DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-15, 17, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable copending Application No. 18597928 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application recites all the structure & relationships of the instant claims, in addition Bartz (US 5350922) teaches a wall between the light source and light detector (Figure 1, element 28) and the inverse-square law of light intensity over distance is well-known in the art of optics.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application Claim 1
US 18/597928 Claim 1
1. A detection device comprising:
1. A detection device comprising:
a substrate;
a substrate;
a first light emitting unit that emits first light and is provided at the substrate;
a first light emitting unit that emits first light and is provided at the substrate;
a first light receiving unit that receives the first light, is parallel to the substrate when viewed in a first direction parallel to the substrate, and is provided at the substrate side by side with the first light emitting unit in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction;
a first light receiving unit that receives the first light and is provided, when viewed in a first direction parallel to the substrate, at the substrate side by side with the first light emitting unit in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction among directions parallel to the substrate;
a first optical member that transmits the first light and covers the first light emitting unit at the substrate;
a first optical member that transmits the first light and covers the first light emitting unit at the substrate;
a second optical member that transmits the first light and covers the first light receiving unit at the substrate; and
a second optical member that transmits the first light and covers the first light receiving unit at the substrate; and
an accommodating member that is provided at the substrate and formed with a first opening accommodating the first light emitting unit and the first optical member and a second opening accommodating the first light receiving unit and the second optical member,
an accommodating member that is provided at the substrate and formed with a first opening accommodating the first light emitting unit and the first optical member and a second opening accommodating the first light receiving unit and the second optical member,
wherein at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member protrudes from an opening formed in the accommodating member in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction.
wherein the first optical member protrudes from the first opening of the accommodating member in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction,
the second optical member protrudes from the second opening of the accommodating member in the third direction, the accommodating member includes a wall portion provided between the first optical member and the second optical member, a first distance in the second direction from the first light emitting unit to the wall portion is a distance that satisfies a predetermined condition, and the condition is that, among values that change depending on the first distance, a first value that has a negative correlation with an intensity of noise of light received by the first light receiving unit is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold.
Further correspondences between the claims are shown below:
Instant Claim
US 18/597928
2
5
3
6
4
17
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
8
11
9
14
12
15
17
17
15
19
18
20
20
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are at least:
“first light emitting unit” claims 1, 5-6
“first light receiving unit” claims 1, 5-6, 14, 16, 19
“second light emitting unit” claims 14, 16, 19
“first optical member” claims 1-5, 7, 12-14, 17-18, 20
“second optical member” claims 1-4, 6-7, 12-13, 15-18
“second light receiving unit” claims 14, 16, 19
“accommodating member” claims 1-3, 5-7, 12, 14, 16, 19-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites phrases that are difficult to interpret or make reference to one of the Figures, to the extent that the claim cannot be confidently interpreted as to the applicant’s intent.
For example, line 2 recites “a surface in the third direction … is orthogonal to the third direction” while lines 4-6 indicate that this surface has a maximum height at a vertex portion. This is indefinite as a vertex is a highest point but the surface has been defined as orthogonal, i.e. it’s a flat plane. Lines 12-21 appear to indicate line segments that indicate a difference in maximum heights between the optical elements but a review of the Figures does not show one with differing side wall heights or protrusion distances, and the claim language is sufficiently difficult such that a precise determination cannot be made.
For purposes of examination, examiner reads claim 16 as indicating there are a plurality of surfaces & optical elements with varying heights & dispositions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eletr et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20200229767) in view of Lin et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20220133188), the combination of which is hereafter referred to as “EL”.
As to claim 1, Eletr teaches a detection device comprising:
a substrate (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0032 “substrate 105a”);
a first light emitting unit that emits first light and is provided at the substrate (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0032 “LEDs 111c”);
a first light receiving unit that receives the first light, is parallel to the substrate when viewed in a first direction parallel to the substrate, and is provided at the substrate side by side with the first light emitting unit in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0032 “photodiodes 112d”);
a first optical member that transmits the first light and covers the first light emitting unit at the substrate (Figure 1Q, element 121d covering element 111c, paragraph 0034 “This silicone layer or covering 121/121a/121b/121c/121d/121e may reduce the light lost to reflection off the skin, and thereby greatly increase the signal and reduce the noise caused by motion of the skin relative to the sensor. In some implementations this silicone might be referred to as a light pipe and in some situations may be clear, colorless, and/or medical grade silicone.”);
a second optical member that transmits the first light and covers the first light receiving unit at the substrate (Figure 1Q, element 121d covering element 111c, paragraph 0034 “This silicone layer or covering 121/121a/121b/121c/121d/121e”); and
an accommodating member that is provided at the substrate and formed with a first opening accommodating the first light emitting unit and the first optical member and a second opening accommodating the first light receiving unit and the second optical member (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0047 “external barrier 123” and “barrier wall 122”),
wherein the accommodating member forms an opening in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (Figure 1Q, the walls 123 and 122 are open on top to let light in/out).
Eletr does not teach wherein at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member protrudes from an opening formed in the accommodating member in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction. However, Eletr teaches the top surface of the optical member can be a lens (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0034 “lens surface 121e”) and a protruding lens is taught by Lin. Lin teaches a sensor that is pressed against the skin (Abstract “A topical subcutaneous microcirculation detection device”) including a light source and detector on a substrate (Figure 4, elements 130, 160 on line 110a) with lenses protruding beyond the side walls (Figure 4), wherein at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member protrudes from an opening formed in the accommodating member in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (Figure 4, the lens surfaces 144, 146 protrude above the side walls 114a-b, see paragraph 0016). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify the lens surface of Eletr with the protruding surfaces of Lin and have at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member protrudes from an opening formed in the accommodating member in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction, in order to insure the top, in order to perform a more quantitative measurement with known pressing distances.
As to claim 2, EL Teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Lin teaches a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the accommodating member is orthogonal to the third direction (Figure 1Q, walls 122, 123 have flat tops that are parallel to the substrate 105a).
Eletr does not teach a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member includes a curved surface having a positive gradient in the third direction. However, it is known in the art as taught by Lin. Lin teaches a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member includes a curved surface having a positive gradient in the third direction (Figure 4, the lens surfaces are curved). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member includes a curved surface having a positive gradient in the third direction, in order to increase the depth & surface area of the skin being measured.
As to claim 3, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Lin teaches a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the accommodating member is orthogonal to the third direction (Figure 4, the walls 114a-b are perpendicular to the substrate 110a, which would be in the ‘up’ direction when applied to the surface 121e of Eletr), the first optical member protrudes from the first opening of the accommodating member in the third direction (Figure 4, the lens surface would curve in the ‘up’ direction when applied to the surface 121e of Eletr), the second optical member protrudes from the second opening of the accommodating member in the third direction (Figure 4, each of the sections has a lens above the side walls, and when this concept is applied to the invention of Eletr Figure 1Q, each lens surface 121e would have a curved surface), a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the first optical member includes a curved surface having a positive gradient in the third direction (Figure 4 has the lenses cupped above the substrate, similar to applicant’s Figure 12), and a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the second optical member includes a curved surface having a positive gradient in the third direction (Figure 4 has curved lenses and when this concept is applied to the invention of Eletr Figure 1Q, each lens surface 121e would have a curved surface). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the accommodating member is orthogonal to the third direction, the first optical member protrudes from the first opening of the accommodating member in the third direction, the second optical member protrudes from the second opening of the accommodating member in the third direction, a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the first optical member includes a curved surface having a positive gradient in the third direction, and a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the second optical member includes a curved surface having a positive gradient in the third direction, in order to better contact the skin with a known depth.
As to claim 4, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 3, in addition Lin teaches, when viewed in the first direction, a shape of the surface in the third direction among the surfaces included in the first optical member and a shape of the surface in the third direction among the surfaces included in the second optical member are different from each other (Figure 4 shows different shapes of lenses). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have, when viewed in the first direction, a shape of the surface in the third direction among the surfaces included in the first optical member and a shape of the surface in the third direction among the surfaces included in the second optical member are different from each other, in order to better focus and/or collect the light used to examine the skin.
As to claim 5 and 6, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of explicitly teaching the claimed surface shapes. However, Eletr teaches the use of a lens surface (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0034 “lens surface 121e”), Lin teaches the use of multiple surface shapes (Figure 4, surfaces P2-P3 are curved surfaces possessing a vertex) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use any or many shapes of lenses in any desired configuration, since the selection and placement of any of these known equivalents to the claimed lens shapes would be an obvious matter of engineering choice within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.06(II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to enable the claimed shapes and placements, in order to better obtain data from a given surface and for a desired purpose.
As to claim 7, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Lin teaches a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the accommodating member is orthogonal to the third direction, and a height in the third direction from the accommodating member to a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member is a height equal to or higher than a first height that satisfies a predetermined first condition and equal to or lower than a second height that satisfies a predetermined second condition (Figure 4, the heights of the lenses P1 and P2 are heights T1 and T2 above the flat surface P1, and when applied to the invention of Eletr would produce a structure that reads on the claimed limitations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the accommodating member is orthogonal to the third direction, and a height in the third direction from the accommodating member to a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in at least one of the first optical member and the second optical member is a height equal to or higher than a first height that satisfies a predetermined first condition and equal to or lower than a second height that satisfies a predetermined second condition, in order to press only a desired distance into the surface.
As to claim 12, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Eletr teaches a surface in the third direction (in Figure 1Q the third direction is upward, normal to the substrate 105a) among surfaces included in the accommodating member is orthogonal to the third direction, a contour of a cross-section of the first optical member along a virtual plane including the surface in the third direction among the surfaces included in the accommodating member coincides with a shape of an inner edge of the first opening when viewed in the third direction, and a contour of a cross-section of the second optical member along a virtual plane including the surface in the third direction among the surfaces included in the accommodating member coincides with a shape of an inner edge of the second opening when viewed in the third direction (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0031 “a silicone layer or covering 121 and/or 121a and/or 121b and/or 121c and/or 121d is shown covering/surrounding the light conduits and/or sensors/LEDs” and elements 121d are shown as conforming to the shape defined by the substrate & walls, including the top opening).
As to claim 13, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 12, in addition Eletr teaches the third direction is orthogonal to the substrate, when viewed in the first direction, a shape of a region that overlaps the first opening among regions included in the first optical member is a rectangular shape, and, when viewed in the first direction, a shape of a region that overlaps the second opening among regions included in the second optical member is a rectangular shape (Figure 1Q, elements 121d are in a rectangular shape).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EL, and further in view of Marriott et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20230172499).
As to claim 8, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 7, with the exception of the first condition is a height at which contact with human skin is not reduced. However, it is known in the art as taught by Marriott. Marriott teaches the first condition is a height at which contact with human skin is not reduced (paragraph 0104 “the PPG sensor protrudes from device substrate by a sufficient thickness – at least 0.1 mm, typically 0.5 mm – to compress patient’s skin and veins”) indicating that a distance between 0.1 mm would read on the claimed limitation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the first condition is a height at which contact with human skin is not reduced, in order to have the device not cause unwanted compression.
As to claim 9, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 8, with the exception of the first height is 0.2 mm. However, it is known in the art as taught by Marriott. Marriott teaches the first height is 0.2 mm (paragraph 0104 “the PPG sensor protrudes from device substrate by a sufficient thickness – at least 0.1 mm, typically 0.5 mm – to compress patient’s skin and veins”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the first height be 0.2 mm, in order to not cause undesired compression.
Additionally, Lin and Marriott are directed to measuring capillary blood (Lin paragraph 0006 “quantitatively measuring topical subcutaneous microcirculation”, Marriott Abstract “pulse oximetry method”) which is known to be from microns to millimeters deep, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use the claimed distance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges (amounts, proportions, etc) involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
As to claim 10, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 7, with the exception of the second condition is a height at which capillary vessels in human dermis do not collapse. However, it is known in the art as taught by Marriott. Marriott teaches the second condition is a height at which capillary vessels in human dermis do not collapse (paragraph 0046 “In FIG. 5D, a compressible adhesive foam 513 is used allowing the PPG sensor 511 to protrude from device, thereby increasing pressure applied on patient’s body and leading to compression of venous capillaries (V) so that they contribute less to PPG signal whereas blood pressure keeps arteria (A) well open so that they contribute normally to PPG signal.” indicating that the compression is such that the arterial capillaries to be measured are not collapsed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the second condition is a height at which capillary vessels in human dermis do not collapse, in order to ensure the blood flow through the capillaries is not stopped.
As to claim 11, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 10, with the exception of the second height is 1.2 mm. However, it is known in the art as taught by Marriott. Marriott teaches the second height is 1.2 mm (paragraph 0104 “the PPG sensor protrudes from device substrate by a sufficient thickness – at least 0.1 mm, typically 0.5 mm – to compress patient’s skin and veins”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the second height is 1.2 mm, in order to not have the sensor compress the arterial capillaries that are to be measured.
Additionally, Lin and Marriott are directed to measuring capillary blood (Lin paragraph 0006 “quantitatively measuring topical subcutaneous microcirculation”, Marriott Abstract “pulse oximetry method”) which is known to be from microns to millimeters deep, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use the claimed distance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges (amounts, proportions, etc) involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EL, and further in view of Qi et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20180279892)
As to claim 14, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Eletr teaches a second light emitting unit that emits second light having a wavelength band different from a wavelength band of the first light (Figure 1N, paragraph 0037 “one or multiple LED emitters 111c/111d (and/or 111e and/or 111f) of selected wavelengths”) and is provided at the substrate side by side with the first light emitting unit in the first direction (Figure 1N is a top view showing light sources 111c-d are adjacent to one another along an axis that is perpendicular to the direction of the detectors 112f & 112e);
a third optical member that transmits the second light and covers the second light emitting unit at the substrate; and a fourth optical member that transmits the second light and covers the second light receiving unit at the substrate (Figure 1N shows both of the light detectors 112c-d are covered, and paragraph 0031 teaches covering all light sources & detectors “silicone layer or covering 121 and/or 121a and/or 121b and/or 121c and/or 121d is shown covering/surrounding the light conduits and/or sensors/LEDs 111c/111d/112c”);
the first optical member is configured integrally with the third optical member (Figures 1N through 1Q show the light sources & detectors integrated on a single substrate, see also Figure 1).
While Eletr as modified by Lin above teaches multiple sensors (Figure 1N has four sensors 112c-f), Eletr does not teach a second light receiving unit that receives the second light and is provided at the substrate side by side with the first light receiving unit in the second direction. However, Qi teaches using light to measure the characteristics of skin (Abstract “a vital sign measuring device and method”, and the majority of the Figures show light on or through the epidermis & dermis) teaching many arrangements of light sources and sensors (Figures 10-12, 14-27d) among which are sensors side-by-side in the second direction relative to the light source, indicating that the number & placement of light sources & detectors affect the signals being measured. As the number & placement are results effective variables and there are a finite number of possible numbers & positions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to enable the claimed limitations, in order to increase the system detection ability. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
While Eletr as modified by Lin above does not teach wherein the accommodating member is formed with a fourth opening in which the second light receiving unit and the fourth optical member are accommodated, the first opening accommodates the second light emitting unit and the third optical member together with the first optical member, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have as many holes as there are light sources & detectors, since while Eletr does not explicitly teach four openings, Eletr teaches an opening for each light source & detector (e.g. Figure 1Q). It is known in the art of optics to have an opening for each optical element, doing so would have taken only ordinary engineering experience, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to enable the claimed limitation, in order to better guide light to & from each optical element as desired.
As to claim 15, EL in view of Qi teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 14, in addition Lin teaches, when viewed in the first direction, a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the second optical member and a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the fourth optical member are different from each other (Figure 4 shows different shapes of lenses applied to different areas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have, when viewed in the first direction, a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the second optical member and a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the fourth optical member are different from each other, in order to better enable the light transmission and collection for a particular experimental setup.
As to claims 16, 17, 18, EL in view of Qi teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claims 15, 14, 14 respectively, with the exception of the claimed surfaces and placements. However, Eletr teaches the use of a lens surface (Figure 1Q, paragraph 0034 “lens surface 121e”), Lin teaches the use of multiple surface shapes (Figure 4, surfaces P2-P3 are curved surfaces possessing a vertex) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to use any or many shapes of lenses in any desired configuration, since the selection and placement of any of these known equivalents to the claimed lens shapes would be an obvious matter of engineering choice within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.06(II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to enable the claimed surfaces and placements, in order to better obtain data from a given surface and for a desired purpose.
As to claim 19, EL teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Eletr teaches a second light emitting unit that emits second light having a wavelength band different from a wavelength band of the first light (Figure 1N, paragraph 0037 “one or multiple LED emitters 111c/111d (and/or 111e and/or 111f) of selected wavelengths”) and is provided at the substrate side by side with the first light emitting unit in the first direction (Figure 1N is a top view showing light sources 111c-d are adjacent to one another along an axis that is perpendicular to the direction of the detectors 112f & 112e);
a third optical member that transmits the second light and covers the second light emitting unit at the substrate; and a fourth optical member that transmits the second light and covers the second light receiving unit at the substrate (Figure 1N shows both of the light detectors 112c-d are covered, and paragraph 0031 teaches covering all light sources & detectors “silicone layer or covering 121 and/or 121a and/or 121b and/or 121c and/or 121d is shown covering/surrounding the light conduits and/or sensors/LEDs 111c/111d/112c”);
While Eletr as modified by Lin above teaches multiple sensors (Figure 1N has four sensors 112c-f), Eletr does not teach a second light receiving unit that receives the second light and is provided at the substrate side by side with the first light receiving unit in the second direction. However, Qi teaches using light to measure the characteristics of skin (Abstract “a vital sign measuring device and method”, and the majority of the Figures show light on or through the epidermis & dermis) teaching many arrangements of light sources and sensors (Figures 10-12, 14-27d) among which are sensors side-by-side in the second direction relative to the light source, indicating that the number & placement of light sources & detectors affect the signals being measured. As the number & placement are results effective variables and there are a finite number of possible numbers & positions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to enable the claimed limitations, in order to increase the system detection ability. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
While Eletr as modified by Lin above does not teach wherein the accommodating member is formed with a third opening in which the second light emitting unit and the third optical member are accommodated and a fourth opening in which the second light receiving unit and the fourth optical member are accommodated, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have as many holes as there are light sources & detectors, since while Eletr does not explicitly teach four openings, Eletr teaches an opening for each light source & detector (e.g. Figure 1Q). It is known in the art of optics to have an opening for each optical element, doing so would have taken only ordinary engineering experience, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to enable the claimed limitation, in order to better guide light to & from each optical element as desired.
As to claim 20, EL in view of Qi teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim19, in addition Eletr teaches teaches a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the accommodating member is orthogonal to the third direction (Figure 1Q, walls 122, 123 have flat tops that are parallel to the substrate 105a).
Eletr as modified by Qi above does not teach, when viewed in the second direction, a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the first optical member and a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the third optical member are different from each other. However, it is known in the art as taught by Lin. Lin teaches when viewed in the second direction, a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the first optical member and a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the third optical member are different from each other (Figure 4 shows different shapes of lenses applied to different areas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have, when viewed in the second direction, a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the first optical member and a shape of a surface in the third direction among surfaces included in the third optical member are different from each other, in order to better enable the light transmission and collection for a particular experimental setup.
Conclusion
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877