DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 9-15, in the reply filed on 4/7/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 03/07/24, 10/17/25 and 04/07/26, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
4. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 9-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kharel et al. (US 2021/0157177 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Kharel et al. (figures 4-5 and 14F) disclose an electro-optic modulator, comprising a lithium niobate thin film (LN thin film 414) ([0082]); a covering dielectric layer (SiO2) located on the lithium niobate thin film (414); a waveguide (412) located in the covering dielectric layer (SiO2) and directly above the lithium niobate thin film (414); bottom electrodes (420, 430, 1430F, 1440F) located in the covering dielectric layer (SiO2) and on two opposite sides (420, 430) of the waveguide (412) and spaced apart from the waveguide(figure 4); and metal electrodes (1424F, 1454F) located in the covering dielectric layer (SiO2), the metal electrodes respectively corresponding to the bottom electrodes (1430F, 1440F), and the metal electrodes (1424F, 1454F) being located on, and connected to, the respectively corresponding bottom electrodes (1430F, 1440F) (figure 14F and [0116]).
With respect to claim 10, Kharel et al. (figures 4-5) disclose the electro-optic modulator, further comprising a supporting substrate (401, 501) located on a surface of the covering dielectric layer (SiO2) remote from the lithium niobate thin film (414); a first dielectric layer (502) located on a surface of the lithium niobate thin film (414) remote from the covering dielectric layer; and a bonding substrate (501, figure 5) located on a surface of the first dielectric layer (502) remote from the lithium niobate thin film (414).
With respect to claim 11, Kharel et al. (figures 4-5) disclose the electro-optic modulator, further comprising a second dielectric layer (SiO2, 502) located on the surface of the covering dielectric layer remote from the supporting substrate (401, 501), the second dielectric layer having a first opening (opening, figure 5), the first opening exposing the waveguide (512), portions of the bottom electrodes (420, 430, 520, 530), and a portion of the covering dielectric layer (SiO2), and the lithium niobate thin film (414, 514) being located in the first opening (figures 4-5).
With respect to claim 15, Kharel et al. (figures 4-5) disclose the electro-optic modulator, further comprising a plurality of the bottom electrodes (1430F, 1440F), a plurality of the metal electrodes (1424F, 1454F), and a plurality of the waveguides (412, 512), the waveguides being located between the metal electrodes (1424F, 1454F) that are adjacent, and projections of all of the waveguides onto a plane in which the lithium niobate thin film (414) is located are on a surface of the lithium niobate thin film (414) facing the covering dielectric layer (SiO2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
11. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kharel et al. (as cited above) in view of Chakravarty et al. (US-20220317483-A1).
With respect to claims 12-13, Kharel et al. substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the lithium niobate thin film and the covering dielectric layer are combined together by way of bonding and a bonding layer that bonds together the lithium niobate thin film and the covering dielectric layer is disposed between the lithium niobate thin film and the covering dielectric layer.
However, Chakravarty et al. teach a device including the lithium niobate thin film and the covering dielectric layer are combined together by way of bonding and a bonding layer that bonds together the lithium niobate thin film and the covering dielectric layer is disposed between the lithium niobate thin film and the covering dielectric layer ([0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kharel et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Chakravarty) for the purpose of propagating through the electro-optic modulator ([0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose electro-optic modulator, further comprising backside electrodes disposed on a surface of the second dielectric layer remote from the covering dielectric layer, the backside electrodes respectively corresponding to the metal electrodes, and the backside electrodes being electrically connected to the respectively corresponding metal electrode as recited in claim 14.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ohmori et al. (US-11003043-B2) disclose an optical modulator. Wang et al. (US-11598980-B2) disclose electro-optic devices.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx
for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the
Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance
from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874