DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is two paragraphs. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein 30-80% of the electrode active substances of the anticipated residual area of active substances and the adjacent area are removed”.
To maintain consistency with the rest of the claim, the limitation should be edited to read:
“wherein 30-80% of the electrode active substances of the anticipated residual area of active substances and the adjacent area of the anticipated residual area of active substances are removed”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “measuring a thickness of an electrode plate” (lines 8-9).
It is unclear what electrode plate is referred to by the limitation.
Prior to the limitation, the claim defines a metal current collector with electrode active substances and describes laser cleaning steps.
It is unclear whether the measurement requires a comparison with a standard “electrode plate” or if the measurement is of the metal current collector carrying the active substances.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “pressing the electrode plate” (line 13).
Following on the comments above, it is unclear whether “the electrode plate” is the electrode plate that is measured or if the claim is to be interpreted to mean that it is the metal current collector with electrode active substances that is pressed.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “pressing the electrode plate, whereby the electrode active substances of the anticipated residual area of active substances and the adjacent area of the anticipated residual area of active substances are fluffy (lines 13-15).
Previously, the claim defines “active substances from an anticipated residual area … and an adjacent area of the anticipated residual area” that are removed by the second laser cleaning.
It is unclear which electrode active substances are required to be fluffy.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “removing the electrode active substances of the anticipated residual area of active substances” (lines 19-20).
Previously, the claim already describes removing the electrode active substances from the anticipated residual area (lines 4-5).
Applicant is invited to rephrase the claim to reflect the intended method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0106088, hereinafter Xu in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2023/0347450, hereinafter Jiang, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0170454, hereinafter Zhang, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0158156, hereinafter Naoi and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0158197, hereinafter Xu ‘197.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method of manufacturing an electrode plate (130) of a tab-buried lithium-ion battery (abstract and figures 2-8).
The method includes providing a plurality of grooves (120) on one surface of an electrode sheet substrate (110) (paragraph [0058]).
The method further comprises cutting the electrode sheet substrate (110) along cutting lines (111) to form multiple electrode plates (130). Each cutting line (111) passes through a groove (120) to split the groove (120) into two portions – tab installation groove (121) and first groove (122). Tab installation groove (121) is considered to correspond to the instantly claimed “anticipated residual area” and first groove (122) is considered to correspond to the instantly claimed “adjacent area”.
The method further comprises welding a tab in tab installation groove (121) of each electrode plate, applying a tab adhesive (143) to the electrode plate and punching (“cutting”) the electrode plate to form gap (153) (paragraphs [0078, 0083, 0141]).
Xu teaches winding the electrode plate with a separator to form a jelly roll and encapsulating (“sealing”) the jelly roll in an outer shell/housing to form a battery (paragraphs [0143, 0144]).
Xu does not specify the manner of forming the grooves (120).
Xu fails to teach: 1) a step of removing electrode active substances from the “anticipated residual area” and the “adjacent area” using a second laser cleaning; 2) a step of measuring a thickness to determine an amount of removed active substances; 3) a step of removing electrode active substances from the “anticipated residual area” by a roller brush; 4) a pressing step; and 5) a step of removing electrode active substances from a tab receiving groove of a metal current collector using a first laser cleaning.
Regarding 1), 2) and 3), Jiang teaches a two-step process for forming a groove (12) on an electrode plate (abstract). Jiang teaches a laser cleaning step that removes a portion of the active material on the electrode plate followed by a step of removing remaining active material by a brush (30) (paragraphs [0048-0052] and figure 2). Jiang teaches that a thickness of the active material in the area of the groove (12) following the laser cleaning step is in the range 1 µm to 30 µm (paragraph [0049]). Therefore, Jiang’s method involves a step of measuring a thickness of the electrode plate in the area of the groove (12) after the laser cleaning step. Jiang teaches that this is a preferred method for forming grooves, because it avoids damage to the underlying current collector (paragraph [0018]).
Zhang teaches that a typical thickness of the active material of an electrode plate is 30 µm to 200 µm (paragraph [0042]). Therefore, it is understood that Jiang’s laser cleaning step results in the removal of an amount of active material that at least overlaps the instantly claimed 30-80%. For example, if the starting active material thickness is 100 µm and following Jiang’s laser cleaning, the remaining thickness is 30 µm, the cleaning has removed 70% of the active material.
The use of a roller brush for removing material from areas of an electrode plate that are intended to be non-coated is well-known in the art – see, e,g. Naoi (paragraphs [0014, 0015, 0094]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Jiang’s two-step process for providing the grooves (120) in Xu’s electrode plate for the purpose of preventing damage to the underlying current collector; the two-step process includes the steps of: using laser cleaning to remove electrode active substances from the “anticipated residual area” and the “adjacent area”; measuring the thickness of the electrode plate to determine an amount of removed active substances, wherein the range of values for the removed amount overlaps the instantly claimed 30-80%; and removing further electrode active substances from the “anticipated residual area” and the “adjacent area” by a roller brush.
While Xu as modified by Jiang and Naoi does not explicitly disclose the rolling speed of the brush, the duration and the pressure, it is expected that the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be capable of determining an appropriate rolling speed, duration of brushing and pressure by considering the need to not damage the remaining active material and the desired production speed.
The laser cleaning step in the combination of Xu and Jiang is considered the instantly claimed “second laser cleaning”.
Regarding 4), it is well-known in the art to include a pressing step to increase the density of the active material – see, e.g. Xu ‘197 (paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a pressing step for the purpose of increasing the density of the active material in Xu’s electrode plate.
The previously removed active material from the “anticipated residual area” and the “adjacent area” is not subject to pressing and is thus expected to be “fluffy” in comparison to the pressed active material.
Regarding 5), removing electrode active substances from a tab receiving groove of a metal current collector using a laser cleaning is a well-known process in the art – see, e.g. Zhang, who teaches forming a groove by removing all of the coating active material through a laser cleaning step (abstract).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform Zhang’s step on a metal current collector as a comparison sample in a quality control step comparing an electrode plate having grooves formed by Zhang’s 1-step process with an electrode plate having grooves formed by Jiang’s 2-step process.
Zhang’s laser cleaning is considered the instantly claimed “first laser cleaning”.
Given that Jiang’s “second laser cleaning” removes a portion of the material (e.g. 70%), it is expected that Jiang’s “second laser” scanning power is proportionally less than Zhang’s “first laser” scanning power (e.g. 70%).
The optimum range for the amount of removed electrode active substances from the “anticipated residual area” and the “adjacent area” after the “second laser cleaning” step in the combination of Xu, Jiang, Zhang, Naoi and Xu ‘197 overlaps the instant application's optimum range of 30-80%. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches that the tab installation groove (121, “anticipated residual area”) is used to install the tab. Therefore its width is understood to be the same as the width of the tab receiving groove.
Xu teaches that the tab installation groove (121, “anticipated residual area”) has a length L1, which may be equal to the length L2 of the first groove (122, “adjacent area”). L2 is in the range 0.1 mm to 15.0 mm (paragraphs [0024, 0025, 0027]).
Xu's optimum range overlaps the instant application's optimum range of 0-5 mm. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches that the first groove (122, “adjacent area”) has a length L2 in the range 0.1 mm to 15.0 mm (paragraphs [0024, 0025, 0027]).
Xu's optimum range overlaps the instant application's optimum range of 0.5 mm to less than 3 mm. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches as modified by Jiang and Niao teaches a roller brush.
Xu as modified by Jiang and Niao fails to teach the width of the roller brush.
The ordinarily skilled artist would have to select a width for the roller brush. It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a roller brush with a width equal to the width of the groove for the purpose of being able to sweep away the active material remaining after the “second laser cleaning”.
Conclusion
/LILIA NEDIALKOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724