DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 3/7/24 is acknowledged, the references therein relating to the general background of applicant’s invention.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Printing information processing apparatus for requiring a user operation at a printer when information leakage risk is high”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: words “print according” in lines 7, 8 and 10 should be “printing according”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit … determination unit … execution unit” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Inspection of the specification reveals a network card (paragraph 30 of the publication) corresponds to the acquisition unit; and a CPU (paragraph 28) corresponds to the determination and execution units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2022/0078307 by Muto, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2015/0121542 by Kinoshita et al.
2) Regarding claim 1, Muto teaches an information processing (figure 1, item 100; paragraph 21 discloses item 100 can be implemented as one or more apparatuses) apparatus comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire a print instruction designated to be executed by a first method that does not need a user operation on a print apparatus to start print (figure 8; paragraphs 117 and 118; job can be received without authentication information and without high confidentiality and sent straight to printer for immediate print [as described in paragraph 52]); a determination unit configured to, in a case where the acquisition unit acquires the print instruction designated to be executed by the first method, determine, whether an information leakage risk caused by execution of print according to the print instruction is higher than a threshold (figure 8, item S820; paragraph 123; guest job can be determined to have confidentiality above a threshold [i.e. it contains specific confidential characters]); and an execution unit configured to execute the print instruction by the first method in a case where it is determined that the information leakage risk is lower than the threshold (figure 8, item S715; low confidentiality is transmitted straight to printer), and execute the print instruction by a second method that needs the user operation on the print apparatus to start print in a case where it is determined that the information leakage risk is higher than the threshold (figure 8, items S740, S745 and S750; paragraphs 51 and 52; registered user information replaces guest information thereby requiring password of the particular user to be entered at the printer).
Muto does not specifically teach determining, based on at least one of a date/time to execute print according to the print instruction and a position of the print apparatus that executes print according to the print instruction, whether an information leakage risk caused by execution of print.
Kinoshita teaches determining, based on at least one of a date/time to execute print according to the print instruction and a position of the print apparatus that executes print according to the print instruction, whether an information leakage risk caused by execution of print (paragraph 50; installation position of an MFP can be utilized to determine a security level).
Muto and Kinoshita are combinable because they are both from the secure network printing field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Muto with Kinoshita to add determination of security level according to location. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine whether or not authentication is required when outputting a document (paragraph 25). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Muto with Kinoshita to obtain the invention of claim 1.
3) Regarding claim 2, Muto teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the acquisition unit acquires a second print instruction designated to be executed by the second method, the execution unit executes the second print instruction by the second method regardless of whether an information leakage risk caused by execution of print according to the second print instruction is higher than the threshold. (paragraph 44 and 52; registered user’s job can require authentication by password and the confidentiality level does not matter).
4) Regarding claim 4, Muto teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein executing the print instruction by the second method includes issuing a code to be input to the print apparatus that executes print according to the print instruction (paragraphs 51 and 52; password executes printing).
5) Regarding claim 7, Kinoshita (as combined with Muto in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where neither a user nor an administrator of the information processing apparatus sets to inhibit the first method based on a determination that the information leakage risk is higher than the threshold, and in a case where the acquisition unit acquires the print instruction designated to be executed by the first method, the execution unit executes the print instruction by the first method (paragraph 25; when security print setting is off, job with high confidentiality can be printed as is).
6) Regarding claim 8, Muto teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is located away from the print apparatus that executes print according to the print instruction (figure 1, item 100; paragraph 21 discloses item 100 can be implemented as one or more apparatuses).
7) Regarding claim 9, Muto teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the information processing apparatus is incorporated in the print apparatus that executes print according to the print instruction (figure 1, item 100; paragraph 21 discloses item 100 can be implemented as one or more apparatuses).
8) Claims 10 and 11 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 1 above.
9) Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2022/0078307 by Muto, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2015/0121542 by Kinoshita et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. patent 10,942,689 by Boo et al.
Muto teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the determination unit determines whether the information leakage risk is higher than the threshold further based on contents of a print target designated by the print instruction (paragraph 123; confidentiality level can be determined based upon job contents).
Muto does not specifically teach determining whether the information leakage risk based on the number of pages of the print target designated by the print instruction.
Boo teaches determining whether the information leakage risk based on the number of pages of the print target designated by the print instruction (figure 12; column 12, lines 12-25; higher security can be implemented for a higher number of pages).
Muto and Boo are combinable because they are both from the secure network printing field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Muto with Boo to add determination of security level according to page amount. The motivation for doing so would have been for “improved security” (column 12, line 50). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Muto with Kinoshita and Boo to obtain the invention of claim 3.
10) Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2022/0078307 by Muto, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2015/0121542 by Kinoshita et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2019/0095152 by Kaneko.
11) Regarding claim 5, Muto (as combined with Kinoshita in the rejection of claim 1 above) teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where an the information processing apparatus sets to inhibit the first method based on a determination that the information leakage risk is higher than the threshold (Kinoshita paragraph 25; security print setting can be turned “ON” or “OFF”), in a case where the acquisition unit acquires the print instruction designated to be executed by the first method, and in a case where the determination unit determines that the information leakage risk is higher than the threshold, the execution unit executes the print instruction by the second method (figure 8, items S740, S745 and S750; paragraphs 51 and 52; registered user information replaces guest information thereby requiring password of the particular user to be entered at the printer).
Muto does not specifically teach an administrator of the information processing apparatus sets to inhibit the first method based on a determination that the information leakage risk is higher than the threshold.
Kaneko teaches an administrator of the information processing apparatus sets to inhibit the first method based on a determination that the information leakage risk is higher than the threshold (paragraph 2; forcible hold printing can be turned on by admin).
Muto and Kaneko are combinable because they are both from the secure network printing field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Muto with Kaneko to add admin settings. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the leaving of printed matter alone (paragraph 2). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Muto with Kinoshita and Kaneko to obtain the invention of claim 5.
12) Claim 6 is taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN O. DULANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/BENJAMIN O DULANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683