DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on April 30, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims received on April 30, 2026 has been entered.
The amendment of claims 1, 8 and 9 is acknowledged.
The new claims 10-13 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano’125 (US 2016/0150125), and further in view of Gale’174 (US 2007/0245174).
With respect to claim 1, Yano’125 teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig.1, item 101), comprising circuitry configured to:
perform an authentication process in response to a request from a first information terminal of a first administrator to log in to the image forming apparatus (Fig.7, step S701 and S702);
receive designation of a device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal when the first administrator logs in based on the authentication process (Fig.7, step S705);
transmit a request to log in to the image forming apparatus, to second information terminals of one or more second administrators different from the first administrator, in response to the designation of the device management operation (Fig.16, step S507);
execute a process corresponding to the device management operation when at least one of the at least one second administrator permits the execution of the device management operation and no one of the at least one second administrator rejects the execution of the device management operation (Fig.16, SS1603 and S1604).
Yano’125 does not teach cause, when at least one second administrator logs in, the first information terminal to display a screen for the device management operation received before transmitting the request to the second information terminals; receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation.
Gale’174 teaches cause, when at least one second administrator logs in, the first information terminal to display a screen for the device management operation received before transmitting the request to the second information terminals [making a request for help to the known available administrators according to the status table (Fig.6, item 600) for a status associated with Administrator 1, Administrator 2 and Administrator 3 (paragraphs 39-49 and Fig. 3, step 305). As shown in Fig.6, only the admin 1 and admin 2 are available to be requested for help, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to determine at least one admin which is available (logs in) to be selected either manually by a user or automatically by a computer system before making any operation to request for help because this will allow the request for help to be processed more effectively.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yano’125 according to the teaching of Gale’174 to determine at least one admin which is available (logs in) to be selected either manually by a user or automatically by a computer system before transmitting an approval request to the said available admin has logged in to administrator PC for approval because this will allow the request for help to be processed more effectively
The combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation.
As shown in Fig.16 in Yano’125, the image forming apparatus transmits the approval request to the administrator PC for approval in step S507 after the said image forming apparatus has received the accessing application page request from the client pc in step S501 and then the image forming apparatus transmits the approval to the client PC after the administrator has approved the approval request via the administrator PC (paragraphs 83, 84 and 88) and Gale’174 teaches making a request for help to the known available administrators according to the status table (Fig.6, item 600) for a status associated with Administrator 1, Administrator 2 and Administrator 3 (paragraphs 39-49 and Fig. 3, step 305), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to have an administrator (second administrator) to login the administrator PC first and have accessed to (login to) the image forming apparatus so that the client PC is able to select the said administrator (second administrator) as the available administrator to transmit the report approval request via the image forming apparatus and the administrator PC (receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation) because this will allow the administrator to receive and review the approval request more effectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 to recognize to have an administrator (second administrator) to login the administrator PC first and have accessed to (login to) the image forming apparatus so that the client PC is able to select the said administrator (second administrator) as the available administrator to transmit the report approval request via the image forming apparatus and the administrator PC (receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation) because this will allow the administrator to receive and review the approval request more effectively.
With respect to claim 5, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach wherein the circuitry is configured to change a time from when the circuitry transmits the request to permit the execution of the device management operation to when the at least one second administrator responds to the request to permit through the second information terminal.
As shown in Fig.16 in Yano’125, the image forming apparatus transmits the approval request to the administrator PC for approval in step S507 after the said image forming apparatus has received the accessing application page request from the client pc in step S501 and then the image forming apparatus transmits the approval to the client PC after the administrator has approved the approval request via the administrator PC (paragraphs 83, 84 and 88), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to postpone the time letting the client pc (lower-level administrator) to use the MFP when the client pc (lower-level administrator) requests to login to the MFP and the administrator (higher-level administrator) is working on (responds to) the request to permit through the administrator PC because this will allow the MFP to provide its functions more effectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 to postpone the time letting the client pc (lower-level administrator) to use the MFP when the client pc (lower-level administrator) requests to login to the MFP and the administrator (higher-level administrator) is working on (responds to) the request to permit through the administrator PC because this will allow the MFP to provide its functions more effectively
With respect to claim 8, it is a method claim and it is being analyzed and rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claim 9, Yano’125 teaches an information processing system (Fig.1) comprising:
an image forming apparatus (Fig.1, item 101);
a first information terminal (Fig.1, item 102) used by a first administrator [regarding to the user of the client pc (Fig.1, item 102)]; and
second information terminals (Fig.1, item 102) used by one or more second administrators [regarding to the user of the administrator PC (Fig.1, item 103)] different from the first administrator,
the image forming apparatus (Fig.1, item 101) including circuitry configured to:
perform an authentication process in response to a request from the first information terminal of the first administrator to log in to the image forming apparatus (Fig.7, step S701 and S702);
receive designation of a device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal when the first administrator logs in based on the authentication process (Fig.7, step S705);
transmit a request to log in to the image forming apparatus, to the second information terminals of the one or more second administrators, in response to the designation of the device management operation (Fig.16, step S507);
execute a process corresponding to the device management operation when at least one of the at least one second administrator permits the execution of the device management operation and no one of the at least one second administrator rejects the execution of the device management operation (Fig.16, SS1603 and S1604).
Yano’125 does not teach cause, when at least one second administrator logs in, the first information terminal to display a screen for the device management operation received before transmitting the request to the second information terminals; receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation.
Gale’174 teaches cause, when at least one second administrator logs in, the first information terminal to display a screen for the device management operation received before transmitting the request to the second information terminals [making a request for help to the known available administrators according to the status table (Fig.6, item 600) for a status associated with Administrator 1, Administrator 2 and Administrator 3 (paragraphs 39-49 and Fig. 3, step 305). As shown in Fig.6, only the admin 1 and admin 2 are available to be requested for help, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to determine at least one admin which is available (logs in) to be selected either manually by a user or automatically by a computer system before making any operation to request for help because this will allow the request for help to be processed more effectively.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yano’125 according to the teaching of Gale’174 to determine at least one admin which is available (logs in) to be selected either manually by a user or automatically by a computer system before transmitting an approval request to the said available admin has logged in to administrator PC for approval because this will allow the request for help to be processed more effectively
The combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation.
As shown in Fig.16 in Yano’125, the image forming apparatus transmits the approval request to the administrator PC for approval in step S507 after the said image forming apparatus has received the accessing application page request from the client pc in step S501 and then the image forming apparatus transmits the approval to the client PC after the administrator has approved the approval request via the administrator PC (paragraphs 83, 84 and 88) and Gale’174 teaches making a request for help to the known available administrators according to the status table (Fig.6, item 600) for a status associated with Administrator 1, Administrator 2 and Administrator 3 (paragraphs 39-49 and Fig. 3, step 305), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to have an administrator (second administrator) to login the administrator PC first and have accessed to (login to) the image forming apparatus so that the client PC is able to select the said administrator (second administrator) as the available administrator to transmit the report approval request via the image forming apparatus and the administrator PC (receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation) because this will allow the administrator to receive and review the approval request more effectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 to recognize to have an administrator (second administrator) to login the administrator PC first and have accessed to (login to) the image forming apparatus so that the client PC is able to select the said administrator (second administrator) as the available administrator to transmit the report approval request via the image forming apparatus and the administrator PC (receive the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal; transmit a request to permit execution of the device management operation to the second information terminal of the at least one second administrator who has logged in to the image forming apparatus before the device management operation is received, in response to the device management operation) because this will allow the administrator to receive and review the approval request more effectively.
With respect to claim 10, which further limits claim 1, Yano’125 teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to receive the device management operation in a restricted mode (Fig.9).
With respect to claim 13, which further limits claim 1, Yano’125 teaches wherein the device management operation includes: an operation to change the device management operation to another device management operation [the image forming apparatus is able to be used during the outside usage hours after getting approval from the administrator PC (Fig.5)].
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano’125 (US 2016/0150125), Gale’174 (US 2007/0245174) and further in view of Shozaki’947 (US 2006/0099947).
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach wherein the circuitry is configured to receive the device management operation in a restricted mode when no one of the one or more second administrators logs in to the image forming apparatus in response to the request to log in.
Shozaki’947 teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to receive the device management operation in a restricted mode when no one of the one or more second administrators logs in to the image forming apparatus in response to the request to log in [the restricted functions of the MFP for a particular user is considered being restricted until the administrator logins to the MFP and then to approve the said restricted functions (Fig.3)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 according to the teaching of Shozaki’947 to restrict functions of the MFP for a particular user until the administrator logins to the MFP and then to approve the said restrict because this will allow the functions of the MFP to be controlled more effectively.
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 2, the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach wherein the restricted mode includes at least one of a mode in which only browsing is allowed or a mode in which the first administrator is logged out after an elapse of a predetermined time.
Shozaki’947 teaches wherein the restricted mode includes at least one of a mode in which only browsing is allowed or a mode in which the first administrator is logged out after an elapse of a predetermined time [the restricted functions of the MFP for a particular user is considered being restricted until the administrator logins to the MFP and then to approve the said restricted functions (Fig.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that a particular user is only allow to browsing the restricted functions of the MFP without allowing to using them until the administrator logins to the MFP and then to approve the said restricted functions].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 according to the teaching of Shozaki’947 to restrict functions of the MFP for a particular user until the administrator logins to the MFP and then to approve the said restrict because this will allow the functions of the MFP to be controlled more effectively.
With respect to claim 6, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach wherein the circuitry is configured to receive the device management operation or cancellation of the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal when the at least one second administrator logs in.
Shozaki’947 teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to receive the device management operation or cancellation of the device management operation from the first administrator through the first information terminal when the at least one second administrator logs in [as shown in Fig.3, the administrator (one second administrator) logins to the MFP to approve the function which is being restricted to a user (a first administrator) after receiving the approval request from the said user.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 according to the teaching of Shozaki’947 to restrict functions of the MFP for a particular user until the administrator logins to the MFP and then to approve the said restrict because this will allow the functions of the MFP to be controlled more effectively.
With respect to claim 7, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach wherein the device management operation includes: an operation to change the device management operation to another device management operation; and an operation to change the other device management operation to the device management operation.
Shozaki’947 teaches wherein the device management operation includes: an operation to change the device management operation to another device management operation [as shown in Fig.3, the administrator (one second administrator) logins to the MFP to approve the function which is being restricted to a user (a first administrator) after receiving the approval request from the said user. Therefore, the administrator (one second administrator) is considered to swap the available functions for the user (a first administrator) according the request from the said user]; and an operation to change the other device management operation to the device management operation [as shown in Fig.3, the administrator (one second administrator) logins to the MFP to approve the function which is being restricted to a user (a first administrator) after receiving the approval request from the said user. Therefore, the administrator (one second administrator) is considered to swap the available functions for the user (a first administrator) according the request from the said user].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 according to the teaching of Shozaki’947 to restrict functions of the MFP for a particular user until the administrator logins to the MFP and then to approve the said restrict because this will allow the functions of the MFP to be controlled more effectively.
With respect to claim 11, which further limits claim 2, the combination of Yano’125,
Gale’174 and Shozaki’947 does not teach wherein the restricted mode includes a mode in which only browsing is allowed.
Yano’125 teaches that the restricted functions associated with the image forming apparatus are being configured according to the user’s preference (Fig.9) and the application page (browsing) in the image forming apparatus is needed to be accessed in order to transmit a request an approval to use the image forming apparatus outside usage hours (paragraph 80), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to allow an user to access the web page provided by the image forming apparatus only when the user wants to use the image forming apparatus outside usage hours because this will allow the image forming apparatus to be managed more effectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125,
Gale’174 and Shozaki’947 to allow an user to access the web page provided by the image forming apparatus only when the user wants to use the image forming apparatus outside usage hours because this will allow the image forming apparatus to be managed more effectively.
With respect to claim 12, which further limits claim 2, Yano’125 teaches wherein the restricted mode includes a mode in which the first administrator is logged out after an elapse of a predetermined time [as shown in Fig.9, some of the function in the image forming apparatus is being restricted to be outside usage hours. Therefore, a user (a first administrator) is considered being restricted to use some of the functions in the image forming apparatus logged out during outside usage hours (the after an elapse of a predetermined time) without any additional approval].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano’125 (US 2016/0150125), Gale’174 (US 2007/0245174) and further in view of Dandoko’413 (US 2017/0099413).
With respect to claim 4, which further limits claim 1, the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 does not teach wherein the circuitry is configured to change a time from when the circuitry transmits the request to log in to when the at least one second administrator performs a login operation through the second information terminal.
Dandoko’413 teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to change a time from when the circuitry transmits the request to log in to when the at least one second administrator performs a login operation through the second information terminal [As shown in Fig.3. the general user and the administrator user are being assigned with different priority such that the administrator user is given higher priority over the general user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to postpone the time letting the general user (lower-level administrator) to use the MFP when the general user requests to login to the MFP and the administrator (higher-level administrator) performs a login operation to the MFP because this will allow the MFP to provide its functions more effectively].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yano’125 and Gale’174 according to the teaching of Dandoko’413 to postpone the time letting the general user (lower-level administrator) to use the MFP when the general user requests to login to the MFP and the administrator (higher-level administrator) performs a login operation to the MFP because this will allow the MFP to provide its functions more effectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682