Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses the word “means, and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “first translation means of said blades in a first direction” in claim 1, “second translation means of said blades, in a second direction” in claim 1 and ‘further comprising optical means for a continuous detection of an alignment’ in claim 8.
10. Claim 1 recites “means” “first translation means”. The limitation “first translation means of said blades in a first direction which is parallel to a direction of extension of said blades” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C (112). Prong 1: means (uses means), prong 2: translation… (functional language), prong 3: The structure as disclosed in the specification is first electric motor (29) (sufficient structure). The structure for performing the function is not recited as disclosed in Claim 1, page 7 “These first translation means (15) comprise, for the movement of the first sliders 26a, 26b: - a first electric motor (29), on the output shaft of which a first pulley (30) is keyed”.
11. Claim 1 further recites “means” “second translation means”. The limitation “second translation means of said blades in a second direction which is parallel to a direction of extension of said blades” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C (112). Prong 1: means (uses means), prong 2: translation… (functional language), prong 3: The structure as disclosed in the specification is second electric motor (40) (sufficient structure). The structure for performing the function is not recited as disclosed in Claim 1, page 7 “The second translation means (16) comprise, for the movement of each one of the second sliders (38a, 38b): - a second electric motor 40a, 40b, for moving a first worm screw (41a, 41b)”.
12. Claim 1 further recites “means” “means for a controlled mutual approach/distancing of free ends of said blades”. The limitation “means for a controlled mutual approach/distancing of free ends of said blades” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C (112). Prong 1: means (uses means), prong 2: controlled… (functional language), prong 3: The structure as disclosed in the specification is third electric motor(43), second worm screw nut(44), second nut(45), block(46), lever(47), shaft/pivot(48a, 48b) block (sufficient structure). The structure for performing the function is not recited as disclosed in Claim 1, page 8 “The means 17 for the controlled mutual approach/distancing of the free ends 13a and 14a of the blades 13, 14 comprise for each one of them: a third electric motor 43, a second worm screw 44, driven by the third electric motor 43 and parallel to the first worm screw 41a, 41b, a second nut 45, which can slide on the second worm screw 44 as a consequence of the rotation thereof, integral with a block 46, such block 46, to which a lever 47 is pivoted, such lever 47, which in turn is pivoted to a respective second slider 38a, 38b, by means of a shaft/pivot 48a, 48b”.
13. Claim 1 further recites “means” “retractable means for engagement on said blades”. The limitation “retractable means for engagement on said blades” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C (112). Prong 1: means (uses means), prong 2: engagement… (functional language), prong 3: The structure as disclosed in the specification is a hook(19a, 19b). The structure for performing the function is not recited as disclosed in Claim 1, page 5 “such means for engagement 18a, 18b comprise hooks 19a, 19b, each one of which is arranged at a respective free end 13a and 14a of a corresponding blade 13, 14.”.
14. Claim 5 recites “means” “means for detecting a presence of any obstacles”. The limitation “means for detecting a presence of any obstacles” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C (112). Prong 1: means (uses means), prong 2: detecting… (functional language), prong 3: The structure as disclosed in the specification is a fiber-optic sensor(23). The structure for performing the function is not recited as disclosed in Claim 5, page 8 “the handling unit 10 is provided with means for detecting the presence of any obstacles, which comprise a fiber-optic sensor 23 with a transceiver element 24 arranged at each free end 13a, 14a of the blades 13, 14.”.
15. Claim 7 further recites “means” “optical means”. The limitation “further comprising optical means for a continuous detection of an alignment” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C (112). Prong 1: means (uses means), prong 2: detection… (functional language), prong 3: The structure as disclosed in the specification is optical sensor (sufficient structure). The structure for performing the function is not recited as disclosed in Claim 7, page 6 “These optical means 65 are, for example, two or more optical sensors, arranged on the plate 12”.
16. Claim 16 recites “means” “movement means of said third slider”. The limitation “movement means of said third slider” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C (112). Prong 1: means (uses means), prong 2: movement… (functional language), prong 3: The structure as disclosed in the specification is a fourth electric motor (55), fifth pulley(56), sixth pulley(57), third drive belt(58), seventh pulley(59), drive belt(60), eight puller(61). The structure for performing the function is not recited as disclosed in Claim 16, page 8 “the handling unit 10 is provided with means for detecting the presence of any obstacles, which comprise a fiber-optic sensor 23 with a transceiver element 24 arranged at each free end 13a, 14a of the blades 13, 14.”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation of “first translation means of said blade” should be corrected to “first translation means of said grip blade”
Claim 1 is further objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation of “second translation means of said blade” should be corrected to “second translation means of said grip blade”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094).
20. Regarding Claim 1, Hellenbrand discloses a handling unit, comprising a gripper device(200) provided on a supporting plate(2) for products, said gripper device(200) comprising: - two opposite longitudinal grip blades(50a, 50b), each one of said blades having a free end(50a, 50b), - first translation means(20) of said blades(50a, 50b) in a first direction which is parallel to a direction of extension of said blades, - second translation means(140) of said blades(50a, 50b), in a second direction which is perpendicular to said first direction and lies on a plane which is parallel to a plane of arrangement of said plate(2), - means(210) for a controlled mutual approach/distancing of free ends of said blades(50a, 50b) said handling unit further comprising retractable means(62a , 62b) for engagement on said blades(50a, 50b) for said products, see Fig 7a , 7b ,Figs8-10, paragraph 31 “The gripping jaws 50a and 50b are attached to the gripping jaw holders.Due to the special type of coupling of the gripping jaws within the gripping jaw
arrangement, they can be moved and pivoted both along the second
horizontal direction Y”.
Hellenbrand does not explicitly disclose a handling unit, comprising of two opposite longitudinal grip blades(50a, 50b) which are configured to move independently of each other.
21. Makoto, discloses a handling unit comprising of two servo motors. see SUMMARY OF INVENTION “FIG. 1 is a perspective view showing a structure of a servo hand according to an embodiment of the present invention. In FIG. 1, reference numerals 11 and 11' denote servo motors, and reference numeral 12 denotes a linear motion converting means comprising a pinion 12a and a rack 12b”. the replacement of a single gripping motor(140) by Hellenbrand with two gripping motors(11, 11’)as suggested by Makoto will enable the independent movement of the longitudinal grip blades, Claim 1 “A servo hand comprising two servo motors, respective means for converting the rotary motions of the respective servo motors into linear motions, respective
claws which are attached to respective linear motion portions and cooperate with each other to grip a workpiece, position detectors for detecting the positions of the respective claws, and a contact pressure sensor installed on a workpiece gripping surface of at least one of the claws”, see Fig 1, summary of the invention, “According to the present invention, with the above-described configuration, the respective claws can be separately driven and positioned, the gripping force can be controlled by controlling the motor current, and a means for detecting contact with the claws can be used to grip a target workpiece, and the size and gripping position of the workpiece can also be known”.
23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit with two gripping motors to move the longitudinal grip blades independently of each otheras taught by Makoto (JPH04146094) to line up with and hold products of different sizes thereby making the handling unit more flexible and less dependent on manual labor.
24. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094).
25. Regarding Claim 2, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 1.
26. Hellenbrand further discloses the handling unit wherein said means for engagement comprise hooks, each one of said hooks being arranged at a respective free end of said free ends of a corresponding one of said blades, see Fig 10a, paragraph 32 “ A pivoting element (62a, 62b) is guided by this guide means, wherein each pivoting element has a driver section at its terminal end that is angled by about 90° with respect to the longitudinal direction and which is vertically aligned at the ends of the gripping jaws”.
.
27. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Traian(EP3253693).
28. Regarding Claim 3, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 2.
29. Hellenbrand discloses the handling unit wherein said hooks have a rod-like body which is coupled at a first end to a handling rod, said hooks having a movement trajectory that lies on a plane that is perpendicular to a direction of extension of said blades, paragraph 32 “guide means (61a, 61b) extending in the first horizontal direction X. A pivoting element (62a, 62b) is guided by this guide means, wherein each pivoting element has a driver section at its terminal end that is angled by about 90° with respect to the longitudinal direction and which is vertically aligned at the ends of the gripping jaws”.
30. Makoto discloses the handling unit comprising of said handling rod extending along a respective one of said blades and being actuated by a respective servomotor, see Fig. 1, reference numerals (11 and 11'), “denote servo motors, and reference numeral (12) denotes a linear motion converting means comprising a pinion (12a and a rack 12b)”.
Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose the handling unit comprising of hooks having mutually opposite directions of movement which are directed toward an inside of said plate in a configuration for use.
31. Traian discloses the handling unit comprising of hooks having mutually opposite directions of movement which are directed toward an inside of said plate in a configuration for use, see Fig 1 and Fig 2, paragraph 14-20.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify handling unit of Hellenbrand (EP3636565) and further modified by Makoto with the arrangement of the hooks to have mutually opposite directions as taught by Traian(EP3253693) to move the longitudinal grip blades independently of each other and provide mutually opposite direction of movement to enhance the grip of the blade and handling unit.
to line up with and hold products of different sizes thereby making the handling unit more flexible and less dependent on manual labor.
32. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797).
33. Regarding Claim 4, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 1.
34. Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose a handling unit wherein said blades comprise a pressure sensor.
35. Rami et al. discloses a handling unit wherein said blades comprise a pressure sensor, paragraph 80 “Another particularity of the invention resides in that the first blade(13) has a pressure sensor(29)”.
36. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modified by Makoto (JPH04146094) with pressure sensors on the blade as taught by Rami et al. (US20230072797) to allow for contact between the handled item and the blade, hence enhancing more reliable and safer handling of items in the handling unit.
37. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (EP3222562).
38. Regarding Claim 5, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 2.
39. Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose a handling unit further comprising means for detecting a presence of any obstacles, which comprise a fiber-optic sensor with a transceiver element arranged at said free end of said blades.
40. However, Rami et al. discloses a handling unit further comprising means for detecting a presence of any obstacles, which comprise a fiber-optic sensor with a transceiver element arranged at said free end of said blades, paragraph 34 “Each sensor 19, 20 is for example of the fiber optic type”, paragraph 35 “The optical fibers of these sensors have a sectional diameter between 0.5 millimeters and 2 millimeters, see Claim 2 “The handling unit according to claim 1, characterized in that that each sensor (19, 20) is of the fiber optic type, paragraph 52 “By means of the sensors installed directly on board the blades, it is possible to identify in advance the presence of an object out of place during advancement of said blades within the lanes between one row of packages and the next lateral adjacent one”, Claim 6 “The handling unit according to one or more of the preceding claims, characterized in that said electronic unit(21) is constituted by an electronic board for encoding the signals that arrive from the sensors”, paragraph 23 “The particular of the handling unit(10) according to the invention resides in that each one of the blades 13 and 14 has, at the free end 17 and 18, a sensor 19 and 20 respectively, for detecting the presence of a body in front of the blade during a step of advancement of said blade.
41. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in view of Rami et al. (EP3222562)
42. Regarding Claim 6, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al. discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 5.
43. Rami et al. (EP3222562) discloses a handling unit wherein along each one of said blades a seat for accommodating said optical fiber is provided , paragraph 34 “Each sensor 19 and 20 is for example of the fiber optic type, paragraph 35 “The optical fibers of these sensors have a sectional diameter between 0.5 millimeters and 2 millimeters, paragraph 39 “The electronic unit 21, interconnected with the sensors 19 and 20 for the management of the signals emitted by said sensors, “The electronic unit 21 is for example mounted above the housing(50)”, paragraph 23 “The particular of the handling unit(10) according to the invention resides in that each one of the blades 13 and 14 has, at the free end 17 and 18, a sensor 19 and 20 respectively, for detecting the presence of a body in front of the blade during a step of advancement of said blade.
44. Rami et al. (EP3222562) discloses a handling unit comprising respective free end a seat for accommodating said transceiver element is provided, paragraph 40 “The electronic unit 21 is for example mounted above the housing(50)”, paragraph 39 “The electronic unit 21, interconnected with the sensors 19 and 20 for the management of the signals emitted by said sensors, paragraph 23 “The particular of the handling unit(10) according to the invention resides in that each one of the blades 13 and 14 has, at the free end 17 and 18, a sensor 19 and 20 respectively, for detecting the presence of a body in front of the blade during a step of advancement of said blade paragraph 37 “The plate-like body of the blade 13 and 14 is provided with a longitudinal slot 33 and 34 for the accommodation of the corresponding cable 35 and 36 of the sensor 19 and 20.
45. Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose a handling unit comprising of each one of said hooks having a recess at said transceiver element.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide recess for the transceiver element, as situating the transceiver element in the recess accommodates the transceiver element hence protecting the transceiver from frequent damage.
46. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (CA3171777).
47. Regarding Claim 7, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 1.
48. Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose a handling unit further comprising optical means for a continuous detection of an alignment between a first blade and a second blade of said blades.
49. However, Rami et al. discloses a handling unit further comprising optical means for a continuous detection of an alignment between a first blade and a second blade of said blades, see page 8 line 10 “The optical means are for example two optical sensors(28), arranged on the plate(12) which make it possible to determine in each instant the angle of the second blade(14) with respect to the first blade(13) and the correct parallel arrangement at any instant between the blades 13, 14”.
50. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modify Makoto (JPH04146094) with optical means for a continuous detection of an alignment between a first blade and a second blade as taught by Rami et al. (CA3171777) to reduce misalignment and potential damage of the blades, hence enhancing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
51. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (CA3171777).
52. Regarding Claim 8, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 1.
53. Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose wherein said optical means are constituted by two or more optical sensors arranged on said supporting plate.
54. However, Rami et al. (CA3171777) discloses a handling unit wherein said optical means are constituted by two or more optical sensors arranged on said supporting plate, see page 9 line 10 “The optical means are for example two optical sensor(28), arranged on the plate(12)”.
55. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modifyiMakoto (JPH04146094) with optical sensors as taught by Rami et al. (CA3171777) to reduce misalignment and potential damage of the blades, hence enhacing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
56. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US CA3171777).
57. Regarding Claim 9, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 1.
Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose a handling unit, wherein said first translation means comprise two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element and designed to translate on corresponding first longitudinal guides, said blades being associated with said transverse element, said first longitudinal guides extending in parallel proximate to two opposite longitudinal sides of said supporting plate, on a surface of said supporting plate that is opposite to a surface thereof facing said blades.
58. Rami et al. (US CA3171777) further discloses a handling unit, wherein said translation means comprise two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element and designed to translate on corresponding first longitudinal guides extending in parallel proximate to two opposite longitudinal sides of said support plate, on a surface of said support plate and is opposite to the surface thereof facing said blade, see Figs. 1-3, page 6 line 13 “The first translation means 15 are of a type known per se, constituted for example by two mutually opposite lateral sliders 17, of which only one is shown in the figures, joined by a transverse element, designed to translate on corresponding lateral guides 18 which are extended in a parallel manner on two opposite sides of the plate 12”.
59. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modify Makoto (JPH04146094) with translation means comprising of two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element as taught by Rami et al. (CA3171777) to reduce misalignment and potential damage of the blades, hence enhancing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
60. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US CA3171777) in further view of Ueno et al(JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al.(US9757734)
61. Regarding Claim 10, Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 9.
58. Rami et al. discloses a handling unit comprising a first translation means for moving said two mutually opposite first lateral sliders including a motorized drive arrangement, paragraph 59 “The second translation means(16) are formed by a slider(19) to which the second blade(14) and the means(20) for the controlled mutual approach spacing blade(14), paragraph 61 “an electric motor”.
Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al does not explicitly disclose a first electric motor(121c), on an output shaft of which a first pulley(121e) is keyed, - said first pulley(121e), kinematically connected to a second pulley(122e) by means of a first drive belt(121f), - said second pulley(122e) being keyed on a first shaft(121d)
Ueno et al. discloses a first electric motor(121c), on an output shaft of which a first pulley(121e) is keyed, - said first pulley(121e), kinematically connected to a second pulley(122e) by means of a first drive belt(121f), - said second pulley(122e) being keyed on a first shaft(121d), paragraph 37”The first arm 121a is disposed so as to extend horizontally and can rotate about a shaft 121y extending vertically. The shaft 121y is a central shaft of the first shaft portion 121d. The first shaft portion 121d is fixed to the base portion 11 and protrudes upward from the upper surface of the base portion 11. The first arm 121a is fitted to the first shaft 121a at the first pulley 121e formed integrally with the first arm 121d and can rotate about the shaft 121d with respect to the first shaft 121y. A first drive belt 121c is wound between the first arm drive portion 121e and the first pulley 121f. The first arm drive unit 121c includes, for example, 12 a motor and a reduction gear, and operates based on a control signal transmitted from the control unit 33. Thus, the first arm 121a is rotated about the shaft 121c by the driving force transmitted from the first arm driver 121f via the first drive belt 121e and the first pulley 121y. [0038] The second arm 122a is disposed so as to extend horizontally and can rotate about a shaft 122y extending vertically. The shaft 122y is a central shaft of the second shaft portion 122d”.
Stevens et al. discloses said first shaft(68), to ends of which two third pulleys(74, 78) are keyed, each one of which is kinematically engaged with a second drive belt(76, 80), - said second belt drive belt(76, 80), with a portion which is integrally fixed to a respective one of said first sliders and is kinematically engaged: - with a respective one of said third pulleys(74, 78), - with a respective fourth pulley(58, 40), see Fig. 3, Claim 1, Col 4 lines 43- “An elongated first shaft (68) having a forward end 70 and a rearward end 72, is rotably mounted in bearing 60 and 64 so that the rearward end 72 of shaft 68 is positioned rearwardly of bearing 64. A first pulley 74 is mounted on shaft 68 for rotation therewith. A first drive belt 76 extends around pulleys 74 and 58. A second pulley 78 is secured to shaft 68 for rotation therewith forwardly bearing as seen in Fig 3. A second drive belt 80 extends around pulleys 78 and 40 as seen in Fig 3”.
Ueno et al. in view of Stevens is pertinent to the problem of multistage transmission systems and discloses a second pulley by means of a first drive belt and two third pulleys keyed, each one of which is kinematically engaged with a second drive belt.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modify Makoto (JPH04146094) motors and further modify Rami et al. (CA3171777) translation means comprising of two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element as taught by Rami et al. (CA3171777) and further modify Ueno et al(JP2020163014) multi stage transmission system comprising of first belt drive and further modify Stevens et al.(US9757734) multi stage transmission system comprising of second drive to reduce misalignment and potential damage of the blades, hence enhancing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
66. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US CA3171777) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. (JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al. (US9757734)
67. Regarding Claim 11, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al in further view of Ueno et al. in further view of Stevens et al. discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 10.
68. Makoto discloses a handling unit comprising two mutually opposite blades configured to move relative to each other to grip items, see Fig 1, summary of the invention, “According to the present invention, with the above-described configuration, the respective claws can be separately driven and positioned, the gripping force can be controlled by controlling the motor current, and a means for detecting contact with the claws can be used to grip a target workpiece, and the size and gripping position of the workpiece can also be known”.
69. Rami et al. (US20230072797) discloses a handling unit comprising a second translation means(20) for controlling the spacing and mutual approach of the blades, paragraph 59 “The second translation means(16) are formed by a slider(19) to which the second blade(14) and the means(20) for the controlled mutual approach spacing blade(14), paragraph 61 “an electric motor”, see 60-61.
70. Rami et al. (US20230072797) discloses a handling unit comprising a slider(19) coupled to the second blade with the slider arranged to slide on a guide(30) and the guide being transverse to the lateral guides(18) with mutual approach of the blades achieved by the slider moving along the guide, see paragraph 59-69.
71. Hellenbrand(US20190022855) discloses a handling unit comprising a clamping jaw slider that are coupled to the respective jaws and are movable along guides to control the jaw movement paragraph 52 “The clamping jaw carriages(40a, 40b) of the first guide(35) may therefore be moved simultaneously or separately with respect to the clamping jaw carriages(41a, 41b,) of the second guide(36) also se paragraph 23-32.Ueno et al. in view of Stevens is pertinent to the problem of multistage transmission systems and discloses a second pulley by means of a first drive belt and two third pulleys keyed, each one of which is kinematically engaged with a second drive belt.
72. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modify Makoto (JPH04146094) guides and blades, and further modify the translating members comprising of two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element of Rami et al. (US20230072797) and further modify Hellenbrand(US20190022855) second sliders and second guides and further modify Ueno et al(JP2020163014) multi stage transmission system comprising of first belt drive and further modify Stevens et al.(US9757734) multi stage transmission system comprising of second belt drive to reduce misalignment and potential damage of the blades, hence enhancing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
73. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. (JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al. (US9757734) in further view of Massimo et al.(ITMO20100114) in further view of Giampietro(ITMO20070393).
74. Regarding Claim 12, Hellenbrand(EP3636565) in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al. in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. in further view of Stevens et al.
discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 11.
Rami et al. (US20230072797) discloses a handling unit comprising a slider(19) coupled to the second blade with the slider arranged to slide on a guide(30) and the guide being transverse to the lateral guides(18) with mutual approach of the blades achieved by the slider moving along the guide, see paragraph 59-69.
77. Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. (JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al. (US9757734) does not explicitly disclose a handling unit comprising a second electric motor, for moving a first worm screw, - said first worm screw, which is parallel to said second guide and is engaged with a first nut, - said first nut, which can slide on said first worm screw as a consequence of the rotation thereof and is integral with a respective one of said second sliders.
Massimo et al discloses a second electric motor(16), for moving a first worm screw(15), - said first worm screw(15), which is parallel to said second guide(18) and is engaged with a first nut(17), said first nut(17), which can slide on said first worm screw(15) as a consequence of the rotation thereof, see Fig 3, page 14 “The movement means 14, for actuating the translation along the vertical axis Z, comprise a first worm screw 15 arranged vertically, supported so as to rotate around its own axis inside the box-shaped structure 2 and driven in rotation by a first electric motor 16, and a first nut screw element 17 engaged with the first worm screw 15 and constrained to translate along a first vertical bar 18”.
Giampietro discloses a second slider(carriage)(62) slidable along a second guide(68) and a first nut(64) fixed to the second slider(62), where the rotation of the elongated element(120a/120) causes a motion of the first nut(64) along the second guide(68), see Fig 9, page 13 line 7-15 “The first drive means 23 comprise, for example, a first worm screw, rotatably mounted on the first head 5 so as to mesh with a toothing 11b made on the external surface of the first bushing 11. With particular reference to Figure 6, the first worm screw 23 is mounted with a respective rotation axis Z almost orthogonal to the longitudinal axis W. The toothing 11b of the first bushing 11 comprises a plurality of straight teeth”, page 19 lines 10-23 “For this purpose, the stem 10 of the piston means 3 of the first apparatus 101 is connected, via a first elongated element 120, to a first nut screw 64 fixed to the first carriage 62. Said first elongated element 120, which is mounted free to rotate inside the stem 10, engages said first nut screw 64 via a respective threaded end portion 120a. A first locking element 65 is fixed to said first rod 120 and is interposed between the stem 10 of the first apparatus 101 and the first nut 64. The rotation of the first elongated element 120 determines the moving away or towards the first nut 64, i.e. the movement of the first carriage 62 along the first adjustment direction X”.
Ueno et al. in view of Stevens is pertinent to the problem of multistage transmission systems and discloses a second pulley by means of a first drive belt and two third pulleys keyed, each one of which is kinematically engaged with a second drive belt.
72. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modify Makoto (JPH04146094) guides and blades, and further modify the translating members comprising of two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element of Rami et al. (US20230072797) and further modify Hellenbrand(US20190022855) second sliders and second guides and further modify Ueno et al(JP2020163014) multi stage transmission system comprising of first belt drive and further modify Stevens et al.(US9757734) multi stage transmission system comprising of second belt drive and further modify Massimo et al.(ITMO20100114) worm screws and nuts and further modify Giampietro(ITMO20070393) second slider drive to reduce misalignment and potential damage of the blades, hence enhancing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
80. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. (JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al. (US9757734) in further view of Giampietro(ITMO20070393) in further view of Benjamin(US4252217)
73. Regarding Claim 13, Hellenbrand(EP3636565) in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al. in further view of Hellenbrand (US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al in further view of Stevens et al. discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 11.
86. Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al in further view of Stevens et al. does not explicitly disclose a handling unit comprising - a second nut, which can slide on said second worm screw as a consequence of a rotation thereof and is integral with a block, - said block, to which a lever is pivoted, - said lever being in turn pivoted to a respective one of said second sliders by means of a shaft/pivot, - said shaft/pivot, with an axis of extension perpendicular to the plane of arrangement of said plate, fixed to/integral with: - a second end of the respective one of said blades which is opposite said free end, - and said lever.
Hellenbrand discloses a handling unit, comprising a gripper device(200) provided on a supporting plate(2) for products, said gripper device(200) comprising: - two opposite longitudinal grip blades(50a, 50b), each one of said blades having a free end(50a, 50b), - means(210) for a controlled mutual approach/distancing of free ends of said blades(50a, 50b)
82. Rami et al. discloses a handling unit comprising a second translation means(20) for controlling the spacing and mutual approach of the blades, paragraph 59 “The second translation means(16) are formed by a slider(19) to which the second blade(14) and the means(20) for the controlled mutual approach spacing blade(14), paragraph 61 “an electric motor”, see 60-61.
83. Rami et al. further discloses a handling unit comprising a slider(19) coupled to the second blade with the slider arranged to slide on a guide(30) and the guide being transverse to the lateral guides(18) with mutual approach of the blades achieved by the slider moving along the guide, see paragraph 59-69.Massimo et al discloses a third electric motor(16), for moving a second worm screw(15), - driven by said third electric motor(16) and parallel to said first worm screw(15), - a second nut(17), which can slide on said second worm screw(15) as a consequence of a rotation thereof, see Fig 3, page 14 “The movement means 14, for actuating the translation along the vertical axis Z, comprise a first worm screw 15 arranged vertically, supported so as to rotate around its own axis inside the box-shaped structure 2 and driven in rotation by a first electric motor 16, and a first nut screw element 17 engaged with the first worm screw 15 and constrained to translate along a first vertical bar 18”.
Giampietro discloses a second slider(carriage)(62) slidable along a second guide(68) and a first nut(64) fixed to the second slider(62), where the rotation of the elongated element(120a/120) causes a motion of the first nut(64) along the second guide(68), see Fig 9, page 13 line 7-15 “The first drive means 23 comprise, for example, a first worm screw, rotatably mounted on the first head 5 so as to mesh with a toothing 11b made on the external surface of the first bushing 11. With particular reference to Figure 6, the first worm screw 23 is mounted with a respective rotation axis Z almost orthogonal to the longitudinal axis W. The toothing 11b of the first bushing 11 comprises a plurality of straight teeth”, page 19 lines 10-23 “For this purpose, the stem 10 of the piston means 3 of the first apparatus 101 is connected, via a first elongated element 120, to a first nut screw 64 fixed to the first carriage 62. Said first elongated element 120, which is mounted free to rotate inside the stem 10, engages said first nut screw 64 via a respective threaded end portion 120a. A first locking element 65 is fixed to said first rod 120 and is interposed between the stem 10 of the first apparatus 101 and the first nut 64. The rotation of the first elongated element 120 determines the moving away or towards the first nut 64, i.e. the movement of the first carriage 62 along the first adjustment direction X”.
Benjamin discloses a block(290) attached to a lever(276) with the lever(276) pivotally supported by a shaft(102) and further discloses said shaft/pivot(102), with an axis of extension perpendicular to the plane of arrangement of said plate(92, 94),see Fig 7 and Fig 25 paragraph 17 “The fixed sheave nest 52 that is secured within bracket 39 includes a shaft 102 that extends through plates 92, 94” paragraph 18 “driving wheel 72 for horizontally propelling the stacker crane. Driving wheel 72 is secured on shaft 126, which extends laterally beyond the end plates 33”
Benjamin is pertinent to the problem of automated systems and discloses a block attached to a lever with the lever pivotally supported by a shaft and said shaft/pivot, with an axis of extension perpendicular to the plane of arrangement of said plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modify Makoto (JPH04146094) guides and blades, and further modify the translating members comprising of two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element of Rami et al. (US20230072797) and further modify Hellenbrand(US20190022855) second sliders and second guides and further modify Ueno et al(JP2020163014) multi stage transmission system comprising of first belt drive with first and second pulleys and further modify Stevens et al.(US9757734) multi stage transmission system comprising of second belt drive with third and fourth pulleys and further modify Massimo et al.(ITMO20100114) worm screws and nuts and further modify Giampietro(ITMO20070393) second slider drive with Benjamin(US4252217) block to provide interface structure for translating the worm screw motion into a controlled motion of the blades, hence enhancing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
89. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. (JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al. (US9757734)
90. Regarding Claim 14, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al. in further view of Hellenbrand in further view of Ueno et al in further view of Stevens et al. discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 11.Hellenbrand further discloses a handling unit, comprising a gripper device(200) provided on a supporting plate(2) for products, said gripper device(200) comprising: - two opposite longitudinal grip blades(50a, 50b), each one of said blades having a free end(50a, 50b), - means(210) for a controlled mutual approach/distancing of free ends of said blades(50a, 50b)
91. Hellenbrand(US20190022855) further discloses a handling unit comprising a pusher element(12) with the pusher being disposed in a slotted opening(11) of the delivery table and the pusher sliding in the storage and retrieval direction with the pusher pushing items during handling, paragraph 41 “The pusher element(12) may be moved in the slotted opening(11)(central slotted opening) in the storage and retrieval direction” 81. Hellenbrand (EP3636565) further discloses a handling unit comprising an operating device including a sliding device(10), which stands as the pusher, for pushing goods from a storage with the sliding device(pusher) movable in the horizontal direction during retrieval and storage process. The pusher can also be adapted to slide along supporting plate for pushing articles during retrieval and storage process this suggests a contact portion that can be configured with the article handled. The pusher is comprised of a pushing head(13) corresponding to a flat body, which is arranged and parallel to the delivery table(10)/supporting plate and slide in a retrieval and storage direction, the pusher(12) is movable through a longitudinal slot(central slot opening(11) in the supporting plate(10) with the longitudinal slot (11) extending along a central part of the supporting plate in the retrieval and storage direction see Claim 6 “a sliding device (10) for sliding a piece of goods from the storage table (2), and a drive unit (20, 21) coupled to the gripping jaw arrangement (200) for moving the gripping jaw arrangement in the first horizontal direction (X)”, paragraph 41 “The delivery table(10) has a central slotted opening(11) that extends in the storage and retrieval direction. A pusher element(120 with a broadened pushing head(13) is disposed in the opening(11). The pusher element(12) may be moved in the slotted opening(11) in the storage and retrieval direction (e.g. in the first horizontal direction x)
93. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize when an item is supported on a plate and positioned relative to a gripping and cutting system and a pusher providing known means for applying sliding and translational force to position the item along the supporting plate. Therefore, a pusher comprising of one or more modular insert can be organized to slide along the supporting plate to provide replaceable contact portions and to enable the pusher to be adapted for the handling of different articles while keeping the operation of the gripping and cutting system. The predictable outcome is a pusher capable of moving the handled item while providing adaptable engagement through one or more modular inserts, see MPEP 2143(I) Rationale (A).
See Modifications of Claim 11
95. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. (JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al. (US9757734)
96. Regarding Claim 15, Hellenbrand(EP3636565) in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al. in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. in further view of Stevens et al discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 14.
Rami et al. (US20230072797) further discloses a handling unit comprising a slider (19) coupled to the second blade with the slider arranged to slide on a guide (30) and the guide being transverse to the lateral guides(18) with mutual approach of the blades achieved by the slider moving along the guide, see paragraph 59-69.
Hellenbrand further discloses a handling unit, comprising a gripper device (200) provided on a supporting plate(2) for products, said gripper device(200) comprising: - two opposite longitudinal grip blades(50a, 50b), each one of said blades having a free end(50a, 50b), - means (210) for a controlled mutual approach/distancing of free ends of said blades(50a, 50b)
91. Hellenbrand(US20190022855) further discloses a handling unit comprising a pusher element(12) with the pusher being disposed in a slotted opening(11) of the delivery table and the pusher sliding in the storage and retrieval direction with the pusher pushing items during handling, paragraph 41 “The pusher element(12) may be moved in the slotted opening(11)(central slotted opening) in the storage and retrieval direction”
81. Hellenbrand (EP3636565) further discloses a handling unit comprising an operating device including a sliding device (10), which stands as the pusher, for pushing goods from storage with the sliding device(pusher) movable in the horizontal direction during retrieval and storage process. The pusher can also be adapted to slide along supporting plate for pushing articles during retrieval and storage process this suggests a contact portion that can be configured with the article handled. The pusher is comprised of a pushing head(13) corresponding to a flat body, which is arranged and parallel to the delivery table(10)/supporting plate and slide in a retrieval and storage direction, the pusher(12) is movable through a longitudinal slot(central slot opening(11) in the supporting plate(10) with the longitudinal slot (11) extending along a central part of the supporting plate in the retrieval and storage direction see Claim 6 “a sliding device (10) for sliding a piece of goods from the storage table (2), and a drive unit (20, 21) coupled to the gripping jaw arrangement (200) for moving the gripping jaw arrangement in the first horizontal direction (X)”, paragraph 41 “The delivery table(10) has a central slotted opening(11) that extends in the storage and retrieval direction. A pusher element (120 with a broadened pushing head (13) is disposed in the opening (11). The pusher element (12) may be moved in the slotted opening (11) in the storage and retrieval direction (e.g. in the first horizontal direction x).
Hellenbrand (EP3636565) further discloses a handling unit comprising a slider, paragraph 19 “The slider can be used in particular to slide "normal" drug packages with a regularly rectangular base from a storage table 2 of the operating device to, for example, a storage location”.
Although the combined references do not explicitly disclose the third slider movable on a third longitudinal guide, a person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that obtaining a longitudinal guide for the third slider is a known mechanical arrangement for constraining the slider to the longitudinal direction of motion desired by the pusher. A person of ordinary skill would have positioned the guide, hence allowing the slider to guide the pusher along the longitudinal direction given by the slot. A person of ordinary skill in the art can also recognize that a sliding pusher will require a guiding mechanism to influence its motion along the supporting plate. Enabling the pusher with sliders obtained from a longitudinal guide of the supporting plate can constrain the pusher and provide a linear motion. A person of ordinary skill in the art can further recognize that implementing the slider to be integral with the pusher comprising of a flat body may transmit motion of the slider to the pusher. The predictable outcome can be a pusher that is constrained and guided to move longitudinally along the longitudinal guide and supporting plate by the third slider, with the pusher coupled through the central longitudinal slot of the supporting plate, hence providing stable motion of the pusher while bypassing interference of the blades. see MPEP 2143(I) Rationale (A).
See Modifications of Claim 11
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Rami et al. (US20230072797) in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. (JP2020163014) in further view of Stevens et al. (US9757734)
Regarding Claim 16, Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto in further view of Rami et al in further view of Hellenbrand(US20190022855) in further view of Ueno et al. in further view of Stevens et al discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 15.
58. Rami et al. discloses a handling unit comprising a first translation means for moving said two mutually opposite third lateral sliders including a motorized drive arrangement, paragraph 59 “The second translation means(16) are formed by a slider(19) to which the second blade(14) and the means(20) for the controlled mutual approach spacing blade(14), paragraph 61 “an electric motor”.
Ueno et al. discloses a fourth electric motor(121c), on an output shaft of which a fifth pulley(121e) is keyed, - said fifth pulley(121e), kinematically connected to a sixth pulley(122e) by means of a third drive belt(121f), paragraph 37”The first arm 121a is disposed so as to extend horizontally and can rotate about a shaft 121y extending vertically. The shaft 121y is a central shaft of the first shaft portion 121d. The first shaft portion 121d is fixed to the base portion 11 and protrudes upward from the upper surface of the base portion 11. The first arm 121a is fitted to the first shaft 121a at the first pulley 121e formed integrally with the first arm 121d and can rotate about the shaft 121d with respect to the first shaft 121y. A first drive belt 121c is wound between the first arm drive portion 121e and the first pulley 121f. The first arm drive unit 121c includes, for example, 12 a motor and a reduction gear, and operates based on a control signal transmitted from the control unit 33. Thus, the first arm 121a is rotated about the shaft 121c by the driving force transmitted from the first arm driver 121f via the first drive belt 121e and the first pulley 121y. [0038] The second arm 122a is disposed so as to extend horizontally and can rotate about a shaft 122y extending vertically. The shaft 122y is a central shaft of the second shaft portion 122d”.
Stevens et al. discloses said first shaft(68), to ends of which said seventh pulley(78), coaxial to said sixth pulley(74) are said to be mounted on the same shaft(68), which is kinematically engaged with a fourth drive belt(80), - said fourth drive belt(80), which has a portion which is fixed integrally to said third slider, and is kinematically engaged: - with said seventh pulley(78), - with an eighth pulley(58, 40), see Fig. 3, Claim 1, Col 4 lines 43- “An elongated first shaft (68) having a forward end 70 and a rearward end 72, is rotably mounted in bearing 60 and 64 so that the rearward end 72 of shaft 68 is positioned rearwardly of bearing 64. A first pulley 74 is mounted on shaft 68 for rotation therewith. A first drive belt 76 extends around pulleys 74 and 58. A second pulley 78 is secured to shaft 68 for rotation therewith forwardly bearing as seen in Fig 3. A second drive belt 80 extends around pulleys 78 and 40 as seen in Fig 3”.
59. Hellenbrand(US20190022855) discloses transmitting rotational output from an electric motor from a belt and pulley drive with an output pulley, driven pulley situated on a shaft, additional pulleys situated on a shaft and belts driving various translating members, also a drive unit and pulley with belt systems, paragraph 32 “Due to the manner in which the piece goods are retrieved, the clamping jaws don’t need to be moved away from one another separately. Heer a synchronous, mirror-imaged, identical motion of the clamping jaws is sufficient. Therefore, in one or more embodiments, the drive unit includes at least two drives, each having one drive gear”, also see paragraph 23-31. 64.
Ueno et al. in view of Stevens is pertinent to the problem of multistage transmission systems and discloses a second pulley by means of a first drive belt and two third pulleys keyed, each one of which is kinematically engaged with a second drive belt.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit and further modify Makoto (JPH04146094) motors and further modify Rami et al. (CA3171777) translation means comprising of two mutually opposite first lateral sliders joined by a transverse element as taught by Rami et al. (CA3171777) and further modify Ueno et al(JP2020163014) multi stage transmission system comprising of third belt drive and sixth pulley coaxially connected to the seventh pulley further modify Stevens et al.(US9757734) multi stage transmission system comprising of fourth belt drive and eight pulley to reduce misalignment and potential damage of the blades, hence enhancing efficiency and reliability of the handling unit.
112. . Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hellenbrand (EP3636565) in view of Makoto (JPH04146094) in further view of Mellits et al. (US20230365358)
113. . Regarding Claim 17, Hellenbrand in view of Makoto discloses a handling unit and all the limitations of claim 1.
114. . Mellits et al. discloses a handling unit including a bracket assembly comprising of triple C brackets(200), where the C-Shaped brackets are spaced from one another on the length of a supporting plate(212), with a C-shaped bracket forming a cross section and positioned towards the center of the plate, coupled to a support through deck hinge shaft(202), the deck hinge shaft (202) being disposed in and coupled to the C-shaped bracket(220), hence defining a center of rotation of the bracket with respect to support, see Fig 8 paragraph 60 “In the illustrated embodiment, the leg bracket assembly (200) includes three C-shaped brackets (220). However, in other embodiments, any suitable number of C-shaped brackets (220) may be used, including, for example, 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, or 10 C-shaped brackets (220). The C-shaped brackets (220) are spaced from each other along a length of the bottom plate (212). A C-shaped bracket (220) is coupled proximate to each end of the bottom plate (212) and the third C-shaped bracket (220) is coupled to the center of the bottom plate (212). Two stock plates (214) are coupled to the bottom plate (212) between the C-shaped brackets (220). The deck hinge shaft (202) may be disposed in the C-shaped brackets (220) such that a bottom of the deck hinge shaft (202) contacts a top of the stock plates 214.
115. Hellenbrand in view of Makoto does not explicitly disclose a bracket extending longitudinally and being shaped substantially like a “triple C” in cross-section, said bracket being coupled to said support at a point defining a center of rotation of said bracket with respect to said support.
116. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that coupling the triple C brackets (200) to the support at a point defining a center of rotation of the bracket with respect to said support may allow for the supporting plate carried by the bracket to be positioned angularly relative to the support.
117. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Hellenbrand (EP3636565) handling unit as modified by Makoto (JPH04146094) supporting plate with triple C brackets extending longitudinally and being coupled to a support as taught by Mellits et al. (US20230365358) to improve structural support, thereby increasing the lifespan of the handling unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL T KIO whose telephone number is (571)270-0743. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8a.m -5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert W Hodge can be reached at 571-272-2097. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MTK./
Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654