DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because of the reasons set forth below.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is directed towards a “computer program product comprising a storage medium storing instructions”. It has been held that a “storage medium”, as claimed, has a meaning to one of ordinary skill in the art that includes both transitory and non-transitory storage media. Transitory media does not fall within one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. Thus, this claim is rejected as being directed towards non-statutory embodiments. It is recommended that the claim be amended such that it is directed towards a “non-transitory storage medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (U.S. Publication US 2022/0182931 A1) in view of Frydman et al. (U.S. Patent US 10,193,602 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Jia et al. discloses an electronic device comprising: a temperature sensor; a wireless communication module configured to transmit and receive a wireless signal; a processor connected operatively to the wireless communication module; and a memory connected electrically to the processor and configured to store instructions executable by the processor (See paragraph 12, paragraphs 15-19, paragraphs 61-62, and Figure 1 of Jia et al. for reference to a client device, which is an electronic device, that may be a temperature monitoring device, i.e. including a temperature sensor, having hardware to wirelessly transmit and receive signals to and from an access point, AP, and being implemented using a processor executing program codes stored in a machine-readable medium). Jia et al. also discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: determine a target wake time (TWT) parameter differently depending on a temperature monitoring function of the electronic device (See paragraph 12, paragraph 28, and Figure 2 of Jia et al. for reference to determining different TWT parameters for a client device depending on a temperature monitoring function of the client device). Jia et al. further discloses performing a TWT negotiation with an external electronic device through the wireless communication module by using the TWT parameter (See paragraph 28 and Figure 2 of Jia et al. for reference to the client device sending a TWT request to the AP to negotiate a schedule for the TWT session comprising TWT parameters including a TWT start offset, a TWT duration, and a TWT interval). Although Jia et al. discloses that a TWT interval and TWT duration may depend on a temperature monitoring function of a client device (See paragraph 12 of Jia et al.), Jia et al. does not specifically disclose the temperature sensor being positioned in the electronic device, wherein a TWT parameter is determined differently depending on a heat state of the electronic device based on a temperature of the electronic device. However, Frydman et al., in the field of communications, discloses a system including a wireless device having temperature sensors positioned in the wireless device (See column 7 lines 12-27 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al.), wherein an active duty cycle of the RF modules of the device is adjusted based on a monitored temperature of the device by adjusting the durations of sleep intervals and active intervals of the RF modules (See column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al.). Adjusting the active duty cycle of a wireless device based on a monitored temperature of the device has the advantage of ensuring that the device does not overheat due to overuse of an RF module. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Frydman et al., to combine adjusting the active duty cycle of a wireless device based on a monitored temperature of the device, as taught by Frydman et al., within the system and method of Jia et al., such that the TWT parameters of Jia et al. including a TWT duration and a TWT interval may be adjusted such that the active duty cycle of the device does not cause the device to overheat due to overuse.
With respect to claim 11, Jia et al. discloses an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method comprising: monitoring a temperature (See paragraph 12, paragraphs 15-19, and Figure 1 of Jia et al. for reference to an operating method of a client device including temperature monitoring). Jia et al. also discloses determining a target wake time (TWT) parameter differently depending on a temperature monitoring function of the electronic device (See paragraph 12, paragraph 28, and Figure 2 of Jia et al. for reference to determining different TWT parameters for a client device depending on a temperature monitoring function of the client device). Jia et al. further discloses performing a TWT negotiation with an external electronic device by using the TWT parameter (See paragraph 28 and Figure 2 of Jia et al. for reference to the client device sending a TWT request to an AP to negotiate a schedule for the TWT session comprising TWT parameters including a TWT start offset, a TWT duration, and a TWT interval). Although Jia et al. discloses that a TWT interval and TWT duration may depend on a temperature monitoring function of a client device (See paragraph 12 of Jia et al.), Jia et al. does not specifically disclose the determining a heat state of the electronic device based on the monitored temperature, and determining a TWT parameter is differently depending on the heat state of the electronic device. However, Frydman et al., in the field of communications, discloses a system including a wireless device having temperature sensors positioned in the wireless device (See column 7 lines 12-27 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al.), wherein an active duty cycle of the RF modules of the device is adjusted based on a monitored temperature of the device by adjusting the durations of sleep intervals and active intervals of the RF modules (See column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al.). Adjusting the active duty cycle of a wireless device based on a monitored temperature of the device has the advantage of ensuring that the device does not overheat due to overuse of an RF module. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Frydman et al., to combine adjusting the active duty cycle of a wireless device based on a monitored temperature of the device, as taught by Frydman et al., within the system and method of Jia et al., such that the TWT parameters of Jia et al. including a TWT duration and a TWT interval may be adjusted such that the active duty cycle of the device does not cause the device to overheat due to overuse.
With respect to claim 20, Jia et al. discloses a computer program product comprising a storage medium storing instructions configured to be executed by at least one processor of an electronic device to perform a plurality of operations (See paragraphs 15-19, paragraphs 61-62, and Figure 1 of Jia et al. for reference to a client device implemented via program codes stored in a machine-readable medium and executed by a data processing apparatus). Jia et al. also discloses determining a target wake time (TWT) parameter differently depending on a temperature monitoring function of the electronic device (See paragraph 12, paragraph 28, and Figure 2 of Jia et al. for reference to determining different TWT parameters for a client device depending on a temperature monitoring function of the client device). Jia et al. further discloses wherein a TWT duty cycle is based on a combination of a TWT duration and a TWT interval (See paragraph 28 and Figure 2 of Jia et al. for reference to the TWT parameters including a TWT duration and a TWT interval). Jia et al. also discloses performing a TWT negotiation with an external electronic device by using the TWT parameter (See paragraph 28 and Figure 2 of Jia et al. for reference to the client device sending a TWT request to an AP to negotiate a schedule for the TWT session comprising TWT parameters including a TWT start offset, a TWT duration, and a TWT interval). Although Jia et al. discloses that a TWT interval and TWT duration may depend on a temperature monitoring function of a client device (See paragraph 12 of Jia et al.), Jia et al. does not specifically disclose determining a target wake time (TWT) parameter differently depending on a heat state of the electronic device such that a TWT duty cycle operates differently depending on the heat state of the electronic device. However, Frydman et al., in the field of communications, discloses a system including a wireless device having temperature sensors positioned in the wireless device (See column 7 lines 12-27 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al.), wherein an active duty cycle of the RF modules of the device is adjusted based on a monitored temperature of the device by adjusting the durations of sleep intervals and active intervals of the RF modules (See column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al.). Adjusting the active duty cycle of a wireless device based on a monitored temperature of the device has the advantage of ensuring that the device does not overheat due to overuse of an RF module. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Frydman et al., to combine adjusting the active duty cycle of a wireless device based on a monitored temperature of the device, as taught by Frydman et al., within the system and method of Jia et al., such that the TWT parameters of Jia et al. including a TWT duration and a TWT interval may be adjusted such that the active duty cycle of the device does not cause the device to overheat due to overuse.
With respect to claims 2 and 12, as shown above in the rejections of claims 1 and 11, the combination of Jia et al. and Frydman et al. renders obvious determining the TWT parameter such that a TWT duty cycle operates differently depending on the heat state of the electronic device (See paragraph 28 of Jia et al. for reference to determining TWT parameters including a TWT duration and a TWT interval, which combine to form a TWT duty cycle, and see column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al. for reference to an active duty cycle being adjusted depending on a monitored temperature of a RF module such that the temperature of the RF module is maintained close to a target temperature). Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 11.
With respect to claims 3 and 13, as shown above in the rejections of claims 1 and 11, Frydman et al. renders obvious determine the TWT parameter such that a TWT duty cycle decreases as the temperature of the electronic device increases (See column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al. for reference to the active duty cycle percentage being decreased as the temperature of the RF module increases in order to maintain the temperature of the RF module close toa target temperature). Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 11.
With respect to claims 4 and 14, as shown above in the rejections of claims 1 and 11, the combination of Jia et al. and Frydman et al. renders obvious determining the TWT parameter to be a combination of a TWT duration and a different TWT interval, which satisfies a same TWT duty cycle, with respect to a TWT duty cycle based on the heat state of the electronic device (See paragraph 28 of Jia et al. for reference to determining TWT parameters including a TWT duration and a TWT interval, which combine to form a TWT duty cycle, and see column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al. for reference to an active duty cycle being adjusted depending on a monitored temperature of a RF module such that the temperature of the RF module is maintained close to a target temperature). Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 11.
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Jia et al. discloses determining the combination of the TWT duration and the different TWT interval, which satisfies the same TWT duty cycle, according to a service type of a service that is running (See paragraph 12 and paragraph 28 of Jia et al. for reference to determining the TWT duration and the TWT interval, which combine to form a TWT duty cycle, differently according to the service type running on the device, i.e. a voice telephone service may have different TWT parameters than a temperature monitoring service).
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Jia et al. discloses determine the combination to be a combination of the TWT duration and a first TWT interval, which satisfies the same TWT duty cycle, when the service type is a real-time service (See paragraph 12 and paragraph 28 of Jia et al. for reference to determining a TWT duration and a first TWT interval, which combine to form a TWT duty cycle, for a voice telephone service type, which is a real-time service type). Jia et al. also discloses determining the combination to be a combination of the TWT duration and a second TWT interval, which satisfies the same TWT duty cycle, when the service type is a non-real-time service (See paragraph 12 and paragraph 28 of Jia et al. for reference to determining a TWT duration and a second TWT interval, which combine to form a TWT duty cycle, for a temperature monitoring service type, which is a non-real-time service type). Jia et al. further discloses wherein the first TWT interval is less than the second TWT interval (See paragraph 12 of Jia et al. for reference to the voice telephone service TWT interval being shorter than the temperature monitoring service TWT interval).
With respect to claims 7 and 17, as shown above in the rejections of claims 1 and 11, the combination of Jia et al. and Frydman et al. renders obvious setting the TWT parameter differently by setting at least one value differently of a TWT wake interval mantissa field, a nominal minimum TWT duration field, and a TWT wake interval exponent field of a TWT element depending on the heat state of the electronic device (See paragraph 12, paragraphs 34-35, and paragraph 55 of Jia et al. for reference to an embodiment wherein a minimum TWT duration, i.e. a nominal minimum TWT duration field, is set according to a temperature monitoring function of the device, and see column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al. for reference to an active duty cycle being adjusted depending on a monitored temperature of a RF module such that the temperature of the RF module is maintained close to a target temperature). Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 11.
With respect to claims 8 and 18, as shown above in the rejections of claims 1 and 11, the combination of Jia et al. and Frydman et al. renders obvious recognizing a service type of a running service, determine a TWT duration and a TWT interval corresponding to the recognized service type, and cap a value of the TWT duration to satisfy a TWT duty cycle based on the heat state of the electronic device (See paragraph 12 and paragraphs 26-28 of Jia et al. for reference to recognizing a service type of a client device, i.e. a voice telephone service or a temperature monitoring service, and setting a TWT duration and TWT interval according to the service type, and see column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 and Figure 2 of Frydman et al. for reference to an active duty cycle percentage, i.e. a cap, being adjusted depending on a monitored temperature of a RF module such that the temperature of the RF module is maintained close to a target temperature). Thus, these claims are rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 1 and 11.
With respect to claim 9, as shown above in the rejection of claim 1, Frydman et al. renders obvious monitoring the temperature of the electronic device through the temperature sensor and determine the heat state of the electronic device (See column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5 of Frydman et al. for reference to monitoring a temperature of the RF module of the device to determine whether a heat state of the RF module is above or below a target temperature). Thus, this claim is rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claim 1.
With respect to claim 10, as shown above in the rejection of claim 1, Frydman et al. renders obvious an auxiliary processor configured to monitor a temperature of the electronic device through the temperature sensor and determine the heat state of the electronic device (See column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5, column 14 lines 27-43, and Figures 1 and 8 of Frydman et al. for reference to a processor implementing the functions of the temperature manager that include monitoring the temperature of the RF module through the temperature sensor to determine whether a heat state of the RF module is above or below a target temperature). Thus, this claim is rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claim 1.
With respect to claim 19, as shown above in the rejection of claim 11, Frydman et al. renders obvious wherein the temperature of the electronic device is monitored through a temperature sensor and the heat state of the electronic device is determined by a processor or an auxiliary processor of the electronic device (See column 7 line 12 to column 8 line 5, column 14 lines 27-43, and Figures 1 and 8 of Frydman et al. for reference to a processor implementing the functions of the temperature manager that include monitoring the temperature of the RF module through the temperature sensor to determine whether a heat state of the RF module is above or below a target temperature). Thus, this claim is rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claim 11.
Conclusion
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461