Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 13, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoden (United States Patent Application Publication US 2018/0175672), hereinafter Yoden.
Regarding claim 1, Yoden teaches a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (FIG. 6 & 7 “PROCESSOR 201” “MEMORY 202”); and
a power management logic, configured to: monitor a current charge level of an energy storage; compare the current charge level with a threshold charge level ([0095] “Upon determining the battery level to be insufficient below the first predetermined threshold (S2080: No), the powered device 200 activates the communication circuitry 203 (S2081).” When the battery level of the powered device is below the first predetermined threshold, the monitored battery level is compared to the predetermined threshold.); and
generate, when the current charge level falls below the threshold charge level, a recharge signal indicative of a request to recharge the energy storage ([0095] “The discovery at the step S2082 accompanying with the discovery at the step S1082 function as a request for wireless power transfer and reception of the request, respectively... the powered device 200 is in a "Wireless Charging" mode where the powered device 200 is wirelessly charging the battery 209 using the powered circuitry 210 (S2086).” A request for a wireless transfer is generated when the battery level is below the first predetermined threshold. Then, based on the request, the battery is recharged by transferring power wirelessly.).
Regarding claim 2, Yoden teaches wherein the recharge signal comprises one or more encoded identification bits corresponding to a device identifier ([0084] “The discovery process may finish by the powering device 100 and the powered device 200 storing the exchanged IDs on the memories 102 and 202, respectively (S103, S203).” When the request for wireless power transfer, the discovery that exchanges IDs of the powering device and the powered device. Furthermore, a bit is a unit of data in computer. Thus, as the information or data of the IDs is exchanged, the bits of data regarding the IDs must be exchanged.).
Regarding claim 13, Yoden teaches a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (FIG. 4&5 “PROCESSOR 101” “MEMORY 102”); and
a power management logic, configured to: receive a first recharge signal; retrieve a first device identifier based on the first recharge signal; identify a first ambient power device associated with the first device identifier ([0081] “the powering device 100 may manage wireless power transfer to the powered device 200 using the DB 122…The DB 122 manages one or more identifiers (IDs) each of which is unique to each powered device 200 for authentication to enable and disable wireless power transfer and for confirmation of the status of operation of each powered device 200.” [0095] “The discovery at the step S2082 accompanying with the discovery at the step S1082 function as a request for wireless power transfer and reception of the request, respectively.” The powering device receives a request for wireless power transfer from the powered device. Also, the request is companied by a discovery, which exchanges IDs of the powering device and the powered device. The DB 122 stores identifier of allowed devices as shown in a table FIG. 9.); and
transmit a first charging signal to the first ambient power device ([0093] “upon discovering the powered device 200 through the communication circuitry 103 in accordance with a discovery process (S1060), the powering device 100 initiates continuous activation of the powering circuitry 106 to operate in a "Powering" mode (S1061). In the "Powering" mode, the powering device 100 remains the powering circuitry 106 active to continuously provide wireless power transfer.” After the request and the discovery step, the powering device transfer wireless power to the powered device.).
Regarding claim 14, Yoden teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to determine a first required charge level associated with the first recharge signal ([0093] “In the "Wireless Charging" mode, the powered device 200 continuously, periodically, or intermittently monitors the battery level of the battery 209 by, for example, determining whether or not the battery level is sufficient above a second predetermined threshold (S2066). Preferably, the second predetermined threshold is set to be higher than the first predetermined threshold:”).
Regarding claim 19, Yoden teaches a method, comprising: monitoring a current charge level of an energy storage of an ambient power device ([0095] “Upon determining the battery level to be insufficient below the first predetermined threshold (S2080: No), the powered device 200 activates the communication circuitry 203 (S2081).” When the battery level of the powered device is below the first predetermined threshold, the battery level is monitored.);
generating one or more encoded identification bits corresponding to a device identifier associated with the ambient power device ([0084] “The discovery process may finish by the powering device 100 and the powered device 200 storing the exchanged IDs on the memories 102 and 202, respectively (S103, S203).” When the request for wireless power transfer, the discovery that exchanges IDs of the powering device and the powered device. Furthermore, a bit is a unit of data in computer. Thus, as the information or data of the IDs is exchanged, the bits of data regarding the IDs must be exchanged.);
comparing the current charge level with a threshold charge level; and generating, when the current charge level falls below the threshold charge level, a recharge signal comprising the one or more encoded identification bits ([0095] “The discovery at the step S2082 accompanying with the discovery at the step S1082 function as a request for wireless power transfer and reception of the request, respectively... the powered device 200 is in a "Wireless Charging" mode where the powered device 200 is wirelessly charging the battery 209 using the powered circuitry 210 (S2086).” A request for a wireless transfer is generated when the battery level is below the first predetermined threshold. Then, based on the request, the battery is recharged by transferring power wirelessly. Furthermore, as discussed above, the discovery step performs exchanging of IDs between the powering device and the powered device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoden in view of BAE et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2019/0097430), hereinafter BAE.
Regarding claim 3, Yoden teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 2, as discussed above.
Yoden further teaches the power management logic is further configured to: determine a required charge level for transmitting an uplink data signal ([0060] “The powered device 200 may be a battery-charged device in any form, including but not limited to a mobile, portable, or handheld device such as a smartphone, laptop, and handheld home appliance, a peripheral or slave device operative in connection with the powering device 100, and an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device such as a sensor operative to communicate with other powered devices 200 and/or with the powering device 100. The powered device 200 may also be an unmanned vehicle such as a UAV or drone which is operative to rest on or hover above the powering device 100 for charging.” [0089] “Upon determining the battery level to be insufficient below the first predetermined threshold (S2010: No), the powered device 200 activates the powered circuitry 210 (S2011)...When in the "Wireless Charging" mode, the powered device 200 continuously, periodically, or intermittently monitors the battery level of the battery 209 by, for example, determining whether or not the battery level is sufficient above a second predetermined threshold (S2015).” A powered device includes a mobile, portable, or handheld device such as a smartphone, laptop, and handheld home appliance, a UAV or drone, which transmits or communicates data through various data transmission links. Yonder further suggests that the first and the second predetermined thresholds are thresholds to determine recharging of a battery of the powered device, which transmits data. Thus, Yonder suggests that the required charge level, such as the first and the second predetermined thresholds, is to transmit data of the various devices through a uplink.).
However, Yoden does not explicitly teach to determine a priority of transmission of the uplink data signal.
BAE teaches to determine a priority of transmission of the uplink data signal ([0070] “In operation 330, the low-power device performs an alarm detection algorithm based on the neural signal. An alarm indicates that the neural signal is in an abnormal state. The low-power device detects an alarm by determining whether the neural signal is in a normal state.” The neural signal is determined whether it is an abnormal state or a normal state, which suggests that a priority of the neural signals indicating two states are different. Based on the priority, the transmission of a signal, such as the alarm is determined.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Yoden by incorporating the teaching of BAE of determining a priority of transmission of the uplink data signal. They are all directed toward wireless charging. As recognized by BAE, transmitting data consumes greater amount of power than that consumed by acquiring of sensing data ([0087]). Thus, by determining priority of transmission of data, power consumed to transmit data with a lower priority can be reduced. Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of BAE of determining a priority of transmission of the uplink data signal in order to reduce power consumption.
Regarding 4, Yoden in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 3, as discussed above.
Yoden, as modified above, further teaches wherein the recharge signal is further indicative of at least one of: the required charge level or the priority of transmission ([0089] “Upon determining the battery level to be insufficient below the first predetermined threshold (S2010: No), the powered device 200 activates the powered circuitry 210 (S2011)...When in the "Wireless Charging" mode, the powered device 200 continuously, periodically, or intermittently monitors the battery level of the battery 209 by, for example, determining whether or not the battery level is sufficient above a second predetermined threshold (S2015).”).
Regarding claim 5, Yoden in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 4, as discussed above.
Yoden, as modified above, further teaches wherein the recharge signal is further indicative of a maximum charge level associated with the energy storage ([0089] “the second predetermined threshold is set to be higher than the first predetermined threshold: For example, the first threshold may be set to be very low below the middle between the empty and the full, whereas the second threshold may be set to be relatively high near the full of the battery 209. As long as the battery level of the battery 209 is determined to be below the second predetermined threshold, meaning that the battery 209 has been not yet charged sufficiently enough (S2015: No), the powered device 200 remains the powered circuitry 210 activated in order for the battery 209 to be charged through the powered circuitry 210.”).
Regarding claim 6, Yoden in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 5, as discussed above.
Yoden, as modified above, further teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to modulate the recharge signal to generate a modulated recharge signal ([0064] “The communication circuitry 103 may be a single circuit designed to perform a communication in compliance with a single communication standard, or may be one or more single or combined circuits designed to perform communication in compliance with multiple communication standards. The wireless communication herein may include a wireless local area network (WLAN) or Wi-Fi communication in accordance with IEEE 802.11 standards; a wireless personal area network (WPAN) communication such as the Bluetooth and ZigBee in accordance with IEEE 802.15 standards, a RFID communication, a NFC, a ultrasonic communication, an IR communication, and the likes.” Multiple communication standards use a modulated signals. Furthermore, the communication between the powered device and powering device are performed via the multiple communication standards using the modulated signals.).
Regarding claim 7, Yoden in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 6, as discussed above.
Yoden, as modified above, further teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to: detect a plurality of wireless devices; receive one or more Radio Frequency (RF) signals from the plurality of wireless devices; measure one or more signal strengths of the one or more RF signals; and determine one or more wireless devices associated with a highest signal strength of the one or more signal strengths ([0056] “The powering region 10 may also be electromagnetic waves…in any frequency…,such as radio waves, microwaves, and ultrasonic waves, transmitted by a wireless transmitter of the powering device to be received by a receiver of the powered device.” [0057] “as depicted in FIG. 2, the power transfer system may include two or more powering devices 100 each of which provides their respective powering regions 10 based on power supplied via electrical outlets 20…The powering devices 100a, 100b, and 100c may be implemented in a way that the powering regions 10a, 10b, and 10c may overlap in part as shown in FIG. 2. In the embodiments, in response to moving across the powering regions 10a, 10b, and 10c, the powered device 200 may "hand over" from a powering region to another, namely may receive power through the powering regions 10a, 10b, and 10c in turns according to the order or direction of the moving.” The powering regions of powering devices are detected by the powered device. In order for the powered device to hand over from one powering region to another, the powered device enters the powering region to change distance from the powered device, which is related to the strength of the radio waves. Thus, as entering another powering region, Yonder suggests that the powered device must determine that the strength of the previous powering region is lower than the entering powering region. By handing over to a new powering region, the strength of the radio wave of the entering powering region is the highest.).
Regarding claim 8, Yonder in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 7, as discussed above.
Yonder, as modified above, further teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to determine one or more RF channels associated with the one or more wireless devices ([0057] “as depicted in FIG. 2, the power transfer system may include two or more powering devices 100 each of which provides their respective powering regions 10 based on power supplied via electrical outlets 20…The powering devices 100a, 100b, and 100c may be implemented in a way that the powering regions 10a, 10b, and 10c may overlap in part as shown in FIG. 2. In the embodiments, in response to moving across the powering regions 10a, 10b, and 10c, the powered device 200 may "hand over" from a powering region to another, namely may receive power through the powering regions 10a, 10b, and 10c in turns according to the order or direction of the moving.”).
Regarding claim 9, Yonder in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 8, as discussed above.
Yonder, as modified above, further teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to transmit at least one of: the recharge signal or the modulated recharge signal to the one or more wireless devices on the one or more RF channels ([0064] “The communication circuitry 103 may be a single circuit designed to perform a communication in compliance with a single communication standard, or may be one or more single or combined circuits designed to perform communication in compliance with multiple communication standards. The wireless communication herein may include a wireless local area network (WLAN) or Wi-Fi communication in accordance with IEEE 802.11 standards; a wireless personal area network (WPAN) communication such as the Bluetooth and ZigBee in accordance with IEEE 802.15 standards, a RFID communication, a NFC, a ultrasonic communication, an IR communication, and the likes.” [0083] “At least one of the DBs 122 and 222 may be generated by way of, upon, or in response to pairing of the powering device 100 and the powered device 200 through a wireless communication using the communication circuitry 103 and 203.”).
Regarding claim 10, Yonder in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 9, as discussed above.
Yonder, as modified above, further teaches receive at least one charging signal from the one or more wireless devices in response to the recharge signal; and recharge the energy storage based on the at least one charging signal ([0090] “In response to reception of the response through the communication circuitry 103 (S1021: Yes), the powering device 100 initiates continuous activation of the powering circuitry 106 to operate in a "Powering” mode (S1022). In the "Powering" mode, the powering device 100 remains the powering circuitry 106 active to continuously provide wireless power transfer. In the "Powering" mode, the powering device 100 continuously monitors reception of the responses through the communication circuitry 103 from the powered device 200 (S1023).”).
Regarding claim 11, Yonder in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 10, as discussed above.
Yonder, as modified above, further teaches wherein the energy storage is a battery or a capacitor ([0070] “the powered device 200 includes…a battery 209.” [0078] “The battery 209 may be a battery in any form, including but not limited to a lithium-ion rechargeable battery.”).
Regarding claim 20, Yonder teaches determining a required charge level for transmitting an uplink data signal; and wherein the recharge signal is indicative of a request to recharge the energy storage ([0060] “The powered device 200 may be a battery-charged device in any form, including but not limited to a mobile, portable, or handheld device such as a smartphone, laptop, and handheld home appliance, a peripheral or slave device operative in connection with the powering device 100, and an Internet-of-Things (IoT) device such as a sensor operative to communicate with other powered devices 200 and/or with the powering device 100. The powered device 200 may also be an unmanned vehicle such as a UAV or drone which is operative to rest on or hover above the powering device 100 for charging.” [0089] “Upon determining the battery level to be insufficient below the first predetermined threshold (S2010: No), the powered device 200 activates the powered circuitry 210 (S2011)...When in the "Wireless Charging" mode, the powered device 200 continuously, periodically, or intermittently monitors the battery level of the battery 209 by, for example, determining whether or not the battery level is sufficient above a second predetermined threshold (S2015).” A powered device includes a mobile, portable, or handheld device such as a smartphone, laptop, and handheld home appliance, a UAV or drone, which transmits or communicates data through various data transmission links. Yonder further suggests that the first and the second predetermined thresholds are thresholds to determine recharging of a battery of the powered device, which transmits data. Thus, Yonder suggests that the required charge level, such as the first and the second predetermined thresholds, is to transmit data of the various devices through a uplink.).
BAE further teaches determining a priority of transmission of the uplink data signal ([0070] “In operation 330, the low-power device performs an alarm detection algorithm based on the neural signal. An alarm indicates that the neural signal is in an abnormal state. The low-power device detects an alarm by determining whether the neural signal is in a normal state.” The neural signal is determined whether it is an abnormal state or a normal state, which suggests that a priority of the neural signals indicating two states are different. Based on the priority, the transmission of a signal, such as the alarm is determined.); and
generating the recharge signal based on the required charge level and the priority of transmission ([0070] “In operation 330, the low-power device performs an alarm detection algorithm based on the neural signal. An alarm indicates that the neural signal is in an abnormal state. The low-power device detects an alarm by determining whether the neural signal is in a normal state.” [0073] “In operation 360, the low-power device charges a super capacitor with the power wirelessly transmitted from the external device, and determines whether power stored in the super capacitor through the charging exceeds a predetermined power threshold. In an example, when the power stored in the super capacitor does not exceed the power threshold, the low-power device waits for a predetermined amount of time in operation 370.”).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoden in view of BAE as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2005/0266301), hereinafter Smith.
Regarding claim 12, Yoden in view of BAE teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 11, as discussed above.
However, Yoden in view of BAE does not teach wherein the power management logic is further configured to dynamically modify the threshold charge level.
Smith teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to dynamically modify the threshold charge level ([Abstract] “The battery reserve capacity activation threshold may be set and continuously or periodically updated” [0048] “multiple reserve capacity activation thresholds may be used corresponding, for example, to a first notification event that instructs a user to recharge a battery and a second event that results in the electronic stimulation system entering a low-power mode to preserve programming instructions.” Smith teaches periodically adjusting battery reserve capacity activation threshold, which includes instructing to recharge a battery.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yoden in view of BAE by incorporating the teaching of Smith of wherein the power management logic is further configured to dynamically modify the threshold charge level. They are all directed toward power management in a battery. As recognized by Smith, in a rechargeable battery, total battery capacity decreases due to age and/or charge history ([0006]). Thus, by dynamically or periodically adjusting thresholds, the thresholds can be more accurately set. Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of Smith of wherein the power management logic is further configured to dynamically modify the threshold charge level.
Claim(s) 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoden in view of LEABMAN (United States Patent Application Publication US 2020/0006988), hereinafter LEABMAN.
Regarding claim 15, Yoden teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 14, as discussed above.
However, Yoden does not teach wherein the power management logic is further configured to determine a first priority of transmission associated with the first recharge signal.
LEABMAN teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to determine a first priority of transmission associated with the first recharge signal ([0577] “If receiver 120 is authorized, it may receive charge based on its assigned priority, such value is determined at prioritize devices Step 1558, such value may be set by the user preferences and charge level of the equipment, such charge level may be determined in device requires charge Step 1560.” [0578] “In addition, if multiple receivers 120 are requiring power, the micro-controller may deliver power equally to all receivers 120 or may utilize a priority status for each receiver 120.” Based on the priority status of each receiver to receive power to charge a battery, the charge to deliver power is schedule. Thus, the priority of each receiver is determined to schedule recharging the battery.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yoden by incorporating the teaching of LEABMAN of determining a first priority of transmission associated with the first recharge signal. They are all directed toward wirelessly charging a battery. As recognized by LEABMAN, using priority to transmit power between devices, a user can customize profile of charging between different device, which improves user experience ([0579]). Therefore, it would be advantageous to incorporate the teaching of determining a first priority of transmission associated with the first recharge signal in order to improve user experience.
Regarding claim 16, Yoden in view of LEABMAN teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 15, as discussed above.
LEABMAN further teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to generate the first charging signal based on the first required charge level and the first priority of transmission ([0578] “In addition, if multiple receivers 120 are requiring power, the micro-controller may deliver power equally to all receivers 120 or may utilize a priority status for each receiver 120.” [1029] “the communication component is further configured to broadcast an advertisement signal to a transmitter in response to determining the battery level requires a recharge threshold.”).
Regarding claim 17, Yoden in view of LEABMAN teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 16, as discussed above.
LEABMAN further teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to: receive a second recharge signal from a second ambient power device; determine a second priority of transmission associated with the second recharge signal; and compare the first priority of transmission and the second priority of transmission ([0578] “In addition, if multiple receivers 120 are requiring power, the micro-controller may deliver power equally to all receivers 120 or may utilize a priority status for each receiver 120.” [0842] “the method comprises scanning for Bluetooth electronic devices available for wireless pad charging and prioritizing the charging or powering of the available electronic devices whereby the pad transmitter directs pocket-forming towards predetermined electronic devices in a predetermined priority order.” When multiple receivers request power to charge the battery, based on the priority, the power is delivered according to the priority order.).
Regarding claim 18, Yoden in view of LEABMAN teaches all the limitations of the device of claim 17, as discussed above.
LEABMAN further teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to transmit a second charging signal to the second ambient power device if the second priority of transmission is greater than the first priority of transmission ([0498] “Using a communications component, the embedded transmitter of the laptop or transmitter 1540 on the wall may continuously check if there are other peripheral devices that may require wireless charging or powering, at block 1560. If new or additional peripheral devices are identified, then either transmitter may wirelessly charge the newly identified peripheral devices according to the established charging priorities, optimum ranges, battery levels and/or other parameters.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mukundala et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2022/0311280) teaches establishing a first connection between a battery of an accessing device and a receiver and a second connection between the accessing device and a transmitter. Mukundala further teaches determining a charging status of the battery of the accessing device and communicating the charging status of the battery to the transmitter on determining that the charging status of the battery reaches below a predefined threshold value via the second connection.
Zeine et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2021/0249910) teaches reducing the burden of sampling the beacon signals across the multiple antennas and determining the directionality of the incoming wave by employing a directionality information when transmitting power on individual wireless power receiver clients.
/HYUN SOO KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2176