DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment filed September 4, 2025, claim 1 was amended and new claims 4-7 were presented. Claims 1-7 are pending, with claim 3 withdrawn.
The amendments to the specification are entered in view of Applicant’s remarks that they do not constitute new matter (Remarks at pp. 7-8). The examiner independently confirmed the “translation error” via Google Translate.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of the claims over Volkmer have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, Inubushi is relied upon to teach the absorbing as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2020/0347992 to Volkmer et al. (hereinafter, “Volkmer”) in view of U.S. Pub. 2015/0144085 to Inubushi et al. (hereinafter, “Inubushi”).
Regarding claim 1, Volkmer discloses a pressure container (gas cylinder assembly 100, Figs. 2-5) comprising: a storage member (enclosure 120, Fig. 4) extending in an axial direction (see Figs. 2-3) and capable of releasing gas (enclosure 120 is capable of releasing gas via neck 142, see Figs. 2, 5); a cap (neck 142, Figs. 2, 5) placed at an end portion (end portion 210, Figs. 2, 5) in the axial direction of the storage member (see Fig. 2); a reinforcing layer (reinforcement structure 110, Figs. 4-5) covering outer circumferential surfaces (outer surface 127, Fig. 4) of the storage member (enclosure 120) and the cap (neck 142, see Fig. 5); and a gas barrier layer (permeation barrier layer 134, Figs. 4-5) interposed between the outer circumferential surfaces (outer surface 127) and an inner circumferential surface of the reinforcing layer (innermost surface of reinforcement structure 110, see Fig. 4), formed in a film shape (see Figs. 4-5), and having gas barrier properties (paras. [0052]-[0055]) and heat-shrinkable properties (para. [0055] discloses the barrier layer 134 may be EVOH or PVDC, which have heat-shrinkable properties, see e.g. Applicant’s specification at paras. [0032]-[0033]).
Volkmer does not expressly disclose the storage member is capable of absorbing gas.
Inubushi teaches a similar pressure container comprising a storage member extending in an axial direction (see Fig. 3). Inubushi teaches that the pressure container may be used to store different gaseous fuels (para. [0015]). Inubushi teaches the storage member comprises an absorbent material that includes a porous metal complex (para. [0086]). Inubushi teaches the absorbent material is in the form of consolidated powder in the form of pellets (para. [0100]). Inubushi teaches the storage member may include a crosslinking agent or binder that includes a silicone-based material, epoxy-based material, or amine-based material (para. [0101]). Inubushi further teaches that an absorbent material in the storage member has excellent durability and stability and provides “superior storage performance” (paras. [0016]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the pressure container of Volkmer to add a porous metal complex in the form of pellets and having a cross-linking agent or binder to the storage member such that it is capable of absorbing gas as taught by Inubushi for the purpose of providing good durability, stability, and storage performance, as recognized by Inubushi (paras. [0016]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Volkmer as modified by Inubushi already includes the storage member comprises at least one of a porous carbon material, a porous metal complex, zeolite, a hydrogen storage alloy, or a metal hydride (Inubushi, porous metal complex, paras. [0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Volkmer as modified by Inubushi already includes the storage member is formed of consolidated powder in the form of pellets (Inubushi, para. [0100]).
Regarding claim 6, Volkmer as modified by Inubushi already includes the storage member is formed by crosslinking powder of the storage member (Inubushi, para. [0100]) by a crosslinking agent (Inubushi, para. [0101]), and the crosslinking agent is formed of at least one of a silicone-based material, an epoxy- based material, or an amine-based material (Inubushi, para. [0101]).
Regarding claim 7, Volkmer as modified by Inubushi already includes the storage member is formed by crosslinking powder of the storage member (Inubushi, para. [0100]) by binding the powder of the storage member material by a binder (Inubushi, para. [0101]), and the binder is formed of at least one of a silicone-based material, an epoxy-based material, or an amine-based material (Inubushi, para. [0101]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volkmer in view of Inubushi as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of U.S. Pub. 2019/0128475 to Roland et al. (hereinafter, “Roland”).
Regarding claim 2, Volkmer as modified above does not expressly disclose a water repellent layer placed outward of the gas barrier layer.
Roland teaches a similar pressure container (pressure vessel 100, Fig. 1) comprising a storage member (lining 110, para. [0021]), a cap (140, Fig. 1), and a reinforcing layer (overwrap 120, para. [0021]). Roland teaches a water repellent layer placed on an outer surface (elastomeric polymer coating 130, para. [0022]). Roland teaches that the water repellent layer mitigates damage from ballistic or blast assault, dampens effects of mechanical impact, and slows ingress of external fluids to reduce corrosion (para. [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the pressure container of Volkmer/Inubushi to add a water repellent layer to an outer surface of the container as taught by Roland for the purpose of mitigating damage, dampening effects of mechanical impact, and reducing corrosion from external fluids, as recognized by Roland (para. [0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. 2015/0048095 to Sanders discloses filling a pressure tank with adsorbent materials such as nano-carbon or polymeric pellets for the purpose of allowing a compressed gas to be stored at a lower pressure (see e.g., para. [0072]).
U.S. Pub. 2013/0115536 to Barton discloses a pressure tank comprising a hydrogen storage alloy formed with a binder (see paras. [0055]-[0056]).
U.S. Pub. 2002/0073617 to Ovshinsky et al. a pressure tank comprising a hydrogen storage alloy.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733