DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 5/13/2026.
The specification was received on 3/7/2024. This specification is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2022/0387719 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an acoustic signal generating device (figure 13) for a medical injection device, the acoustic signal generating device having a base body (body of elements 160, 110) comprising:
a first resilient arm 140 comprising a first free end (end of element 140 comprising element 144);
an abutment surface (see “A” in figure 11 below); and
an impact surface (see “I” in figure 11 below);
wherein the first resilient arm 140 is configured to be deflected by a first load (a load could be applied on element 140 when bringing elements 140 and 160 together such that the load is high enough to move both elements 140 and 160 but low enough for element 140 to slide over element 162) being applied on the first resilient arm 140 such that the first free end of the first resilient arm 140 is in compressive engagement (engagement shown in figure 1) with the abutment surface (see “A” in figure 11 below), whereby when the first load is increased to a second load (load applied in direction 120 that is high enough to move element 140 over element 162 as shown in figure 11) the first free end is released from compressive engagement (see figure 11 where positions 2-4 shows release from compressive engagement) with the abutment surface (see “A” in figure 11 below) and the first resilient arm 140 hits the impact surface thereby generating an acoustic signal (paragraph 0103, lines 8-12),
wherein the base body (body of elements 160, 110) is integrally formed with the first resilient arm 140, the abutment surface (see “A” in figure 11 below), and/or the impact surface (see “I” in figure 11 below).
Regarding claim 14, Jacob teaches a medical injection device (figure 2) comprising the acoustic signal generating device (figure 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2022/0387719 A1) in view of Jacobs et al. (US 2007/0191784 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Wang further discloses wherein the base body 160, 110 further comprises: a second arm 162, wherein the abutment surface (see “A” in figure 11 above) is arranged on the second arm 162, whereby the second arm 162 is configured such that when the first load is increased to the second load, the first free end (end of element 140 comprising element 144) is released from compressive engagement with the abutment surface (see “A” in figure 11 above).
Wang is silent regarding a second arm being a second resilient arm and the second arm is deflected to an extent under a load.
However, Jacobs teaches a design of an autoinjector comprising a second arm 190 being a second resilient arm and the second arm is deflected to an extent under a load (paragraph 0064, lines 11-27) for the purpose of using an alternative interactive approach between two arms (paragraphs 0064, lines 11-27).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the second arm of Wang to incorporate a second resilient arm as taught by Jacobs for the purpose of using an alternative interactive approach between two arms (paragraphs 0064, lines 11-27).
Wang modified in view of Jacobs will result in having whereby the second resilient arm is configured such that when the first load is increased to the second load the second resilient arm is deflected to an extent that the first free end is released from compressive engagement with the abutment surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record, Wang et al. (US 2022/0387719 A1) in view of Jacobs et al. (US 2007/0191784 A1), is silent regarding the base body further comprising a third resilient arm being configured to be deflected such that when the first load is increased to the second load the third resilient arm disengages the abutment surface from compressive engagement with the first free end in combination with other claimed limitations of claim 3.
Claims 4, 5 and 13 were previously indicated allowable in the Office Action mailed on 5/13/2026.
Claims 6-12 and 15 being dependent on claim 3 are also indicated allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8, line 3- page 12, line 3 that the Wang fails to disclose the claimed invention as claimed in the amended claim 1 because Wang is relied upon on two separate components that rotate relative to one another. Applicant further argues that “integrally formed” is defined in the application on page 7, lines 16-18 to mean no material boundaries can be identified between the specified elements whereas Wang discloses two, separate components. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim recites “and/or” indicating that at least one of “the first resilient arm, “the abutment surface” and “the impact surface” needs to be integral with the base body. Furthermore, the claim does not recite the base body being formed of a single component/single piece. The claim rejection identified “base body” as being formed of elements 160 and 110 together wherein the identified “first resilient arm”, “abutment surface” and “impact surface” are integral with either element 160 or 110 as per the definition recited in the specification. Thus, Wang teaches each and every claimed limitation of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783