DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2024 and 06/04/2025 was filed and acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 2016/0381704 A1; “Chu”) in view of Vannithamby (US 2015/0201342; “Vannithamby”).
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses: A device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; (Chu in para. [0019]-[0020] “dedicated processing unit . . . the processor electronics can include ... and at least one memory device to old data …”)
Chu discloses a transmission scheduling logic in the form of a configuration function that determines when a station can transmit (i.e., “a transmission scheduling logic”) and/or receive, and an access point (AP) employed to register stations (STAs) (para [0020] “The AP 120 can be employed to register STAs 105, 110, thereby allowing the wireless devices to receive wireless communication services. As shown in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a set of wireless stations (STAs) 105, 110 that can be controlled by a configuration function that determines when a station can transmit and/or receive information via the network 130.”).
Chu discloses: detect a plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., registering a set of STAs 105, 110) (para [0020]).
Chu discloses transmit the schedule data to the ambient power device by communicating wake scheduling information/Target Wake Time (TWT) information to a STA using a TWT element (para [0023]), and by transmitting a TWT Setup frame usable by the STA to establish a next TWT service period: ([0023] the wireless communication system 100 can be employed to perform TWT techniques utilized in 802.11 WLAN, for example. TWT can allow STAs to manage activity in the BSS by scheduling STAs 105, 110 to operate (e.g., transmit information) at different times . . . [0035] the TWT Setup frame can be transmitted by the TWT responding STA during a TWT SP duration. For instance, a value set in the target wake time field communicated via the TWT Setup frame can be set to a time corresponding to the next TWT SP.”)
With respect to claim 1, Chu does not explicitly disclose obtaining energy-storage information for an energy-harvesting/ambient-power device as device profile data at a scheduling entity: determine device profile data associated with an ambient power device of the plurality; However, Vannithamby in para.[0045] discloses receiving energy storage information of an energy-harvesting device, including device identifier, energy storage capacity and/or storage level (i.e., device profile) via signaling such as device capability negotiation and/or subsequent messages). (Vannithamby, para [0045], [0054] - [0056]).
Chu does not explicitly disclose generating a schedule based on such energy-storage profile information: generate schedule data based on the device profile data; However, Vannithamby discloses scheduling communications with an energy-harvesting device based on a scheduling policy that considers energy storage information, including considering energy storage capacity and/or energy storage level. (Vannithamby, para [0047], [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Chu’s TWT-based scheduling for a plurality of wireless devices while incorporating Vannithamby’s teaching of obtaining energy storage information (including energy storage capacity) and scheduling communications based on that information, because both references are directed to scheduling communications to improve power efficiency and reliability for power-constrained devices, and Vannithamby expressly teaches using energy storage information to guide scheduling decisions.
Doing so would have predictably improved power efficiency and reduced failed communications by tailoring the scheduled wake/communication opportunities to the energy-storage characteristics of the ambient-power (energy-harvesting) devices, while maintaining Chu’s scheduled access framework.
Regarding claim 2, The device of claim 1, Chu discloses: wherein the schedule data is indicative of a Target Wake Time (TWT) schedule associated with the ambient power device by disclosing that TWT values are communicated in a TWT element to convey information related to the TWT scheme (para [0023]) and that the OFDMA TWT element includes fields such as target wake time, wake duration, and wake interval (para [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, The device of claim 2, Chu discloses: wherein the device profile data is indicative of at least one of: a transmission duration associated with the ambient power device by disclosing a TWT duration field indicating medium time used for transmission (para [0037]) and nominal minimum wake duration/wake duration fields (para [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, The device of claim 3, Chu discloses that a TWT schedule includes duration of a service period (e.g., nominal minimum wake duration / TWT duration) and an interval between service periods (e.g., TWT wake interval) (para [0026], para [0038]-[0039]). But Chu does not explicitly disclose selecting the interval between service periods based on an energy-storage-capacity characteristic of the device: wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to determine: a service period of the TWT schedule based on the transmission duration; and a service interval of the TWT schedule based on the energy storage capacity. However, Vannithamby discloses scheduling communication based on a scheduling policy that considers energy storage information and, in particular, may be configured to consider energy storage capacity and/or energy storage level. (Vannithamby, para [0047], [0058]).
Regarding claim 5, The device of claim 4, Chu discloses: wherein the ambient power device is configured to operate in a semi-sleep mode during the service interval and in a transmission mode during the service period by disclosing that a station is required to be awake during a TWT service period and may go to sleep outside scheduled service periods (para [0036], para [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Chu discloses: A method, comprising: detecting a plurality of ambient power devices; by disclosing detecting/registering multiple stations and controlling their access to the medium. (Chu, para [0020]).
Chu does not explicitly disclose that the profile information determined/obtained for the set of devices includes energy-storage information of energy-harvesting/ambient-power devices: determining device profile data associated with a set of ambient power devices of the plurality of ambient power devices; However, Vannithamby discloses receiving energy storage information (including energy storage capacity) from energy-harvesting devices. (Vannithamby, para [0054] - [0056]).
Chu does not explicitly disclose generating the schedule using energy-storage profile information for energy-harvesting/ambient-power devices: generating schedule data based on the device profile data; However, Vannithamby discloses scheduling communications with energy-harvesting devices based on a scheduling policy that considers energy storage information, including energy storage capacity and/or energy storage level. (Vannithamby, para [0047], [0058]).
Chu discloses: and transmitting the schedule data to the set of ambient power devices. by disclosing communication of wake scheduling/TWT information in a TWT element. (Chu, para [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform Chu’s method of scheduling/wake coordination for a plurality/set of devices while incorporating Vannithamby’s teaching of receiving energy storage information and using it as an input to the scheduling policy, because doing so is a predictable use of known energy-state information to improve scheduling decisions for power-constrained/energy-harvesting devices.
Doing so would have predictably reduced failed communications and improved network efficiency by allocating communications opportunities to energy-harvesting devices according to their energy-storage characteristics while still leveraging Chu’s broadcast/group scheduling framework.
Regarding claim 14, The method of claim 13, Chu discloses wherein the schedule data is indicative of a broadcast TWT schedule associated with the set of ambient power devices by disclosing that an AP may decide start time, service period, and interval for broadcast TWT and broadcast these items in beacons (para [0024]), and by disclosing a broadcast TWT Set element broadcast in beacon frames (para [0038]).
Regarding claim 15, The method of claim 14, Chu discloses wherein the device profile data is indicative of at least one of: one or more transmission durations associated with the set of ambient power devices by disclosing a TWT duration field and duration requirement used for OFDMA transmissions and shared TWT service periods (para [0037]).
Regarding claim 16, The method of claim 15, further comprising: Chu discloses: determining a service period of the broadcast TWT schedule based on the one or more transmission durations; at least by disclosing that broadcast TWT defines wake duration/service period parameters and that duration requirements may be used for group transmissions. (Chu, para [0037], [0038] - [0039]).
Chu does not explicitly disclose basing the interval between broadcast service periods on energy storage capacities of the set of devices: and a service interval of the broadcast TWT schedule based on the one or more energy storage capacities. However, Vannithamby teaches scheduling communications with energy-harvesting devices based on a scheduling policy that considers energy storage information, including energy storage capacity. (Vannithamby, para [0047], [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, The method of claim 16, Chu does not explicitly disclose charging the ambient power devices during the scheduled service period. further comprising charging, the set of ambient power devices during the service period. However, Gollakota teaches transmitting power packets via wireless communication signals such that harvesting devices harvest power and energy storage (e.g., batteries) can be recharged. (Gollakota, col. 2, lines 20-24; col. 11, lines 23-30).
Claims 6-12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 2016/0381704 A1; “Chu”) in view of Vannithamby (US 9,271,242 B2; “Vannithamby”) and further in view of Gollakota (US 10,383,126 B2; “Gollakota”)
Regarding claim 6, The device of claim 5, Chu teaches the schedule data defines the service period during which transmissions occur under the TWT schedule. (Chu, para [0036]). However, Chu does not explicitly disclose generating and transmitting power/charging-oriented frames (power packets) on a first RF channel during the scheduled service period: wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: generate at least one control frame based on the schedule data; and transmit the at least one control frame to the ambient power device during the service period on a first RF channel. However, Gollakota teaches inserting/transmitting “power packets” for transmission (including power packets implemented as UDP broadcast packets) and transmitting such packets via Wi-Fi data transmission. (Gollakota, col. 2, lines 1-6; col. 2, lines 40-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Chu’s scheduled-service-period communications (as already modified in view of Vannithamby’s energy-storage-information-based scheduling of claim 5) to additionally incorporate Gollakota’s teaching of transmitting power packets on Wi-Fi channels during scheduled periods, in order to deliver power-bearing frames/packets to an energy-constrained/energy-harvesting device during coordinated service periods.
Doing so would have predictably enabled energy-aware scheduled operation (per Vannithamby) while also providing power-packet delivery during the scheduled service period (per Gollakota), thereby improving energy replenishment opportunities and coordinated communications under the established schedule framework of Chu.
Regarding claim 7, The device of claim 6, Chu does not explicitly disclose receiving an uplink frame on a second RF channel indicative of uplink data from the ambient power device in the manner claimed: wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to receive, on a second RF channel, at least one uplink frame indicative of uplink data from the ambient power device. However, Gollakota teaches uplink data from devices to the wireless transmitter, including uplink data encoded using backscatter, and also teaches transmissions across multiple communication channels/frequencies. (Gollakota, col. 8, lines 55-56; col. 2, lines 40-44).
Regarding claim 8, The device of claim 7, Chu does not explicitly disclose recharging an energy storage of the ambient power device based on the transmitted control frames/power packets: wherein an energy storage of the ambient power device is recharged based on the at least one control frame. However, Gollakota teaches that harvesting devices may include batteries/energy storage and that power harvesting circuitry may provide power to recharge such batteries/energy storage. (Gollakota, col. 11, lines 23-30).
Regarding claim 9, The device of claim 8, Chu does not explicitly disclose using the recharged energy storage to generate uplink data: wherein the energy storage of the ambient power device is utilized to generate the uplink data. However, Gollakota teaches that batteries/energy storage may be used to power electronic devices (including sensors) and also at col.7 lines 55-57 teaches uplink data transmission from devices to the wireless transmitter (including via backscatter). (Gollakota, col. 11, lines 23-30; col.7 lines 55-57; col. 8, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 10, The device of claim 5, Chu does not explicitly disclose identifying a powered wireless device that is in communication with (i.e., coupled to or otherwise in communication with) an ambient power/harvesting device. wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: identify a wireless device in communication with the ambient power device; However, Gollakota teaches an electronic device in communication with harvesting circuitry. (Gollakota, col. 11, lines 39-44).
Chu discloses: and transmit the schedule data to the wireless device. By scheduling information (TWT schedule data) to a STA using a TWT element and/or a TWT Setup frame. (Chu, para [0023], [0035]).
Regarding claim 11, The device of claim 10, Chu discloses wherein the wireless device is configured to operate in a power saving mode during the service interval and in an operational mode during the service period by disclosing that stations may go to sleep and are required to be awake during the TWT service period (para [0036], para [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, The device of claim 11, Chu teaches that the service period is the time during which stations are awake and frames are exchanged under the scheduled service period of the TWT schedule. (Chu, para [0036]) however, Chu does not explicitly disclose receiving, from such wireless device, an uplink frame associated with an ambient power device during the service period. wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to receive, from the wireless device, at least one uplink frame associated with the ambient power device during the service period. However, Gollakota teaches feedback signaling from harvesting circuitry and/or an electronic device in communication with the harvesting circuitry to provide a value (e.g., an electrical characteristic) used to influence transmission of power packets. (Gollakota, col. 8, lines 61-67; col. 9, line 1).
Regarding claim 18, Chu discloses: A device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a transmission scheduling logic, configured to receive schedule data indicative of a service period and a service interval by disclosing a wireless device with processor/memory (para [0019]) and receiving a frame with a field indicating a target wake time and using TWT-related fields (para [0005], para [0026]).
Chu does not explicitly disclose receiving a charging frame during the service period and using it to recharge energy storage: receive, on a first wireless channel, a charging frame during the service period; and recharge an energy storage based on the charging frame.
However, Gollakota teaches transmitting “power packets” via wireless communication (including Wi-Fi) and that harvesting devices may harvest power such that batteries/energy storage are recharged. (Gollakota, col. 2, lines 1-6; col. 2, lines 20-24; col. 11, lines 23-30).
Chu does not explicitly disclose transmitting an uplink frame on a second wireless channel during the service period: transmit, on a second wireless channel, an uplink frame during the service period.
However, Gollakota teaches uplink data from devices to the wireless transmitter (including uplink data encoded using backscatter) and teaches use of multiple communication channels/frequencies. (Gollakota, col. 8, lines 55-56; col. 2, lines 40-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Chu’s receipt/use of schedule data defining service periods/intervals for a device while further incorporating Gollakota’s charging frames/power packets and uplink (backscatter) communications, because Gollakota expressly teaches using wireless communication frames/packets to deliver power to energy-harvesting devices and enabling those devices to communicate uplink data, and Chu teaches coordinated scheduled wake/service periods for efficient communications.
Doing so would have predictably enabled an energy-harvesting device to remain in a low-power state outside scheduled service periods, receive power packets during scheduled service periods to recharge its energy storage, and communicate uplink information during the scheduled service period with reduced contention and improved energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, The device of claim 18, Chu discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: operate in a semi-sleep mode during the service interval; and operate in a transmission mode during the service period by disclosing sleep/awake behavior tied to TWT service periods (para [0036], para [0039]).
Regarding claim 20, The device of claim 19, Chu does not explicitly disclose generating uplink data during the service interval for later uplink frame transmission.wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to generate uplink data associated with the uplink frame during the service interval.
However, Gollakota teaches collecting/generating sensor readings (data) at harvesting devices and recording timing information for such readings, thereby evidencing generation of data for subsequent communication. (Gollakota, col. 9, lines 34-40; col. 10, lines 1-8).
Conclusion
/CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478