DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s remarks received on June 23, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu et al. (US 2022/0198272) and Li et al. (US 2019/0051290).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a device and via a user interface, a selection of a labeled training dataset and a selection of a target training dataset, wherein the target training dataset is captured from a target domain (“In some embodiments, the standard training datasets 132 may or may not be labeled or partially labeled, but the domain-specific training datasets 134 may be properly labeled” at paragraph 0030, second to last sentence);
forming, by the device, a domain-adapted training dataset (“The domain-specific training datasets 134 may be collected respectively from one or more specific domains” at paragraph 0032, line 4);
training, by the device, a machine learning model using the domain-adapted training dataset (“In some embodiments, the backbone neural network 210 may be used as a foundation to train detectors 220 for specific domains. Here, a domain may refer to a geographic location, a spatial and/or temporal unit, or another suitable form. As a simple example, a domain may be represented by a surveillance camera monitoring a spatial unit (e.g., an isle in a store, a park)” at paragraph 0037, line 1); and
pruning, by the device, the machine learning model to form a domain-adapted model for the target domain (“In some embodiments, the neural network pruning component 126 in the back-end processing component 122 may be configured to reduce the number of active neurons at least in the first neural network. In some embodiments, the first neural network within the second neural network is trained based on a large amount of data and includes a large number of neurons, while each branch extended from the first neural network is trained based on a small amount of data and thus include a small number of neurons. For this reason, an effective way to reduce the size of the second neural network may be pruning the first neural network therein. In some embodiments, the pruning process may also sparsify the neurons in the branches. In some embodiments, the pruning and training of the second neural network may be executed as an iterative process” at paragraph 0033, line 1).
Liu et al. does not explicitly disclose that the target training dataset is an unlabeled training dataset.
However, Liu et al. mentions above that labeling of the target dataset “may” occur, meaning it is not mandatory. Additionally, Liu et al. demonstrates that each image is represented by a specific camera, as indicated by a camera identifier. Therefore, by forming a set from a specific camera identifier would preclude the need for labeling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize such a dataset for the target dataset to cut down on the time cost associated with such a task.
Liu et al. further does not explicitly disclose that the domain-adapted training dataset is formed by pruning the labeled training dataset based on the unlabeled training dataset.
Li et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of neural network domain adaptation, comprising:
forming, by the device, a domain-adapted training dataset by pruning the standard training dataset based on the target training dataset (“Method 300 optionally proceeds to OPERATION 340, where the training data, including the source domain data 130 and the associated target domain data 140, are pruned according the domain characteristics of the target domain” at paragraph 0054, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the labeled training dataset of Liu et al. by pruning as taught by Li et al. to create a curated training dataset that most closely matches the expected target domain (see Li et al. at paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a network interface to communicate with a computer network (“The computer system 600 may include a network interface 618 coupled to bus 602. Network interface 618 may provide a two-way data communication coupling to one or more network links that are connected to one or more local networks” at paragraph 0067, line 1);
a processor coupled to the network interface and configured to execute one or more processes (“one or more hardware processor(s) 604 coupled with bus 602 for processing information” at paragraph 0063, line 3); and
a memory configured to store a process that is executed by the processor (“Main memory 606 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions executable by processor(s) 604” at paragraph 0064, line 5), the process when executed configured to:
receive, via a user interface, a selection of a labeled training dataset and a selection of a target training dataset, wherein the target training dataset is captured from a target domain (“In some embodiments, the standard training datasets 132 may or may not be labeled or partially labeled, but the domain-specific training datasets 134 may be properly labeled” at paragraph 0030, second to last sentence);
form a domain-adapted training dataset (“The domain-specific training datasets 134 may be collected respectively from one or more specific domains” at paragraph 0032, line 4);
train a machine learning model using the domain-adapted training dataset (“In some embodiments, the backbone neural network 210 may be used as a foundation to train detectors 220 for specific domains. Here, a domain may refer to a geographic location, a spatial and/or temporal unit, or another suitable form. As a simple example, a domain may be represented by a surveillance camera monitoring a spatial unit (e.g., an isle in a store, a park)” at paragraph 0037, line 1); and
prune the machine learning model to form a domain-adapted model for the target domain (“In some embodiments, the neural network pruning component 126 in the back-end processing component 122 may be configured to reduce the number of active neurons at least in the first neural network. In some embodiments, the first neural network within the second neural network is trained based on a large amount of data and includes a large number of neurons, while each branch extended from the first neural network is trained based on a small amount of data and thus include a small number of neurons. For this reason, an effective way to reduce the size of the second neural network may be pruning the first neural network therein. In some embodiments, the pruning process may also sparsify the neurons in the branches. In some embodiments, the pruning and training of the second neural network may be executed as an iterative process” at paragraph 0033, line 1).
Liu et al. does not explicitly disclose that the target training dataset is an unlabeled training dataset.
However, Liu et al. mentions above that labeling of the target dataset “may” occur, meaning it is not mandatory. Additionally, Liu et al. demonstrates that an image is represented by a specific camera, as indicated by a camera identifier. Therefore, by forming a set from a specific camera identifier would preclude the need for labeling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize such a dataset for the target dataset to cut down on the time cost associated with such a task.
Liu et al. further does not explicitly disclose that the domain-adapted training dataset is formed by pruning the labeled training dataset based on the unlabeled training dataset.
Li et al. teaches an apparatus in the same field of endeavor of neural network domain adaptation, comprising:
forming a domain-adapted training dataset by pruning the standard training dataset based on the target training dataset (“Method 300 optionally proceeds to OPERATION 340, where the training data, including the source domain data 130 and the associated target domain data 140, are pruned according the domain characteristics of the target domain” at paragraph 0054, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the labeled training dataset of Liu et al. by pruning as taught by Li et al. to create a curated training dataset that most closely matches the expected target domain (see Li et al. at paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al. discloses a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that cause a device to execute a process (“Main memory 606 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions executable by processor(s) 604” at paragraph 0064, line 5) comprising:
receiving, at a device and via a user interface, a selection of a labeled training dataset and a selection of a target training dataset, wherein the target training dataset is captured from a target domain (“In some embodiments, the standard training datasets 132 may or may not be labeled or partially labeled, but the domain-specific training datasets 134 may be properly labeled” at paragraph 0030, second to last sentence);
forming, by the device, a domain-adapted training dataset (“The domain-specific training datasets 134 may be collected respectively from one or more specific domains” at paragraph 0032, line 4);
training, by the device, a machine learning model using the domain-adapted training dataset (“In some embodiments, the backbone neural network 210 may be used as a foundation to train detectors 220 for specific domains. Here, a domain may refer to a geographic location, a spatial and/or temporal unit, or another suitable form. As a simple example, a domain may be represented by a surveillance camera monitoring a spatial unit (e.g., an isle in a store, a park)” at paragraph 0037, line 1); and
pruning, by the device, the machine learning model to form a domain-adapted model for the target domain (“In some embodiments, the neural network pruning component 126 in the back-end processing component 122 may be configured to reduce the number of active neurons at least in the first neural network. In some embodiments, the first neural network within the second neural network is trained based on a large amount of data and includes a large number of neurons, while each branch extended from the first neural network is trained based on a small amount of data and thus include a small number of neurons. For this reason, an effective way to reduce the size of the second neural network may be pruning the first neural network therein. In some embodiments, the pruning process may also sparsify the neurons in the branches. In some embodiments, the pruning and training of the second neural network may be executed as an iterative process” at paragraph 0033, line 1).
Liu et al. does not explicitly disclose that the target training dataset is an unlabeled training dataset.
However, Liu et al. mentions above that labeling of the target dataset “may” occur, meaning it is not mandatory. Additionally, Liu et al. demonstrates that an image is represented by a specific camera, as indicated by a camera identifier. Therefore, by forming a set from a specific camera identifier would preclude the need for labeling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize such a dataset for the target dataset to cut down on the time cost associated with such a task.
Liu et al. further does not explicitly disclose that the domain-adapted training dataset is formed by pruning the labeled training dataset based on the unlabeled training dataset.
Li et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of neural network domain adaptation, comprising:
forming, by the device, a domain-adapted training dataset by pruning the standard training dataset based on the target training dataset (“Method 300 optionally proceeds to OPERATION 340, where the training data, including the source domain data 130 and the associated target domain data 140, are pruned according the domain characteristics of the target domain” at paragraph 0054, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the labeled training dataset of Liu et al. by pruning as taught by Li et al. to create a curated training dataset that most closely matches the expected target domain (see Li et al. at paragraph 0054).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Liu et al. discloses a method and apparatus wherein the labeled training dataset comprises video data labeled with classification labels indicative of at least one of: types of objects depicted in the video data or events depicted in the video data (“The specific application of the neural network is not limited in this application, which may include object detection or identification, object counting, classification, prediction, recommendation (e.g., in a recommender system), segmentation, voice recognition, various signal processing, or any other suitable applications” at paragraph 0034, line 4; therefore for specific object detection, the images are labeled with information related to the object detection and identification).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Liu et al. discloses a method and apparatus wherein the process when executed is further configured to:
receive, via the user interface, layer-wise pruning ratios, wherein the apparatus prunes the machine learning model according to the layer-wise pruning ratios (“The embodiment illustrated in route 440 may include the following steps: pruning the first neural network until reaching a sparsity ratio; training the second neural network based on the pruned first neural network and the one or more second training datasets until an objective function converges; increasing the sparsity ratio; and further training the pruned second neural network based on the one or more second training datasets until the objective function converges; and further pruning the further trained second neural network to reach the increased sparsity ratio until an exit condition is met” at paragraph 0048).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Liu et al. discloses a method and apparatus wherein the labeled training dataset comprises data captured at least in part at a location that differs from that of the target domain (“For example, if a surveillance camera monitoring a domain is used to represent the domain, the camera's identifier may be used as the domain identifier. The camera's identifier may include its IP address, MAC address, serial number, or another suitable identifier” at paragraph 0040, line 5; as the large datasets in Figure 2 comprise a variety of locations and conditions that differ from the specific domains as demonstrated in the small datasets).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Liu et al. discloses a method and apparatus wherein the process when executed is further configured to:
deploy the domain-adapted model to an edge device in the target domain (the discussion of paragraph 0027 is to demonstrate that the invention as disclosed is able to be deployed to edge devices by creating a domain specific model for the particular use case).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu et al. and Li et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Castelli et al. (US 6,298,351).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the Liu et al. and Li et al. combination discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 above.
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination does not explicitly disclose that the device uses a parametric approach to prune the labeled training dataset based on the unlabeled training dataset.
Castelli et al. teaches a method and apparatus in the same field of endeavor of training set construction for classification, wherein the device uses a parametric approach to prune the labeled training dataset based on the unlabeled training dataset (“The output of the supervised training, the set of rules, is then input to a supervised classification technique 812, which instantiates the classifier. The results of the instantiation are compared against one or more predetermined conditions to determine if the modification is suitable, INQUIRY 814. For example, in one embodiment, a stopping condition is that the classification error does not reduce anymore when the training set is revised” at col. 6, line 63; “One example of a supervised classification technique 808 (FIG. 8) is progressive classification. Progressive classification is a methodology for constructing robust classifiers that relies on the properties of transforms used for source coding. Any kind of existing classifier, both parametric (Maximum Likelihood, Bayesian) and non-parametric (Nearest Neighbor, Learning Vector Quantization, Neural Networks, CART, to mention just a few), can be implemented as a progressive classifier” at col. 7, line 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a classification as taught by Castelli et al. to prune the training set of the Liu et al. and Li et al. combination to allow for “determining at least one datum of the training set is incorrect and reconstructing the at least one datum to provide a modified training set” (Castelli et al. at col. 1, line 61).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the Liu et al. and Li et al. combination discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 above.
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination does not explicitly disclose that the device uses a non-parametric approach to prune the labeled training dataset based on the unlabeled training dataset.
Castelli et al. teaches a method and apparatus in the same field of endeavor of training set construction for classification, wherein the device uses a parametric approach to prune the labeled training dataset based on the unlabeled training dataset (“The output of the supervised training, the set of rules, is then input to a supervised classification technique 812, which instantiates the classifier. The results of the instantiation are compared against one or more predetermined conditions to determine if the modification is suitable, INQUIRY 814. For example, in one embodiment, a stopping condition is that the classification error does not reduce anymore when the training set is revised” at col. 6, line 63; “One example of a supervised classification technique 808 (FIG. 8) is progressive classification. Progressive classification is a methodology for constructing robust classifiers that relies on the properties of transforms used for source coding. Any kind of existing classifier, both parametric (Maximum Likelihood, Bayesian) and non-parametric (Nearest Neighbor, Learning Vector Quantization, Neural Networks, CART, to mention just a few), can be implemented as a progressive classifier” at col. 7, line 41; “During unsupervised classification, the training set (and/or the validation set) is clustered by any one of various clustering schemes, such as k-means, self-organization map, or vector quantization” at col. 4, line 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a classification as taught by Castelli et al. to prune the training set of the Liu et al. and Li et al. combination to allow for “determining at least one datum of the training set is incorrect and reconstructing the at least one datum to provide a modified training set” (Castelli et al. at col. 1, line 61).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu et al. Li et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Tripp (US 2016/0182558).
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 above.
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination does not explicitly disclose that the process when executed is further configured to: provide, to the user interface, samples of the domain-adapted training dataset for display.
Tripp teaches a method and apparatus in the same field of endeavor of machine learning wherein the process when executed is further configured to:
provide, to the user interface, samples of the training dataset for display (“At step 504, the individual findings comprising the subset X of S are then presented to the user. This training set is provided in any convenient manner, such as via a visual display, printed output, or the like” at paragraph 0084, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to present the training data of the Liu et al. and Li et al. combination for display as taught by Tripp to allow the user to verify the relevance of the constructed training set.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu et al. and Li et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Saruta et al. (US 2019/0303746).
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 above.
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination does not explicitly disclose that the process when executed is further configured to: provide, to the user interface, a comparison of an accuracy of the domain-adapted model to that of the machine learning model.
Saruta et al. teaches a method and apparatus in the same field of endeavor of adaptive domain machine learning, wherein the process when executed is further configured to:
provide, to the user interface, a comparison of an accuracy of the domain-adapted model to that of the machine learning model (“FIG. 17 is a view exemplarily showing a GUI for accepting selection of an NN. More specifically, FIG. 17 shows the way the display unit 508 displays neural networks A, B, and C having undergone adaptive domain learning” at paragraph 0118, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to display the accuracy data as taught by Saruta et al. in the system of the Liu et al. and Li et al. combination to allow the user to evaluate the performance of the domain adaptation (see Saruta et al. at paragraphs 0118 and 0119).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu et al. and Li et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Murez et al. (US 2019/0244107).
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination discloses the elements of claims 1 and 11 above.
The Liu et al. and Li et al. combination does not explicitly disclose that the domain-adapted model assesses sensor data captured in the target domain.
Murez et al. teaches a method in the same field of endeavor of domain adaption for machine learning, wherein the domain-adapted model assesses sensor data captured in the target domain (“FIG. 8 depicts an image processing system (element 800) comprising a convolutional neural network (CNN). CNNs are made of two parts: a deep feature extractor module (element 802), which maps an input image obtained from a target domain sensor (element 804) into a feature space, and a linear classifier (or regressor) module (element 806), which maps the features to the desired output, such as a labeled target domain (element 808)” at paragraph 0057, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize target domain sensor data as taught by Murez et al. in the domain adaption of the Liu et al. and Li et al. combination as it “boosts the transferability of knowledge (e.g., classification, segmentation) from one-domain to another” (Murez et al. at paragraph 0057, last sentence).
Response to Arguments
Summary of Remarks (@ response page labeled 9): “Thus, the pruning operations described in Li is not based on pruning a first training dataset based on a second training dataset, let alone pruning a labeled training dataset based on an unlabeled target training dataset to determine which training data in the labeled training dataset is less representative of the target domain. Instead, Li prunes speech corpora in connection with generating or refining parallel utterance datasets for teacher-student speech recognition. That is materially different from claim l's data-level pruning, in which the unlabeled target-domain dataset informs pruning of the labeled training dataset to form the domain-adapted training dataset.”
Examiner’s Response: The source data 130 is used to inform target data 140. At step 330, the source data 130 is transformed to produce target domain data 140, which forms the training data. This is subsequently pruned, as cited, in step 340. Therefore, this corresponds to pruning the training data based upon the initial training data.
Summary of Remarks (@ response page labeled 9): “Accordingly, even if Liu and Li were combined, the combination would at most suggest neural-network pruning and speech-corpus pruning. The combination would not teach or suggest forming a domain-adapted training dataset by pruning a labeled training dataset based on an unlabeled training dataset, as required by claim 1.”
Examiner’s Response: In paragraph 0022 of Li et al. states that the teacher model based upon the source data is a baseline domain and the student model based upon the target data is a user-specific domain. Therefore, while based upon a speech recognition system, the fundamentals of using a training dataset of one domain to form a target domain training of another domain is taught.
Summary of Remarks (@ response page labeled 9): “The Office Action cites Liu's disclosure that certain datasets "may or may not be labeled" or "may be properly labeled." Office Action, pg. 2. But Liu's standard training datasets are distinct from its domain-specific training datasets, and Liu explains that the domain- specific training datasets may be properly labeled because the amount of domain-specific data is usually small and the associated labeling cost is low. Lui, para. [0030]. This does not teach or suggest receiving a selection of an unlabeled training dataset captured from the target domain as recited in claim 1.”
Examiner’s Response: As previously stated, Liu et al. states that the domain-specific training dataset “may” be labeled, which implies that it also “may not” be labeled. Though Liu et al. states that the labeling of the domain-specific dataset would be low cost, this does not definitively preclude the dataset from being unlabeled. The fact that Liu et al. states that adding labels would incur an added cost, albeit a low one, would motivate one to leave out the labeling for purposes of cost savings in any area.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATRINA R FUJITA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672