DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to Applicant’s Amendment filed May 6, 2026.
Claims 1, 14 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam et al, International Patent Application Publication No. WO 2022170267 (hereinafter Mahalingam) in view of Zhang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250294541 A1 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 1, Mahalingam discloses a device (e.g., FIG. 1A, ¶ [0029] the base stations 114a, 114b may be a base transceiver station (BTS), a NodeB, an eNode B (eNB), a Home Node B, a Home eNode B, a next generation NodeB, such as a gNode B (gNB), a new radio (NR) NodeB, a site controller, an access point (AP), a wireless router, and the like; e.g., FIG. 13, AP 1302 with controller 1310), comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a transmission scheduling logic (e.g., ¶ [0224] methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor [and memory]. A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a WTRU, UE, terminal, base station, RNC, or any host computer), configured to: detect a plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0003] backscatter indication message (BID) is received from an access point (AP). An interrogation signal is received. Uplink data is transmitted to the AP based on the BID; e.g., ¶ [0090] In some implementations, a Backscattering Station (BSTA) is a device which can transmit information by backscattering a signal. In some implementations, a BSTA may include an ultra-low powered device, or Zero Energy device; e.g., ¶ 0093] In some implementations, a Backscatter Indication message (BID) message is transmitted by an AP to one or more identified BSTAs. In some implementations, the BID is addressed to the BSTAs based on their shortened identity (e.g., mnemonic); e.g., ¶ [0099] In some implementations, a BSTA is capable of backscattering, e.g., on an UL, e.g., based on an ambient or dedicated signal, such as an I NT_SIG or CW; e.g., ¶ [0174] In some implementations, to enable backscattering in the 802.11 ax framework, the AP transmits a Trigger frame with an Assisted BSR flag and the locations of one or more RUs for Assisted BSR signaling. The AP may periodically send a query to BSTAs to determine the rate of transmissions on the UL and the whether the BSTAs have pending data to transmit); determine one or more device identifiers associated with one or more ambient power devices of the plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0093] BID message is… addressed to the BSTAs based on their shortened identity (e.g., mnemonic); e.g., ¶ [0175] In some implementations, if the receiving BSTA has pending data in its buffer, it selects (e.g., uniformly randomly) an indicated RU that is marked for Assisted BSR. In some implementations, on the current frame following the Trigger frame, the BSTA transmits a BSR concatenated with its mnemonic on the selected RU; e.g., ¶ [0176] AP and/or coordinated TRPs provide the I NT_SIG (CW in the figure) on the Assisted BSR RUs for the device to backscatter their BSR. After the BSR has been received from the BSTAs (and from the other STAs that require UL transmission, e.g., using RACH slots), the AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit, and matches those opportunities and resource requirement (e.g., RU requirements) with BSR requirements received from BSTAs); determine one or more transmission durations associated with the one or more ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0176] After the BSR has been received from the BSTAs (and from the other STAs that require UL transmission, e.g., using RACH slots), the AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit, and matches those opportunities and resource requirement (e.g., RU requirements) with BSR requirements received from BSTAs; e.g., ¶ [0200] Some implementations include backscattering devices backscattering on the current frame following the Trigger frame on the specific RU mapped to its mnemonic. Some implementations include a backscattering device receiving, in a Common Field in a header, an index (or indices) to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule. In some implementations, the time schedule indicates a start time offset and/or duration. Some implementations include a backscattering device receiving, in a User-specific Field of the 802.11 header along with its mnemonic, an index to energy bearing resources and a time schedule. Schedule containing start time offset and duration); assign one or more frequencies and time slots to the plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0200] [STA] receives trigger frame and contention opportunity signal within the trigger frame, indices to one or more time-frequency resources for indicating backscattering requirement… Some implementations include an AP providing an interrogation signal on the time-frequency resources or an AP securing ambient sources (e.g., other STAs receiving on DL from AP) on the indicated contention-based time-frequency resources… Some implementations include a backscattering device receiving, in a Common Field in a header, an index (or indices) to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule); and generate at least one control frame based on the one or more device identifiers and the one or more transmission durations (e.g., ¶ [0176] AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit, and matches those opportunities and resource requirement (e.g., RU requirements) with BSR requirements received from BSTAs. If sufficient capacity is available on the next frame, the AP transmits the BSTA mnemonics and the corresponding RU mappings for backscattering on a subsequent Trigger frame; e.g., ¶ [0177] the BSTAs, receiving a subsequent Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering and BID flag set to True, will backscatter on the specific RU; e.g., ¶ [0200] backscattering devices backscattering on the current frame following the Trigger frame on the specific RU mapped to its mnemonic [using header information, index for access] to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule. In some implementations, the time schedule indicates a start time offset and/or duration).
Mahalingam does not expressly disclose determine if the plurality of ambient power devices may be grouped.
Zhang discloses determine if the plurality of ambient power devices may be grouped (e.g., ¶ [0008] [0024] [0116] where the at least one resource is determined based on at least one of the following: …group identity information of the zero-power device; ), and assign one or more frequencies and time slots to the plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0004] [0112] each zero-power device may determine a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of generating control frames for ambient power device traffic based on device identifiers, transmission durations, and configured time slots and frequencies, as disclosed by Mahalingam, with the disclosure of grouping ambient power devices, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to improve positioning accuracy of the ambient devices (Zhang: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, Mahalingam in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 1.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: assign one or more frequencies to the one or more ambient power devices; and assign one or more time slots to the one or more ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0200] [STA] receives trigger frame and contention opportunity signal within the trigger frame, indices to one or more time-frequency resources for indicating backscattering requirement… Some implementations include an AP providing an interrogation signal on the time-frequency resources or an AP securing ambient sources (e.g., other STAs receiving on DL from AP) on the indicated contention-based time-frequency resources… Some implementations include a backscattering device receiving, in a Common Field in a header, an index (or indices) to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule).
Regarding Claim 3, Mahalingam in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 2.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to generate a resource map indicative of the one or more device identifiers and at least one of: the one or more frequencies or the one or more time slots (e.g., ¶ [0177] [0178] BSTAs receive a Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering from AP; e.g., ¶ [0200] [STA] receives trigger frame and contention opportunity signal within the trigger frame, indices to one or more time-frequency resources for indicating backscattering requirement… Some implementations include an AP providing an interrogation signal on the time-frequency resources or an AP securing ambient sources).
Regarding Claim 4, Mahalingam in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 3.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to generate one or more encoded identification bits based on the one or more device identifiers (e.g., ¶ [0176] AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit [and] transmits the BSTA mnemonics and the corresponding RU mappings for backscattering on a subsequent Trigger frame; e.g., ¶ [0177] [0178] BSTAs receive a Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering from AP; e.g., ¶ [0200] backscattering devices backscattering on the current frame following the Trigger frame on the specific RU mapped to its mnemonic [using header information, index for access] to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule. In some implementations, the time schedule indicates a start time offset and/or duration).
Regarding Claim 14, Mahalingam discloses a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a transmission scheduling logic (e.g., FIG. 1A, ¶ [0029] base station 114… an access point (AP); e.g., FIG. 13, AP 1302 with controller 1310; e.g., ¶ [0224] computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor [and memory]. A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a… base station), configured to: detect a plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0003] backscatter indication message (BID) is received from an access point (AP)… Uplink data is transmitted to the AP based on the BID; e.g., ¶ 0093] BID message is transmitted by an AP to one or more identified BSTAs. In some implementations, the BID is addressed to the BSTAs based on their shortened identity (e.g., mnemonic); e.g., ¶ [0174] AP transmits a Trigger frame with an Assisted BSR flag and the locations of one or more RUs for Assisted BSR signaling); determine one or more device identifiers associated with one or more ambient power devices of the plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0093] BID message is… addressed to the BSTAs based on their shortened identity (e.g., mnemonic); e.g., ¶ [0175] on the current frame following the Trigger frame, the BSTA transmits a BSR concatenated with its mnemonic on the selected RU; e.g., ¶ [0176] AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit, and matches those opportunities and resource requirement (e.g., RU requirements) with BSR requirements received from BSTAs [i.e. AP identifies BSTAs); generate one or more encoded identification bits indicative of the one or more device identifiers (e.g., ¶ [0101] mnemonic assigned by AP ); assign one or more frequencies and time slots to the plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0200] [STA] receives trigger frame and contention opportunity signal within the trigger frame, indices to one or more time-frequency resources for indicating backscattering requirement… Some implementations include an AP providing an interrogation signal on the time-frequency resources or an AP securing ambient sources (e.g., other STAs receiving on DL from AP) on the indicated contention-based time-frequency resources… Some implementations include a backscattering device receiving, in a Common Field in a header, an index (or indices) to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule); and generate at least one trigger frame comprising the one or more encoded identification bits (e.g., ¶ [0176] AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit, and matches those opportunities and resource requirement (e.g., RU requirements) with BSR requirements received from BSTAs. If sufficient capacity is available on the next frame, the AP transmits the BSTA mnemonics and the corresponding RU mappings for backscattering on a subsequent Trigger frame; e.g., ¶ [0177] the BSTAs, receiving a subsequent Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering and BID flag set to True, will backscatter on the specific RU; e.g., ¶ [0200] backscattering devices backscattering on the current frame following the Trigger frame on the specific RU mapped to its mnemonic [using header information, index for access] to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule. In some implementations, the time schedule indicates a start time offset and/or duration).
Mahalingam does not expressly disclose determine if the plurality of ambient power devices may be grouped.
Zhang discloses determine if the plurality of ambient power devices may be grouped (e.g., ¶ [0008] [0024] [0116] where the at least one resource is determined based on at least one of the following: …group identity information of the zero-power device; ), and assign one or more frequencies and time slots to the plurality of ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0004] [0112] each zero-power device may determine a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of generating control frames for ambient power device traffic based on device identifiers, transmission durations, and configured time slots and frequencies, as disclosed by Mahalingam, with the disclosure of grouping ambient power devices, as disclosed by Zhang. The motivation to combine would have been to improve positioning accuracy of the ambient devices (Zhang: e.g., ¶ [0003]).
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is directed to a method, comprising operations that are functionally similar to those performed by the device of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 18.
Claims 5, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam in view of Zhang, in further view of Huang et al, CN 116886250 A (hereinafter Huang, using PE2E Search machine language translation for citations).
Regarding Claim 5, Mahalingam in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 4.
Mahalingam discloses (e.g.,¶ [0179]) the time schedule indicating a start time offset and duration, and BSTA may in such cases receive, from the AP, an index to one subchannel, an index to energy bearing RUs, a start time offset, and/or duration of the dedicated power optimized waveform (POW) opportunity, e.g., in a user-specific field within an HE-SIG-B field, along with a mnemonic of the BSTA.
Mahalingam does not expressly disclose wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to generate one or more padding bits based on the one or more transmission durations.
Huang discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to generate one or more padding bits based on the one or more transmission durations (e.g., Page 14: Wherein, the synchronization sequence is used for the synchronization between the BSC UE 503 [backscatter UE] and the gNB 501 or the second UE 502; The indication information identifier is used to indicate that the preamble sequence is an indicator for BSC UE 503 scheduling; the integrity identifier is used for indicating whether the indication information carried by the leader sequence is complete; The segment indicator is used to indicate that the indication information carried by the preamble sequence is the segment indication information, for example, the signal transmission parameter indication can be segmented and indicated in a bitmap manner… The signal transmission parameter indicator is used to indicate the signal transmission parameter of the backscatter transmission of the BSC UE 503, and can be segmented according to the requirements. the reserved bit is used for indicating other function extensions; The padding bits are used to ensure that the length of the entire preamble sequence is fixed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of generating control frames for ambient power device traffic based on device identifiers and transmission durations, as disclosed by Mahalingam in view of Zhang, with the disclosure of using padding bits to ensure that the length of the entire preamble sequence is fixed, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to improve forward (downlink) coverage (Huang: e.g., Page 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Mahalingam in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 14.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: determine one or more transmission durations associated with the one or more ambient power devices (e.g.,¶ [0179] the time schedule indicating a start time offset and duration, and BSTA may in such cases receive, from the AP, an index to one subchannel, an index to energy bearing RUs, a start time offset, and/or duration of the dedicated power optimized waveform (POW) opportunity, e.g., in a user-specific field within an HE-SIG-B field, along with a mnemonic of the BSTA).
Mahalingam does not expressly disclose insert one or more padding bits in the at least one trigger frame based on the one or more transmission durations.
Huang discloses insert one or more padding bits in the at least one trigger frame based on the one or more transmission durations (e.g., Page 14: Wherein, the synchronization sequence is used for the synchronization between the BSC UE 503 [backscatter UE] and the gNB 501 or the second UE 502; The indication information identifier is used to indicate that the preamble sequence is an indicator for BSC UE 503 scheduling; the integrity identifier is used for indicating whether the indication information carried by the leader sequence is complete; The segment indicator is used to indicate that the indication information carried by the preamble sequence is the segment indication information, for example, the signal transmission parameter indication can be segmented and indicated in a bitmap manner… The signal transmission parameter indicator is used to indicate the signal transmission parameter of the backscatter transmission of the BSC UE 503, and can be segmented according to the requirements. the reserved bit is used for indicating other function extensions; The padding bits are used to ensure that the length of the entire preamble sequence is fixed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of generating control frames for ambient power device traffic based on device identifiers and transmission durations, as disclosed by Mahalingam in view of Zhang, with the disclosure of using padding bits to ensure that the length of the entire preamble sequence is fixed, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to improve forward (downlink) coverage (Huang: e.g., Page 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Mahalingam in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 18.
Mahalingam discloses further comprising: generating one or more encoded identification bits based on the one or more device identifiers e.g., ¶ [0176] AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit [and] transmits the BSTA mnemonics and the corresponding RU mappings for backscattering on a subsequent Trigger frame; e.g., ¶ [0177] [0178] BSTAs receive a Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering from AP; e.g., ¶ [0200] backscattering devices backscattering on the current frame following the Trigger frame on the specific RU mapped to its mnemonic [using header information, index for access] to one or more energy bearing frequency resources, and a time schedule. In some implementations, the time schedule indicates a start time offset and/or duration); and generating a resource map indicative of assignment of at least one of: one or more frequencies or one or more time slots to the one or more ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0177] [0178] BSTAs receive a Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering from AP; e.g., ¶ [0200] [STA] receives trigger frame and contention opportunity signal within the trigger frame, indices to one or more time-frequency resources for indicating backscattering requirement… Some implementations include an AP providing an interrogation signal on the time-frequency resources or an AP securing ambient sources).
Mahalingam does not expressly disclose generating one or more padding bits based on the one or more transmission durations.
Huang discloses generating one or more padding bits based on the one or more transmission durations (e.g., Page 14: Wherein, the synchronization sequence is used for the synchronization between the BSC UE 503 [backscatter UE] and the gNB 501 or the second UE 502; The indication information identifier is used to indicate that the preamble sequence is an indicator for BSC UE 503 scheduling; the integrity identifier is used for indicating whether the indication information carried by the leader sequence is complete; The segment indicator is used to indicate that the indication information carried by the preamble sequence is the segment indication information, for example, the signal transmission parameter indication can be segmented and indicated in a bitmap manner… The signal transmission parameter indicator is used to indicate the signal transmission parameter of the backscatter transmission of the BSC UE 503, and can be segmented according to the requirements. the reserved bit is used for indicating other function extensions; The padding bits are used to ensure that the length of the entire preamble sequence is fixed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of generating control frames for ambient power device traffic based on device identifiers and transmission durations, as disclosed by Mahalingam in view of Zhang, with the disclosure of using padding bits to ensure that the length of the entire preamble sequence is fixed, as disclosed by Huang. The motivation to combine would have been to improve forward (downlink) coverage (Huang: e.g., Page 2).
.
Claims 6-13, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang, in further view of Elshafie et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20250380125 A1 (hereinafter Elshafie).
Regarding Claim 6, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 5.
Mahalingam discloses (e.g., ¶ [0102]) an Organizationally Unique Identifier (OUI) (e.g., the first 3 bytes of the MAC address) which identifies an organization, such as a manufacturer, uniquely [i.e., to group particular device types].
Mahalingam does not expressly disclose wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: organize the plurality of ambient power devices into one or more zones; assign one or more zone identifiers to the one or more zones; and generate a zone map indicative of assignment of the one or more device identifiers to the one or more zone identifiers.
Elshafie discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: organize the plurality of ambient power devices into one or more zones; assign one or more zone identifiers to the one or more zones; and generate a zone map indicative of assignment of the one or more device identifiers to the one or more zone identifiers (e.g., ¶ [0136] backscatter communication 818 may include at least one of… (c) the IoT device class… (i) a configuration parameter of the group discovery query… (p) cell ID [i.e., these three cited parameters for communication are being interpreted as zones of communication with the ambient devices]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of generating control frames for ambient power device traffic based on device identifiers and transmission durations, as disclosed by Mahalingam in view of Zhang, in further view of Huang, with the disclosure of grouping the devices for communication, as disclosed by Elshafie. The motivation to combine would have been to improve communication with RF IoT devices (Elshafie: e.g., [0001]).
Regarding Claim 7, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 6.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the at least one control frame comprises at least one of: the one or more encoded identification bits, the one or more padding bits, the resource map, or the zone map (e.g., ¶ [0177] [0178] AP sends to BSTAs a Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering [i.e., the one or more encoded identification bits]).
Regarding Claim 8, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 7.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the at least one control frame is a trigger frame or a charging frame (e.g., ¶ [0174] [0177] [0178] AP transmits a Trigger frame; [0165] AP determining the need to transmit an energy bearing carrier for a specific duration to facilitate energy harvesting [i.e., a charging frame]).
Regarding Claim 9, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 8.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the one or more transmission durations are indicative of a time required for charging the one or more ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0165] AP determining the need to transmit an energy bearing carrier for a specific duration to facilitate energy harvesting).
Regarding Claim 10, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 9.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to: reserve a transmission opportunity comprising the one or more time slots; and assign the transmission opportunity to the one or more ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0139] In some implementations, BSTAs that receive a BID message scan for the presence of a Transmitting Address mnemonic (TA mnemonic) in the BID message to determine if they can access the media immediately after SIFS. In some implementations, the TA mnemonic is a 1 -byte short address instead of the 6-byte TA MAC address. In some implementations, the TA mnemonic is assigned to the BSTA by the AP in a CTSA message; e.g., FIGS. 6A, 6B, ¶ [0156] a BSTA is addressed by the RA-mnemonic, instead of by its full RA. In some implementations, the mnemonic is used by the receiving entity for both transmit and receive functions. In some implementations, the mnemonic identifies the BSTA as either a transmitter (TA-mnemonic) or as a receiver (RA-mnemonic). In some implementations, the CTSA message indicates to the device addressed by the RA (and RA-mnemonic) that its request has been received and queued [i.e., possible transmission opportunity]; e.g., ¶ [0159] In some implementations, a BSTA identifies a high contention environment or hidden-node prone environment (e.g., based on a detected CTS-to-self message… receives a CTSA/CTSB; determines a RA-mnemonic corresponding to its RA; monitors for and detects a BID which includes its assigned TA-mnemonic and an indication of a backscattering opportunity duration (e.g., indicated by a duration field in the BID) [i.e., clear to send message as an indication of transmission opportunity]).
Regarding Claim 11, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 10.
Mahalingam discloses wherein reserving the transmission opportunity comprises transmitting a request to send frame or a clear to send frame to a wireless device (e.g., ¶ [0139] In some implementations, BSTAs that receive a BID message scan for the presence of a Transmitting Address mnemonic (TA mnemonic) in the BID message to determine if they can access the media immediately after SIFS. In some implementations, the TA mnemonic is a 1 -byte short address instead of the 6-byte TA MAC address. In some implementations, the TA mnemonic is assigned to the BSTA by the AP in a CTSA message; e.g., FIGS. 6A, 6B, ¶ [0156] a BSTA is addressed by the RA-mnemonic, instead of by its full RA. In some implementations, the mnemonic is used by the receiving entity for both transmit and receive functions. In some implementations, the mnemonic identifies the BSTA as either a transmitter (TA-mnemonic) or as a receiver (RA-mnemonic). In some implementations, the CTSA message indicates to the device addressed by the RA (and RA-mnemonic) that its request has been received and queued [i.e., possible transmission opportunity]; e.g., ¶ [0159] In some implementations, a BSTA identifies a high contention environment or hidden-node prone environment (e.g., based on a detected CTS-to-self message… receives a CTSA/CTSB; determines a RA-mnemonic corresponding to its RA; monitors for and detects a BID which includes its assigned TA-mnemonic and an indication of a backscattering opportunity duration (e.g., indicated by a duration field in the BID) [i.e., clear to send message as an indication of transmission opportunity]).
Regarding Claim 12, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 11.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to transmit a beamformed signal to the one or more ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0171] In some implementations, several user-specific fields follow the common field. In some implementations, the AP uses these fields to identify how it will be transmitting to each client; e.g., including the number of spatial streams, the MOS it will use and/or whether it will use beamforming. . In some implementations, the 802.11 ax specification requires the transmitter to form the HE-SIG-B field simultaneously in multiple 20 MHz channels, taking up the total bandwidth of the allocated channel. Thus, if the AP is using an 80 MHz channel, it will transmit 4 HE-SIG-B fields, one in each 20 MHz subchannel.
Regarding Claim 13, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 12.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the beamformed signal comprises the trigger frame or the charging frame (e.g., ¶ [0165] device receiving a backscatter opportunity and a duration limit in conjunction with indicating the presence of ambient signal sources or dedicated interrogation signal; e.g., ¶ [0171] In some implementations, several user-specific fields follow the common field. In some implementations, the AP uses these fields to identify how it will be transmitting to each client; e.g., including the number of spatial streams, the MOS it will use and/or whether it will use beamforming; e.g., ¶ [0174] [0177] [0178] AP transmits a Trigger frame; [0165] AP determining the need to transmit an energy bearing carrier for a specific duration to facilitate energy harvesting [i.e., a charging frame]).
Regarding Claim 16, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 15.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to transmit the at least one trigger frame to the one or more ambient power devices (e.g., ¶ [0174] [0177] [0178] AP transmits a Trigger frame; [0165] AP determining the need to transmit an energy bearing carrier for a specific duration to facilitate energy harvesting [i.e., a charging frame]).
Regarding Claim 17, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang in further view of Elshafie discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 16.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the transmission scheduling logic is further configured to receive one or more uplink frames from the one or more ambient power devices in response to the at least one trigger frame (e.g., ¶ [0177] AP has ensured that there will be another STA that will have transmissions on the UL on the set of indicated RUs which the BSTA can use for backscattering).
Regarding Claim 20, Mahalingam in view of Zhang in further view of Huang discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 19.
Mahalingam discloses wherein the at least one control frame comprises at least one of: the one or more encoded identification bits, the one or more padding bits, or the resource map (e.g., ¶ [0177] [0178] AP sends to BSTAs a Trigger frame and a BSTA mnemonic to RU mapping for backscattering [i.e., the one or more encoded identification bits]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471