DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-17 are presented for examination.
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-17 are amended.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) CN202111057895.9 submitted on September 9th, 2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on December 23rd, 2024; December 30th, 2024 and April 24th, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e. “PHYSICAL DOWNLINK CONTROL CHANNEL (PDCCH) DETERMINATION USING CONTROL REOUSRCE SETS (CORESET)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2022/0416980 A1) in view of Sakhnini et al. (US 2021/0345342 A1) hereinafter “Sakhnini”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 13,
He discloses an apparatus [see fig(s). 1 & 12, pg. 11, ¶125 lines 1-12, a communication device or a terminal], comprising:
a processor and a memory [see fig(s). 1 & 12, pg. 11, ¶125 lines 1-12, a processor and a memory], wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program [see fig(s). 1 & 12, pg. 11, ¶125 lines 1-12, the memory storing a computer program], and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory [see fig(s). 1 & 12, pg. 11, ¶125 lines 1-12, the processor invoking and running the computer program from the memory], wherein the computer program instructs the processor to [see fig(s). 1 & 12, pg. 11, ¶125 lines 1-12, the processor implemented to]:
receive first indication information [see fig. 1: Step “102”, pg. 3, ¶37 lines 1-2; ¶38 lines 1-9; ¶39 lines 1-8, the terminal receives at least one first CORESET information sent from a network device], wherein the first indication information is associated with load information of a cell [see fig. 1: Step “102”, pg. 3, ¶37 lines 1-2; ¶38 lines 1-9; ¶39 lines 1-8, the at least one first CORESET information sent by the network device or base station (BS) is configured to carry a resource block (RB) occupied by the PDCCH in a frequency-domain … etc.]; and
determine [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, the terminal determines], based on the first indication information and first information [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, based on the at least one first CORESET information and the first resource], a first resource for detecting a physical downlink control channel [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, at least one second CORESET information corresponding to a first resource to perform detection on the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the terminal], wherein the first information comprises a plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, the first resource includes a first time-domain resource or a first frequency-domain resource], the first indication information corresponds to first resource information in the plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, based on the received at least one first CORESET information and the first time-domain resource], and the first resource information indicates the first resource [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, the terminal determines at least one second CORESET information corresponding to the first time-domain resource].
Although He discloses receiving, first indication information associated with load information of a cell, He does not explicitly teach a cell “to which the terminal device belongs”.
However Sakhnini discloses receiving [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, receiving, from the base station “802”], by a terminal device [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, by the UE “804”], first indication information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, information that indicates the threshold number “n”, or information that is used to determine the threshold number “n”], wherein the first indication information is associated with load information of a cell to which the terminal device belongs [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 9, ¶91 lines 1-7, the base station “802” configures multiple CORESETs and SS sets for the UE “804”’ with each CORESET and/or SS set having an associated identifier (e.g., a CORESET ID or an SS set ID)]; and
determining [see fig. 8: Step “813”, pg. 9, ¶90 lines 1-5, monitoring], by the terminal device based on the first indication information and first information [see fig. 8: Step “813”, pg. 9, ¶90 lines 1-5, by the UE “804” for the requested CORESET(s)/SS set(s)], a first resource for detecting a physical downlink control channel [see fig. 8: Step “813”, pg. 9, ¶90 lines 1-5, for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the corresponding bandwidth part (BWP)], wherein the first information comprises a plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, the duration is a length of time or a number of occurrences of a CORESET/SS set], the first indication information corresponds to first resource information in the plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-11, the request “807” specifying the validity of the CORESET(s)/SS set(s) including a number of occurrences], and the first resource information indicates the first resource [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-11, and/or how long the CORESET(s)/SS set(s) last].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cell “to which the terminal device belongs” as taught by Sakhnini in the system of He for communication to be scalable and deployable in a more efficient and cost effective way by reducing power consumption, complexity, production cost, and/or system overhead(s) [see Sakhnini, pg. 5, ¶57 lines 1-7].
Regarding Claims 2 and 14,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the apparatus according to claim 13.
He further discloses wherein sizes of at least two resources indicated by different resource information in the plurality of pieces of resource information are different [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, the first time-domain resource is a time unit (time point). … the frequency-domain resource is a frequency-domain sub-band].
Regarding Claims 3 and 15,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the apparatus according to claim 13.
He further discloses wherein the first indication information is first bandwidth part information [see fig. 1: Step “106”, pg. 4, ¶46 lines 1-7; ¶49 lines 1-18, the at least one first CORESET information belongs to the same bandwidth part (BWP)], and the first bandwidth part information indicates for the apparatus to switch an operating bandwidth to a bandwidth part corresponding to the first bandwidth part information [see fig. 1: Step “106”, pg. 4, ¶46 lines 1-7; ¶49 lines 1-18, the activated BWP is switched between various BWPs].
Regarding Claims 5 and 17,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the apparatus according to claim 13.
He further discloses wherein the computer program further instructs the processor to:
receive the first information from an access network device via radio resource control signaling [see fig. 1: Step “102”, pg. 3, ¶37 lines 1-2; ¶38 lines 1-9; ¶39 lines 1-8, the at least one first CORESET information is included in configuration information of a search space; the search space is informed to the terminal by the network device via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling …].
Regarding Claim 6,
He discloses a communication resource determining method [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶101 lines 1-10, a method for determining a control channel by a network device], comprising:
sending [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 9, ¶102 lines 1-6, sending], by an access network device [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 9, ¶102 lines 1-6, by the network device], first indication information [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 9, ¶102 lines 1-6, at least one first CORESET information], wherein the first indication information is associated with load information of a cell [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 9, ¶102 lines 1-6, the at least one first CORESET information and the first resource are configured to enable the terminal to determine at least one second CORESET information corresponding to the first resource]; and
determining [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-3; ¶105 lines 1-13, configuring], by the access network device based on the first indication information and first information [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-3; ¶105 lines 1-13, by the network device], a first resource used by the access network device to send a physical downlink control channel [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶103 lines 1-3; ¶105 lines 1-13, the at least one second CORESET information to enable the terminal to receive the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)], wherein the first information comprises a plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶106 lines 1-18, the first resource may include the first time-domain resource], the first indication information corresponds to first resource information in the plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶106 lines 1-18, the at least one CORESET information and the at least one second CORESET information belong to the same search space], and the first resource information indicates the first resource [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶106 lines 1-18, the terminal determines at least one second CORESET information corresponding to the first time-domain resource].
Although He discloses sending, first indication information associated with load information of a cell, He does not explicitly teach a cell “of the access network device”.
However Sakhnini discloses sending [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, sending], by an access network device [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, by the base station “802”], first indication information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, information that indicates the threshold number “n”, or information that is used to determine the threshold number “n”], wherein the first indication information is associated with load information of a cell of the access network device [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 9, ¶91 lines 1-7, the base station “802” configures multiple CORESETs and SS sets for the UE “804”’ with each CORESET and/or SS set having an associated identifier (e.g., a CORESET ID or an SS set ID)]; and
determining [see fig. 8: Step “815”, pg. 9, ¶92 lines 1-12, determining], by the access network device based on the first indication information and first information [see fig. 8: Step “815”, pg. 9, ¶92 lines 1-12, by the base station “802” receiving the UE's request], a first resource used by the access network device to send a physical downlink control channel [see fig. 8: Step “815”, pg. 9, ¶92 lines 1-12, to ignore/accept the UE's request (e.g., without explicit denial), etc., and send or not send the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to the UE “804” for the CORESET(s) SS set(s) in accordance with the request “807”], wherein the first information comprises a plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶89 lines 1-22, the duration is a length of time or a number of occurrences of a CORESET/SS set], the first indication information corresponds to first resource information in the plurality of pieces of resource information [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-11, the request “807” specifying the validity of the CORESET(s)/SS set(s) including a number of occurrences], and the first resource information indicates the first resource [see fig. 8: Step “803”, pg. 8, ¶87 lines 1-11, and/or how long the CORESET(s)/SS set(s) last].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cell “of the access network device” as taught by Sakhnini in the system of He for communication to be scalable and deployable in a more efficient and cost effective way by reducing power consumption, complexity, production cost, and/or system overhead(s) [see Sakhnini, pg. 5, ¶57 lines 1-7].
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the method according claim 6.
He further discloses wherein sizes of at least two resources indicated by different resource information in the plurality of pieces of resource information are different [see fig. 1: Step “104”, pg. 3, ¶40 lines 1-4; ¶41 lines 1-8; ¶42 lines 1-24, the first time-domain resource is a time unit (time point). … the frequency-domain resource is a frequency-domain sub-band].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the method according to claim 6.
He further discloses wherein the first indication information is first bandwidth part information [see fig. 1: Step “106”, pg. 4, ¶46 lines 1-7; ¶49 lines 1-18, the at least one first CORESET information belongs to the same bandwidth part (BWP)], and the first bandwidth part information is used by the access network device to schedule an operating bandwidth of a terminal device to be switched to a bandwidth part corresponding to the first bandwidth part information [see fig. 1: Step “106”, pg. 4, ¶46 lines 1-7; ¶49 lines 1-18, the activated BWP is switched between various BWPs].
Regarding Claim 10,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the method according to claim 6.
He discloses the method further comprising:
determining [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 9, ¶102 lines 1-6, configuring], by the access network device based on the load information of the cell and the first information [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 9, ¶102 lines 1-6, by the network device], the first indication information [see fig. 8: Step “802”, pg. 9, ¶102 lines 1-6, the at least one first CORESET information and the first resource to enable the terminal to determine at least one second CORESET information corresponding to the first resource].
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the method according to claim 6.
He discloses the method further comprising:
selecting [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶107 lines 1-26, configuring the indication message determined by the terminal by a predefined rule], by the access network device according to a preset policy [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶107 lines 1-26, by the network device], a terminal device from terminal devices served by the cell [see fig. 8: Step “804”, pg. 9, ¶107 lines 1-26, to enable the terminal to determine the first frequency-domain sub-band or the second frequency-domain sub-band …].
Regarding Claim 12,
The combined system of He and Sakhnini discloses the method according to claim 6.
He discloses the method further comprising:
sending, by the access network device, the first information to a terminal device via radio resource control signaling [see fig. 1: Step “102”, pg. 3, ¶37 lines 1-2; ¶38 lines 1-9; ¶39 lines 1-8, the at least one first CORESET information is included in configuration information of a search space; the search space is informed to the terminal by the network device via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling …].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: LI (US 2025/0089060 A1);
see fig. 3, pgs. 6-9, ¶110-¶196.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469