Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueki (US 2006/0140432 A1), Wang (US 2014/0161293 A1), and Spielvogel (US 2011/0059719 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ueki teaches an acoustic drainage structure, comprising:
a housing provided with an accommodating cavity and a first sound-pickup hole communicated with the accommodating cavity [[0028] waterproof mike further comprises a back plate disposed behind the electrode plate in the case; [0029] the back plate has an air hole linking the posterior chamber and an outside of the case]; and
an acoustic assembly comprising a sound-pickup module provided in the accommodating cavity [[abstract] moisture such as rain water, even if entering the anterior chamber, is smoothly discharged out of the case from the discharge apertures along an inner face of the anterior chamber] and a sound-generating unit provided in the accommodating cavity [[0052] waterproof mike is a so-called condenser-type microphone, which has a cylinder-shaped case 1 having an anterior wall 2], wherein the sound-pickup module comprises a sound-pickup unit [[0052] waterproof mike is a so called condenser-type microphone], a connector [[0009] supporting stand is connected to the rear surface of the case to cover the through hole] and [ membrane] [[0066] speakers connected to the output terminals 15, 16, so that an output impedance of the waterproof mike is reduced to not more than 100 Ω; [0074] cover cloth to prevent dirt from entering], and the [membrane] is provided at a cavity wall of the accommodating cavity [[0074] cover cloth for covering the front face of the anterior wall 2 may be placed to prevent dirt and the like from entering the anterior chamber 20]; the connector is connected to the [membrane] and the sound-pickup unit, and the connector is provided with a second sound-pickup hole [[0020] electrode plate has a hole linking the second gap and the posterior chamber, [0021] the second diaphragm has a throttle hole linking the first gap and the second gap]; [membrane] is configured to cover the first sound-pickup hole and the second sound-pickup hole, and the [membrane] [[0074] cover cloth for covering the front face of the anterior wall 2 may be placed to prevent dirt and the like from entering the anterior chamber 20], a hole wall of the second sound-pickup hole and the sound-pickup unit are enclosed to form a sound-pickup cavity [[0020-0021] electrode plate has a hole linking the second gap and the posterior chamber … second diaphragm has a throttle hole]; and the connector is provided with an air guiding passage communicated with the sound-pickup cavity and the accommodating cavity [[abstract] discharge apertures along an inner face of the anterior chamber; [prior art claim 1] second gap and the posterior chamber are linked, the first gap is sealed from the anterior chamber by the first diaphragm], so as to make the sound-generating unit drive the breathable waterproof membrane to vibrate [[0074] noted that a cover cloth for covering the front face of the anterior wall 2 may be placed to prevent dirt and the like from entering the anterior chamber 20; [0092] first diaphragm 11 covers the central aperture 52 a on the anterior wall 52 of the inner case 51. The first ring 31 is bonded to the front face of the anterior wall 52 of the inner case 51 with, for example, waterproof adhesives].
Ueki does not explicitly teach and yet Wang teaches a breathable waterproof membrane, and the breathable waterproof membrane is provided at a cavity wall of the accommodating cavity; the connector is connected to the breathable waterproof membrane and the sound-pickup unit, and the connector is provided with a second sound-pickup hole [[0049] waterproof breathable membrane 600 essentially is a diaphragm, when the speaker 400 provides first sound waves W1 to the through hole 211, the first sound waves W1 vibrate the waterproof breathable membrane 600 on the through hole 211, and the waterproof breathable membrane 600 is vibrated to provide second sound waves W2 instead of the first sound waves W1 outwards the electronic device 100 from the sound hole 502]; the breathable waterproof membrane is configured to cover the first sound-pickup hole and the second sound-pickup hole [[abstract] waterproof breathable membrane covers one of the sound hole and the through hole], and the breathable waterproof membrane [[0009] electronic device includes a case, a speaker, a supporting stand, and a waterproof breathable membrane. The case includes a front surface, a rear surface being opposite to the front surface, a first inner space disposed between the front surface and the rear surface, and a through hole disposed on the rear surface and connected to the first inner space. The speaker is disposed in the first inner space, and produces sound waves outwards the case from the through hole. The supporting stand is connected to the rear surface of the case to cover the through hole. The supporting stand includes at least one sound hole and a second inner space connected to the sound hole and the through hole. The waterproof breathable membrane covers one of the through hole and the sound hole].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the cloth as taught by Ueki, with the breathable waterproof membrane as taught by Wang because the electronic device of the disclosure improves the sound quality of the speaker as the waterproof breathable membrane and the speaker mutually resonate [[0027]].
Ueki does not explicitly teach and yet Spielvogel teaches wherein the housing is further provided with a sound-generating hole communicated with the accommodating cavity [[0028] device … is made to be 100% waterproof. The device, not the base station, contains the speaker and microphone for communication], and the sound-generating unit is provided corresponding to the sound-generating hole [[0050] speaker 20 and a microphone 22. Conventional speakers and microphones may be used and any suitable number of slots or openings may be provided for that purpose]; and a sound leaking hole is provided at one end of the sound-generating unit away from the sound-generating hole, and the sound leaking hole is communicated with the accommodating cavity [[0060] microphone 22 may be provided with a drain hole 54 which evacuates water from the cavity in front of the microphone through the use of gravity or by shaking the unit. The basic idea is that gravity drains any excess water that is trapped in the space in front of the microphone component, keeping the microphone clear for use even in a wet situation. A similar concept may be used for the speaker 20].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the drain channels as taught by Ueki, with the sound leaking/drain hole as taught by Spielvogel so that excess water that is trapped in the space in front of the microphone or speaker may be drained to keep the cavity clear [[0062]].
Regarding claim 2, Ueki teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 1, wherein the air guiding passage is configured to penetrate an outer wall of the connector and the hole wall of the second sound-pickup hole [[fig. 1a] shows two discharge apertures both labeled #2b extending in two radial directions form the central aperture #2a to allow water drainage as compared with fig. 9 labeled prior art with no passages].
Regarding claim 3, Ueki teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 1, wherein the air guiding passage comprises at least two air guiding branches provided at the connector, and at least two of the air guiding branches are communicated with the sound-pickup cavity and the accommodating cavity [[fig. 1a] shows two discharge apertures both labeled #2b extending in two radial directions form the central aperture #2a to allow water drainage as compared with fig. 9 labeled prior art with no passages].
Regarding claim 4, Ueki teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 3, wherein each air guiding branch is provided at intervals, and each air guiding branch is communicated with the sound-pickup cavity and the accommodating cavity [[0017] moisture such as rain water, if entering the anterior chamber, is smoothly discharged out of the case from the discharge aperture along the inner face of the anterior chamber. As a result, it becomes possible to prevent the moisture from remaining on the first diaphragm and to prevent degradation of sound pressure collected by the first diaphragm. Moreover, the presence of the first diaphragm prevents the moisture in the anterior chamber from entering the first gap; [0018] second gap and the posterior chamber are linked, and therefore when pressure in the anterior chamber changes, the pressures in the first gap, the second gap and the posterior chamber become equal in compliance with the change].
Regarding claim 5, Ueki teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 3, wherein at least two air guiding branches are communicated with each other; and/or the air guiding passage further comprises at least one communication branch, and each communication branch is communicated with two air guiding branches [[fig. 1a] shows two discharge apertures both labeled #2b extending in two radial directions form the central aperture #2a to allow water drainage as compared with fig. 9 labeled prior art with no passages].
Regarding claim 6, Ueki teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 1, wherein the air guiding passage comprises two air guiding branches provided at the connector; and the two air guiding branches are symmetrically provided at two opposite sides of the second sound-pickup hole, and each air guiding branch is communicated with the sound-pickup cavity and the accommodating cavity [[fig. 9][0017-0018]].
Regarding claim 7, Ueki teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 1, wherein the air guiding passage comprises a plurality of air guiding branches provided at the connector; and the plurality of the air guiding branches are provided around the second sound-pickup hole, and each air guiding branch is communicated with the sound-pickup cavity and the accommodating cavity [fig. 9][0017-0018]].
Regarding claim 8, Ueki does not explicitly teach and yet Wang teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 1, wherein the connector comprises an adhesive layer and a supporting layer [[0009] supporting stand includes at least one sound hole and a second inner space connected to the sound hole and the through hole; [0019] electronic device further includes an adhesive layer enabling the waterproof breathable membrane to fixedly cover the through hole or the sound hole]; the adhesive layer is configured to adhere the supporting layer and the breathable waterproof membrane [[0079] adhesive layer G bonded between the waterproof breathable membrane 600 and the supporting stand 550], and the sound-pickup unit is provided at a side of the supporting layer away from the adhesive layer [[prior art claim 3] at least one sound hole is disposed on one side of the supporting stand farthest away from the rear surface of the case]; the adhesive layer is provided with a first through hole, and the supporting layer is provided with a second through hole [[0015] waterproof breathable membrane respectively are plural, the sound holes are respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the supporting stand adjoined to the rear surface of the case]; the first through hole is communicated with the second through hole to form the second sound-pickup hole [[0019] waterproof breathable membrane to fixedly cover the through hole or the sound hole]; and the air guiding passage is provided at the adhesive layer and/or the supporting layer [[0079] adhesive layer G bonded between the waterproof breathable membrane 600 and the case 200, the waterproof breathable membrane 600 is coupled on the inner surface 200N of the case 200, and the waterproof breathable membrane 600 fixedly covers the through hole 211 completely; otherwise, by using an adhesive layer G bonded between the waterproof breathable membrane 600 and the supporting stand 550, the waterproof breathable membrane 600 is coupled on the outer surface 500U of the supporting stand 550, and the waterproof breathable membrane 600 fixedly covers the sound hole 502 completely].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to replace the cloth as taught by Ueki, with the breathable waterproof membrane as taught by Wang because the electronic device of the disclosure improves the sound quality of the speaker as the waterproof breathable membrane and the speaker mutually resonate [[0027]].
Regarding claim 11, Ueki teaches an electronic device, comprising the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 1 [[abstract] microphone; [0065] conversion module 19 equalizes an impedance in the sound pressure-electrical signal conversion section 4 caused by voice and the like to an impedance in an external output-side circuit].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueki (US 2006/0140432 A1), Wang (US 2014/0161293 A1, and Spielvogel (US 2011/0059719 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sekiyama (US 2013/0285809 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ueki does not explicitly teach and yet Sekiyama teaches the acoustic drainage structure according to claim 1, wherein the acoustic drainage structure has a drainage state when the breathable waterproof membrane vibrates; and in the drainage state, a sound generating frequency of the sound-generating unit is greater than or equal to 30HZ and less than or equal to 100HZ [[0050] drain sound is a sound of a rectangular wave of 300 Hz generated during execution of the speaker grill drainage operation. While the frequency and waveform of the drain sound may be properly selected in accordance with such conditions as properties of the speaker 25, the internal capacity of the speaker grill 18 and the shape of the relevant transceiver 1, it is preferable to select a frequency in the range of 100 Hz to 500 Hz and a rectangular or sawtooth waveform. The waveform of the drain sound has an amplitude corresponding to a maximum input voltage of the AF amplifier 53. It is possible to efficiently drain water stuck in the speaker grill 18 by making the speaker 25 vibrate with the drain sound signal having the aforementioned frequency, waveform and amplitude].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention combine the drain channels as taught by Ueki, with drain sound at 100 Hz as taught by Sekiyama so that water stuck in a speaker may be drained [[0050]].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueki (US 2006/0140432 A1), Wang (US 2014/0161293 A1, and Spielvogel (US 2011/0059719 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hua (US 2020/0020313 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ueki does not explicitly teach and yet Hua teaches the electronic device according to claim 11, further comprising: a filter module electrically connected to the sound-pickup unit of the acoustic drainage structure and configured to reduce noise collected by the sound-pickup unit; and a communication module electrically connected to the filter module and configured to process audio signals [[abstract] an internal microphone, an accelerometer, and an external microphone. An audio processor analyzes signals to detect wind noise. Gain of lower frequencies is reduced relative to higher frequencies, in a first filter that is operating on an audio signal from the external microphone in a feedforward path].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention combine the drain channels as taught by Ueki, with microphone filtering as taught by Hua so that noise is reduced [[abstract]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments explain that Ueki fails to disclose an arrangement which provides a solution of how to drive the breathable waterproof membrane to vibrate to achieve drainage of the sound-pickup module.
As best the Examiner can tell, what is required to meet the claim limitation is a sound generator and a waterproof membrane in concert with a drain. Ueki teaches an equivalent diaphragm attached with waterproof adhesives [0092] and a drain [fig. 1a] around a sound opening which appears similar to the drains shown in instant fig. 3-10. Additionally, Wang teaches that waterproof breathable membrane (which are essentially a diaphragm) can be used with both speakers and microphones to create an inner and outer cavity so that water is not able to directly touch the electronic speakers or microphones. Therefore, Ueki and Wang appears to teach the same invention in combination.
Therefore, the amended limitations appear to be taught by Spielvogel (US 2011/0059719 A1) which has had been previously applied to claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645