DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoang et al. (WO 2022/031921 A1, hereinafter “Hoang”).
Regarding claim 1, Hoang disclose a data transmission method, comprising: performing, by a user equipment (UE), a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data (see para. 0003-0005, multiplexing with transmission parameters, priority value and a destination identity parameter; para. 0069-0072, multiplexing with transmission parameters; para. 0098-0120, 0130-0131, sidelink discovery can be supported by a resource pool configuration procedure, the WTRU can determine resources for discovery data transmission, one or more dedicated resource pools for discovery transmission in advance for “to-be-transmitted” or the WTRU may transmit discovery data and/or other data. WTRU may notify GNB of the availability of discovery data to support GNB scheduling decisions. A scheduled sidelink grant can be used and the WTU can configure the resources for discovery transmissions. It is possible to determine whether to multiplex discovery in TB for transmission in the sidelink grant based on the number of (re) transmission resources associated with grant); wherein the to-be-transmitted data comprises at least one of following: a first type of data or a second type of data, the first type of data being data for sidelink (SL) discovery and second type of data being data for non-SL discovery (see para. 0003-0005, multiplexing SL data with other data sharing the same identity; para. 0069-0072, first type and second type can be SL discovery and SL data; para. 0130, WTRU may determine which data may be multiplexed with discovery data having destination belonging to a set of pre-configured data).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Hoang discloses wherein before the performing, by a UE, a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data (see para. 0003-0005), the method further comprises: obtaining, by the UE, an SL grant (see para. 0125, sidelink grant); wherein the data parameter comprises a resource type of the SL grant (see para. 0127, transmission resources for data transfer with discovery); and the resource type of the SL grant comprises any one of following: a first type of resource, a second type of resource, and a third type of resource; the first type of resource being dedicated to the SL discovery, the second type of resource being dedicated to the non-SL discovery, and the third type of resource being used for the SL discovery and the non-SL discovery (see para. 0126, size of the grant determines the type of resources to transmit or multiplex data; para. 0130-0131, data from LCH and discovery).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Hoang discloses wherein the process of performing, by a UE, a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data comprises at least one of following: in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the first type of resource (see para. 0245, first resource pool for semi-persistent discovery, second resource pool for dynamic discovery transmission ) and that the to-be-transmitted data comprises the first type of data, selecting, by the UE, the first type of data in the to-be-transmitted data for the multiplexing operation (see para. 0245, first resource pool for semi-persistent discovery, second resource pool for dynamic discovery transmission; in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the second type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data comprises the second type of data, selecting, by the UE, the second type of data in the to-be-transmitted data for the multiplexing operation; or in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the third type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data comprises the first type of data and/or the second type of data, selecting, by the UE, the first type of data and/or the second type of data in the to-be-transmitted data for the multiplexing operation (see para. 0125-0127, The WTRU may be pre-configured with a number of transmission resources in the grant of the discovery transmission. WTRU may determine whether to multiplex based on the (re)transmission resources, size of the grant; para. 0245, first resource pool for semi-persistent discovery, second resource pool for dynamic discovery transmission).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Hoang discloses wherein the data parameter comprises a priority corresponding to each type of data in the to-be-transmitted data; and in a case that the to-be-transmitted data comprises the first type of data and the second type of data, the process of performing, by a UE, a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data comprises any one of following: if a first priority corresponding to the first type of data is higher than a second priority corresponding to the second type of data, selecting, by the UE, the first type of data in the to-be-transmitted data for the multiplexing operation (see para. 0144, 0161, and 0234, priority based data selection and transmission and multiplexing operation);
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Hoang discloses wherein the data parameter comprises a priority corresponding to each type of data in the to-be-transmitted data, and the second type of data comprises at least one of following: a third type of data or a fourth type of data (see para 0068, discovery data with high priority and low priority with sidelink data); wherein the third type of data comprises data for SL communication (see para. 0068, sidelink data), and the fourth type of data comprises data for SL relay communication (see para. 0068, Sidelink discovery associated with relays); wherein a priority corresponding to the first type of data is a first priority, the first priority being determined based on a highest priority in at least one logical channel priority of the first type of data (see para. 0130, SL logical prioritization); a priority corresponding to the data for SL communication is a third priority, the third priority being determined based on a highest priority in at least one logical channel priority of the data for SL communication (see para. 0131, LCP data with high priority); and a priority corresponding to the data for SL relay communication is a fourth priority, the fourth priority being determined based on a highest priority in at least one logical channel priority of the data for SL relay communication (see para. 0136, higher priority to discovery data in Logical channel priority); and the process of performing, by a user equipment UE, a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data (see para. 0125, multiplexing based on the size of grant , the number of retransmission resources in a grant) comprises any one of following: if the first priority is higher than or equal to the third priority and the fourth priority, selecting, by the UE, the first type of data in the to-be-transmitted data for the multiplexing operation (see para. 0131, multiplex using LCP with high priority);
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Hoang discloses wherein before the performing, by a UE, a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data, the method further comprises: reporting, by the UE, data information of the to-be-transmitted data to a network-side device (see para. 0071, WTRU inform gNB of the availability of discovery data using SR, BSR or RRC); and the obtaining, by the UE, an SL grant comprises: receiving, by the UE, the SL grant configured by the network-side device (see para. 0124, scheduled with SL grant).
Regarding claim 9, Hoang discloses wherein before the reporting, by the UE, data information of the to-be-transmitted data to a network-side device, the method further comprises: in a case that the to-be-transmitted data comprises the first type of data and the second type of data and that the first type of data and the second type of data use a same destination ID (see para. 0071, same destination identifier), associating, by the UE, the first type of data and the second type of data with different destination indexes (see para. 0108-0113, destination index); wherein the data information comprises the destination ID (see para. 0071-0072, destination ID), a destination index associated with the first type of data, and a destination index associated with the second type of data (see para.108-0113, data associated with destination indices).
Regarding claim 10, Hoang discloses wherein before the reporting, by the UE, data information of the to-be-transmitted data to a network-side device, the method further comprises: calculating, by the UE, a buffer size of a logical channel group corresponding to the first type of data and a buffer size of a logical channel group corresponding to the second type of data (see para. 0115, Buffer size report for LCG with priority level discovery data, SL BSR and UL BSR); wherein the data information comprises the buffer size of the logical channel group corresponding to the first type of data and the buffer size of the logical channel group corresponding to the second type of data (see para. 0115, buffer size with LCG priority, discovery data and SL data).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Hoang discloses wherein before the performing, by a UE, a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data, the method further comprises: performing, by the UE, a resource selection operation according to the data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data (see para. 0070, resource allocation based on whether to multiplex discovery data with transmission parameters); and the obtaining, by the UE, an SL grant comprises: obtaining, by the UE, the SL grant based on a selection result corresponding to the resource selection operation (see para. 0124-0127, selection of resources with SL grant).
Regarding claim 12, Hoang discloses wherein the data parameter comprises the resource type of the SL grant (see para. 0127); and the performing, by the UE, a resource selection operation according to the data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data comprises any one of following: in a case that the to-be-transmitted data comprises only the first type of data, excluding, by the UE, the second type of resource in the process of performing the resource selection operation; and in a case that the to-be-transmitted data comprises only the second type of data, excluding, by the UE, the first type of resource (see para. 0173, discovery data only) in the process of performing the resource selection operation (see para. 0127-0128, 0133-0134, 0139-0142, 0173, resource selection) ; or, any one of following: if a first priority corresponding to the first type of data is higher than a second priority corresponding to the second type of data, excluding, by the UE, the second type of resource in the process of performing the resource selection operation (see para. 0197, exclude resource with priority);
Regarding claim 13, Hoang discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to perform: performing a multiplexing operation on to-be-transmitted data according to a data parameter of the to-be-transmitted data (see para.0005, transmission parameter based on whether discovery data is multiplexed with sidelink communication data; para. 0069-0072, multiplexing with transmission parameters; para. 0098-0120, 0130-0131, sidelink discovery can be supported by a resource pool configuration procedure, the WTRU can determine resources for discovery data transmission, one or more dedicated resource pools for discovery transmission in advance for “to-be-transmitted” or the WTRU may transmit discovery data and/or other data, WTRU can notify may notify GNB of the availability of discovery data to support GNB scheduling decisions. A scheduled sidelink grant can be used and the WTU can configure the resources for discovery transmissions. It is possible to determine whether to multiplex discovery in TB for transmission in the sidelink grant based on the number of (re) transmission resources associated with grant; see also claim 8); wherein the to-be-transmitted data comprises at least one of following: a first type of data or a second type of data, the first type of data being data for sidelink (SL) discovery, and the second type of data being data for non-SL discovery (see para. 0003-0005, multiplexing SL data with other data sharing the same identity; para. 0069-0072, first type and second type being SL discovery and other sidelink data; para. 0130, WTRU may determine which data may be multiplexed with discovery data having destination belonging to a set of pre-configured data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang in view of Fan et al. (US 2021/0211239 A1, hereinafter “Fan”).
Regarding claim 4, Hoang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein after the obtaining, by the UE, an SL grant, the method further comprises: in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the first type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data does not comprise the first type of data, or in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the second type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data does not comprise the second type of data, or in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the third type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data does not comprise the first type of data and the second type of data, discarding, by the UE, the SL grant. However, Fan from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein after the obtaining, by the UE, an SL grant, the method further comprises: in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the first type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data does not comprise the first type of data, or in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the second type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data does not comprise the second type of data, or in a case that the resource type of the SL grant is the third type of resource and that the to-be-transmitted data does not comprise the first type of data and the second type of data, discarding, by the UE, the SL grant (see para. 0111, discard SL grant based on resource type). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Fan SL grant discard scheme into Hoang SL transmission scheme. The method can be implemented in a terminal device. The motivation of doing this is to improve data transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 5, Hoang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the method further comprises: if the UE discards the SL grant, performing, by the UE, at least one of following operations: triggering, by the UE, a resource reselection operation; or reporting, by the UE, to a network-side device that the SL grant has been discarded. However, Fan from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the method further comprises: if the UE discards the SL grant, performing, by the UE, at least one of following operations: triggering, by the UE, a resource reselection operation; or
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claims 4 and 5 above.
Conclusion
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463