DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims status: amended claims: 1, 12 – 13; the rest is unchanged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new secondary reference is currently being used in the present rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (WO 2022/032455 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Nord et al. (US 2018/0243584 A1; pub. Aug. 30, 2018) and further in view of Wang et al. (CN111437522A; pub. July 24, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. disclose: A method for collision avoidance when positioning a medical imaging device and a patient positioning apparatus (para. [0064]), the method comprising:
capturing a representation of an examination object that is arranged on a mobile patient positioning apparatus (para. [0043], [0052], [0226]);
identifying an examination region to be mapped of the examination object based on a representation (para. [0052]);
identifying an initial acquisition trajectory around an initial isocenter (para. [0051], [0064]), wherein the initial acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the initial acquisition trajectory (para. [0223]);
positioning the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus such that an isocenter of the medical imaging device substantially coincides with the initial isocenter (para. [0310], [0468], [0479]-[0481], [0484] the para. teach using a saved trajectory to adjust the different components to avoid collision, para. [0298] teaches the medical imaging device may have an imaging isocenter around which the medical imaging device may rotate, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have coinciding isocenters); identifying at least one further acquisition trajectory around at least one further isocenter (para. [0417], [0479]-[0481], [0484]), wherein the at least one further acquisition trajectory enables a collision-free positioning of the imaging device and a 3D image of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the at least one further acquisition trajectory (para. [0417], [0320], [0435]-[0436], [0479]-[0481], [0484]), and wherein the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus (para. [0479]-[0481], [0484], [0577], [0582]); and
repositioning the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus (para. [0479]-[0481], [0484], [0577], [0582]).
Sun et al. are silent about: the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, such that a spatial area within which the permissible relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus are arranged is defined, a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region, acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the acquisition trajectory.
In a similar field of endeavor Nord et al. disclose: the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, such that a spatial area within which the permissible relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus are arranged is defined (para. [0005], [0033]-[0034], [0038]) motivated by the benefits for improved treatment accuracy (Nord et al. para. [0033]-[0034]).
In light of the benefits for improved treatment accuracy as taught by Nord et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sun et al. with the teachings of Nord et al.
Nord et al. are silent about: three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region, acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the acquisition trajectory.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang et al. disclose: a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region, acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the acquisition trajectory (para. [0046], [0050]-[0051]); motivated by the benefits for improving safety in an examination room.
In light of the benefits for improving safety in an examination room, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sun et al. and Nord et al. with the teachings of Wang et al.
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. disclose: identifying a plurality of further acquisition trajectories around one further isocenter in each case, the plurality of further acquisition trajectories in each case enabling the collision-free positioning of the medical imaging device and the 3D reconstruction of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the respective further acquisition trajectory (para. [0046], [0050]-[0051]) motivated by the benefits for improving safety in an examination room.
Regarding claim 5, Nord et al. disclose: a graphic display of the permissible range is indicated by a display unit (para. [0070]-[0071]) motivated by the benefits to ensure safety and usability of a radiation treatment plan (Nord et al. para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Sun et al. disclose: the representation of the examination object has an image, a model, or an image and a model of at least one anatomical structure, a medical object in the examination object, or the at least one anatomical structure and the medical object in the examination object, and
wherein a spatial area that at least partially comprises the at least one anatomical structure, the medical object, or the at least one anatomical structure and the medical object is identified as the examination region to be mapped (para. [0417]-[0418]).
Regarding claim 8, Nord et al. disclose: the initial isocenter is identified based on a user input by operating personnel using an input unit (para. [0079], [0088]) motivated by the benefits to ensure safety and usability of a radiation treatment plan (Nord et al. para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Sun et al. disclose: the initial isocenter, the at least one further isocenter, or the initial isocenter and the at least one further isocenter are identified based on geometric, anatomical, or geometric and anatomical features of the examination region to be mapped (para. [0626]).
Regarding claim 10, Sun et al. disclose: the medical imaging device comprises a medical X- ray device with an X-ray detector and an X-ray source that are arranged in a defined arrangement on an arcuate structure, and
wherein the initial acquisition trajectory and the at least one further acquisition trajectory specify a movement of the defined arrangement around the respective isocenter (para. [0155]-[0156]).
Regarding claim 11, Sun et al. disclose: acquiring, by the medical imaging device, image data of the examination region after the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus (para. [0479]-[0481])
Wang et al. disclose: a result data set having 3D mapping of the examination region by reconstruction is provided from the image data (para. [0046], [0050]-[0051]) motivated by the benefits for improving safety in an examination room.
Regarding claim 12, Sun et al. disclose:
a medical imaging device (fig.1); and
a patient positioning apparatus (fig.1 item 114),
wherein the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus are configured for collision avoidance when positioning a medical imaging device and a patient positioning apparatus, the collision avoidance (para. [0477] – [0480]) comprising:
capture of a representation of an examination object that is arranged on a mobile patient positioning apparatus (para. [0477] – [0480]);
identification of an examination region to be mapped of the examination object based on a representation (para. [0052]);
identification of an initial acquisition trajectory around an initial isocenter, wherein the initial acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the initial acquisition trajectory (para. [0223], [0477] – [0480]);
position of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus such that an isocenter of the medical imaging device substantially coincides with the initial isocenter (para. [0310], [0468], [0477]-[0481], [0484] the para. teach using a saved trajectory to adjust the different components to avoid collision, para. [0298] teaches the medical imaging device may have an imaging isocenter around which the medical imaging device may rotate, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have coinciding isocenters);
identification of at least one further acquisition trajectory around at least one further isocenter, wherein the at least one further acquisition trajectory enables a collision- free positioning of the imaging device and a 3D image of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the at least one further acquisition trajectory (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]), and wherein the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]); and
reposition of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]),
wherein the reposition is limited to the permissible range of the relative positionings (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]).
Sun et al. are silent about: the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, such that a spatial area within which the permissible relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus are arranged is defined; and a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region, acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device.
In a similar field of endeavor Nord et al. disclose: the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, such that a spatial area within which the permissible relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus are arranged is defined (para. [0005], [0033]-[0034], [0038]) motivated by the benefits for improved treatment accuracy (Nord et al. para. [0033]-[0034]).
In light of the benefits for improved treatment accuracy as taught by Nord et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sun et al. with the teachings of Nord et al.
Nord et al. are silent about: a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region, acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang et al. disclose: a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region, acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device (para. [0046], [0050]-[0051]); motivated by the benefits for improving safety in an examination room.
In light of the benefits for improving safety in an examination room, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sun et al. and Nord et al. with the teachings of Wang et al.
Regarding claim 13, Sun et al. disclose: an anon-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions executable by one or more processors for collision avoidance when positioning a medical imaging device and a patient positioning apparatus (para. [0477]-[0481]), the instructions comprising:
capturing a representation of an examination object that is arranged on a mobile patient positioning apparatus (para. [0043], [0052], [0226]);
identifying an examination region to be mapped of the examination object based on a representation (para. [0052]);
identifying an initial acquisition trajectory around an initial isocenter (para. [0051], [0064]), wherein the initial acquisition trajectory enables a three-dimensional (3D) image of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the initial acquisition trajectory (para. [0310], [0468], [0477]-[0481], [0484] the para. teach using a saved trajectory to adjust the different components to avoid collision, para. [0298] teaches the medical imaging device may have an imaging isocenter around which the medical imaging device may rotate, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have coinciding isocenters);
positioning the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus such that an isocenter of the medical imaging device substantially coincides with the initial isocenter (para. [0310], [0468], [0477]-[0481], [0484] the para. teach using a saved trajectory to adjust the different components to avoid collision, para. [0298] teaches the medical imaging device may have an imaging isocenter around which the medical imaging device may rotate, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have coinciding isocenters);
identifying at least one further acquisition trajectory around at least one further isocenter (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]), wherein the at least one further acquisition trajectory enables a collision-free positioning of the imaging device and a 3D image of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the at least one further acquisition trajectory, and wherein the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]);
repositioning the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]),
wherein the repositioning is limited to the permissible range of the relative positionings (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]).
Sun et al. are silent about: the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, such that a spatial area within which the permissible relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus are arranged is defined, a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region.
In a similar field of endeavor Nord et al. disclose: the at least one further isocenter predefines a permissible range of relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, such that a spatial area within which the permissible relative positionings of the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus are arranged is defined (para. [0005], [0033]-[0034], [0038]) motivated by the benefits for improved treatment accuracy (Nord et al. para. [0033]-[0034]).
In light of the benefits for improved treatment accuracy as taught by Nord et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sun et al. with the teachings of Nord et al.
Nord et al. are silent about: a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang et al. disclose: a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region (para. [0046], [0050]-[0051]); motivated by the benefits for improving safety in an examination room.
In light of the benefits for improving safety in an examination room, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sun et al. and Nord et al. with the teachings of Wang et al.
Regarding claim 14, Sun et al. disclose: the instructions further comprise identifying a plurality of further acquisition trajectories around one further isocenter in each case, the plurality of further acquisition trajectories in each case enabling the collision-free positioning of the medical imaging device and the 3D image of the examination region based on image data that is acquirable by the medical imaging device along the respective further acquisition trajectory (para. [0417], [0477]-[0481], [0484]). Wang et al. disclose: a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the examination region (para. [0046], [0050]-[0051]); motivated by the benefits for improving safety in an examination room.
Regarding claim 16, Sun et al. disclose: a user input by operating personnel is captured by an input unit, and
wherein the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus takes place as a function of the user input (para. [0308], [0478]).
Regarding claim 17, Nord et al. disclose: a graphic display of the permissible range is indicated by a display unit (para. [0070]-[0071]) motivated by the benefits to ensure safety and usability of a radiation treatment plan (Nord et al. para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Sun et al. disclose: the representation of the examination object has an image, a model, or an image and a model of at least one anatomical structure, a medical object in the examination object, or the at least one anatomical structure and the medical object in the examination object, and wherein a spatial area that at least partially comprises the at least one anatomical structure, the medical object, or the at least one anatomical structure and the medical object is identified as the examination region to be mapped (para. [0417]-[0418]).
Claims 3, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (WO 2022/032455 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Nord et al. (US 2018/0243584 A1; pub. Aug. 30, 2018) in view of Wang et al. (CN111437522A; pub. July 24, 2020) and further in view of Tong et al. (CN111176274A; pub. May 19, 2020).
Regarding claim 3, the combined references are silent about: during the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, a speed of movement of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus is reduced when approaching a border area of the permissible range of relative positionings.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tong et al. disclose: during the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, a speed of movement of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus is reduced when approaching a border area of the permissible range of relative positionings (para. [0012]) motivated by the benefits for effective collision avoidance (Tong et al. para. [0011]).
In light of the benefits for effective collision avoidance as taught by Tong et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sun et al., Nord et al. and Wang et al. with the teachings of Tong et al.
Regarding claim 15, the combined references are silent about: during the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, a speed of movement of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus is reduced when approaching a border area of the permissible range of relative positionings.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tong et al. disclose: during the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus, a speed of movement of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus is reduced when approaching a border area of the permissible range of relative positionings (para. [0012]) motivated by the benefits for effective collision avoidance (Tong et al. para. [0011]).
In light of the benefits for effective collision avoidance as taught by Tong et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sun et al., Nord et al. and Wang et al. with the teachings of Tong et al.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (WO 2022/032455 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Nord et al. (US 2018/0243584 A1; pub. Aug. 30, 2018) in view of Wang et al. (CN111437522A; pub. July 24, 2020) and further in view of Stanchev et al. (US 2022/0379140 A1; pub. Dec. 1, 2022).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references are silent about: a user input by operating personnel is captured by an input unit, and
wherein the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus takes place as a function of the user input.
In a similar field of endeavor, Stanchev et al. disclose: a user input by operating personnel is captured by an input unit, and
wherein the repositioning of the medical imaging device, the patient positioning apparatus, or the medical imaging device and the patient positioning apparatus takes place as a function of the user input (para. [0061]-[0063], [0067]) motivated by the benefits for a more precise patient positioning that avoids collisions (Stanchev et al. para. [0062]-[0063]).
In light of the benefits for a more precise patient positioning that avoids collisions as taught by Stanchev et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sun et al., Nord et al. and Wang et al. with the teachings of Stanchev et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (WO 2022/032455 A1; pub. Feb. 17, 2022) in view of Nord et al. (US 2018/0243584 A1; pub. Aug. 30, 2018) in view of Wang et al. (CN111437522A; pub. July 24, 2020) and further in view of Zhang et al. (WO2022205577 A1; pub. Oct. 06, 2022).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: the representation of the examination object has a candidate position in each case with regard to the at least one anatomical structure, the medical object to be mapped, modeled, or mapped and modeled, or a combination thereof, and
wherein the initial isocenter is identified at a candidate position within the examination region to be mapped.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zhang et al. disclose: the representation of the examination object has a candidate position in each case with regard to the at least one anatomical structure, the medical object to be mapped, modeled, or mapped and modeled, or a combination thereof, and
wherein the initial isocenter is identified at a candidate position within the examination region to be mapped (para. [0006]) motivated by the benefits for a method that can treat a tumor regardless of it changes over time (Zhang et al. para. [0004]).
In light of the benefits for a method that can treat a tumor regardless of it changes over time as taught by Zhang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sun et al., Nord et al. and Wang et al. with the teachings of Zhang et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884