ionDETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-43, filed 17 April 2026, are pending in the present application.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 13-14, 20-23, 29, 35-37 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance,
claim 1 recites the broad recitation “about 112.5 ± 25 mg”, and the claim also recites “112.5 ± 20 mg, 112.5 ± 15 mg, 112.5 ± 10 mg, 112.5 ± 7.5 mg, and 112.5 ± 5 mg”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 1 also recites the broad recitation “about 60.5 ± 5 °C”, and the claim also recites “about 60.5 ± 3.5 °C, about 60.5 ± 2.5 °C, about 60.5 ± 2.0 °C, about 60.5 ± 1.5 °C, and about 60.5 ± 1.0 °C”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 1 also recites the broad recitation “about 10-20”, and the claim also recites “about 12-18, and about 14-16”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 2 recites the broad recitation “about 40-80”, and the claim also recites “about 45-75, about 50-70, about 55-65, and about 57-63”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 2 also recites the broad recitation “about 2-24”, and the claim also recites “about 5-30, about 8-25, about 10-20, about 12-18, and about 14-16”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claims 5, 20 and 35 recite the broad recitation “more than… 50%”, and the claims also recite more than “75%, 100%, 125%, 150%, 200%, and 250%”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claims 6, 21 and 36 recite the broad recitation “greater than… 4.0 years”, and the claims also recite greater than “5.0 years”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claims 7, 22 and 37 recite the broad recitation “about 200 ng/dL to about 800 ng/dL”, and the claims also recite “about 300 ng/dL to about 700 ng/dL, about 400 ng/dL to about 600 ng/dL, about 450 ng/dL to about 550 ng/dL, and about 475 ng/dL to about 525 ng/dL”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claims 8 and 23 recite the broad recitation greater than 30 minutes but “less than… 200 hours”, and the claims also recite less than “150 hours, 140 hours, 130 hours, 125 hours, 120 hours, 115 hours, 110 hours, 105 hours, and 100 hours, 95 hours, 90 hours, 85 hours, 80 hours, 75 hours, 72 hours, 70 hours, 68 hours, and 65 hours”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claim 13 recites “glyceryl monolinoleate in an amount of about 50-70 w/w % of said pharmaceutical composition”, and the claim also recites “glyceryl monolinoleate in an amount of about 55-65 w/w % of said pharmaceutical composition”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation;
claims 14, 29 and 41 recite the broad recitation “less than… 5%”, and the claims also recite less than “4%, 3%, 2.75%, 2.5%, 2.25%, and 2.0%”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation; and
claims 14, 29 and 41 also recite the broad recitation “more than… 12,500”, and the claims also recite more than “15,000, 17,500, 20,000, 25,000, 30,000, 35,000, 40,000, 45,000, and 50,000”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claims, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Office has allowed patent applications having a broader limitation and a narrower limitation of the same claim element in the same claim.
The examiner respectfully argues that in the instant application the recitation of broad limitations followed by more narrow limitations is indefinite because it is unclear whether the narrower limitations are a required limitation of the claims or merely exemplary.
Applicant further asserts that the question of indefiniteness only comes into play where "the boundaries of the claim are not discernible" which is certainly not the case for cited language of claims 1, 2, 5-8, 14, 20-23, 29, 35-37 and 41, nor has the examiner shown that it is.
The examiner respectfully argues that it is unclear whether the narrower limitations are merely exemplary or whether they are required features of the claims. For instance, it is unclear whether TU can be present in an amount of 135 mg (i.e., within the scope of 112.5 ± 25 mg) or whether that amount is outside the scope of the claims (i.e., outside the scope of 112.5 ± 20 mg). Therefore, the metes and bounds of the instant claims are not clearly defined.
Applicant further argues that the recent CAFC decision in In re Maxell (Maxell, Ltd. v. Amperex Technology Limited, No. 2023-1194 (Fed. Cir. Mar. 6, 2024)) is on point to the instant rejection.
The examiner respectfully argues that the claims limitations in In re Maxell dealt with two lithium-containing transition metal oxides of formulas (1) and (2), each containing M1 that can optionally comprise cobalt, and the claims state that the content of cobalt in the transition metal M1 of the formula (1) and (2) is from 30% by mole to 100% by mole. This is completely different from the instant claims which recite a numeric range, and then also recite incrementally narrower ranges for the same component. Therefore, the facts in In re Maxell are not the same as the instant claims.
Similarly, the claims of US 6,120,690 do not recite a range for one specific component followed by narrower ranges for the same component within the same claim. Therefore, the claims of the US ‘690 patent are not relevant to the instant case.
Claims 15, 30 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Regarding claims 15, 30 and 42, the claims recite a property of compositions that are outside the scope of the composition being prepared by the instantly claimed methods. The claims do not recite additional limitations regarding the compositions prepared by the methods of claims 1, 17 and 32. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the rejected claims are not composition claims, rather the rejected claims are method claims. Further, the claims are directed to further narrowing the method not further narrowing a composition.
The examiner respectfully argues that the methods of claims 1, 17 and 32 are directed to steps for preparing a pharmaceutical product, wherein the pharmaceutical product comprises certain limitations. Therefore, the methods are limited by the compositions being prepared. For instance, claim 1 requires the pharmaceutical composition being prepared to comprise a TU loading strength of about 10-20%. Therefore, the method of preparing the pharmaceutical product cannot yield a loading strength outside the range of 10-20%, otherwise it would not be within the scope of the claimed invention. However, claim 15 states, “when… said predetermined TU loading strength is outside of the range of about 10% to 20%”. Since claim 1 requires the TU loading strength to be within the range of 10-20%, it cannot be outside of this range and still be a limitation that is within the scope of the claims. Thus, the recitation of what happens to the pharmaceutical product when the method is outside the scope of claim 1 does not further limit the method recited in claim 1. Also, it is noted that claims 15, 30 and 42 do not require any limitations to the method steps or the composition being produced. The claims recite what happens when a concentration, temperature or loading strength are outside certain limits, but the claims do not positively recite a limitation for the method steps or the pharmaceutical product.
The examiner recommends amending claims 15, 30 and 42 to state “wherein the predetermined quantity is in the range of about 750 ± 25 mg” as opposed to reciting the negative impacts when the predetermined quantity is outside of a range. Regarding the insertion temperature and TU loading strength that are outside the claimed ranges, the examiner recommends deleting the ranges that are not within the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 13-15, 17-18, 22-26, 28-30, 32-33, 37-38 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 2021/0169899 A1) as evidenced by Pharma IQ Glossary: Capsule Banding.
Patel et al. teach throughout oral pharmaceutical compositions for use in testosterone replacement therapy applications, wherein the compositions comprise testosterone undecanoate and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 32, Patel et al. teach a unit dosage form comprising about 112.5 mg testosterone undecanoate, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the unit dosage form is a capsule ([0045]-[0046], [0056], [0060], [0075], [0077], [0079], [0081], [0083]-[0087], [0089], [0103]-[0104], [0108]-[0113]; Claims 1, 3, 13-15, 18). Patel et al. teach a method of preparing unit dosage forms comprising disposing the mixture of API (testosterone undecanoate) and carrier into a capsule at a temperature of 50-70 °C ([0108]-[0113]).
Patel et al. do not explicitly disclose a capsule comprising a body and cap. However, Patel et al. teach that the capsules are banded if required ([0110]). As evidenced by Pharma IQ Glossary, banding is a process wherein the joint between the capsule cap and body are sealed to ensure the filling of the capsule stays inside and remains usable all the way up until consumption. Thus, the capsule of Patel et al. will necessarily have a body and cap, wherein the seam can be banded to substantially seal the composition therein if required.
Regarding the insertion temperature, Patel et al. teach a method of preparing unit dosage forms comprising disposing the mixture of API (testosterone undecanoate) and carrier into a capsule at a temperature of 50-70 °C ([0108]-[0113]).
Regarding the testosterone undecanoate loading strength, Patel et al. teach that the percent loading of API can vary in compositions, e.g., the API loading can be 10%, 11%, 12%, 13%, 14%, 15%, 16%, 17%, 18%, 19%, 20%, 21%, 22%, 23%, 24%, 25%, 26%, 27%, 28%, 29%, 30%, 31%, 32%, 33%, 34%, 35%, 36%, 37%, 38%, 39%, 40%, 41%, 42%, 43%, 44%, 45%, 46%, 47%, 48%, 49% or 50% ([0103]). Patel et al. teach that in one aspect, the pharmaceutical composition comprises from about 10% to 50%, from about 14% to about 40%, from about 14% to 18%, or from about 14% to 16% testosterone undecanoate ([0104]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the pharmaceutical product according to Patel et al. comprising disposing a composition comprising 112.5 mg testosterone undecanoate and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier in a capsule body at a temperature of 50-70 °C, and a loading of 10-20%, followed by combining the capsule body and cap in order to seal the composition inside the capsule.
Regarding claims 2, 18 and 33, Patel et al. teach that the unit dosage form usually contains a lipophilic additive, a hydrophilic additive, a solidifying agent, or one or more other additives ([0061]). The lipophilic surfactants can comprise at least about 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, or 90 wt % of the total pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([0064], [0074]-[0084], [0088]-[0090]; Tables A-E).
Regarding claims 7, 22 and 37, Patel et al. teach that the unit dosage form provides a serum testosterone Cavg of 400-800 ng/dL when administered as 2, 3, or 4 unit dosage forms twice daily ([0056], [0060]; Claims 7-8).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Patel et al. teach that the composition is prepared by weighing all of the components, except the API into a clean stainless steel container and mixed together at ambient temperature or at elevated temperatures e.g., at about 25 °C to about 30 °C, at about 30 °C to about 35 °C, at about 35 °C to about 40 °C, at about 40 °C to about 45 °C, at about 45 °C to about 45 °C, or 50 °C to about 70 °C, using a stirrer. The API is added and stirred into the mixture of other components until the API dissolves. A predetermined quantity of this “liquid fill material” is disposed into a capsule (for example, hard gelatin capsule) to get the required API dose per dosage unit. The capsules are allowed to cool at room temperature, banded (if required) and packaged in a HDPE bottle and tightly closed with an appropriate lid ([0110]). Therefore, Patel et al. teach a holding step wherein the API and the mixture of other components are combined before being disposed into a capsule.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine through routine experimentation how long to maintain the mixture at an elevated temperature in order to form a dissolved, homogeneous mixture prior to filling into the capsule.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Patel et al. teach that the capsules are banded if required ([0110]). As evidenced by Pharma IQ Glossary, banding is a process wherein the joint between the capsule cap and body are sealed to ensure the filling of the capsule stays inside and remains usable all the way up until consumption. Thus, the capsule of Patel et al. will necessarily have a body and cap, wherein the seam can be banded to substantially seal the composition therein if required.
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Patel et al. teach mixing the pharmaceutical composition prior to inserting into the capsule body ([0108]-[0113]).
Regarding claims 11, 26 and 38, Patel et al. teach that in one specific aspect, the carrier(s) and API are brought to or maintained at a temperature at which they are flowable (e.g., above 10 °C, 20 °C, 25 °C, 30 °C, 35 °C, or 40 °C). In one aspect, the mixture of carrier and API is a clear solution at a specified temperature (e.g., above 10 °C, 20 °C, 25 °C, 30 °C, 35 °C, or 40 °C) ([0109]). Patel et al. teach mixing the API (testosterone undecanoate) and carrier at a temperature of 50-70 °C ([0110], [0113]).
Regarding claims 13, 28 and 40, Patel et al. teach the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier comprising glyceryl monolinoleate (Claim 4). Patel et al. teach that various lipophilic surfactants can be used including, but not limited to mono-, di-glycerides of fatty acids like glyceryl monolinoleate (e.g., Maisine® 35-1) ([0063]-[0064], [0091], [0101]). Patel et al. teach that the lipophilic surfactants can comprise at least about 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, or 90 wt % of the total pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([0064]).
Regarding claims 14, 29 and 41, Patel et al. teach in another embodiment, the unit dosage form has a release profile (e.g., single or multiple point) of TU using a USP type 2 apparatus in about 1000 mL 8% Triton X100 solution in water at a specific temperature (e.g., 20.0, 37.0 or 40.0° C. (±0.5)) at 100 rpm that releases at least 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 75, 80, 85, 90, 95, 96, 97, 98, or 99% at 15, 20, 30, 40, 45, 50, 60, 90, 120, 180, 240, or 300 minutes. In a specific aspect, the unit dosage form having or made from solid releases greater than 85% at 4 hours; greater than 70% at 2 hours; or greater than 60% at 1 hour. In a specific aspect, the unit dosage form has a release profile that releases less than 100% (or 95%) at 15 minutes or less than 100% (or 95%) at 30 minutes. In a specific aspect, the unit dosage form releases less than 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 75, 80, 85, 90, 95, 96, 97, 98, or 99% at 15, 20, 30, 40, 45, 50, 60, 90, 120, 180, 240, or 300 minutes ([0107]).
Regarding claims 15, 30 and 42, the claim recites a property of compositions that are outside the scope of the composition being prepared by the instantly claimed method. The claim does not recite additional limitations regarding the composition prepared by the method of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the temperature of 50-70 °C is only cited twice in Patel, namely in paragraph [0110] and [0113]. In the case of Patel [0110], Patel makes clear that the "mix" temperature - not to be conflated with an insertion temperature - does not apply to the API. Applicant asserts that it is unknown what the temperature of the API is upon adding to the mixture. Applicant further argues that it is not known what occurs to the temperature of the resultant fill material between the time stirring is complete and the fill material is "disposed into a capsule" (e.g., it could be further heated or cooled). Applicant also argues that although Patel [0113] does disclose that, "any pharmaceutical composition described herein, e.g., a can be prepared by (I) combining and heating all ingredients until a molten mixture is obtained (e.g., 50-70 °C); and (ii) encapsulating an amount of molten mixture comprising a select dose ... API to obtain an oral dosage form", not taught is what happens to the mixture temperature once it becomes an insertion temperature. In other words, is there some activity between mixing/stirring and inserting that causes a change (increase or decrease) in the temperature such that the mix temperature is not the same as the insertion temperature?
The examiner respectfully argues that Patel et al. [0110] teach mixing together all of the components, except for the API, at ambient temperature or elevated temperature, such as 50 to 70 °C; and then the API is added and stirred into the mixture. Patel et al. does not state that the mixture is then brought to a different temperature before adding the API. Patel et al. [0113] also teach heating all ingredients until a molten mixture is obtained (e.g., 50-70 °C), and encapsulating an amount of the molten mixture. Patel et al. further teach throughout that the compositions can be filled into soft gel or hard gel capsules depending on its flowability at the temperatures useful for making the dosage forms ([0075], [0077], [0079], [0081], [0083]). Patel et al. also teach these compositions can be made by any suitable method and filled into hard gel or soft gel capsules as appropriate. For example, the one or more of the ingredients are warmed or heated to a temperature that allows for dissolving any solid ingredients, the API is added and mixed until a homogenous mixture is obtained and the capsule can be filled at an appropriate temperature and if needed, allowed to cool to room temperature ([0085], [0087]).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably interpreted Patel et al. to include adding the API to the mixture that is still at the same elevated temperature, e.g., 50-70 °C, in order to fill the capsule, and then if needed the capsule can be cooled to room temperature. At the very least, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine through routine experimentation the optimal temperature for filling the composition of Patel et al. into a capsule. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine the appropriate temperature within the range 50-70 °C that the API and other components are dissolved into a homogeneous, flowable mixture and then inserted into the capsule.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that other techniques for making certain dosage forms require cooling the composition prior to filling into the capsule, the examiner respectfully argues that alternative methods for making dosage forms does not teach away from the method of combining all ingredients, including the API, at an elevated temperature that dissolves the components into a homogeneous mixture followed by filling into a capsule.
Applicant further argues that given the exceedingly broad loading ranges taught by Patel and the fact that no one loading amount was disclosed as being preferable (much less critical) over another, applicant urges that Patel neither taught that loading was critical or that loading was a result effective variable.
The examiner respectfully argues that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the instant case, Patel et al. teach that the percent loading of API can vary in compositions, e.g., the API loading can be 10%, 11%, 12%, 13%, 14%, 15%, 16%, 17%, 18%, 19%, 20%, 21%, 22%, 23%, 24%, 25%, 26%, 27%, 28%, 29%, 30%, 31%, 32%, 33%, 34%, 35%, 36%, 37%, 38%, 39%, 40%, 41%, 42%, 43%, 44%, 45%, 46%, 47%, 48%, 49% or 50% ([0103]). Patel et al. teach that in one aspect, the pharmaceutical composition comprises from about 10% to 50%, from about 14% to about 40%, from about 14% to 18%, or from about 14% to 16% testosterone undecanoate ([0104]).
Claims 1-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giliyar et al. (US 2020/0360402 A1) as evidenced by Pharma IQ Glossary: Capsule Banding.
Giliyar et al. teach throughout pharmaceutical compositions and oral dosage capsules containing testosterone undecanoate.
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 32, Giliyar et al. teach that the oral dosage capsules can include dosages of testosterone undecanoate of at least 50 mg, about 80 mg to about 400 mg, about 80 mg to about 140 mg, about 120 mg to about 300 mg, or about 150 mg to about 250 mg of testosterone undecanoate ([0068]; Tables X, XII).
Giliyar et al. do not explicitly disclose a capsule comprising a body and cap. However, Giliyar et al. teach that the capsules are banded if required ([0115]). As evidenced by Pharma IQ Glossary, banding is a process wherein the joint between the capsule cap and body are sealed to ensure the filling of the capsule stays inside and remains usable all the way up until consumption. Thus, the capsule of Giliyar et al. will necessarily have a body and cap, wherein the seam can be banded to substantially seal the composition therein if required.
Regarding the insertion temperature, Giliyar et al. teach a method of preparing unit dosage forms comprising disposing the mixture of API (testosterone undecanoate) and carrier into a capsule at a temperature of 50-70 °C ([0115], [0124], [0132], [0134]).
Regarding the testosterone undecanoate loading strength, Giliyar et al. teach that capsule fill compositions with a lower TU loading of less than 14% w/w are unsuitable for optimal activity due to inadequate bioavailability which also leads to larger dosage forms/doses for therapy in treatment of symptoms related to male hypogonadism. Consistent with the compositions of the present invention, higher loading dosage forms, i.e. those with >14% w/w of TU based on total capsule fill, resulted in a superior Cave per mg testosterone undecanoate administered, thus providing improved performance of oral testosterone undecanoate as a testosterone therapy ([0009]). Therefore, in one embodiment in order to facilitate improved activity, an oral capsule with TU loading in the range of about 14 wt% to about 18% is provided ([0010], [0067]; Tables I, II, XII, XIV, XV, XVI, XVIII, XIX).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the pharmaceutical product according to Giliyar et al. comprising disposing a composition comprising at least 50 mg, such as 112.5 ± 25 mg, testosterone undecanoate in a capsule body at a temperature of 50-70 °C, and a loading of >14%, such as about 14 wt% to about 18 wt%, followed by combining the capsule body and cap in order to seal the composition inside the capsule.
Regarding claims 2, 18 and 33, Giliyar et al. teach that the dispersant of the current invention is at least one selected from the group of hydrophilic surfactant or lipophilic surfactant ([0019], [0074]). In another aspect of the invention, the pharmaceutical compositions and/or oral dosage capsules, namely the capsule fill, can include a solidifying agent ([0083]).
Regarding claims 3-4, 19 and 34, Giliyar et al. teach that “non-liquid” when used to refer to the state of a composition disclosed herein refers to the physical state of the composition as being a semi-solid or solid ([0031], [0083]).
Regarding claims 5-6, 20-21 and 35-36, Giliyar et al. teach that it was found that the pharmaceutical compositions and oral dosage capsules of the present invention have the ability to provide for increased stability of the testosterone undecanoate present in the formulation. In particular, the pharmaceutical compositions and oral dosage capsules of the present invention can provide for superior stability with respect to the degradation of the testosterone undecanoate that can occur during storage as compared to other formulation containing lower testosterone undecanoate concentration. In one embodiment, the pharmaceutical compositions and oral dosage capsules of the present invention can have increased stability such that, when stored for a period of at least three months there is at least 20% less degradation of the testosterone undecanoate as compared to testosterone undecanoate containing compositions having less than 14 wt % testosterone undecanoate. In another embodiment, the pharmaceutical compositions and oral dosage capsules of the present invention can have increased stability such that, when stored for a period of at least three months there is at least 20% less degradation of the testosterone undecanoate as compared to testosterone undecanoate containing compositions having less than 16 wt % testosterone undecanoate ([0064]; Example 38).
The Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicant’s product with the product of the prior art in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is upon the applicant to prove that the claimed products are functionally different than those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See Ex parte Phillips, 28 U.S.P.Q.2d 1302, 1303 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993), Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922, 1923 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int.) and In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 7, 22 and 37, Giliyar et al. teach that the oral dosage capsules of the present invention can be formulated such that, when administered to a human male they provide a serum total testosterone Cavg ranging about 300 ng/dL to about 1100 ng/dL. In another embodiment, the oral dosage capsules can be formulated such that, upon single administration to a human male, they provide a serum total testosterone Cavg ranging about 350 ng/dL to about 800 ng/dL. In another embodiment, the oral dosage capsules can be formulated such that, upon single administration to a human male, they provide a serum total testosterone Cavg ranging from about 400 ng/dL to about 600 ng/dL ([0090], [0092], [0112]; Claim 32).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Giliyar et al. teach that the composition is prepared by weighing all of the components, except the testosterone undecanoate, into a clean stainless steel container and mixed together at about 50 °C to about 70 °C, using a stirrer. The testosterone undecanoate (TU) is added and stirred into the mixture of other components until the testosterone undecanoate dissolves. A predetermined quantity of this fill material is disposed into a capsule (for example, hard gelatin capsule) to get the required testosterone undecanoate dose per dosage unit. The capsules are allowed to cool at room temperature, banded (if required) and packaged in a HDPE bottle and tightly closed with an appropriate lid ([0115]). Therefore, Giliyar et al. teach a holding step wherein the API and the mixture of other components are combined before being disposed into a capsule.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine through routine experimentation how long to maintain the mixture at an elevated temperature in order to form a dissolved, homogeneous mixture prior to filling into the capsule.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Giliyar et al. teach that the capsules are banded if required ([0115]). As evidenced by Pharma IQ Glossary, banding is a process wherein the joint between the capsule cap and body are sealed to ensure the filling of the capsule stays inside and remains usable all the way up until consumption. Thus, the capsule of Patel et al. will necessarily have a body and cap, wherein the seam can be banded to substantially seal the composition therein if required.
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Giliyar et al. teach mixing the pharmaceutical composition prior to inserting into the capsule body ([0115], [0124], [0132], [0134]).
Regarding claims 11, 26 and 38, Giliyar et al. teach continuous mixing at about 50 °C to 70 °C ([0132]).
Regarding claims 12, 27 and 39, Giliyar et al. teach that the capsule size can be any size known in the art and can vary depending on the desired dosage amount. In one embodiment, the capsule can be a hard gelatin capsule having a fill volume of about 0.3 mL to about 1.1 mL. The capsule can have a ratio of the amount of testosterone undecanoate to the volume of the capsule fill can be about 80 mg/mL to about 750 g/mL. In another embodiment, the capsule can have a ratio of the amount of testosterone undecanoate to the volume of the capsule fill can be about 160 mg/mL to about 375 mg/mL ([0084]). It is noted that a known industry-standardized size of 00 capsule is approximately 0.95 ml/800 mg.
Regarding claims 13, 28 and 40, Giliyar et al. teach compositions comprising 50-70 wt.% Maisine® 35-1 (i.e., glyceryl monolinoleate) (Tables XVI, XVIII, XIX).
Regarding claims 14, 29 and 41, Giliyar et al. teach that the oral dosage capsules of the present invention can be formulated such that they have distinctive release profiles ([0084]-[0086], [0094]-[0096], [0127]-[0131]).
Regarding claims 15, 30 and 42, the claim recites a property of compositions that are outside the scope of the composition being prepared by the instantly claimed method. The claim does not recite additional limitations regarding the composition prepared by the method of claim 1.
Regarding claims 16, 31 and 43, Giliyar et al. teach that as used herein, the terms “solubilized” and “solubility,” when used to describe the state of testosterone undecanoate with respect to a composition and/or capsule fill, refer to the absence of testosterone undecanoate crystals in the composition or oral dosage form when observed under hot-stage microscope over a temperature of about 25 °C to about 65 °C, or the absence of crystalline testosterone undecanoate melting related peak (about 62 to about 65 °C) when the composition or oral dosage form is subjected to differential scanning calorimetry ([0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Giliyar [0115] makes clear that the "mix" temperature - not to be conflated with an insertion temperature - does not apply to the API. Applicant asserts that it is unknown what the temperature of the API is upon adding to the mixture. Applicant further argues that it is not known what occurs to the temperature of the resultant fill material between the time stirring is complete and the fill material is "disposed into a capsule" (e.g., it could be further heated or cooled). Applicant also argues that Giliyar [0124] further makes clear that the "mix" temperature - not to be conflated with an insertion temperature - does not apply to the API.
The examiner respectfully argues that Giliyar et al. [0124] teach heating glyceryl distearate or glyceryl monostearate and PEG 8000 to about 50 to 70 °C to get a molten mixture. The testosterone undecanoate is added and stirred till it completely dissolves. A predetermined weight of the molten mixture is disposed into capsules and allowed to congeal at room temperature, banded and packed. Therefore, Giliyar et al. clearly add the TU to the molten mixture at the elevated temperature of about 50 to 70 °C, and dispose of the molten mixture into capsules followed by cooling.
Applicant further asserts that it is not known what occurs to the temperature of the resultant fill material between the time stirring is complete and the fill material is "disposed into a capsule".
The examiner respectfully argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably concluded that the molten mixture is maintained at about 50 to 70 °C while disposing into the capsules, followed by cooling, as suggested by Giliyar et al. At the very least, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine the optimum temperature for the mixture containing the API to fill the capsules while the mixture is flowable and prior to cooling to a congealed state.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the examiner selectively ignores the much higher loading examples of Giliyar et al., the examiner directs attention to MPEP 2123(I) and (II):
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Furthermore, “[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Giliyar et al. teach that capsule fill compositions with a lower TU loading of less than 14% w/w are unsuitable for optimal activity due to inadequate bioavailability which also leads to larger dosage forms/doses for therapy in treatment of symptoms related to male hypogonadism. Consistent with the compositions of the present invention, higher loading dosage forms, i.e. those with >14% w/w of TU based on total capsule fill, resulted in a superior Cave per mg testosterone undecanoate administered, thus providing improved performance of oral testosterone undecanoate as a testosterone therapy ([0009]). Therefore, in one embodiment in order to facilitate improved activity, an oral capsule with TU loading in the range of about 14 wt% to about 18% is provided ([0010], [0067]; Tables I, II, XII, XIV, XV, XVI, XVIII, XIX). Thus, Giliyar et al. clearly teach TU loading of about 14 wt% to about 18 wt%.
Applicant further argues that instant claims 5, 20 and 35 as amended are limited to “at least one of 50%, 75%, 100%, 125%, 150%, 200%, and 250%”, all of which define over the increased shelf life of 33% of Giliyar.
The examiner respectfully argues that claims 5, 20 and 35 recite “comparable pharmaceutical product”, but do not state the exact components of the product. The theoretical liquid product according to Applicant having a testosterone shelf life of 36 months is not defined, and there is nothing to suggest that the comparable pharmaceutical product according to the claims would have a shelf life of 36 months. Also, Applicant states in their Remarks that most liquid form testosterone products typically have a shelf life of 12 to 36 months. A shelf life of 48 months is 400% longer than 12 months. Therefore, according to Applicant’s Remarks, the product of Giliyar et al. would have a shelf life that is 400% longer than a comparable liquid product.
Also, the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). Examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the applicant. See MPEP 716.01(c)(II).
Applicant further argues that cooling the capsules of Giliyar at room temperature would take about 22 to 26 minutes to cool to room temperature, which is not within the scope of greater than 30 minutes recited in claims 8 and 23.
The examiner respectfully argues that claims 8 and 23 do not state a holding temperature for the capsules filled with the molten mixture. Claims 8 and 23 recite the holding time at elevated temperature prior to the inserting step. Therefore, the amount of time for the filled capsule to return to room temperature is different from the holding time claimed. Also, Giliyar et al. teach mixing until a dissolved, molten mixture is obtained. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine through routine experimentation the optimum amount of time to mix the molten composition prior to filling into the capsule.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616