume of users’ hair, provide properly shaped curls forming defined arches to meet users’ needs and preferences.
In addition, the instant disclosure describes the selection of the middle portion of each groove is lower in height than a side portion of each groove as merely preferable [¶0074-¶0075] and does not describe it as contributing any unexpected result to the hair device. As such, the selection of the middle portion of each ridge being greater in height than a side portion of each ridge is deemed matters of design choice (lacking in any criticality), well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results.
Regarding claim 19. Story teaches the invention of claim 17. Story further teaches the first series of features of features has rounded edges (Fig 7 and ¶0040, ¶0047).
Regarding claim 20. Story teaches the invention of claim 1. Story further teaches the first series of features does not span the width of the concave styling surface (¶0040).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Story (US 20130263881 A1, hereinafter “Story”) in view of Parris et al (US 20160309868 A1, hereinafter “Parris”).
Regarding claim 14. Story teaches the invention of claim 1, but silent to the concave styling surface and the convex styling surface are sealed from moisture.
Parris teaches hair device for treating the hair (abstract and Fig 1-9) with at least of the styling surfaces comprises a seal (14) (¶0033) so that the seal can ensure good water-resistance of the device, in particular by preventing any runoff from passing into the interior of a mobile arm of the device while it is being used (¶0008), and that The water resistance provided by the seal makes it possible to prevent any risk of short-circuit in the device, in particular when the electrical and/or electronic elements are housed in one of the arms of the device, for example a heating resistor in the case of a straightening iron (¶0011).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modify one of the concave or convex styling surface of story’s hair device and incorporate a seal, as taught by Parris. Such modification would allow the seal to ensure good water-resistance of the device, in particular by preventing any runoff from passing into the interior of a mobile arm of the device while it is being used, and that the water resistance provided by the seal makes it possible to prevent any risk of short-circuit in the device, in particular when the electrical and/or electronic elements are housed in one of the arms of the device, for example a heating resistor in the case of a straightening iron.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was made to duplicate the seal in the other concave or convex styling surfaces, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In this instance case, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize duplication of the seal in the other concave or convex styling surface would allow good water-resistance of the hair device and prevent any unwanted risk of short-circuit in the device.
Conclusion
Additional references were also reviewed during the examination of this application and listed for your reference in the notice of reference cited form.
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772