DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13,14,50,51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 14 recite “said support base”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “said support base” in previous claim limitations
Claims 50 and 51 recite “said support base”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “said support base” in previous claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 38-40, 44, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Chinese reference(CN117248983A).
Chinese reference in figure 2 teaches a system for electrostatically purifying air using a variable geometry manifold comprising an axially symmetric intake(intake starting at inlet 21) having a proximal and terminal end, wherein the terminal end is narrower than the proximal end(examiner noting gradual narrowing in figure 2 downstream of inlet 21) , and wherein the axially symmetric intake is configured to be in fluid communication with an electrostatic precipitator (ESP) air purifier(noting charged part 11 and dust collecting part 12 downstream of axially symmetric intake), wherein the manifold is secured to a stationary or non-stationary object and positioned to allow external air(exhaust gas G) containing particulate matter that is neutrally charged to pass through the axially symmetric intake, wherein the axially symmetric intake forms a laminar flow of the external air that is introduced to the ESP air purifier(noting transition to laminar flow by gradual narrowing to terminal end) where it passes through an electric field that extends from a negatively charged plate to a positively charged collecting plate(noting charged part 11 and dust collecting part 12 downstream of axially symmetric intake), wherein the electric field ionizes the particulate matter within the laminal flow, and wherein the electric field repels the ionized particulate matter away from the negative plate and towards the collecting plate causing the ionized particulate matter to attach to the collecting plate(translation stating “the particulate matter contained in the exhaust gas G flowing in the charging part 11 is charged by the negative ion stream generated by the corona discharge to be sent to the dust collecting part 12. In the dust collecting part 12, a second ground electrode 62 and a high voltage flat plate electrode 32 are arranged in parallel with the flow direction of the exhaust gas G.”).
With regards to claim 39, Chinese reference taken together with Japanese reference further teaches wherein the axially symmetric intake comprises a continuous axially symmetric intake, or a non-continuous axially symmetric intake.
With regards to claim 40, Chinese reference taken together with Japanese reference further teaches wherein the non-stationary object is selected from: a vehicle, a bus, a car, a train, a boat, a ship, an airplane(translation stating “collecting particulate matter in an exhaust gas generated by combustion of a diesel engine”).
With regards to claim 44, Chinese reference further teaches an intake assembly coupled to the proximal end of the axially symmetric intake(noting figure 2 of Chinese reference providing intake assembly from the inlet 21 to the start of the gradual narrowing transition from a proximal end to a terminal end).
With regards to claim 49, Chinese reference taken together with Japanese reference further teaches a support base securing the axially symmetric intake in-line with the air flow into the body of the ESP air purifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,7,12,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese reference(CN117248983A) taken together with Japanese reference(JP2012-503359A).
Chinese reference in figure 2 teaches a system for electrostatically purifying air using a variable geometry manifold comprising an axially symmetric intake(intake starting at inlet 21) having a proximal and terminal end, wherein the terminal end is narrower than the proximal end(examiner noting gradual narrowing in figure 2 downstream of inlet 21), and wherein the axially symmetric intake is configured to be in fluid communication with an electrostatic precipitator (ESP) air purifier(noting charged part 11 and dust collecting part 12 downstream of axially symmetric intake), wherein the axially symmetric intake forms a laminar flow of the external air that is introduced to the ESP air purifier(noting transition to laminar flow by gradual narrowing to terminal end) where it passes through an electric field that extends from a negatively charged plate(high voltage electrode 3) to a positively charged collecting plate(high voltage plate electrode 32, wherein the electric field ionizes the particulate matter within the laminal flow, and wherein the electric field repels the ionized particulate matter away from the negative plate and towards the collecting plate causing the ionized particulate matter to attach to the collecting plate(translation stating “the particulate matter contained in the exhaust gas G flowing in the charging part 11 is charged by the negative ion stream generated by the corona discharge to be sent to the dust collecting part 12. In the dust collecting part 12, a second ground electrode 62 and a high voltage flat plate electrode 32 are arranged in parallel with the flow direction of the exhaust gas G.”). Chinese reference is silent as to a suction fan mounted to the terminal end of the axially symmetric intake, and configured to draw external air containing particulate matter that is neutrally charged through the axially symmetric intake.
Japanese reference in figure 1 teaches a system for electrostatically purifying air including a suction fan(fan unit 13) mounted at an inlet portion of a casing(11), wherein the casing includes an electrostatic precipitator(12), wherein the suction fan is configured to draw external air containing particulate matter that is neutrally charged into the electrostatic precipitator. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a suction fan mounted to the terminal end of the axially symmetric intake of Chinese reference in order to provide a mechanism for drawing a laminar flow with increased velocity by the suction fan into an electrostatic precipitator air purifier.
With regards to claim 2, Chinese reference taken together with Japanese reference further teaches wherein the axially symmetric intake comprises a continuous axially symmetric intake, or a non-continuous axially symmetric intake.
With regards to claim 7, Chinese reference taken together with Japanese reference further teaches an intake assembly coupled to the proximal end of the axially symmetric intake(noting figure 2 of Chinese reference providing intake assembly from the inlet 21 to the start of the gradual narrowing transition from a proximal end to a terminal end).
With regards to claim 12, Chinese reference taken together with Japanese reference further teaches a support base securing the axially symmetric intake in-line with the air flow into the body of the ESP air purifier.
With regards to claim 15, Chinese reference taken together with Japanese reference further teaches a mounting plate configured to secure the suction fan in-line with the air flow into the body of the ESP air purifier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 41-43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4,41 recites “wherein said continuous axially symmetric intake comprises a plurality of intake panels coupled by one or more in-line brackets.”. Chinese reference teaches a continuous axially symmetric intake, however Chinese reference does not teach or suggest wherein said continuous axially symmetric intake comprises a plurality of intake panels coupled by one or more in-line brackets.
Claims 5,42 recites “wherein said continuous axially symmetric intake comprises at least four intake panels coupled by a plurality in-line brackets.”. Chinese reference teaches a continuous axially symmetric intake, however Chinese reference does not teach or suggest wherein said continuous axially symmetric intake comprises at least four intake panels coupled by a plurality in-line brackets. Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claims 2 and 5 into claim 1. Claim 43 depends on claim 42 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claims 39 and 42 into claim 38.
Claims 13,14,50,51 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13,50 recites “wherein said support base comprises a plurality of support arms secured to the proximal end of the axially symmetric intake.”. Chinese reference teaches a support base, however Chinese reference does not teach or suggest wherein said support base comprises a plurality of support arms secured to the proximal end of the axially symmetric intake.
Claims 14,51 recites “wherein said support base comprises one or more support columns secured to the terminal end of the axially symmetric intake.”. Chinese reference teaches a support base, however Chinese reference does not teach or suggest wherein said support base comprises one or more support columns secured to the terminal end of the axially symmetric intake.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
March 24, 2026